May_dream1 14 Report post Posted March 3, 2011 What abt carpet? Maybe can hide part of it then not so sore eyes?? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
idealistic 0 Report post Posted March 3, 2011 CARPENTRY STAGE This is a closed up view of our console from 3D design. We came up with the console design before renovation started. There is no changes ever since then. While we are approaching the carpentry stage during reno, out of the blue, during final confirmation on carpentry, he told us something shocking. First reaction upon hearing that is "WHAT?" "TOP UP AGAIN?" He told us that our console is not like what it looks like in this 3D design. There is no aluminium frame and the glass portion is smaller. It looks something like the one below If we want the one in 3D, there is additional charge of $180. He can even say that based on our design of the whole feature wall, the console will definitely look nicer in this. Of cos, that is OUR design, needless to say since that is what we want all along. This is what contract stated: "Design & fabricate suspended tv / players console in laminate finish c/w glass panel" Knowing that we will refer to the contract, he can even mention that it is not stated in the contract. <<a true example of playing with words in contract>> ADVICE TO ALL: Make sure contract is listed in details on material used etc. On our side, we have missed out the aluminium frame and this is what happens. After our strong objection, he dropped the price unwillingly to $100. Bottom line is why are we not being notified upfront when the design is confirmed before renovation starts. BUT only informed when carpentry work is near. And it comes with a hefty top-up of $180 for the aluminium frame Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
idealistic 0 Report post Posted March 3, 2011 What abt carpet? Maybe can hide part of it then not so sore eyes?? Haha, not a bad suggestion only thing is carpet is hard to maintain hehe Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
May_dream1 14 Report post Posted March 3, 2011 Your experience are quite scary!! I hope mine contractor will not keep topping up. I will go crazy if he does!! Carpets are hard to maintain if there are very furry. Find those Iranian carpet, handmade, no fur, very smooth and very colourful!! Hehe... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
friends78 0 Report post Posted March 4, 2011 Think 'Topping up' is inevitable for most of the reno...I also start to encounter the magic word 'top up' now... Like I mentioned in my blog, Henry said must top up for the black mirror on top of the TV feature wall..Cos the black mirror is not part of the TV feature wall. Then he mentioned that the cabinets on top of the fridge also must top up... He did mention that the two aluminium strips on the TV feature wall also must top up and when my hubby and me stared at him, he quickly added that he will give us the two strips FOC. The only consolation I had was, he usually informed us about the additional charges before carrying out the works. If we don't want, he won't do then he will keep saying not nice.. Kekekeke.. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
marshmallow 0 Report post Posted March 4, 2011 CARPENTRY STAGE This is a closed up view of our console from 3D design. We came up with the console design before renovation started. There is no changes ever since then. While we are approaching the carpentry stage during reno, out of the blue, during final confirmation on carpentry, he told us something shocking. First reaction upon hearing that is "WHAT?" "TOP UP AGAIN?" He told us that our console is not like what it looks like in this 3D design. There is no aluminium frame and the glass portion is smaller. It looks something like the one below If we want the one in 3D, there is additional charge of $180. He can even say that based on our design of the whole feature wall, the console will definitely look nicer in this. Of cos, that is OUR design, needless to say since that is what we want all along. This is what contract stated: "Design & fabricate suspended tv / players console in laminate finish c/w glass panel" Knowing that we will refer to the contract, he can even mention that it is not stated in the contract. <<a true example of playing with words in contract>> ADVICE TO ALL: Make sure contract is listed in details on material used etc. On our side, we have missed out the aluminium frame and this is what happens. After our strong objection, he dropped the price unwillingly to $100. Bottom line is why are we not being notified upfront when the design is confirmed before renovation starts. BUT only informed when carpentry work is near. And it comes with a hefty top-up of $180 for the aluminium frame what's the use of showing you the 3D from the beginning if it is different from the quote? have you gone to look for your ID's boss and bang table? Think 'Topping up' is inevitable for most of the reno...I also start to encounter the magic word 'top up' now... Like I mentioned in my blog, Henry said must top up for the black mirror on top of the TV feature wall..Cos the black mirror is not part of the TV feature wall. Then he mentioned that the cabinets on top of the fridge also must top up... He did mention that the two aluminium strips on the TV feature wall also must top up and when my hubby and me stared at him, he quickly added that he will give us the two strips FOC. The only consolation I had was, he usually informed us about the additional charges before carrying out the works. If we don't want, he won't do then he will keep saying not nice.. Kekekeke.. i think the problem idealistic has is, the ID always doesn't tell him top up etc before hand... at least for Henry, he usually tells you upfront about the possible top-up so we can consider whether to top up or not (same case for my reno too). if he tells you not nice, you tell him back that you like it this way... hee hee hee Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
May_dream1 14 Report post Posted March 4, 2011 Think 'Topping up' is inevitable for most of the reno...I also start to encounter the magic word 'top up' now... Like I mentioned in my blog, Henry said must top up for the black mirror on top of the TV feature wall..Cos the black mirror is not part of the TV feature wall. Then he mentioned that the cabinets on top of the fridge also must top up... He did mention that the two aluminium strips on the TV feature wall also must top up and when my hubby and me stared at him, he quickly added that he will give us the two strips FOC. The only consolation I had was, he usually informed us about the additional charges before carrying out the works. If we don't want, he won't do then he will keep saying not nice.. Kekekeke.. I don't mind changing the quotation.. but once the reno starts, i don't want to suddenly have to top up this and that. The way i see it, final quote is final unless i decided to add something... so all 3D agreed, final quotation agreed then that's it. Any other costs not in the quote but in 3D, then too bad the contractor did wrong calculation, so he must absorb the cost. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
