csingeu 0 Report post Posted February 18, 2011 haha you drive so you will seldom take note on the buses available rite... one funny thing about 502 is... when it goes pass Clementi, it's non-stop route all the way to Orchard, but there will almost always be ppl who press the alarm and insisting to get off at Clementi (of course, the driver won't let them alight)............. *roll eye* Yes... my WTB prefers to take bus 502 to orchard when we need to go to town from my current place @ Jurong. it's definitely much faster than taking the MRT. usually, I'm a MRT person (coz i think trains have relatively more fixed schedule as compared to buses, which are subjected to road traffic conditions and potential road obstructions due to accidents, road repairs etc...), but when it comes to going to Orchard or City Hall area, I think bus 502 still better... no need to take feeder bus or walk to lakeside mrt for me... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
marshmallow 0 Report post Posted February 18, 2011 Yes... my WTB prefers to take bus 502 to orchard when we need to go to town from my current place @ Jurong. it's definitely much faster than taking the MRT. usually, I'm a MRT person (coz i think trains have relatively more fixed schedule as compared to buses, which are subjected to road traffic conditions and potential road obstructions due to accidents, road repairs etc...), but when it comes to going to Orchard or City Hall area, I think bus 502 still better... no need to take feeder bus or walk to lakeside mrt for me... like your wife, i'm more of a bus person, cos found that many places in SG can be reached much faster by changing a few buses than taking one big round on MRT but nowadays roads are getting more congested... argh. 502 is great, but the schedule is really BAD. i dun understand why can't they increase the frequency since so many pple are taking this bus! if take MRT to Orchard, not only need to walk to MRT station, also need to change train at City Hall leh... troublesome Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
manutd1972 1 Report post Posted February 18, 2011 from my place, it's 6 stops away to IMM for 502. 333 will take slightly longer cos it has to go to Jurong Pri School side first then loop back. but if you take from the bus stop opp Parc Oasis (one stop after mine), then both 502 and 333 are the same (5 stops). tt's my bus-stop! directly below my block....haha. so 333 goes into St 32, that's why one stop more than 502. ytd take bus after so many years. sent my car for minor improvement works, and decided to try bus instead of always taking cab. wah...saved a ton of money!! took 198 frm Queensway to home and then again frm Hm to Bt Merah. $1.41 per trip, equals $2.82 for both. imagine if i take cab for both....i think at least $10-$12 per trip ah. saved about $20 Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
marshmallow 0 Report post Posted February 23, 2011 tt's my bus-stop! directly below my block....haha. so 333 goes into St 32, that's why one stop more than 502. ytd take bus after so many years. sent my car for minor improvement works, and decided to try bus instead of always taking cab. wah...saved a ton of money!! took 198 frm Queensway to home and then again frm Hm to Bt Merah. $1.41 per trip, equals $2.82 for both. imagine if i take cab for both....i think at least $10-$12 per trip ah. saved about $20 yup yup that's your bus stop i think to bukit merah not so ex? taking cab from my place to Bugis is ~$13.... unless you're including things like peak hour surcharge etc Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
rickoveron 0 Report post Posted March 9, 2011 thread in need of a Upz.. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
marshmallow 0 Report post Posted March 9, 2011 thread in need of a Upz.. hahaha... are we so boring that we have nothing to talk about? LOL btw, yesterday TV news said the new platform at JE MRT will be opened by May this year. I saw the concourse area... all done up liao... surprised that they can still find back the same floor tiles~ Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
rickoveron 0 Report post Posted March 9, 2011 i just saw pics that jurong area was flooded in the downpour. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
marshmallow 0 Report post Posted March 10, 2011 i just saw pics that jurong area was flooded in the downpour. which part of Jurong? yesterday it was raining very heavily in the afternoon.... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
manutd1972 1 Report post Posted March 10, 2011 which parts flooded? i was in the library throughout the downpour. lucky i got in before the rain started. phew.... JE mrt got new platform? eh....for wat ah? got another new line coming up? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
marshmallow 0 Report post Posted March 10, 2011 which parts flooded? i was in the library throughout the downpour. lucky i got in before the rain started. phew.... JE mrt got new platform? eh....for wat ah? got another new line coming up? bro, they have been building that platform since 2009.... it's called the Jurong East Modification Project. Currently, there are 3 lines sharing 2 platforms, with the N-S line in the middle. so the N-S train comes from CCK/bt batok to JE, stops at the platform, and the same train will head back in opposite direction to the north. now N-S line is always jammed pack and high train frequency is necessary, but with the current design, the fastest they can have is around 3~4 mins per train. in the morning, also got problem that the previous train is still loading/unloading passanger in the JE middle platform, and the next incoming N-S train got stuck at the track and cannot move (cos previous train still occupying the platform). i ever got stuck on the track for some 5 mins... when i was still staying in CCK, traveling to JE daily... and this situation happens quite often~ so they are building a new platform and one additional line for the N-S train to ease the situation.... the N-S train can then go in and come out independently, hence able to increase the train frequency. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
csingeu 0 Report post Posted March 10, 2011 bro, they have been building that platform since 2009.... it's called the Jurong East Modification Project. Currently, there are 3 lines sharing 2 platforms, with the N-S line in the middle. so the N-S train comes from CCK/bt batok to JE, stops at the platform, and the same train will head back in opposite direction to the north. now N-S line is always jammed pack and high train frequency is necessary, but with the current design, the fastest they can have is around 3~4 mins per train. in the morning, also got problem that the previous train is still loading/unloading passanger in the JE middle platform, and the next incoming N-S train got stuck at the track and cannot move (cos previous train still occupying the platform). i ever got stuck on the track for some 5 mins... when i was still staying in CCK, traveling to JE daily... and this situation happens quite often~ so they are building a new platform and one additional line for the N-S train to ease the situation.... the N-S train can then go in and come out independently, hence able to increase the train frequency. I thought they are integrating with LRT services for Toh Guan, parts of JE and Bukit Batok areas too? or izzit Pandan & Teban Gardens? pardon me... i might be hallucinating... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
rickoveron 0 Report post Posted March 10, 2011 the flooding was just some carparks in JW St 42 i guess then.... my friend posted on her FB acct. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
csingeu 0 Report post Posted March 10, 2011 the flooding was just some carparks in JW St 42 i guess then.... my friend posted on her FB acct. *gulps* that's ard my area... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
marshmallow 0 Report post Posted March 10, 2011 I thought they are integrating with LRT services for Toh Guan, parts of JE and Bukit Batok areas too? or izzit Pandan & Teban Gardens? pardon me... i might be hallucinating... don't worry, you are not hallucinating.... but last i heard was that this LRT idea has already been scrapped (heard about it in 2009 i think), that's why now you don't see any mentioning on LRT for all the Jurong Lake District development etc... the flooding was just some carparks in JW St 42 i guess then.... my friend posted on her FB acct. *gulps* that's ard my area... alamak... did you see the flood? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
manutd1972 1 Report post Posted March 10, 2011 bro, they have been building that platform since 2009.... it's called the Jurong East Modification Project. Currently, there are 3 lines sharing 2 platforms, with the N-S line in the middle. so the N-S train comes from CCK/bt batok to JE, stops at the platform, and the same train will head back in opposite direction to the north. now N-S line is always jammed pack and high train frequency is necessary, but with the current design, the fastest they can have is around 3~4 mins per train. in the morning, also got problem that the previous train is still loading/unloading passanger in the JE middle platform, and the next incoming N-S train got stuck at the track and cannot move (cos previous train still occupying the platform). i ever got stuck on the track for some 5 mins... when i was still staying in CCK, traveling to JE daily... and this situation happens quite often~ so they are building a new platform and one additional line for the N-S train to ease the situation.... the N-S train can then go in and come out independently, hence able to increase the train frequency. oh? sor des neh.... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites