eggroe

The Aspen Journal

I agree. You should have hacked the wall tiles too. Otherwise the kitchen might looked "half-baked". Izzit too late to do it now? Can get a quotation? It might not be as much as you think. It would be a pity to have a beutiful new kitchen and the wall tiles still the old ones. You might regret it later. The wall tiles can change the overall look of the kitchen significantly. It's one of those items that you can't do later. Whereas for your movable items like furniture, electrical appliances, you can still get them later when you have more funds.

Hmmm.. I think it's too late.. Cos the kitchen carpentry's are going up (or already has gone up) :(

Actually, I think initially we wanted to change it too.. But the ID says it's really not necessary (cos he didn't know we're getting such big kitchen eq's.. hahahah).. But well, the tiles actually looked quite nice.. Has a very nice matte texture on it..

But you're right about movable items can get a cheaper one for now whilst permanent fixtures, should get a good one once and for all.. hmmm... but too late now.. We've actually bought all our furnitures and eq's.

yea same feeling as you on chimney hood...

Why did you choose chimney hood? It is bulky and takes up cupboard space. Somemore needs more maintenance (to clean and polish the chimney. As a general rule, those things that look nice need more maintenance.

Certain things that are fashionable now and nice to look at but in the long run might not be practical are:

1. Chimney hood - this is good for large kitchen as it gives the "country" atmosphere but if kitchen is small then the chimney might overwhelm the decor. And yeah....climbing up on ladder to clean the hood is not a happy prospect for me. Sure will get oil stuck to the chimney after a while. Big fridge + chimney hood = yr kitchen will tend to look crowded (unless you have luxury of a large space).

2. Hanging dishrack with flap up-and-down door on hydraulic system - also nice to look at but sometimes the hydraulic system doesn't work so well and then the flap might be hard to lift up or close. Somemore the dishrack will have limited vertical space on top as it is fitted into a cupboard and you will find it annoying not to be able to put big items on the rack and in the end you will still need a rack on the table top for easy/faster access and to accomodate the tall items. And you will curse that the cupboard on top cannot accomodate more crockery because of the basket design.

Really?!?!? Gosh.. I didn't know that maintaining it is that difficult... But we were prepared to let it take up cupboard space.. We liked the idea of having a chimney hood.. But I guess we just never thought that far.. :bangwall: But then again, I think we would've still went for a chimney hood if we knew that... I still like a chimney hood.. heehee.. suction power's better too! And I thought the metal filter should be able to filter out the oil from getting inside the hood"?

Though, about my kitchen being crowded.. You have a very good point there.. Hmm.. :dunno: But sigh.. I could do with a smaller fridge.. But WTB wasn't gonna budge.. "The kitchen's MY area" she says.. :P Anyway, as you can see in previous photos, my kitchen is actually kinda small.. Hmm.. ****.. Should've updated more frequent.. Maybe then we wouldn't have been too late.. :(

Hi, yr 3D drawings look great! Can share n pm me yr ID and contact pls? It would b great if you can share yr quotations...Also yr JB contacts pls...

I went OM to select some furniture too...Who serve you and what do you think of their products? Will it be not what you see when it is being delivered? In fact we were sold to the natural organic bed with lavender smell - www.wakemeupbeautiful.com.sg and placed order for it...Dunno if we will regret...

Looking forward to more pics pls...

Tks alot ya...

Hi, where you bought your lights from in JB?

can pm me the shop and add?

me and hubby tot of popping into JB for some furnitures and lighting shopping too

=)

PM-ed!

Oh, when I was shopping in JB, noticed that most furniture co's does free delivery to Singapore.. Not bad eh?

And with regards to OM, overall, in the showroom, the products look fine.. The person who served us was quite nice too.. I went there on a Tuesday looking for furnitures.. She actually told me not to buy now as they will be having a sale come weekend.. Gave her my contact and she called me on Friday to remind me!! Talk about good service..