froggy 0 Report post Posted March 4, 2011 I don't mind changing the quotation.. but once the reno starts, i don't want to suddenly have to top up this and that. The way i see it, final quote is final unless i decided to add something... so all 3D agreed, final quotation agreed then that's it. Any other costs not in the quote but in 3D, then too bad the contractor did wrong calculation, so he must absorb the cost. I think unless yr quotation is very detailed with spec, measurement etc, else bound to have to top up in one way or another. Sometimes in paper we want the design to be a particular way. Once reno starts and then you actually see the things in place and in the right position, your feel of the space/place may also change. Hence some alteration is inevitable. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
May_dream1 14 Report post Posted March 4, 2011 I think unless yr quotation is very detailed with spec, measurement etc, else bound to have to top up in one way or another. Sometimes in paper we want the design to be a particular way. Once reno starts and then you actually see the things in place and in the right position, your feel of the space/place may also change. Hence some alteration is inevitable. ya lah, if i want to change, then top up is sure. but if already agreed, then how can suddenly top up? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
friends78 0 Report post Posted March 4, 2011 if he tells you not nice, you tell him back that you like it this way... hee hee hee Marshmallow, sometimes I hear too many 'Not nice' until I a bit buay song leh.. I feel like telling him to draw the 3D according to what he quoted us and not to draw nice nice ones and then tell us to top up this and that leh... People see nice nice pics of course not willing to give up the extras.... But having said that, I still feel that Henry is good and he ensures everything is well communicate be it pricing or measurements before carrying out the work. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
marshmallow 0 Report post Posted March 4, 2011 I think unless yr quotation is very detailed with spec, measurement etc, else bound to have to top up in one way or another. Sometimes in paper we want the design to be a particular way. Once reno starts and then you actually see the things in place and in the right position, your feel of the space/place may also change. Hence some alteration is inevitable. ya lah, if i want to change, then top up is sure. but if already agreed, then how can suddenly top up? even when quotation is very detailed, when actually get the job done there will still be surprises, sometimes is not anyone's fault - slight top up is inevitable. for example, contractor does work halfway and suddenly found that there is problem in some area. he really needs you to pay more to make good that problem, we can't say quotation agree liao we won't pay him, rite? but key point is contractor/ID should be truthful and transparent to you about what happened, things can always be discussed if contractor brings up beforehand. May, i haven't seen a project that is completely without variation... haha Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
May_dream1 14 Report post Posted March 4, 2011 even when quotation is very detailed, when actually get the job done there will still be surprises, sometimes is not anyone's fault - slight top up is inevitable. for example, contractor does work halfway and suddenly found that there is problem in some area. he really needs you to pay more to make good that problem, we can't say quotation agree liao we won't pay him, rite? but key point is contractor/ID should be truthful and transparent to you about what happened, things can always be discussed if contractor brings up beforehand. May, i haven't seen a project that is completely without variation... haha really? hahahah... if surprises that is not anyone's fault, that i can understand lah. but things like aluminium track which was was in 3D then suddenly have to pay for it? that i will never would agree Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
marshmallow 0 Report post Posted March 4, 2011 really? hahahah... if surprises that is not anyone's fault, that i can understand lah. but things like aluminium track which was was in 3D then suddenly have to pay for it? that i will never would agree exactly my sentiment..... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
idealistic 0 Report post Posted March 7, 2011 (edited) what's the use of showing you the 3D from the beginning if it is different from the quote? have you gone to look for your ID's boss and bang table? i think the problem idealistic has is, the ID always doesn't tell him top up etc before hand... at least for Henry, he usually tells you upfront about the possible top-up so we can consider whether to top up or not (same case for my reno too). if he tells you not nice, you tell him back that you like it this way... hee hee hee Agree that top-up is inevitable in reno. Ours is just simply overboard and totally not up to justice. With rounds and rounds of issues, all those mentioned have yet to come to an end........... ID's boss is mentioned in the very first posting. Basically, everything will still leave to id to settle all problems Edited March 7, 2011 by idealistic Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
idealistic 0 Report post Posted March 7, 2011 Think 'Topping up' is inevitable for most of the reno...I also start to encounter the magic word 'top up' now... Like I mentioned in my blog, Henry said must top up for the black mirror on top of the TV feature wall..Cos the black mirror is not part of the TV feature wall. Then he mentioned that the cabinets on top of the fridge also must top up... He did mention that the two aluminium strips on the TV feature wall also must top up and when my hubby and me stared at him, he quickly added that he will give us the two strips FOC. The only consolation I had was, he usually informed us about the additional charges before carrying out the works. If we don't want, he won't do then he will keep saying not nice.. Kekekeke.. During our first meetup, we have ensured that the feature wall quote includes choice of tinted mirror and stainless steel strips and make sure it is stated in black and white in contract. Otherwise, he will definitely slam surprise charges on this last minute. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites