eggroe

The Aspen Journal

wow..termites! that is eeewwwkkkk!! btw how would the id ensure that they r all wiped out?

I called a pest exterminator over to check actually.. He checked the affected area and I assume, areas which I highlighted to the ID to get him to check..

Spoke to a few exterminators and apparently, if there are termite problems, it should be pretty obvious as there will be a trail of white ants.. not to mention a trail of destruction :fire:

ha....u poor thing...your bling not big enuff la..hahahhah

But it's already a 1 carrot ring!! How many carrots does she want? I blame the year of the bunny.. making people crave for carrots!

Lightings!!!

The blueprint for the lightings

Electricals.jpg

I think the 9 LED lights for the living room is a little overkill though.. But WTB and red audi + electrician insisted to have 9 there or it would be too dim.. In any case, the number of lights is still over-kill in my opinion.. But what to do.. Gotta grind it out so that w ecan spend the rest of our lives (or at least the next 10 years) in a beautiful home :good::jammin::sport-smiley-004:

In totality, there will be approximately:-

- T5's - 35 units

- LED downlights - 17 units

- PLC downlights - 10 units

- Ceiling fan/light - 2 units

- Chandelier - 1 unit

- Ceilinght light - 1 unit

- Balcony light - 1 unit

- Bedside table light - 2 units (? ) <Hopefully red audi will absorb this.. :horse: >

The result? A beautiful home with one very VERY bankrupt owner? :drunk:

The hunt for lightings and fans will begin this weekend. Plan to go down to JB for it. Anyone got any good suggestions where to start? Anyways what are the average price range as a gauge so that I don't get chopped in JB.. :P

I think termites has been exterminated or else you will see all of them crawling around. And it will not affect one area only of the kitchen cabinet....

1 carat already very big loh... Plus you come with a condo. Haha.... Everything free for her, right?? :)

Don't people use floor lamps anymore? I much prefer them to ceiling lights.

9 LED downlights could be overkill.

My scientific approach for level of lighting:

Check the lumens for the led lights and check your floor area. Divide lumens over floor area to get lux. Refer to wiki article for appropriate brightness. If your electrician doesn't want to give u the lumens figure, hound him until he does, but with a smile :)

My living + dining combined only has 8 PLC lights and I find it very bright already... So, I'm just trying to save you some money here and to prevent your place from looking ridiculously overlit.

I think termites has been exterminated or else you will see all of them crawling around. And it will not affect one area only of the kitchen cabinet....

1 carat already very big loh... Plus you come with a condo. Haha.... Everything free for her, right?? :)

Yea... That's what I was thinking of too.. I hope it's true.. and it doesn't come back to haunt a few years down the road.. :(

And the "1 carrot" bit was just a joke.. hahaha.. Can't afford one thaaaaat big.. But rounded up, it's a 1 carat.. hehehe.. And well, she wishes.. free condo? Maybe in Malaysia.. :P definitely not here.. :P

Don't people use floor lamps anymore? I much prefer them to ceiling lights.

9 LED downlights could be overkill.

My scientific approach for level of lighting:

Check the lumens for the led lights and check your floor area. Divide lumens over floor area to get lux. Refer to wiki article for appropriate brightness. If your electrician doesn't want to give u the lumens figure, hound him until he does, but with a smile :)

My living + dining combined only has 8 PLC lights and I find it very bright already... So, I'm just trying to save you some money here and to prevent your place from looking ridiculously overlit.

Hi January.. Hmm.. Sounds very technical.. Thanks for your advice.. But unfortunately, already bought the lights last weekend.. Cost us way lower than what was budgeted.. Did our shopping over in JB!! Hehe..

Anyway, the LED downlights are more of "eyeballs".. So they're much cheaper than the regular downlights.. These are the 3 watts type.. PLC's should have a bigger lighting radius no? That's based on the feedback i got.. I could be wrong though..

The thing about floor lamps is that it may be pretty cluttered with cables running here and there.. don't give the streamlined kinda look right? That's my opinion anyways..

Ah, you bought the lights already... okay. Thinking again, I do have the 3watts LEDs and they are rather dim, so maybe you do need 9 of them. But don't they have LEDs in higher wattage... maybe that defeats the purpose.

Good that you bought in JB and save a bunch... I hope they all work!

Cable clutter is not a problem if you know how to hide the cables.

Hi everyone! MY htb? (HUBBY TO BE) finally persuaded me to get an a/c here to contribute the story on our reno works. zzzzz

I guess i am very happy to post on our buys since i like to shop? haha

Firstly, our lighting adventure in JB was quite disastrous... GPS spoilt and we got lost for a while. We also wasted a huge amt of time in this lighting shop which was so unprofessional!!

TOP LAMP/AVALON (need to thank dexufto actually. got this contact thru his renoblog!)

we got 2 alpha fans at ringgit 380 each (one black & one white)

TAMPOI LIGHTING CENTRE (Look for Ang when you are at Tampoi! he offers great service!!)

22 4ft T5 @ MYR18 each

8 3ft T5 @ MYR 16 each

2 1ft T5 @ MYR11 each (the person was shocked at the amt of T5s we bought!!!!)

several PLCs (holder + bulb + ballast) - ranging from MYR18 -33 (depending on how nice it looks!)

Balcony Light @ MYR 148

17 LEDs (stainless steel metal casing+3wled bulb) @ MYR 54 each

5 LEDs (clear glass casing 3wled bulb) @ MYR 65 each (I love the clear crystal like glass casing!!)

IN all, we spent MYR2650 for our lightings! We intially budgeted around 3000 sgd for them! Hopefully they all work fine given how bad our luck has been recently :(

ON another note, please avoid this shop at all cost ******* STARWORLD LIGHTING******** it is at titiwangsa, along the stretch of road as the famous tampo lighting centre. this shop is at the extreme left hand corner.

Basically, we wasted like several hours there. the story goes like this: After choosing the lights we want based on the availability given by the staff (checked against their computer system), they made us wait for like 2-3 hrs before telling us most of what we chose isnt available despite what is shown in their comp system!!! I intially wanted to buy the LED bulbs from there cos they quoted 28myr per bulb (excludes casing) which is much cheaper than the quote given by tampoi. After searching for like 1 hr, they finally sheepishly told us it wasnt avail. And they even try to bluff us by getting us to buy this alternative led bulb which has a very bright orangey light which they claimed to be warm light. Next we waited another half hr.. they told us the PLC holders that we chose arent available too. Lastly after wating again, even the metal casings that we chose for the LED bulb werent avail too! they only have 5 left instead of the 17 i requested and they wanted to charge us at full retail px instead of the agreed discounted px since i am not purchasing in bulk anymore as alot of what we wanted arent avail. hence, only the T5s were avail. By then, i was too angry. so we just walked out of the store and went to tampoi lighting centre and bought everything else from there.

so yes, this is our lighting adventure. A really tiring one! :(

Some other items we have bought so far:

WMF cookery - $169 (taka)

Dining Chairs - 100 per pc exlcudes GST (Avanni at SUngei Kadut)

Queen size storage bed divan with lifetime warranty on the hydraulics - $800 excludes GST (Avanni at Sungei Kadut) - i was sold by the lifetime warranty deal

Mirrored shoe cabinet - $500 exlcudes GST (Avanni at SUngei Kadut) (I LOVE THIS ALOT!!)

40 inch SAMSUNG 40C5000 - $999 at recent IT show (believed i got a gd deal!)

SAMSUNG fridge RT72KASE - $1219 (Best denki) + $100 NTUC voucher + $100 cold storage voucher + free samsung camera

Philips soundbar HTS9140 - 839 (display set at HN warehouse sale) - thot its ok since they only used it for that 3day warehouse sale.

Serta Le sophistication queen size mattress - $3110 + free bench + 2 sets of bedsheeets + 3 sheeps (I MIGHT WANT TO LET THIS GO AT SOME DISCOUNT. HAVENT DELIVERED YET. ANYONE HAS INTEREST?)

Full Leather sofa from OM Living - $2945

Rug from OM Living - $600

Outdoor Bar dining set with 4 stools from Natural Living - $1299

Black glass extendable dining table (from 6 to 8 seater) from CASTILLA - $1680

Coffee Table (Sierra at SUngei Kadut) - $420

Bosch Catalytic Oven - $1220 HBA43B450A

Electrolux induction hob - 900plus EHD-30010P (went for this in the end instead of brandt)

Bellari Professional sink (700mm length) - $419

Bellari Single gas hob with tempered glass - $300plus

Teka Hood DH270- $556

Teka kitchen sink tap (kobe pull-out) - $236

Electrolux washing machine EWF1073 - $935 (this includes 6 time managers instead of the usual single time manager and it has jet spray too!)

Electrolux Dryer EDE77550 - $660

32 inch LG LED TV LE3300 - $548

SORRY NO PICS YET FOR THE BUYS. WILL INCLUDE PICS THE NEXT TIME. TILL THEN :)

Edited by valerie_hh

had a meeting with the carpenter this week. gonna meet the id again tmr to choose wallpaper! will be getting black galaxy fr my kitchen tabletop. anyone knows what is the usual pricing guide for black galaxy?

mmh... our thread is so quiet....

Need pic then will have more ppl comments. Hehe....

Why you want to let go of serta mattress??

But my previous posts with so many pics didn't attract any comments too!! :'(

Initially, we bought the mattress cos we thought we have budgeted sufficiently.. but well, as things goes further with the reno, we realised we needed the extra cash elsewhere.. :(

Due to the lack of attention this t-blog has garnered, I shall resign from t-blogging.. :'( *emo*

Initially, we bought the mattress cos we thought we have budgeted sufficiently.. but well, as things goes further with the reno, we realised we needed the extra cash elsewhere.. :(

Due to the lack of attention this t-blog has garnered, I shall resign from t-blogging.. :'( *emo*

hahahahaha dun emo~ *pat pat* it's like that one la, starting time is a bit s.l.o.w. :lol:

like what marsh says, its like that. i was so sad too after joining for 2-3 weeks, can't even reach 2 pages. AFter that, i keep on blogging and commenting in others t-blog, then mine become more lively. hehehehehe.... now i have 16 pages and my reno only started today!!!

Tonight will go home and post some photos of hacking done.

:drunk: will support you!!! blog more, i comment more.....

eggroe & valeriehh:

Keep the posts coming! No response doesn't mean nobody is reading.

I am a fellow condo owner but I have not much free time to blog or respond. Because with full time job, 3 kids and meetings with the ID/contractor and the endless shopping, I am not able to take the time to participate.

I agree about the budget problem. Condo renovation always costs far more than HDB and with all the extras, I am sure your budget overrun by a lot (like mine). Fortunately I am able to take equity loan from my other property which is at cheaper rate than taking a reno loan. I feel it is better to spend more $$$ on "permanent" items like the sanitary ware, fittings etc rather than on items that can be easily upgraded later on. For my family, we spend a lot on the electricals (Eubiq system for the TV console, kitchen to minimise unsightly wires) and are also going to spend a lot on the bathroom fittings but are less concerned with the bedding and free-standing furniture.

Edited by ugoh