But she's a little blur when we were signing the invoice.. Kept writing the wrong information and she even calculated the wrong selling price after discount.. But thankfully it was to our advantage.. Hahaha.. We fess-ed up but she says nevermind.. lol.. I think we were pretty difficult customers..

The free gift then was a mattress.. Though when I tried it, it felt like sleeping on the floor!! haha..

So we wanted to change to a better quality for our guest room.. Off she goes to make calls and approval for that.. Eventually, she got it.. But we gotta top up an additional $700 for it.. Tried to bargain further but she wouldn't budge.. Pondered on it for awhile and concluded it was too exp :P (we were on a budget constraint).. So we continued walking around and saw some carpets we liked and decided to change the free gift into a carpet instead.. She was quite patient with us and off she goes to make some phone calls again.. :P

In the end, we got a discount for the carpet!! Though, thinking back, I think we saw cheaper carpets around.. :P ****.. Consequences of being kiasu..

Anyways, heard some pretty bad things about OM delivery service.. One of our friend placed an order around December.. delivery was supposedly after CNY.. But to-date they still haven't received it.. Apparently the goods has not yet been shipped in~!!

Oh.. Forgot to include this photo the same time I saw that termite infested piece of wood..

IMG_2842-1.jpg

Feels somewhat disturbing.. Think it was done by the workers back when they were putting the kitchen tops up for the previous owner.. Hope there's no such thing this time around..

P.s. wtb thought it was some curse/talisman/voodoo meant to be on us.. LOL

HAhaha... why would anyone want to curse you when they don't even know you will buy that condo? must be the previous owner did something bad to the workers so they wrote nonsense. don't believe it, then nothing will happen. :)

Haha.. I don't know.. Guess we weren't exactly in good terms with the ex-owner after he handed over.. lots of lies and stuffs if u read the earlier post... :curse: :curse: Anyways, tell that to valerie.. Kekeke.. She was whining about it when I showed her the photo.. LOL

Eggroe, seems to me the ex-owners are pretty difficult people, your neighbours will be happy to have you and your wtb moving in :)

Yea.. I think they are too.. The condition of the condo totally differs from the other neighbors units I've seen.. Too bad we couldn't visit other neighbors before signing the S&P..

But in any case, I think our neighbors wont like us much too.. hahaha.. Every other unit there comprises mostly of middle aged family with kids and stuffs.. WE'll probably be the noisy couple of the development.. Kekekekee

Yea.. I think they are too.. The condition of the condo totally differs from the other neighbors units I've seen.. Too bad we couldn't visit other neighbors before signing the S&P..

But in any case, I think our neighbors wont like us much too.. hahaha.. Every other unit there comprises mostly of middle aged family with kids and stuffs.. WE'll probably be the noisy couple of the development.. Kekekekee

LOL, eggroe, so remember try to keep the your noise lvl down :o:P

Really?!?!? Gosh.. I didn't know that maintaining it is that difficult... But we were prepared to let it take up cupboard space.. We liked the idea of having a chimney hood.. But I guess we just never thought that far.. :bangwall: But then again, I think we would've still went for a chimney hood if we knew that... I still like a chimney hood.. heehee.. suction power's better too! And I thought the metal filter should be able to filter out the oil from getting inside the hood"?

Though, about my kitchen being crowded.. You have a very good point there.. Hmm.. :dunno: But sigh.. I could do with a smaller fridge.. But WTB wasn't gonna budge.. "The kitchen's MY area" she says.. :P Anyway, as you can see in previous photos, my kitchen is actually kinda small.. Hmm.. ****.. Should've updated more frequent.. Maybe then we wouldn't have been too late.. :(

Hmm.. if you don't do much cooking esp wok frying, you won't need a super strong hood. And esp if you are venting outside (I hope you bought a ventilating hood rather than recirculating hood). Anyway, since you love the look of the chimney so be it. Yeah the filter will be able to filter most of the oil from getting inside the hood but some of the oil might "escape" the hood and get stuck on the outside of the chimney. And also dust/dirt will get stuck on the outside of the chimney. So you and WTB will have to get up on ladder and clean/polish the outside of the chimney all the way to the top periodically (depending on usage) to keep it looking nice and shiny.

