marshmallow

Jurong Residents, Gather Here~!

woo-hoo :sport-smiley-018: healthier hawker food is coming our way!!!

first hawker centre in singapore to introduce healthier hawker food.

http://www.channelnewsasia.com/stories/sin...1115626/1/.html

SINGAPORE : Health-conscious hawker food lovers can look forward to Singapore's first 'healthy' hawker centre next month.

The Health Promotion Board (HPB) and South West Community Development Council are working to get half of the hawkers at Yuhua Market and Hawker Centre in Jurong East (Block 347) to offer healthier food alternatives.

Hawkers MediaCorp spoke to at Yuhua welcomed the move, saying they have already noticed more customers asking for healthier food.

And despite the expected increase in costs and labour, they would not be raising prices as they feel the healthier food would draw in more business.

HPB said the initiative is aimed at reducing nationwide obesity.

Ang Hak Seng, chief executive officer of HPB, said: "Obesity has been on the increase by 1 per cent each year for the last three years...The reason why there is an increase in obesity is because Singaporeans are eating out more often but they are exercising less.

"To combat obesity...we are adopting a bottom-up approach by mobilising grassroots organisations, VWOs (voluntary welfare organisations), and private companies to create a social movement in healthy lifestyle."

- CNA/ms

Hope it takes off....

woo-hoo :sport-smiley-018: healthier hawker food is coming our way!!!

first hawker centre in singapore to introduce healthier hawker food.

http://www.channelnewsasia.com/stories/sin...1115626/1/.html

SINGAPORE : Health-conscious hawker food lovers can look forward to Singapore's first 'healthy' hawker centre next month.

The Health Promotion Board (HPB) and South West Community Development Council are working to get half of the hawkers at Yuhua Market and Hawker Centre in Jurong East (Block 347) to offer healthier food alternatives.

Hawkers MediaCorp spoke to at Yuhua welcomed the move, saying they have already noticed more customers asking for healthier food.

And despite the expected increase in costs and labour, they would not be raising prices as they feel the healthier food would draw in more business.

HPB said the initiative is aimed at reducing nationwide obesity.

Ang Hak Seng, chief executive officer of HPB, said: "Obesity has been on the increase by 1 per cent each year for the last three years...The reason why there is an increase in obesity is because Singaporeans are eating out more often but they are exercising less.

"To combat obesity...we are adopting a bottom-up approach by mobilising grassroots organisations, VWOs (voluntary welfare organisations), and private companies to create a social movement in healthy lifestyle."

- CNA/ms

Hope it takes off....

hawker centre at blk 347 is included wor... that's my downstair's one ;)

but too bad, my hubby is already sick of the food there....... :bangwall:

i hope the porridge stall is in the plan... i like the porridge there but sometimes find it too salty, especially when i'm not feeling well~ :(

hmmmm how is my bak kut teh gonna get healthier? :D

hahahahaha i guess bak kut teh in itself is already unhealthy to start with, rite? dunno what can they do about it :lol:

it's true that oftentimes, the tasty food is usually the unhealthy one..... :P

don't worry, you are not hallucinating.... :P but last i heard was that this LRT idea has already been scrapped (heard about it in 2009 i think), that's why now you don't see any mentioning on LRT for all the Jurong Lake District development etc...

alamak... did you see the flood?

Hmmm... i thought i read something abt the LRT again recently... maybe some things in office... or in my dreams... hmmm...

i thought it was mentioned in newspaper or the lakeside story exhibition (though I didn't attend la)...

not sure abt the flood... at least... i dun think there is at jurong west ave 1 ytd and this morning...

was at ubi area the past 2 days and today... for a software course...

Hmmm... i thought i read something abt the LRT again recently... maybe some things in office... or in my dreams... hmmm...

i thought it was mentioned in newspaper or the lakeside story exhibition (though I didn't attend la)...

not sure abt the flood... at least... i dun think there is at jurong west ave 1 ytd and this morning...

was at ubi area the past 2 days and today... for a software course...

hmmm if i remember correctly, the Jurong Lake Story exhibition didn't mention LRT (i went there twice :P)~ anyway, since you missed it, you can still recap it here :lol:

http://heartland.hdb.gov.sg/JurongIntro.html

the e-exhibition is same as the actual one they put up that time.

btw, i kpo... googled about it and that's what i found:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Jurong_Region_Line

apparently one section of the original plan is re-proposed recently, to be built as a private line serving NTU.

Edited by marshmallow

Oh yeah.. the NTU master plan...

but somehow, the LRT for Toh Guan & Jurong East... is still "fresh" in my mind...

I might have seen plans for it somewhere... but then again, maybe like what you said... it may have been scrapped...

or i might have seen it in some "sensitive" info... :P

Oh yeah.. the NTU master plan...

but somehow, the LRT for Toh Guan & Jurong East... is still "fresh" in my mind...

