idealistic 0 Report post Posted February 14, 2011 hhmm... looks nicer than bamboo poles?? wahaha! if not can buy those aluminium pole which cost about $7 bucks, and will have the same visual beauty of the rectractable hanger haizz, duno if that is good to use and worth the expense anyone has recommendation? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
May_dream1 14 Report post Posted February 14, 2011 wahaha! if not can buy those aluminium pole which cost about $7 bucks, and will have the same visual beauty of the rectractable hanger haizz, duno if that is good to use and worth the expense anyone has recommendation? i seen my friends using this. its easier to use than pole where you need some skill to put up the pole after you hang clothes on it. how much does it cost? maybe its a luxury that you can do without?? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
neubie 2 Report post Posted February 14, 2011 Lesson Learnt in tiling stage: Esp for those taking package, confirm with your contractor how much they can buffer. Often, they will tell you if the price difference for the tile you have chosen is minimal like 20 - 30 cents psf, they will not charge you. Do not accept this, have a firm cut off point and write down in black and white. When tiling is about to start, he informed us that we need to top-up the difference for foyer and masterbedroom bathroom wall tiles only. We accept it and confirm with him that no top-up needed for the rest of the tiles. But... towards the end of tiling work, he slammed more top-up on us. In short, we top-up additional for - foyer - mbr bathroom wall tiles - common bathroom wall tiles - living room We understand we need to top-up for the tiles which he conveyed to us during our meetup. However, never expect to have another round of additional top-up after earlier agreement on tiles. Reason being due to his miscalculation. looks like your experienced ID/contractor fail maths and dunno how to budget for tiles. My reno was a good experience, my contractor told me whatever that is pasted on will be chargeable, mistakes due to him will not be borne by me......excess loose tiles are given to me as spares, or unopened tile bundles are returned to Hafary, simple and easy. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
idealistic 0 Report post Posted February 14, 2011 i seen my friends using this. its easier to use than pole where you need some skill to put up the pole after you hang clothes on it. how much does it cost? maybe its a luxury that you can do without?? i heard it's about $400 for this pull up and down hanger. how nice to have luxurious living hahaha Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
idealistic 0 Report post Posted February 14, 2011 (edited) looks like your experienced ID/contractor fail maths and dunno how to budget for tiles. My reno was a good experience, my contractor told me whatever that is pasted on will be chargeable, mistakes due to him will not be borne by me......excess loose tiles are given to me as spares, or unopened tile bundles are returned to Hafary, simple and easy. Too bad for us, not our mistake, who bear? We are the ones. Miscommunication, Miscalculation, All the mis... The boiling max is when it comes to carpentry which i have not touch on that stage yet, will come to that later. All the tiles, except for bathroom floor tiles and kitchen floor tiles, we have to top up. ($2.80 AND above) If we know the cut-off price is at $2.70, we will be mindful of that in tiles selection. Rounds and rounds of top-up make us wary. Now really hope that can finish up the rectification parts (workers still have not start work), so that we can move in at the earliest date... Since 15 Nov 2010... the reno really seems draggy Edited February 14, 2011 by idealistic Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
May_dream1 14 Report post Posted February 15, 2011 Oh... I thought already finish renovation. Hmmm.... It does seem really long. 3 months leh... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
marshmallow 0 Report post Posted February 15, 2011 Have been thinking whether to install this retractable clothes hanger. Anyone use this? Is this durable and effortless to use? If lotsa strength required (w/o remote control type), then it serves no difference from bamboo poles i seen my friends using this. its easier to use than pole where you need some skill to put up the pole after you hang clothes on it. how much does it cost? maybe its a luxury that you can do without?? hey bro you were the one that PM me on this hanger before rite for your info, it's very easy to pull up and down. definitely better than bamboo sticks actually really no skill required. the only thing you need to take note is to pull the string straight, not slanted at an angle. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
idealistic 0 Report post Posted February 15, 2011 Oh... I thought already finish renovation. Hmmm.... It does seem really long. 3 months leh... consider major works done. But bcos the rectifications and touch up needed are quite major, we can't move in at all. Unable to display anything too.. i wonder when the workers start working after cny break. My neck become longer and longer like giraffe liao hey bro you were the one that PM me on this hanger before rite for your info, it's very easy to pull up and down. definitely better than bamboo sticks actually really no skill required. the only thing you need to take note is to pull the string straight, not slanted at an angle. so.. it's u marshmallow! wat a good memory u have must really find some time to try it out hands-on hehe still have lotsa things have not bought yet.. oh.. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
