robocat

Soundproofing For Hdb Flat

hi

anyone soundproof your flat before? im looking for reliable contractor to soundproof my room..cos the neighbour above is terribly noisey..heavy footsteps, draffing of furnitures are their daily antics

any advise is much appreciated..thank in advance and happy new year

Hiya, i recently had my room soundproofed for my music and i needed to also cut the noise from upstairs. I used a company called NYTC they did a good job and i thought the price was fair. I checked with other companies around and people dont really have much idea on this, or they want to charge crazy money.

Hope this helps you, i have there number somewhere if you want it.

Edited by Angel M

Hi Angel M, i would like to ask how much did you approximately spend on soundproofing your room? and did you just soundproof the walls, or did you get the ceiling done as well? my neighbour upstairs are surely getting on my nerves and they aren't negotiable at all. they're like a gangsta family, ah beng sons and ah lian daughter.

Hi Angel M, how is NYTC's services? Contacted them, waiting for follow-up reply.

Going for soundproofing for my rooms. Appreciate if you could share on the materials NYTC recommends and estimated costs. Thanks in advance.

I am also trying to soundproof my room to cut away the noise from the roads. Anyone can recommend me how to do it and their contacts?

After much research I think the best way to do this is through the windows.... and sliding windows are a big no no. the cheapest way to cut down the noise is to install another set of air tight windows where usually people would have their window grilles. This option is the less aesthetically pleasing. But the way it works is dead air space. Air insulates against temp and sound.

I for one do not like the idea of having makeshift type stuff done, so I am going to remove my existing sliding windows in the bedrooms and replacing them with casement windows. As to what sort of casement windows and from where that has yet to be decided. The key is to get double glazed.. and you would want to have as much air space between the 2 glass panes as possible.. thats your insulation... ALSO most importantly you want a tight fit in the construction of the frame and all that you have holes and leaks there is no point... last but not least rubber gaskets all around the seal where the windows closes.. when you close the window and lock it in place u need to feel that u need some effort to do this and you are compressing the rubber gaskets to create a seal... if you do not have this then it is not what you want. I find it very difficult to find this.. in my condo in canada ll the windows were like this.. in paris.. all the windows are like that too u close the windows and you hear NOTHING......

So far Sapphire windows provide the best possible solution but i have yet to go and take a look for myself.. vinyl would mean all the connections are fused.. so there is no possibility of a leak... but I need to go take a look at the actual window to see about the gaskets and seals etc... it is quite expensive 2 windows... 2 panes and 3 panes would cost close to 4K. And this is laminated...glass I have yet to ask them about double glazed...

Hiya, i recently had my room soundproofed for my music and i needed to also cut the noise from upstairs. I used a company called NYTC they did a good job and i thought the price was fair. I checked with other companies around and people dont really have much idea on this, or they want to charge crazy money.

Hope this helps you, i have there number somewhere if you want it.

i also couldn't find NYTC on google. mind sharing his contact with me? thanks.

Hi, so any luck with the soundproofing? Anyone got any lobang? I contacted NYTC but they have very bad pre-sales support. I have been liasing with them since January.. long story but nothing has been done yet.. I was hoping to get my soundproofing done by April but I haven;t even got a proper site visit yet!!! And worse still, I keep making appts but the guy doesn't turn up and doesn't even call to inform. I'm getting very frustrated here.

Would really appreciate some help here.