If there are only 2 of you, you don't need a large fridge. Large fridge is somewhat of a hazard as you tend to overstock and hoard stuff inside and since there's only 2 ppl, yr consumption of the goods might not keep up and therefore there will be stuff lurking at the back of the fridge past its expiry date. I am telling you bec I am guilty when there were only 2 of us living in our house and we found it quite difficult to finish what we bought even though I cooked almost every day. A large fridge is not justified just for 2 ppl as it will not be worthwhile for the higher energy consumption. Unless you tell me you are going to entertain a lot and have yr relatives/friends over for meals on a regular basis. Then you would need a large fridge for storing.

And again, large fridge = large maintenance. You will have to clean the fridge every so often.

Same for walk in wardrobe. The bigger the wardrobe, the more you will hoard and before you know it, you will have a lot of old/unused clothings stuffed in it which will be horrifying when you want to move house in the future.

hehehe let the cleaning be a bonding experience for the 2 of you. It's good to do it when you are younger. That's if you have much time left after slogging at work to pay for the house and all your purchases (you must have large earning power to be able to afford it LOLs).

When the novelty of the cleaning wears off (and when you get too tired/bogged down with work or have kids), you will have to hire a maid to do it. That's provided that maids are still available/affordable in the future.

Edited by ugoh

eggroe, you plan to have party every night? hahahaha..... can invite us from RT to party as well? or you want to play mahjong?

Don't think middle aged family with kids will not be noisy.... sometimes kids are super noisy. My neighbour's kid is so noisy, keep on crying!! :furious:

6 March

Cement screeding (did I use the right term?) of the WIW

View of the wall that is going to be part of the WIW

IMG_2902.jpg

The other half of the WIW (it's going to be an "L" shaped one)

IMG_2903.jpg

The wall has been patched up.. No leaking water in sight.. Thank goodness.. But not too worried about this.. I'm sure the ID knows what to do..

Electricals

Worms hanging from the living room ceiling

IMG_2911.jpg

This would be for our 16 T5's and 10 LEDs.. :P I was quite overwhelmed looking at so many wires hanging from the ceiling.. Haha.. These parts of the ceiling are going to be covered by a false ceiling.. So no internal wiring required..

Study room lights

IMG_2909.jpg

No idea how he actually dig a hole from the fan through to the other side of that hideous pillar.. Was quite amused.. Anyway, that would be where my 2 study lights be at... :P

P.s. Sorry for the inconsistencies of photo sizes.. :P Too lazy to resize some of them.. haha

Oh, also, i actually posted awhile back on some more recent updates.. Then realised I skipped a week or 2.. haha.. :rofl:

Edited by eggroe

Hmm.. if you don't do much cooking esp wok frying, you won't need a super strong hood. And esp if you are venting outside (I hope you bought a ventilating hood rather than recirculating hood). Anyway, since you love the look of the chimney so be it. Yeah the filter will be able to filter most of the oil from getting inside the hood but some of the oil might "escape" the hood and get stuck on the outside of the chimney. And also dust/dirt will get stuck on the outside of the chimney. So you and WTB will have to get up on ladder and clean/polish the outside of the chimney all the way to the top periodically (depending on usage) to keep it looking nice and shiny.

If there are only 2 of you, you don't need a large fridge. Large fridge is somewhat of a hazard as you tend to overstock and hoard stuff inside and since there's only 2 ppl, yr consumption of the goods might not keep up and therefore there will be stuff lurking at the back of the fridge past its expiry date. I am telling you bec I am guilty when there were only 2 of us living in our house and we found it quite difficult to finish what we bought even though I cooked almost every day. A large fridge is not justified just for 2 ppl as it will not be worthwhile for the higher energy consumption. Unless you tell me you are going to entertain a lot and have yr relatives/friends over for meals on a regular basis. Then you would need a large fridge for storing.