May_dream1 14 Report post Posted February 15, 2011 consider major works done. But bcos the rectifications and touch up needed are quite major, we can't move in at all. Unable to display anything too.. i wonder when the workers start working after cny break. My neck become longer and longer like giraffe liao oh, so considered as finished renovation, but need to do rectification due to errors and touch up? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
idealistic 0 Report post Posted February 15, 2011 (edited) oh, so considered as finished renovation, but need to do rectification due to errors and touch up? oh, so considered as finished renovation, but need to do rectification due to errors and touch up? ya.. some things not done properly. Just to name a few such as vanity water leakage, slanted shelving, plastering and wire stuck in ceiling whereby major task is involved. Touch up is unavoidable as no reno is perfect but the rectification is serious to the extent of not able to move in Can imagine the amount of dust created by plastering and ceiling works, so we can't remove the cover of furnishing etc.. This is how major it is. Edited February 15, 2011 by idealistic Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
marshmallow 0 Report post Posted February 15, 2011 ya.. some things not done properly. Just to name a few such as vanity water leakage, slanted shelving, plastering and wire stuck in ceiling whereby major task is involved. Touch up is unavoidable as no reno is perfect but the rectification is serious to the extent of not able to move in Can imagine the amount of dust created by plastering and ceiling works, so we can't remove the cover of furnishing etc.. This is how major it is. wah this is definitely not minor touch up.... actually you can install the hanger anytime in future. a few hundred bucks is ex but this is one of the few things that my hubby approved the budget immediately without thinking Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
idealistic 0 Report post Posted February 15, 2011 Too bad for us, not our mistake, who bear? We are the ones. Miscommunication, Miscalculation, All the mis... The boiling max is when it comes to carpentry which i have not touch on that stage yet, will come to that later. All the tiles, except for bathroom floor tiles and kitchen floor tiles, we have to top up. ($2.80 AND above) If we know the cut-off price is at $2.70, we will be mindful of that in tiles selection. Rounds and rounds of top-up make us wary. Now really hope that can finish up the rectification parts (workers still have not start work), so that we can move in at the earliest date... Since 15 Nov 2010... the reno really seems draggy To reinterate, we are not unreasonable people. If we are informed upfront about everything, we are ok. And not throw the bomb at us towards the end of the work. And even after we have made prior confirmation. This is simply not justifiable. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
May_dream1 14 Report post Posted February 15, 2011 ya.. some things not done properly. Just to name a few such as vanity water leakage, slanted shelving, plastering and wire stuck in ceiling whereby major task is involved. Touch up is unavoidable as no reno is perfect but the rectification is serious to the extent of not able to move in Can imagine the amount of dust created by plastering and ceiling works, so we can't remove the cover of furnishing etc.. This is how major it is. plastering? why plastering is not done before painting? that sound really serious leh.... must warn people what ID firm or contractor you are using so that no one else will face this problem. touch up is definitely cos after moving in, might realised few things need to touch up. You don't sound unreasonable to me from the way you write too. hhmm.... makes me a bit scared about my reno too. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
idealistic 0 Report post Posted February 15, 2011 wah this is definitely not minor touch up.... actually you can install the hanger anytime in future. a few hundred bucks is ex but this is one of the few things that my hubby approved the budget immediately without thinking wahaha, ya, tats why wanna seek for approval and find out the pros of it, cos heard some bad feedbacks before the holder for pole is already up, so if we really confirm buying that hanger, then we won't proceed to buy any poles plastering? why plastering is not done before painting? that sound really serious leh.... must warn people what ID firm or contractor you are using so that no one else will face this problem. touch up is definitely cos after moving in, might realised few things need to touch up. You don't sound unreasonable to me from the way you write too. hhmm.... makes me a bit scared about my reno too. Our plastering is done before painting. but end result is not satisfactory. In fact, it has been touched up before and now living room ceiling is still not acceptable. The uneveness and knife cuts/strokes are very obvious especially when the cove light is on. So we request to rectify it again. Next up for reno process is plastering which i will be sharing in due course. Will post the pic when i get home. It is even worse when you see it on-site. Among all quotes we have got, his plastering charges top the chart. But he dun allow us to use other contractor and insist that his plastering workers are very good. but sigh.. Just hope that what we face serve as an experience for all to avoid landing in similar situation. On happier note , we have just been notified that the workers will be coming to do the ceiling on sat. *cross finger* hope the issues can be solved quickly Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
idealistic 0 Report post Posted February 15, 2011 May_dream, dun worry about your reno, with your research it will sure go smoothly. May be another lucky one like marshmallow Share this post Link to post Share on other sites