I might have seen plans for it somewhere... but then again, maybe like what you said... it may have been scrapped...

or i might have seen it in some "sensitive" info... :P

hahaha yea i read about the JE Toh Guan thingy too.... in some forum... that's the same place where i read about the plan being on hold too~

anyway, this is from the "horse mouth" :lol: but 3 yrs ago liao... dunno if there will be any changes soon~ ;)

http://app.lta.gov.sg/forum_replies_content.asp?start=51

if sensitive info... then i dunno liao~ :P

On the news:

http://www.straitstimes.com/BreakingNews/S...ory_645300.html

Tender for the sale site in Jurong Lake District

THE Urban Redevelopment Authority (URA) has accepted an application from a developer to put up the second sale site in Jurong Lake District for sale via public tender.

The 1.8 ha land parcel located along Boon Lay Way, next to the Jurong East MRT station, was made available for sale through the Reserve List system on Oct 29 2010.

With its prominent location next to the Jurong East MRT station and the Jurong East bus interchange, the subject land parcel is ideal for a sizeable mixed-use development with a potential gross floor area (GFA) of about 88,980 sqm.

The site for sale at Boon Lay Way is the second land parcel to be released for sale at Jurong Gateway precint, which has a total land area of about 70 ha. The Jurong Gateway precinct will offer a good mix of office, retail, hotel, entertainment, food and beverage (F&B) and other complementary uses.

This follows the successful sale of the first white site at Jurong Gateway Road to Lend Lease in June 2010. It will continue the development of transforming the precinct into an attractive destination for business and leisure serving more than 3,000 multi-national and global businesses clustered in the nearby International Business Park and Jurong/Tuas industrial Estates and a catchment of one million residents from the neighbouring towns. Several government agencies will also relocate their offices to the Jurong Lake District in the near future.

The developer has committed to bid at a price of not less than $510 million in the tender for the land parcel. URA will launch the tender for the land parcel in about two weeks' time, and the tender period will be for about eight weeks.

Not sure how many of you actually notice that Jurong East Stadium is the home for the Japanese S-league team Albirex Niigata~ :lol:

All gate receipts from yesterday's game goes to donation for Japan tsunami victims:

http://www.straitstimes.com/BreakingNews/S...ory_645771.html

Saw the stadium from my window last nite... it definitely looked more packed than usual~ :)

Watch Albirex Niigata's game and donate to Japan

ALBIREX Niigata will embark on a donation drive to help victims of last Friday's Japanese earthquake and the resulting tsunami caused, when they host S-League champions Etoile FC at the Jurong East Stadium on Thursday night.

The Japanese football club announced on Wednesday that all gate receipts from the 7.30pm game will be donated to Civic Force, a Japan-based non-governmental organisation that specialises in disaster relief.

At the same time, Albirex's main sponsor Canon will be setting up a booth where supporters can purchase players' and match-day photos at $1-a-piece, with all proceeds also going to Civic Force.

Cash and cheque donations can also be made at any one of seven Singapore Red Cross Society donation boxes located around the stadium.

Been staying with my parents for quite some time... (gonna move out from my parents once the reno is completed)

Jurong West st 64!

Food i like

Market near Boon Lay shopping centre

Power Nasi Lemak, always long que at night!

May i ask why during the afternoon not muc of que but at night super long q?

(My wife ask me this question, i was like telling her... Coz at night ppl got more crazing for Nasi lemak. ha!)

Taman Jurong Market

The Ba Chor Mee (the auntie who cook) But i think the taste is better when it was situated last time at the old jurong wet market which is near Jurong sec.

The Stingray and sotong next to a fruit stall.

Market near Jurong Spring CC

Porridge + yam cake + "chwee chor fun"

Curry chicken + bread

Fish ball noodle

Fish porridge soup

Chicken porridge

Fish slice noodle

Always freq there...

Jurong East st 31

Ba Kut Teh.

(just wanna bump up this thread for jurong ppl)

actually i tried that ba kut teh at St 31 last week.

IMHO, nothing fantastic. and i find it expensive. $4.50 for only 2.5 pieces of ba kut. wonder if the taste is any different when comparing eating there versus buying back. although, i must say, i'm so near the market, the taste shld not be adversely affected, if at all affected.

talking abt food, anyone knows any fish soup stall here adds thin bittergourd slices into their soup?

IMHO, nothing fantastic. and i find it expensive. $4.50 for only 2.5 pieces of ba kut. wonder if the taste is any different when comparing eating there versus buying back. although, i must say, i'm so near the market, the taste shld not be adversely affected, if at all affected.

talking abt food, anyone knows any fish soup stall here adds thin bittergourd slices into their soup?

theres a very famous fish soup stall @ blk 501 hawker centre in jiurong west. facing the electronics stall (kong tai). always long que during lunch hours, 30mins+ comes with belachan chilli. i'm not sure about the bittergourd tho. anyway, i love bittergourd in fish soup too!

Blk 496 coffeeshop (the one selling very nice duck rice, don't go to the wrong one as there is 2 coffeeshop linked together).

The fish soup stall beside fishball noodle got bittergourd slices into the soup..

Not very fantastic but still not too bad if u got craving...

=)