eggroe

The Aspen Journal

Lights from lightings.com.sg

We went to search for dining light today at lightings.com.sg showroom. (the only light we bought in SG).

We saw this nice chandelier made of swaroski crystal for 500plus

IMG_0413.jpg

But in the end settled for this instead! It was love at first sight! Hoppefully not too overwhelming for our home. THis costs 538 i think.

IMG_0412.jpg

Saw this at the showroom and i think it is so unique! now wondering if we can get the electrician to install this for us too....But not sure at which spot yet.

IMG_0410.jpg

We also signed a package with CLoset Design for my wiw. Quite like the doors in this pic!

IMG_0406.jpg

Castilla extendable dining table we bought

IMG_0333.jpg

Celini dressing table that i like but didnt get in the end

IMG_0329-1.jpg

Our tempered glass bellari gas hob. It is real hard to find a domino TEMPERED GLASS gas hob that is both affordable and made of good structure. We almost bought the brandt one but realise it is made of poor material and food/water can easily seep in when cooking. Tks to the HN salesguy who highlighted it to us. It comes with lifetime warranty for the tempered glass.

IMG_0376-1.jpg

Bellari sink. We bought the single bowl one though. Love the depth of the sink!

IMG_0378.jpg

Edited by valerie_hh

*continued from previous post*

Roofing for the WIW

IMG_2954.jpg

Changed it to some solid plastic thingy (can't remember what's it called).. ID said that this is better than the previous one cos it's more solid.. The previous one would make a racket when it starts raining whilst this will not.. :D Actually went over at night recently and saw the roof.. Looks really good actually.. Nice as a starlight window.. Hehehe.. But too bad it's at the WIW.. wouldn't want any indecent exposure now would we?

Kitchen tiles done

IMG_2915.jpg

Kitchen tiles done up.. Can't really judge how good is it.. Really dirty.. Noticed a tile leading from the kitchen to the back toilet is a little sloping upwards.. But it's fine I guess.. Can live with that.. Elsewhere seems fine..

Mortar base

Remembered reading someone's blog that the mortar base was not done up evenly.. So made an effort to check it out after it was done.. :P

IMG_2919.jpg

The mortar base was not done up evenly.. :curse:

Look at the gap when I press it down!!!!

IMG_2920.jpg

IMG_2921.jpg

Immediately called the ID and complained about it.. Anyways, it has supposedly since been resolved by the ID (as represented by him).. COuld't confirm it as I was too busy working.. Sigh.. Anyways, too late to check now cos the kitchen carpentries are already up.. Hope he really lives up to his words.. Wouldn't want any ants/lizards/cockroaches to set up base between the gaps!! :dunno:

*And another*

Materials for the false ceiling and feature wall has arrived

Getting really excited back then.. Was wondering how would our false ceiling would look like.. We're getting the drop-down kind of false ceiling with longkang's around it.. Had a little debate with ID about the size of the longkang.. He mentioned a standard size of 1ft(?). Can't remember.. But initially, we wanted larger so that it would look more apparent.. Anyways, in the end we decided to fall back to his proposal cos the electrician strongly agrees with ID's proposal.. :P 2 experts against 2 lay-mans.. they win! :P

IMG_2910.jpg

IMG_2912.jpg

IMG_2906.jpg

No idea which is which.. But getting excited (back then.. :P).. Ok.. sleeping time now.. WTB complaining.. kekek

Edited by eggroe

15/3/2011

Was a very unlucky day.. My laptop HDD got busted.. Lost all my important mail and files.. Thank god work was done in the server.. So at least the bulk of it was still retained... *phew*

Anyway, took the rest of the day off and decided to check out my reno..

Chengai decking up for the balcony!!

When I arrived, there was no one at the reno.. Hmm.. I've got a feeling the place was left empty for most days.. But well, I guess I can't expect his workers to be there 24/7.. So long as he can deliver a nice end-product.. Expected handover date is 16 March 2011.. Hope it's on-time..

Anyway, pictures of our chengai decking!

Our chill-out/lounge section

IMG_2942.jpg

My mini gardening section.. :P The deckings are removable on this side of the balcony for cleaning purposes in case soil gets under it.. :P

IMG_2945.jpg

Initially, the thought was for us to get removable ones for both sides.. But then, when we saw the end product, realised that the lounge area is not removable.. Called him and he told us it can't be done on the lounge area cos that area too huge.. Not sure bout this but is this true?