And again, large fridge = large maintenance. You will have to clean the fridge every so often.

Same for walk in wardrobe. The bigger the wardrobe, the more you will hoard and before you know it, you will have a lot of old/unused clothings stuffed in it which will be horrifying when you want to move house in the future.

hehehe let the cleaning be a bonding experience for the 2 of you. It's good to do it when you are younger. That's if you have much time left after slogging at work to pay for the house and all your purchases (you must have large earning power to be able to afford it LOLs).

When the novelty of the cleaning wears off (and when you get too tired/bogged down with work or have kids), you will have to hire a maid to do it. That's provided that maids are still available/affordable in the future.

Haha.. Actually, we don't cook thaaaat much.. But always liked the thought of it.. :P and err.. it's a recirculating one.. Is it thaaat bad? Hahahaha

Anyway, the cleaning part, (especially hard to reach area), is gonna be my job.. Sigh..

Well, the fridge, it's to prepare for the future.. I mean, how often does a person changes the fridge anyway? Ans we plan to start a family after we get married..

Oh no.. THe WIW.. I can practically picture WTB doing more online shoppings now.. Hmmm.. Then again, don't think it would make any difference cos we have 2 other unoccupied rooms where she can put her clothes in.. Bleah.. Guess it makes no difference then.. Hahaha.. ANyways, if not a WIW, I can't imagine anything else being at that obscure area of the house..

And WTB already has lots of old/unused clothing stuffed in her wardrobe.. LOL.. so no diff!

Thanks for the heads up though.. Appreciate much.. :)

eggroe, you plan to have party every night? hahahaha..... can invite us from RT to party as well? or you want to play mahjong?

Don't think middle aged family with kids will not be noisy.... sometimes kids are super noisy. My neighbour's kid is so noisy, keep on crying!! :furious:

Ermm.. Not me.. I'm always working.. :P

More of WTB.. she seems so eager to hold parties.. But I don't think it'll last.. It's probably a phase for her.. Knowing her, she'd much rather bunk at home under her blanket watching her series.. (like what she's doing for the past 4 hours.. kekeke)

Anyways, can can can.. But I only know how to play 3 player mj.. keke..

Lol.. Can it be thaaaat bad?? Close the doors and windows! That should solve it right? Anyway, I've been told that my condo is VERY quiet at night.. :P Scary thought eh?

uogh: you are right abt the fridge! didnt consider the small size of our kitchen too when we bought the big fridge. well it is too late though. And we chose white somemore! just gotta be more diligent in cleaning up the fridge :P

FOr wiw, i have a no. of bags that i need to store away. I will be getting a 14ft wiw. But that includes my dressing table as well.

We intend to get a part time cleaner to help us with the household chores. Hopefully that will help! The fridge is most prolly used to stock up drinks/alcohol for house parties :P

Btw, ventilating hoods only work for landed? Ours is a condo not landed so i believe the hood we got is the circulating type. We got the chimmey hood cos it looks nice and it has stronger suction power than the slimline ones. We got those charcoal with metal filter type.

MAY_DREAM: haha you play MJ too? that is like one of our fav hobbies! haha we can hold a party when the house is fully done up. Where are you working?

Im gonna get Kinect for my future home parties!

Thankfully I visited your t-blog, valerie and eggroe.

That's a very comprehensive lighting plan. I wish I had done the same. Basically pointed and pondered on-site with my ID. Gawd, now cannot even remember what was agreed on!! I'm so retarded. :bangwall:

Was just wondering where to go in JB for the lights. We have a Malaysian friend who would take us so no need to rely on GPS (hopefully)! I hear that lights are so much cheaper there, but if I can't find the feature lamps I saw and love, I'll come back and just get them here, and buy all the T5/T8/downlights in JB. So Tampoi, here we come!

