marshmallow

Jurong Residents, Gather Here~!

theres a very famous fish soup stall @ blk 501 hawker centre in jiurong west. facing the electronics stall (kong tai). always long que during lunch hours, 30mins+ comes with belachan chilli. i'm not sure about the bittergourd tho. anyway, i love bittergourd in fish soup too!

which part of jurong west? ave 1 area? or jurong west extension area?

old jurong west. near lakeside

My area in Toh Guan was recently re-drawn under Jurong GRC from Holland-Bukit Timah GRC. Currently under Holland-Bukit Panjang Town Council, I pay $76.50 in SC&C fees. If the new zoning means I'll be under Jurong Town Council, I will have to pay $84.60.

An increment of $8.10 per month through no fault of mine.

If there is a choice of election candidates in my area, no prizes for guessing to whom my vote will be heading.

Edited by rickoveron

actually i tried that ba kut teh at St 31 last week.

IMHO, nothing fantastic. and i find it expensive. $4.50 for only 2.5 pieces of ba kut. wonder if the taste is any different when comparing eating there versus buying back. although, i must say, i'm so near the market, the taste shld not be adversely affected, if at all affected.

talking abt food, anyone knows any fish soup stall here adds thin bittergourd slices into their soup?

i heard the fish soup stall at the Blk 347 market is not bad (same side as the bak kut teh), but dunno whether got bittergourd or not cos never tried personally~ :P

it's the big market at Street 51/52 ;)

My area in Toh Guan was recently re-drawn under Jurong GRC from Holland-Bukit Timah GRC. Currently under Holland-Bukit Panjang Town Council, I pay $76.50 in SC&C fees. If the new zoning means I'll be under Jurong Town Council, I will have to pay $84.60.

An increment of $8.10 per month through no fault of mine.

If there is a choice of election candidates in my area, no prizes for guessing to whom my vote will be heading.

huh! and i must say, the part of Jurong under Holland-Bukit Panjang Town Council is much cleaner - you can check out the difference between Blk 101 and 201, equally old flats just a street away! this is what i observed when i went flat hunting....

and we are paying more for SC & C for a dirtier estate? :curse: i didn't know the Holland-Bukit Panjang Town Council side is cheaper so didn't think much about it last time :bangwall:

NSP already announced that they will field a team at Jurong GRC~ ;)

indeed. That was one of my consideration on the SC&C as well when i was house hunting.

My mom's flat in JW St 42 is under Jurong GRC, no nothing whatsoever in improvement till the recent LUP which took place over close to two years. Imagine the dust and grit. Also having stayed there, I noticed the 55* area and 40* are a whole apart, thought both are along the same street and both under the same GRC.

For example, 40* carparks are nicely paved with those outdoor terracotta bricks. 55* area are tarmac, at most oiled once in two years if we are lucky. Even the horticulture in 40* area are better maintained.

And all these discrepancies at a higher SC&C!

When i moved to Toh Guan, everything was newer/nicer/better maintained, yet we pay less SC&C for same catergory of flat types.

indeed. That was one of my consideration on the SC&C as well when i was house hunting.

My mom's flat in JW St 42 is under Jurong GRC, no nothing whatsoever in improvement till the recent LUP which took place over close to two years. Imagine the dust and grit. Also having stayed there, I noticed the 55* area and 40* are a whole apart, thought both are along the same street and both under the same GRC.

For example, 40* carparks are nicely paved with those outdoor terracotta bricks. 55* area are tarmac, at most oiled once in two years if we are lucky. Even the horticulture in 40* area are better maintained.

And all these discrepancies at a higher SC&C!

When i moved to Toh Guan, everything was newer/nicer/better maintained, yet we pay less SC&C for same catergory of flat types.

wah, now that they redraw the boundary (well, as usual..) you must be feeling very cheated... :(

according to my colleague who stays in Toh Guan, the rubbish disposal charges are higher compared to Jurong and Clementi though, due to the different contractor used (discovered this when we talking about utility bills)~ :unsure: but the difference is like $3~5 la, not $8 :lol:

huh! and i must say, the part of Jurong under Holland-Bukit Panjang Town Council is much cleaner - you can check out the difference between Blk 101 and 201, equally old flats just a street away! this is what i observed when i went flat hunting....

and we are paying more for SC & C for a dirtier estate? :curse: i didn't know the Holland-Bukit Panjang Town Council side is cheaper so didn't think much about it last time :bangwall:

NSP already announced that they will field a team at Jurong GRC~ ;)

yes, Holland-Bukit Panjang Town Council's S&CC is lower than Jurong Town Council's. I used to stay in Commonwealth under HBP TC and was paying $36.50 per month. Now in Jurong TC, i pay $39.50 per month. Extra $3.

But my carpark is cheaper here, though no shelter as it's open carpark. I'd rather have MSCP like i used to have at Commonwealth. And I only paid $75 for MSCP there cos my carpark group included an open-air carpark. So they charged us less than regular MSCP charges.

u all received the 5-yr Master Plan brochure in ur letterbox?

nw I **** scared my block sooner or later will kenna HIP, Home Improvement Program. Cos they say blocks built in 1986 and before will be slated for HIP sooner or later. My block was built in 1983, i think.

tt means they'll upgrade my toilets, main door and main gate. I dun wan!!! :no:

just newly-renovated, my toilets are in a better shape and design than wat they pictured in the letter. i dun have a main gate, and i use a biometric digital lock for my main door! are they gg to uninstall and re-install the lock for me in the new door? dun think so lor. and are they also gg to install a new gate whether i hv a gate now or not? I dun want a gate lor. unless they give me a single-leaf, wrought iron gate. :notti:

yes, Holland-Bukit Panjang Town Council's S&CC is lower than Jurong Town Council's. I used to stay in Commonwealth under HBP TC and was paying $36.50 per month. Now in Jurong TC, i pay $39.50 per month. Extra $3.

But my carpark is cheaper here, though no shelter as it's open carpark. I'd rather have MSCP like i used to have at Commonwealth. And I only paid $75 for MSCP there cos my carpark group included an open-air carpark. So they charged us less than regular MSCP charges.

pros and cons for MSCP... old flats are more spaced out and not so cramped between buildings by virtue of open carpark~ ;)

btw, did your side receive any survey or brocedures for neighbourhood upgrading program? not sure if any conversion of open carpark to MSCP is in the pipe line... but i guess this will be something the low-floor residents won't welcome~ :P

btw rickoveron, i told my fren staying in Toh Guan about the higher SC & C charges after changing to Jurong GRC. she had the exact reaction as you (about voting). LOL :lol:

pros and cons for MSCP... old flats are more spaced out and not so cramped between buildings by virtue of open carpark~ ;)

not sure if any conversion of open carpark to MSCP is in the pipe line... but i guess this will be something the low-floor residents won't welcome~ :P

Pandan Gardens residents rejected the Main Upgrading Programmes (MUP) in 2003, and I am one of them!! Although the MSCP is ony 1.5 storey above ground, but we still don't like the idea of converting open carpark into MSCP!!

Sis Marshy came to my estate before.....and there is no need to build MSCP as there are ample car park lots in the open carparks.

my estate is now pioneer SMC, previously was west coast grc. wonder whats the sc&c gonna be like for the new smc. nothing to base on since its new

btw, did your side receive any survey or brocedures for neighbourhood upgrading program? not sure if any conversion of open carpark to MSCP is in the pipe line... but i guess this will be something the low-floor residents won't welcome~ :P

looking at the current design and layout, dun think can fit a MSCP in the space of the current open carpark. the MSCP will be way too close to the 2 blocks bordering the open carpark now. those living in the lower-floor units will literally be able to touch the exterior walls of the MSCP using their bamboo poles.

survey, no. but brochures have. it's that brochure that i just mentioned lor. where they showed the various upgrading that has been done and is currently doing in this estate lor. but dun think i saw any carpark conversion. decision is not directly under town council i think. i think HDB/URA will decide where to build and once constructed, town council will take over and manage it.

u all received the 5-yr Master Plan brochure in ur letterbox?

nw I **** scared my block sooner or later will kenna HIP, Home Improvement Program. Cos they say blocks built in 1986 and before will be slated for HIP sooner or later. My block was built in 1983, i think.

tt means they'll upgrade my toilets, main door and main gate. I dun wan!!! :no:

just newly-renovated, my toilets are in a better shape and design than wat they pictured in the letter. i dun have a main gate, and i use a biometric digital lock for my main door! are they gg to uninstall and re-install the lock for me in the new door? dun think so lor. and are they also gg to install a new gate whether i hv a gate now or not? I dun want a gate lor. unless they give me a single-leaf, wrought iron gate. :notti:

bro in the brochure they said the HIP is for Block 401~408, 543~551, so no worries for now :lol:

anyway, the entire Jurong East is built before 1986 except for Toh Guan area :P think Blk 1xx there even older than our cluster (iirc blk 101 is 1981)... it will be a long time before our turn :P

i also asked if we can keep our toilet in case HIP comes to our block. Hubby said can keep but if they test and deem your water proofing is not good enough, they will force you to change~ ;)

looking at the current design and layout, dun think can fit a MSCP in the space of the current open carpark. the MSCP will be way too close to the 2 blocks bordering the open carpark now. those living in the lower-floor units will literally be able to touch the exterior walls of the MSCP using their bamboo poles.

survey, no. but brochures have. it's that brochure that i just mentioned lor. where they showed the various upgrading that has been done and is currently doing in this estate lor. but dun think i saw any carpark conversion. decision is not directly under town council i think. i think HDB/URA will decide where to build and once constructed, town council will take over and manage it.

oh i checked the brochure again... the neighbourhood renewal programme is for Blk 311~316, 442~455, so that's why my side got the survey form... anyway don't think they can do anything much la, just plant some trees and make cover walkways.... i dun mind having the community garden and the BBQ pit though~ hahaha :lol: