reglxt 0 Report post Posted January 24, 2011 hi guys really need your advise gotten turbo ceramic hob then contractor said dont know how to do the wiring ask me to find out anyone knows where to get the 30amp socket? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
neubie 2 Report post Posted January 24, 2011 hi guys really need your advise gotten turbo ceramic hob then contractor said dont know how to do the wiring ask me to find out anyone knows where to get the 30amp socket? wah, 30A!!! is the hob approved for use by Spring Singapore? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
ocean7981 0 Report post Posted January 24, 2011 hi guys really need your advise gotten turbo ceramic hob then contractor said dont know how to do the wiring ask me to find out anyone knows where to get the 30amp socket? I thought the max is 20amp for new HDB? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
reglxt 0 Report post Posted January 24, 2011 I thought the max is 20amp for new HDB? now all the induction and ceramic hob all 30 amp leh Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
gwumpkus 0 Report post Posted January 24, 2011 now all the induction and ceramic hob all 30 amp leh u risk tripping your DB constantly isnt it..? esp when AC already draws 20A... there *are* 20A induction hobs around, think Teka has one.. (unless u have no AC.. power to u, in this weather..!) Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
reglxt 0 Report post Posted January 24, 2011 u risk tripping your DB constantly isnt it..? esp when AC already draws 20A... there *are* 20A induction hobs around, think Teka has one.. (unless u have no AC.. power to u, in this weather..!) well i asked the sales person.. can actually have 20 amp.. the hob wont use fully 30 amp unless you use all 4 zones.. mine is new house with 40amp normally i only use 1 zone so consumption will be less than 30amp for sure Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
reglxt 0 Report post Posted January 24, 2011 can someone enlighten me what kind of connection is this? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Eurypylus 0 Report post Posted January 24, 2011 can someone enlighten me what kind of connection is this? Its for 3 phrase circuit, not something you'll find in HDB flat. Its mostly for factory where you have 3 live wire & 1 neutral to make 415V Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
neubie 2 Report post Posted January 24, 2011 yes, it belongs to 3-phase usage for industrial/commercial applications. HDB uses single-phase, so dun tink can be used. using it may trip ur incoming supply. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
marshmallow 0 Report post Posted January 25, 2011 well i asked the sales person.. can actually have 20 amp.. the hob wont use fully 30 amp unless you use all 4 zones.. mine is new house with 40amp normally i only use 1 zone so consumption will be less than 30amp for sure Hi, even if your house is new with 40 amps supply, HDB still does not allow any appliances with power rating higher than 15 Amps. you can refer to here: http://www.hdb.gov.sg/fi10/fi10324p.nsf/w/...al?OpenDocument "Appliance with electrical rating exceeding 15amps power is not allowed. 20amps isolator is only allowed for air conditioner installation" is it possible to exchange with the shop? there are some models around that can be used in HDB but very limited Taiyo even has one that can be used on normal 13A socket. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Eurypylus 0 Report post Posted January 25, 2011 yes, it belongs to 3-phase usage for industrial/commercial applications. HDB uses single-phase, so dun tink can be used. using it may trip ur incoming supply. While it can be use with single phrase 240v( method on the picture top left ), the start-up current will be far too much for the HDB circuit breaker. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
neubie 2 Report post Posted January 25, 2011 (edited) While it can be use with single phrase 240v( method on the picture top left ), the start-up current will be far too much for the HDB circuit breaker. Ya, but will cause phase imbalance in current loading, ie yellow phase carrying excessive current compared to blue/red phase. Edited January 25, 2011 by neubie Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
reglxt 0 Report post Posted January 25, 2011 thanks all for your advice managed to get everything sorted out we used 13amp single core cable and the hob works thanks again Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
kw2010 0 Report post Posted January 27, 2011 thanks all for your advice managed to get everything sorted out we used 13amp single core cable and the hob works thanks again 6.2kw... that mighty powerful... too powerful for normal hdb... using 13amp cable will work... but when u unwittingly over use the hob by turning 1 zone on too many... the cable will melt and cause a fire... that something not to joke with... any electrician or contractors who recommended this setup odd to be shot... there is plenty of induction hod out there like bosch 2 zone and brandt 2 zone that uses 15amp which is similar to our aircon... even that if ur place have 2 aircon compressor and u on the 2 zone hob... u still risk tripping the house... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
reglxt 0 Report post Posted March 16, 2011 6.2kw... that mighty powerful... too powerful for normal hdb... using 13amp cable will work... but when u unwittingly over use the hob by turning 1 zone on too many... the cable will melt and cause a fire... that something not to joke with... any electrician or contractors who recommended this setup odd to be shot... there is plenty of induction hod out there like bosch 2 zone and brandt 2 zone that uses 15amp which is similar to our aircon... even that if ur place have 2 aircon compressor and u on the 2 zone hob... u still risk tripping the house... no choice.. cos we oredi fully paid for the hob.. so now, we only use max 2 zones at the same time Share this post Link to post Share on other sites