idealistic

Unforgettable ~~

Before going to next stage, here is Some Previews of Lightings!

Bathroom light (go for simple lighting)

5461657998_fa2613aa77_m.jpg

Below is custom made downlight with black border ;)

5461055443_dbd21205a1_m.jpg

Kitchen light

5461055391_ea9b364151_m.jpg

Foyer light (nice effect for entrance)

5461827740_3d424920fe_m.jpg

Where did you get the foyer light?

its very nice~

Matex is supposed to be very long lasting and yes, some do use it as base coat.... nothing wrong with it, but if you have selected odourless or some other more premium range of Nippon, then its wrong of them to use something else instead, cost aside. They shd use wat you have selected.

One thing to note, regardless of what is in the contract you signed with them. The last payment to be paid after FINALLY being completed should be 10% or more and you shd hold onto this payment till they have rectified everything to your satisfaction.

Too little and they won't bother rectifying it. Our last payment, we charge couple of thousands back to the contractor cos he was supposed to do some things that were not done. We told him that we had to deduct that amount for things that were promised but not done and for us to go set someone else to do it costs money, so we are charging him back for all these....

We choose the paint from nippon catalogue. Any range, any colour.

To be specific, the paint we get for large surface like living room come in Matex bucket. And the rest in Vinilex5000 bucket (the cheapest range in catalogue)

However, the paint colour we have selected fall under the category of Odourless (premium), Easy wash (premium), Vinyl silk and Vinilex5000

This explains why this is shocking to us. A check with friends around, eyes widen when hearing matex paint.

Have heard many examples of contractor using inferior paint.

When asked about the 3 big tins of matex paint, he told us the painter use it for base coat. But base coat with our colour code?? And later say inside is what we choose, just the bucket is different. At least, after our persistence, he changed for us immediately. That settles all.

We did not specifically choose premium range paint. The colour tone is different for different range. To us, it's the colour we are after. Like our living room, the colour we like is under Vinyl silk. And some people who are more sensitive to bacterial might choose 3-in-1 medifresh and those with kids might like Easywash.

We are still in the stage of rectification and is pretty major. Replace of cracked tile and plastering are enough to dust the whole house. We have given dateline to wrap up all rectification by month end.. cos the whole reno is really too long, although taking into consideration for all holidays, it is simply too long from 15 nov...... 8|

Where did you get the foyer light?

its very nice~

From lightings.com

Decide to buy from there after going to many lighting shops, tired to find and dun want to bargain haha, just grab and go.

my house uses matex paint...but i was advised against using matex by my painter friend. He said the paint will turn flaky after some time..

i guess ideallistic was paying for more expensive paint but felt cheated when he was given a cheaper matex paint. Matex has the advantage of blending in, if u repaint a part of the wall after say 3months, the paint will blend in very well with the old paint, making it seemed like no touch up.

sianz... i paid $1200 for ICI dulux paint.. only to see containers of matex paint in my house during reno.... but mine already over.. no choice..

i think i have explained it in steelze's and my own t-blogs... :lol: it's true that painters do purchase paint in large amount and pour them into matex paint cans cos they have a lot of these matex empty cans :P so the paint in the matex cans could really be the correct one.

but i think the problem with idealistic's painter is that he is not consistent in his explanation... which shows that something is wrong :no:

Matex is supposed to be very long lasting and yes, some do use it as base coat.... nothing wrong with it, but if you have selected odourless or some other more premium range of Nippon, then its wrong of them to use something else instead, cost aside. They shd use wat you have select :furious: ed.

One thing to note, regardless of what is in the contract you signed with them. The last payment to be paid after FINALLY being completed should be 10% or more and you shd hold onto this payment till they have rectified everything to your satisfaction.

Too little and they won't bother rectifying it. Our last payment, we charge couple of thousands back to the contractor cos he was supposed to do some things that were not done. We told him that we had to deduct that amount for things that were promised but not done and for us to go set someone else to do it costs money, so we are charging him back for all these....

Piang! rectification still under progress and he is pressing for final payment. We have not even move in for goodness sake!

Of cos, when rectifications are done and we are satisfied, we will pay the balance. :curse:

Like at the very least if this sat rectification work is completed and we are satisfied, he can just tell us during sat that we can prepare for the final payment and he can come and collect from us the following week. AND not what he did now by asking us over the phone to prepare for payment while we are checking with him on some rectification issue.

I think you haven't tell us who did such poor job. :)

Tell him off lah... Who ask him to do such lousy job?

I thought the ID firm was stated at the very first post. Are you refering which group of tiler, carpenter, painter that this ID engaged?

Reno company: Baroque D'zign

Reno start date: 12 Nov 2010 (self-hacking), 15 Nov 2010 for reno company

ID: Sunny Giam

Boss: Jaesonn Tan

I thought the ID firm was stated at the very first post. Are you refering which group of tiler, carpenter, painter that this ID engaged?

Reno company: Baroque D'zign

Reno start date: 12 Nov 2010 (self-hacking), 15 Nov 2010 for reno company

ID: Sunny Giam

Boss: Jaesonn Tan

thanks yumiko.... i am getting old.. :)

hee, May_dream1 is in many tblogs here, so abit confused :P

He brought up the final payment when rectification is still progressing, is there a need to be so anxious?? We all know right if all of you have been following my tblog...

It is so clear and obvious that he is thinking we will hold the balance. HOWEVER, all the more we as owners need to safeguard ourselves, esp to those who can even dishonour the discount in contract. There are so many issues since the start of reno and coming to 4 months. ..GOSH.. :curse: If we have the intention to hold any payment, we will not be the one calling him to collect for the previous payment.

We are not trying to make things difficult purposely by finding fault. Those are defects that can be seen easily and therefore have to be rectified. We bought resale house is because of shorter waiting time, what good has it got for us to drag the whole reno. :curse:

Trying to let things go and he keeps putting oil

Edited by idealistic

hee, May_dream1 is in many tblogs here, so abit confused :P

Trying to let things go and he keeps putting oil

Haha.... Ya I go to almost all t-blogs and give comments. Trying to be friendly mah...

The ID must thought u are really unhappy with him so you might hold the payment. Some owners might have live with the defects and he have gotten away with it. So he trying to "Siam" from rectifying the defects and hope u will let go and pay him.

PARQUET VANISH STAGE

woah, vast difference.

Parquet for 3 bedrooms retained

5494491986_56d50c56f7.jpg

5493898969_aa3cc89db5.jpg

Below is area for WIW (ex-storeroom), with further extension to the other bedroom

As the flooring of ex-storeroom is not parquet, new parquet has to be placed.

Noticed the different tone of the existing and new parquet? The lighter colour is the new parquet while darker colour is existing parquet from next bedroom.

5494492134_752635ca9a.jpg

Beforehand, contractor has mentioned the colour will be similar. We have brought up this concern numerous times.

BUT, after vanishing the difference is so obvious and way out. And being almost in the centre across the WIW, there is no way to camouflage it.

Again, here he comes with all reasonings.

What else can we do?? Nothing, but to swallow and accept it :(:(:(

After varnish also can see the 2 tones?? Wow!!! Very obvious leh.... Is there anything he can do or he is not going to do anything abt it??

Yes, that is what it is after vanishing! After all the assurance.. this is what we get

Lucky it is in WIW!!!!!

Nothing is suggested. Being not calculative for enclosed area, we let this matter go.