st96

Hdb Resale Ea Unit At Kang Ching Road

Hi Mae,

Ha! Ha! At first, I also wanted floor tile with wood grain for all bedrooms .... same advice from him. So, changed my selection then.

Rgds!

Sunny

Bro Sunny

Very co-incident leh.......I think we have the same idea!!! Now what tiles you choose? Colour?

Edited by mae29

Ha! Ha! At first, I also wanted floor tile with wood grain for all bedrooms .... same advice from him. So, changed my selection then.

Very co-incident leh.......I think we have the same idea!!! Now what tiles you choose? Colour?

Wa Bro, Heng I come to your blog at the right time, wife n me had decided to choose wood tile for our kitchen.... hmmm now will re-think seriously :)

LOL!!!

Same here! I was considering using wood-grain ceramic tiles for my outdoor balcony; coz it's cheaper than getting chengal wood decking.

it's abt $8.50 ($4.50 for material; $4 for workmanship) psf for wood-grain ceramic tiles and abt $15 - $22 psf for chengal wood decking.

but the staff at Hup Kiong told us not to use those; esp if we are going to do for outdoor balcony, coz the colour will fade over time...

I'm seriously considering to do my chengal wood decking for the balcony (think ard $2K) to complement the wooden multiple-fold doors... hmmm....

hahaha i'm opposite from you... we changed the water saving type tap to normal type (so-called "non-water-saving") cos the flow from water saving type is pathetic~! i have Nobel tap in common bathroom and i felt the flow is too small~ LOL :lol:

normal tap if want small flow, just turn tap a little to control flow and won't splash. for water saving type, it takes ages to fill a pot even if turn to maximum.... can fall asleep waiting hahahaha zz

I will also go for non-water saving type; coz i think the water pressure at my place, not very gd...

i thought got those tap with aerator which can help with water saving, but adding air pressure to the water flow... that kind, that has like a lot of bubbles when it flows out... :P

White Horse...all clean clean Newer design tiles! Unlike most bigger showroom where you get to see all the 'chap pa lang' tiles including those outdated ones!! You are there to choose only a particular floor tiles... You will be like entering into a jungle just to find the right tree!

For me, it was the ID who is having the headache of choosing the tiles for me!! He has been to many showroom in his field of work, so I guess he just zoom in to one place where he can get what he has in mind for home owners. Although I was making my selection while ID was busy browsing elsewhere, he will tell you from his experience whether your selection of tiles is good or bad. I like those tiles with 'waterfall' resort feel, but he said not easy to maintain, grow algae & hard to scrub off, toilet tiles must be smooth type. Then when I choose those floor tiles with wood feel, he said don't try to mix them; wood must be natural wood, very ugly if you get those ceremic floor tiles with wood grain feature!

In the end, accept his reasoning & let him do the selection for me.

For the tap mixers, I believe it is depending on the water pressure of your unit. I stay on lower floor, so the water flow is really like Tsunami. I have taken few shots & will upload in my post later.

it's gd to have an ID to help you choose. I think what i've mentioned before, abt hiring contractor is that sometimes, they cannot advise much on the colour scheme, and tile selection and lighting plan, which are areas I would really appreciate a professional advice... maybe my contractor can advise la... but I tend to take it with a pinch of salt... :P

LOL!!!

Same here! I was considering using wood-grain ceramic tiles for my outdoor balcony; coz it's cheaper than getting chengal wood decking.

it's abt $8.50 ($4.50 for material; $4 for workmanship) psf for wood-grain ceramic tiles and abt $15 - $22 psf for chengal wood decking.

but the staff at Hup Kiong told us not to use those; esp if we are going to do for outdoor balcony, coz the colour will fade over time...

I'm seriously considering to do my chengal wood decking for the balcony (think ard $2K) to complement the wooden multiple-fold doors... hmmm....

hey bro i initially thought of using those wood grain tiles for toilet, but i found that these tiles are generally more slippery, so dropped the idea~ anyway, did you read the other thread on the chengal wood?

http://www.renotalk.com/forum/index.php?sh...c=38979&hl=

i think you can also consider homo tiles for balcony... do you remember my toilet floor tiles? i think it will look quite nice for "outdoor" areas too :)

I will also go for non-water saving type; coz i think the water pressure at my place, not very gd...

i thought got those tap with aerator which can help with water saving, but adding air pressure to the water flow... that kind, that has like a lot of bubbles when it flows out... :P

ahhhh "aerator"... that's the word... i just can't recall when replying yesterday :lol: yea those water-saving type is essentially a normal tap that is fitted with an aerator. you can always removed the aerator and replace with a "normal" fitting to make it "non-water saving". (sorry i dunno what's the term for the normal fitting) but if you simply remove the aerator without replacing any "normal fitting", then the water will splash all over the place.... hmmm hope you get what i mean :P

Finally posted the pictures of the tap mixers in my post #852 here:

http://www.renotalk.com/forum/index.php?sh...mp;#entry621965

I bought my sink mixer accessories from them. Good recommendation is the tap mixer with water saving feature...won't splash when turns on. The brand of my sink mixer is Ixiss, and the one installed at my MBR toilet is Pozzi brand, and I like the latter one because it has the 'rainshower' effect & flow is not those gushing type, can save water. The shower model Rubine, in my MBR toilet also has water saving feature.