My apartment is also old (25yrs old!), in original condition, and needed a major rehaul but my reno costs are a lot more than yours. I have the same Samsung TV too at the same price (not at IT show)!

I wonder why condo threads have poor response...:(

-Ely

Hi Ely1

Actually, the lighting plan wasn't this comprehensive.. It was all discussed and mostly dealt with by the ID and electrician.. I just put it up in the floor plan for blogging purposes.. Hahaha.. I don't think we had much say in the lightings.. He proposed, and we agreed and maybe, altered a lil.. hehehe

Tampoi Lighting Centre is much recommended if you go.. I spoke to this guy called Ang.. Was really knowledgeable and proposed good suggestions! :)

Anyway, of course your place costs so much more.. It's so much larger!!

Ermm.. Not me.. I'm always working.. :P

More of WTB.. she seems so eager to hold parties.. But I don't think it'll last.. It's probably a phase for her.. Knowing her, she'd much rather bunk at home under her blanket watching her series.. (like what she's doing for the past 4 hours.. kekeke)

Anyways, can can can.. But I only know how to play 3 player mj.. keke..

Lol.. Can it be thaaaat bad?? Close the doors and windows! That should solve it right? Anyway, I've been told that my condo is VERY quiet at night.. :P Scary thought eh?

My fridge is also very big.... need a lot of space for drinks.... heheehe... your WTB and be are quite similar. HEhehehe....

ya, i also only know how to play 3 player mj. I asked a lot of ppl, most asked me what is 3 player mj!! haiz.... i am so sad that not many ppl in sg knows how to play that. I have to resort to playing with my nieces and nephews during CNY as no one else knows how to play that. So this aunty teaches her nieces and nephews so she wil not be bored. hehehe... :P

Mine is HDB leh... no matter close what also can hear loh.... so i am quite used to it. THank God my new flat will not have any kids around me... hehehe...

uogh: you are right abt the fridge! didnt consider the small size of our kitchen too when we bought the big fridge. well it is too late though. And we chose white somemore! just gotta be more diligent in cleaning up the fridge :P

FOr wiw, i have a no. of bags that i need to store away. I will be getting a 14ft wiw. But that includes my dressing table as well.

We intend to get a part time cleaner to help us with the household chores. Hopefully that will help! The fridge is most prolly used to stock up drinks/alcohol for house parties :P

Btw, ventilating hoods only work for landed? Ours is a condo not landed so i believe the hood we got is the circulating type. We got the chimmey hood cos it looks nice and it has stronger suction power than the slimline ones. We got those charcoal with metal filter type.

MAY_DREAM: haha you play MJ too? that is like one of our fav hobbies! haha we can hold a party when the house is fully done up. Where are you working?

Im gonna get Kinect for my future home parties!

Valerie, you need part time maid? I am looking for one too....hehehehe.....

What type of series you watch? i like to watch TVB series.... stopped watching korean series already.

i working between Clarke Quay mrt and Raffles place mrt. :)

Onb pg 2, i have blogged about our purchases and here are some pics of the items! (pls refer to thread 2 if you want to know the prices.)

Natural Living Outdoor dining set (bar table with glass and bar stool). Got this pic off my friend's place who has the exact same dining set. *one thing to note. we bought this at Castilla SUngei Kadut. Natural living is part of them. The sales person who served us is so iressponsible. Scheduled delivery was end of this month but he didnt even inform us that the shipment isnt even here even though it is almost the end of month. We only found out when we called the logisitc side. and he is mostly uncontactable. SO angry! so right now it is postponed to next of next month.

IMG_0224-1.jpg

Coffee table

IMG_0320.jpg

LOve this micro fibre rug. we bought the same one in pink. Gonna get this blue version as well (but from malaysia cos it is prolly half the px here).

IMG_0232.jpg

WMF pots and pans

IMG_0227.jpg