idealistic

Unforgettable ~~

May_dream, dun worry about your reno, with your research it will sure go smoothly.

May be another lucky one like marshmallow :)

hahaha... thanks. i do hope so.... but sometimes after doing all research, things still can go wrong. did a few mistakes myself...

NEXT STAGE: PLASTERING

Plastering done: Living room

5448462388_932e1f85df.jpg

Fast forward a little to get a better picture

Below is after ceiling work and lightings up

Living room ceiling

5448462452_a61bd8ae92.jpg

MBR ceiling

5447855673_d262c78424.jpg

Edited by idealistic

Plastering worker is recalled to do one round of touch up for skirting edges, cuts on walls, smoothen the rough side at corner and of cos living room and mbr ceiling.

After touch up, most resolved except living room which is still not passable.

This is the work of a skillful plastering worker? If they are as good as what he claimed, there should not be any touch up needed at all

5447855941_487cfee2a7.jpg

Plaster marking left at L-box after the touch up

5447855883_f06fa3a328.jpg

So now pending for contractor to solve the issue again.

Edited by idealistic

Plastering worker is recalled to do one round of touch up for skirting edges, cuts on walls, smoothen the rough side at corner and of cos living room and mbr ceiling.

After touch up, most resolved except living room which is still not passable.

This is the work of a skillful plastering worker? If they are as good as what he claimed, there should not be any touch up needed at all

5447855941_487cfee2a7.jpg

Plaster marking left at L-box after the touch up

5447855883_f06fa3a328.jpg

So now pending for contractor to solve the issue again.

actually i have one question... HDB rules actually stated plastering of ceiling is not allowed, but i see many pple doing it...?

btw, how old is your flat? i'd say the small bumps shouldn't be there, but it would be difficult to expect a very smooth surface cos the original HDB workmanship really sucks 8|

Wall built for vanity outside bathroom at masterbedroom.

Another purpose is to separate the bathroom door which is facing the bed.

5433385061_bed417acc8_m.jpg

FYI, all my erected walls using hollow blocks (same as yours in the picture) have crack lines along the joining part between new walls and origianl HDB walls. Painter covered the cracks line 2 weeks ago, but they came out again. i asked my ID again, he said crack lines are VERY normal for exrect walls using hollow blocks.

make sure u check with ur contractor /id on this.

FYI, all my erected walls using hollow blocks (same as yours in the picture) have crack lines along the joining part between new walls and origianl HDB walls. Painter covered the cracks line 2 weeks ago, but they came out again. i asked my ID again, he said crack lines are VERY normal for exrect walls using hollow blocks.

oh.... then i guess its normal to have crack lines. what to do then? keep on patching it?

Lesson Learnt in tiling stage: Esp for those taking package, confirm with your contractor how much they can buffer. Often, they will tell you if the price difference for the tile you have chosen is minimal like 20 - 30 cents psf, they will not charge you. Do not accept this, have a firm cut off point and write down in black and white.

When tiling is about to start, he informed us that we need to top-up the difference for foyer and masterbedroom bathroom wall tiles only. We accept it and confirm with him that no top-up needed for the rest of the tiles.

But... towards the end of tiling work, he slammed more top-up on us. In short, we top-up additional for

- foyer

- mbr bathroom wall tiles

- common bathroom wall tiles

- living room

We understand we need to top-up for the tiles which he conveyed to us during our meetup. However, never expect to have another round of additional top-up after earlier agreement on tiles. :furious: Reason being due to his miscalculation.

my id quoted my kitchen wall tiles of area 260psf. when the reno started halfway into tiling work, workers realised that my kitchen require almost 500sf of tiles! my id admitted it's his fault for overlooking this, and accepted to absorb the top up. thumbs up for his professionalism in this aspect.

ur id simply not interested in possible future referrals from u ah?

oh.... then i guess its normal to have crack lines. what to do then? keep on patching it?

hmm.. i am still not convinced with the crack lines.. i went to my uncle place last sat. his reno just ended.. i walked ard his place like a police dog sniffing at his walls and ceiling work for crack lines.. didnt see any at all! -_-!

my ID said this group of his tilers is the best in his company liao. aiseh..

hmm.. i am still not convinced with the crack lines.. i went to my uncle place last sat. his reno just ended.. i walked ard his place like a police dog sniffing at his walls and ceiling work for crack lines.. didnt see any at all! -_-!

my ID said this group of his tilers is the best in his company liao. aiseh..

it's very common la... sometimes cracks surface immediately, sometimes wait a few months then starts to come out, just ask your ID to patch it back...

my teacher told me she patched 3 times over 2 years and decided that she won't do it anymore, so just bought a big bookshelf to cover the cracks :lol:

some other friends told me that after a while, you don't "see" the cracks anymore cos you've gotten used to it.

actually i have one question... HDB rules actually stated plastering of ceiling is not allowed, but i see many pple doing it...?

btw, how old is your flat? i'd say the small bumps shouldn't be there, but it would be difficult to expect a very smooth surface cos the original HDB workmanship really sucks 8|

Almost 30 years flat :o

Many walls are not straight which i guess is very common esp for resale flats.

Plastering suppose to smoothen, it is very badly done, can't see very clearly from picture. The feeling is really "OMG!" :jawdrop: when our lights are installed.

Not only bumps, but many cuts, rough surface, patches, waving strokes. We expect good job since the contractor highly recommend his plastering workers and the price quoted is not low. Even during painting job, the painter says the plastering is not done properly, commenting that it is the job of plastering worker when we ask him about the rough edges between 2 walls. The contractor did arrange his plastering worker to touch up immediately, but still not good and now still pending. My move in date will be uncertain if this rectification is on hold...

i like your kitchen wall tiles. very nice :)

Thanks! i like the final outlook too, better than expected. The one we have selected is out of stock and so this tile becomes the lucky one to be chosen. lol With countless trips to tile shops.

anw he is more like contractor than id

so far, we have not noticed any crack lines on our hollow blocks. Esp for MBR where we have done quite a fair bit of touch up ourselves.

painting touch up is like endless, as time passed, think most people will just close one eye and live with it

Edited by idealistic

my id quoted my kitchen wall tiles of area 260psf. when the reno started halfway into tiling work, workers realised that my kitchen require almost 500sf of tiles! my id admitted it's his fault for overlooking this, and accepted to absorb the top up. thumbs up for his professionalism in this aspect.

ur id simply not interested in possible future referrals from u ah?

unable to comment. sure can tell from my tblog the level of frustration and anger during the reno.

the reason why i did not post while work is in progress until now (when major works are done), is to give the judgement based on overall experience. Now have to see how he manages work recovery. One strong point about him is being contactable. He will definitely return call should he missed our call. Call him a contractor because of lacking in design capability. But he did propose some designs which is not too bad like how to utilize black wall tiles in kitchen area. Have not posted any pic on this yet, stay tune for that. Main downsides are his "roti prata" style and "smoking" tactics.