But don't buy Nobel brand tap mixer, in common bathroom, because water flow is like Tsunami!

ahhhh "aerator"... that's the word... i just can't recall when replying yesterday :lol: yea those water-saving type is essentially a normal tap that is fitted with an aerator. you can always removed the aerator and replace with a "normal" fitting to make it "non-water saving". (sorry i dunno what's the term for the normal fitting) but if you simply remove the aerator without replacing any "normal fitting", then the water will splash all over the place.... hmmm hope you get what i mean :P

Finally posted the pictures of the tap mixers in my post #852 here:

http://www.renotalk.com/forum/index.php?sh...mp;#entry621965

ah saw yours... that's the type of flow i want! hahahahaha :lol:

if you think it's too much, just turn the tap smaller... won't splash so much and also save water :P

usually i don't need such a big flow, so i will throttle the tap opening smaller so water won't splash everywhere, but, i want the maximum flow to be there when i need it :lol:

i still have an aerator at home (cos we removed from the kitchen tap to replace with a "normal" fitting), not sure if it can fit your tap or not :P

ah saw yours... that's the type of flow i want! hahahahaha :lol:

if you think it's too much, just turn the tap smaller... won't splash so much and also save water :P

usually i don't need such a big flow, so i will throttle the tap opening smaller so water won't splash everywhere, but, i want the maximum flow to be there when i need it :lol:

i still have an aerator at home (cos we removed from the kitchen tap to replace with a "normal" fitting), not sure if it can fit your tap or not :P

You mean you like the Tsunami flow?? :huh:

You can bring along the aerator to my place on 10-April.....I will fix it on the sink mixer....the children are children...my heart was throbbing when they turn on to the maximum flow.... :~

LOL!!!

We wanted the Chengal wood too, but changed our minds due to the cost - it would be about 6k just to deck our balcony! We ended up using those wood-grain tiles you mentioned. Our ID didn't mention the colour will fade though... he said it's fine as long as we like the "feel" (so I took off my shoes at Hafary...). The grain can definitely be felt, and while it does not have the same feel as wood, we also felt it might be easier to maintain because of our pets.

This is what it looks like:

5530873941_bf931b78c8.jpg

Hopefully the newly extended roof will provide more shelter and prevent the fading, especially when our balcony is going to be dining area.

Love the look of those wooden multiple-fold doors too, but they're pricey when we need 6 panes at least - so chucked the idea too :( As a consolation, we tell ourselves it would blend better with the "modern look" of the rest of the apartment. Sigh.

-Ely

Renovation permit was approved!

Renovation work shall start on coming Monday. Hacking first ....

Electrical works, not ID's regular electrician, but awarded to another contractor (you know, my in-law old old neighbour lor). Just hope, there is no coordination issue betw ID and this sub-contractor.

Renovation permit was approved!

Renovation work shall start on coming Monday. Hacking first ....

Electrical works, not ID's regular electrician, but awarded to another contractor (you know, my in-law old old neighbour lor). Just hope, there is no coordination issue betw ID and this sub-contractor.

HURRAY! from hail of destruction, a new flat shall reborn i always say.

more decisions making down the road.

exciting times ahead ya!

Settled one/two items today:

Toilet Fittings & Accessories (Mixed Brands, and 707 Instant Heater)

Kitchen Fittings & Accessories (Rinnai Hob & Hood, and Fujioh Oven)

Similar experience as Mae, visited Asia Excel with the ID, and taking recommendations (Sales: Ms Roselyn Tan) within my budget. Totally, forgot all the good advise (type of mixer & water pressure & water saving, etc .....) from this Forum. :(

Settled one/two items today:

Toilet Fittings & Accessories (Mixed Brands, and 707 Instant Heater)

Kitchen Fittings & Accessories (Rinnai Hob & Hood, and Fujioh Oven)

Similar experience as Mae, visited Asia Excel with the ID, and taking recommendations (Sales: Ms Roselyn Tan) within my budget. Totally, forgot all the good advise (type of mixer & water pressure & water saving, etc .....) from this Forum. :(

Congrats!!! can start hacking on monday liao... hehehe....

i faced the same problem too...when go shopping with ID, whatever we learnt here, will forget most of it.... i guess immediate pressure is more than what we thought. Never mind.... look forward to your reno lah...

You mean you like the Tsunami flow?? :huh:

You can bring along the aerator to my place on 10-April.....I will fix it on the sink mixer....the children are children...my heart was throbbing when they turn on to the maximum flow.... :~

hahahaha after reading your point on "children being children", i understand what you mean liao.... (cos my hubby also like that!) hahahaha then you'll need water saving feature~ :lol:

Congrats!!! can start hacking on monday liao... hehehe....

i faced the same problem too...when go shopping with ID, whatever we learnt here, will forget most of it.... i guess immediate pressure is more than what we thought. Never mind.... look forward to your reno lah...

we used to keep a note book during reno... where important points are scribbled on it, so when go for shopping, can refer to the points and tips immediately :)

Never mind lah, all chosen already. Don't think i want to change them..... cos i think what i chosen is ok... heheheeh.... just a bit expensive