Anyways, wasn't happy that he made decisions without first informing us..

Secondly, apparently our balcony has a gradient.. As the decking was done up to make it level (i.e. 0 gradient), part of the chengai wood therefore juts out.. (refer picture below)

IMG_2946.jpg

IMG_2944.jpg

Anyway, proposed to ID to put a frame around it.. Hopefully this would even out the outlook.. Or anyone else has any better suggestion?

*continued*

Living

False ceiling for living

Can't really take a full pic.. Too big coupled with me having lousy camera skills... :P

IMG_2956.jpg

TV Feature wall

IMG_2947.jpg

First thing we noted was how high the display area is on top of the feature wall.. No one's gonna look at it at all if it's that high up.. :P Totally defeats the purpose

Immediately highlighted to ID..

IMG_2948.jpg

Next, I was wondering why was there a box at the tv console table.. Looked kinda strange to me

IMG_2949.jpg

Basically, it was designed this way by ID cos if not, the console table would've blocked the entire pathway.. Glad he did it that way. :) Was concerned about the pathway to the rooms earlier on..

Note: Anyone noticed how the aircond was switched to the corner of the room? :P was blocking the feature wall initially..

*continued*

False ceiling

IMG_2934.jpg

TV feature wall

IMG_2933.jpg

Dining feature wall (where a mirror will be placed)

IMG_2952.jpg

Oh.. these are the lights and fans we purchased the other day.. All hidden in the closet in case the workers tries to steal any... :P

IMG_2941.jpg

uogh: you are right abt the fridge! didnt consider the small size of our kitchen too when we bought the big fridge. well it is too late though. And we chose white somemore! just gotta be more diligent in cleaning up the fridge :P

FOr wiw, i have a no. of bags that i need to store away. I will be getting a 14ft wiw. But that includes my dressing table as well.

We intend to get a part time cleaner to help us with the household chores. Hopefully that will help! The fridge is most prolly used to stock up drinks/alcohol for house parties :P

Btw, ventilating hoods only work for landed? Ours is a condo not landed so i believe the hood we got is the circulating type. We got the chimmey hood cos it looks nice and it has stronger suction power than the slimline ones. We got those charcoal with metal filter type.

MAY_DREAM: haha you play MJ too? that is like one of our fav hobbies! haha we can hold a party when the house is fully done up. Where are you working?

Im gonna get Kinect for my future home parties!

As far as I'm aware, you can have a ventilating hood for a condo (I thought it's just HDB that cannot). The advantage of the ventilating hood is that the air is vented to the outside and doesn't come back into your unit. You had made the observation in one of yr previous posts that when you switched on the hood, there was an oil smell. That is because it was a recirculating type of hood and the previous owners had not changed the filters or cleaned the hood. So the recirculating air still has oil in it.

The wooden decking looks good but for my balcony I am having wood effect homogeneous tiles (those higher quality ones from Italy) as I cannot face the prospect of mould/rot/ etc in the future. And I have an eco-sensitive contractor who tells me most of the wood for flooring is from illegal logging which is contributing to global warming.

hehe since you are going to entertain/expand yr family, then the large fridge will come in useful. Thumbs up and do your bit for Singapore to help the falling birth rate.

Edited by ugoh

But in any case, I think our neighbors wont like us much too.. hahaha.. Every other unit there comprises mostly of middle aged family with kids and stuffs.. WE'll probably be the noisy couple of the development.. Kekekekee

hahahaha dun think you'll be noisier than your neighbours...

when kids are young, they cry or play loudly.

when kids get older (teenage), they blast music etc.

so i guess you'll actually be the quieter one :lol:

uogh: you are right abt the fridge! didnt consider the small size of our kitchen too when we bought the big fridge. well it is too late though. And we chose white somemore! just gotta be more diligent in cleaning up the fridge :P

FOr wiw, i have a no. of bags that i need to store away. I will be getting a 14ft wiw. But that includes my dressing table as well.

We intend to get a part time cleaner to help us with the household chores. Hopefully that will help! The fridge is most prolly used to stock up drinks/alcohol for house parties :P

Btw, ventilating hoods only work for landed? Ours is a condo not landed so i believe the hood we got is the circulating type. We got the chimmey hood cos it looks nice and it has stronger suction power than the slimline ones. We got those charcoal with metal filter type.

MAY_DREAM: haha you play MJ too? that is like one of our fav hobbies! haha we can hold a party when the house is fully done up. Where are you working?

Im gonna get Kinect for my future home parties!

ya, i also only know how to play 3 player mj. I asked a lot of ppl, most asked me what is 3 player mj!! haiz.... i am so sad that not many ppl in sg knows how to play that. I have to resort to playing with my nieces and nephews during CNY as no one else knows how to play that. So this aunty teaches her nieces and nephews so she wil not be bored. hehehe... :P

i think most condo can use ventilating type of hood leh, it's HDB that must use the recirculating type.

and i'm really curious to know - please pardon my sua-gu-ness - what is 3 player MJ? you mean take out one of the suits so that 3 pple can play?? :dunno:

btw, Kinect is fun!!! :P

and i'm really curious to know - please pardon my sua-gu-ness - what is 3 player MJ? you mean take out one of the suits so that 3 pple can play?? :dunno:

3 player mj is quicker and the winning are bigger too. Basically you are calculating how many "folds" you have. A lot based on flowers....

not only you will need to take out 1 suit, its taking out 2 suits actually. For 3 player mj, there is no need for "wan-zhi" or "shuk-zhi". Only uses "tong-zhi" or those circles tiles + all the winds (east, south, west, north) + "big" tiles like "bai pan, hong zhong, fa cai".

Next time when my house is ready, i will teach you how to play 3 player mj lah... hehehehe....

UGOH: ahh I didn’t know about that! I think the one I bought is the circulating type. But mine isn’t on the top floor. How is the air vented to the outside? I actually have a friend who didn’t even get a hood for her place. Not sure how she can do w/o one but she said it is ok so far :P

We were actually thinking of composite wood for balcony but our ID told us that the couple of times he installed that for his projects, the composite wood actually warp. This is strange to me as I thought composite wood should be very hardy? And it normally comes with 10 yrs warranty I thought? I haven’t heard of wood effect homo tiles. Would love to see them! Ehh we are looking to entertain friends but not expanding the family yet! Wont be for another 2 yrs…haha

EVO5555: sorry for the late reply. Those aren’t plastic. It is made of metal… comes with the condo… But we are erecting a wall in front of it. So wont be able to see it anymore.

Marshmallow: yeah im very scared of crying babies! Hehe u got kinect too?

May_dream1: To further add on, actually you can take out either 1 or 2 suits. Depends on the consensus…. I think the 3player MJ in Singapore normally only take out 1 suit cos my friends said if take out 2, it is only left with 1 suit and it makes the game very predictable so less challenging for them.

But eggroe here, a Malaysian as well plays with 1 suit normally with his friends. He taught my family how to play too… haha so we have MJ nights sometimes during weekend. Haha maydream and marshmallow, next time can play together!

UGOH: ahh I didn’t know about that! I think the one I bought is the circulating type. But mine isn’t on the top floor. How is the air vented to the outside? I actually have a friend who didn’t even get a hood for her place. Not sure how she can do w/o one but she said it is ok so far :P

Marshmallow: yeah im very scared of crying babies! Hehe u got kinect too?

May_dream1: To further add on, actually you can take out either 1 or 2 suits. Depends on the consensus…. I think the 3player MJ in Singapore normally only take out 1 suit cos my friends said if take out 2, it is only left with 1 suit and it makes the game very predictable so less challenging for them.

But eggroe here, a Malaysian as well plays with 1 suit normally with his friends. He taught my family how to play too… haha so we have MJ nights sometimes during weekend. Haha maydream and marshmallow, next time can play together!

i think the vent of the hood can be connected to some centralised venting system of the condo...

hahaha yup just got the kinect last month! very fun and indeed good exercise for us.. perspire a lot during the game man~ :D

the only time i played with 3 suits was once when we had not enough "legs", so took out one suit and played as per normal...

in my home town, a lot of pple take out the "flowers" cos they found flowers make the games easier to play, not challenging :lol:

I prefer the one that plays with 1 suit, its predictable but then the excitement is how many folds you can get. i think eggroe is same as me lah.... hehehehe.... malaysian that plays with 1 suit. let me know is you want to play mj, then maybe we can meet to play?? hahaah.....