ejzoen 3 Report post Posted January 18, 2011 (edited) I came across this lamp in a recent trade exhibition. The Giant Prestigious Red Dot Design Award drew my attention to visit the booth. The feature model is called JELLYFISH by YANTOUCH Looks pretty whether its turn off or on. Its quite interesting & very much similar to Philips LivingColors but with better features. I own a Philips mini but i thk its not bright enuf. But the best part is, it DOESN'T BLIND YOUR EYES unlike tt Philips!! cos the bulb is emiting light from under not on top so its not so glaring. This one seem easier to use, it can switch color buy sweeping across the touch pad, & increase or decrease brightness by sweeping up & down. This item is made in Taiwan so i believe quality is very much decent. Wonder if paying $150 for this is worth it. Edited January 18, 2011 by ejzoen Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Chanel26 1 Report post Posted January 18, 2011 It looks really nice. Anyone have any review with this to share? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
ejzoen 3 Report post Posted January 18, 2011 (edited) It looks really nice. Anyone have any review with this to share? not much review yet cos it relatively new. the Distributor & i spoke, & told me if I'm keen they can ship to us in a decent quantity. i dun have "Decent quantity" hahaha its very nice but cant get my hands on them cos they dun sell during the exhibition. Ebay selling SGD$ 193. Im was thinking if i could buy like 10pcs & use them for Xmas presents. Best price offer is around $120 exclude parcel to SG. so i reckon total cost will be ard $150 per unit min. 100 units!!!! Im trying to ask if they can do like 20s or smtg.. Warranty is 1 year 1 to 1 exchange & they are very confident that product is able to last for more than 15,000 hours no problem correction Edited January 19, 2011 by ejzoen Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
pixie 0 Report post Posted January 18, 2011 not much review yet cos it relatively new. the Distributor & i spoke, & told me if I'm keen they can ship to us in a decent quantity. i dun have "Decent quantity" hahaha its very nice but cant get my hands on them cos they dun sell during the exhibition. Ebay selling SGD$ 193. Im was thinking if i could buy like 10pcs & use them for Xmas presents. Best price offer is around $120 exclude parcel to SG. so i reckon total cost will be ard $150 per unit min. 100 units!!!! Im trying to ask if they can do like 20s or smtg.. Warranty is 1 year 1 to 1 exchange & they are very confident that product is able to last for more than 10,000 hours no problem Very pretty! let me know how the deal goes! =) Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
manutd1972 1 Report post Posted January 18, 2011 is it using LED bulbs, just like the Philips LivingColours? wat's the physical size of the lamp? same as LivingColours? not referring to the Mini. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
ejzoen 3 Report post Posted January 19, 2011 (edited) is it using LED bulbs, just like the Philips LivingColours? wat's the physical size of the lamp? same as LivingColours? not referring to the Mini. "dimension 227 x 148mm weight 1.7kg" i reckon the 227mm refers to the diameter of the DISC like body then 148mm is the total height when elevated with the transparent leg. its different from LivingColors cos Philip is direct projection. so the bulb is pointing up & u may look into it & glare ur eyes. "even the manual in philips warns NOT TO STARE AT THE BULB" Also, this Jellyfish can control the Brightness, which Philips cannot. this Jellyfish is projecting from the transparent legs. which will bounce off light from the bottom. I thk d only flaw of this is, if u put it on d dull dark table the room wont be bright cos there is little reflection. i've been playing with my LivingColor all over my house & found that shining on white or light color surfaces makes d room brighter. that's y we see club's with mood light tends to have very white interior. like SUPPERCLUB or the Defunct MOS. Actually i like d idea of playing with colours. like every white room like a blank canvas, turn on the mood like & u cn change colors every nite! in d day, we cn have different color curtains to achieve that difference feel. Edited January 19, 2011 by ejzoen Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
ejzoen 3 Report post Posted January 19, 2011 (edited) If im gg to place a order from them, Price to SG is ard $130 - $150 [RRP is EURO 111 ~ SGD 190.00] Price is base on unit cost + shipping Unit cost - depending on quantity, more quantity more discount. Shipping cost - for items will be send via parcel, larger or heavier parcel should be cheaper. They have a ebay page for more details. their RRP is $193.20 with free postage http://cgi.ebay.com.sg/Yantouch-LED-JellyF...=item3a62685bf7 Terms: Warranty will be negotiate with them when we are confirm buying Would anyone be interested? Pls add ur name here No.> NICK> QTY> 1. 2. 3. & drop me a email @ ad_b_h@yahoo.com.sg in the following format Subject: JELLYFISH Name: Nick: Contact: Quantity: NO OBLIGATIONS, Just need to see how many we can order, will not send u spams one. dun scared No guarantee the order will go thru but will notify you if we can secure this lobang. Edited January 19, 2011 by ejzoen Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
manutd1972 1 Report post Posted January 19, 2011 Also, this Jellyfish can control the Brightness, which Philips cannot. sorry, need to correct u there. Philips LivingColours CAN adjust brightness, as well as intensity of the colour. maybe the Mini cannot adjust brightness, i'm not sure, cos i dun hv it. the Mini has 3 LED bulbs and comes in an opaque casing, whereas the LivingColours have 4 LED bulbs, and comes in a translucent casing. 4 LED bulbs also means a greater range of colours and more shades of colours, selectable by adjusting the intensity of each colour. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
ejzoen 3 Report post Posted January 19, 2011 (edited) sorry, need to correct u there. Philips LivingColours CAN adjust brightness, as well as intensity of the colour. maybe the Mini cannot adjust brightness, i'm not sure, cos i dun hv it. the Mini has 3 LED bulbs and comes in an opaque casing, whereas the LivingColours have 4 LED bulbs, and comes in a translucent casing. 4 LED bulbs also means a greater range of colours and more shades of colours, selectable by adjusting the intensity of each colour. Ohh... Mini really cannot leh. maybe d big ones can. need to go back & read the instruction manual again. & d mini is nt bright enough, im dying to brighten it. R u using LivingColours? Edited January 19, 2011 by ejzoen Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
oinkoink1999 0 Report post Posted January 19, 2011 Let me be the 1st one 1. oinkoink1999 1PC 2. 3. I will send you a separate mail on this. Cheers, oinkoink Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
manutd1972 1 Report post Posted January 20, 2011 Ohh... Mini really cannot leh. maybe d big ones can. need to go back & read the instruction manual again. & d mini is nt bright enough, im dying to brighten it. R u using LivingColours? the Mini is meant more for table-top use, whereas for placement on the floor, the LivingColours is more suited. though i still find it a bit too small, size-wise, to be placed on the floor. can easily "disappear" into the room's decor, but the light is bright enough for a typical HDB bedroom when placed on the floor pointing at a flat piece of wall. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
pixie 0 Report post Posted January 20, 2011 1. oinkoink1999 1PC 2.pixie 3. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
ejzoen 3 Report post Posted January 25, 2011 List of keen parties: 1. oinkoink1999 1PC 2. pixie 3. OinkGorilla chow - 1 number only 4. Mullica - 1 number only 5. CHOCOHOLIC - 1 number only 6. Payton - 1 number only Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
gorilla_chow 0 Report post Posted January 26, 2011 List of keen parties: 1. oinkoink1999 1PC 2. pixie 3. OinkGorilla chow - 1 number only ( is this refering to me - gorilla chow)????? 4. Mullica - 1 number only 5. CHOCOHOLIC - 1 number only 6. Payton - 1 number only Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
ejzoen 3 Report post Posted January 26, 2011 Sorry Chow, Was an error of copy & paste. this is updated List of keen parties: 1. oinkoink1999 1PC 2. pixie 3. Gorilla chow - 1 number only 4. Mullica - 1 number only 5. CHOCOHOLIC - 1 number only 6. Payton - 1 number only Share this post Link to post Share on other sites