csingeu 0 Report post Posted January 6, 2011 (edited) Hahah no leh, I don't remember you as the -faced guy... remember you mostly as one of Ling's friends... I'm currently using the LACK shelf as my shoe-wearing bench. Okay la, it's not super-sturdy, but I think it should be good for a while yet. It's a bit prone to sagging over time (particleboard, what to do), but I think that can be countered by flipping it over from time to time, so that one side doesn't get overused (over-sat-on?), which means that unlike the picture, cannot install the legs... then again, having the legs as in the picture would increase the pressure/sq inch when you sit on it, so just as well I guess... Very convenient to put shoes in the little cubby holes though Yeah. I was reading some of the articles abt using the LACK and EXPEDIT series of shelves as a bench / settee. Apparently not very sturdy. As for installing the legs, it can be done, but it has to be precisely under the area whereby there's a vertical adjoining piece; if not, the legs might just puncture through under weight. Furthermore, it's prob necessary to install an extra pair of legs at the centre to prevent sagging. Was browsing the online catalogue and noted some other alternatives. 1. ALVE storage bench 69x30x49 cm white $199 Materials: Basematerial: Fibreboard, Acrylic paint Top panel: Particleboard, Foil, Acrylic paint, ABS plastic Seat cushion: Highly resilient polyurethane foam (cold foam) 40 kg/cu.m. 2. GREVBÄCK bench with shoe storage 79x38x46 cm antique effect $99 Materials: Moisture resistant particleboard, Foil 3. TJUSIG Bench with shoe storage 108x34x50 cm black $159 Materials: Basematerial: Solid hardwood, Acrylic paint Tube: Stainless steel Top panel: Moisture resistant fibreboard, Acrylic paint 4. SKAR Bench with shoe storage 76x37x48 cm white $99 Materials: Particleboard, Foil ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------- The GREVBÄCK bench with shoe storage seems like a gd choice, at $99 (it's relatively more affordable), and the color and finish fit my theme better. And at 79cm wide, it's wide enough to squeeze 2 small butts. But I'll prob look at other furniture shops too. haven't really started sourcing for furniture WTB likes Scanteak stuff. Some friends recommended getting those package from Cellini (which includes bed frame, sofa, coffee table, etc). Anyone using the Ikea GREVBÄCK bench with shoe storage?? Edited January 6, 2011 by csingeu Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
ymjp100 0 Report post Posted January 6, 2011 Hi hi! I am so looking forward to seeing the pictures you will be posting up in future. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
csingeu 0 Report post Posted January 6, 2011 I'm quite tired of meeting with the IDs and contractors. And I'm thinking of engaging Joo Guan Huat (JGH) Design and Contract @ TradeHub 21. Incidentally, they are the first ID/contractor we met, when we first gotten our floorplan. And so far, their quote is the lowest and is within my estimated budget. Both me and WTB have agreed that since we are not doing much carpentry, except for the built-in wardrobes in the MBR and Bedroom 2 and the kitchen cabinets, not much pt getting ID, coz we won't be making full use of their design expertise. Anyone engaged JGH before? any comments? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
csingeu 0 Report post Posted January 6, 2011 Hi hi! I am so looking forward to seeing the pictures you will be posting up in future. Thanks! I'm quite tied up with school work (final year project submission) and office work these few days. Was hoping to pop by the seller's place to take some pre-renovation pics to post here, but my weekends are packed with classes and other prior commitments. Will try to do so soon, else it will be during the inspection before the 2nd appt. Just want to confirm on a renovation contractor and start working on the details and budgeting soon. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
May_dream1 14 Report post Posted January 6, 2011 Our Preferred Layout (to be finalized) - Part 1/5 Hi... How you get to draw this preferred layout. I want to do something like this too. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
csingeu 0 Report post Posted January 6, 2011 Hi... How you get to draw this preferred layout. I want to do something like this too. Visit Floorplanner!! It's free! I hope you have your floorplan in softcopy. You can import it inside as the base and start drag-drop stuffs on top of it, or changing the surfaces and stuffs. Have fun! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
May_dream1 14 Report post Posted January 6, 2011 Oh... I did try using that but doesn't work that well. Maybe I have to be patient to draw properly. I do have the floor plan in softcopy. Bought from hdb mah. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
csingeu 0 Report post Posted January 6, 2011 Oh... I did try using that but doesn't work that well. Maybe I have to be patient to draw properly. I do have the floor plan in softcopy. Bought from hdb mah. The first time, I tried using it, I was trying to trace the unit walls using the floorplan as the base. Then I realised there's no need to do so. just use the floorplan as the background lor. think there's a function to do calibration so that the furniture are to scale with you floorplan size. It will be very useful, to gauge the depth of your wardrobe and kitchen cabinets, so that it's realistic and you can see how much allowance is left, for walking around. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
symisa 0 Report post Posted January 6, 2011 FWAH... Astounded by the number of replies and the sheer amount of information that had been painstakingly uploaded by my dearest fiance. It's like having the last 3 months compressed into a a few forum entries! Looking forward to actually starting the reno! And yes, learning how to cook... *Tom Yum Soup, yummy...* Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
yuene 0 Report post Posted January 7, 2011 Yeah. I was reading some of the articles abt using the LACK and EXPEDIT series of shelves as a bench / settee. Apparently not very sturdy. As for installing the legs, it can be done, but it has to be precisely under the area whereby there's a vertical adjoining piece; if not, the legs might just puncture through under weight. Furthermore, it's prob necessary to install an extra pair of legs at the centre to prevent sagging. Yup; that's why I chose not to install legs on mine, although at that time when I bought it, we were using it as our TV/PC bench, and it was a strain on the neck somewhat... The sagging issue can be partly countered by leaving it flat on the floor... but yeah, you can feel it sag at times when you sit on it! Sometimes I have to ensure that I sit on the part where there's the vertical crosspiece for support... maybe it's a sign that I need to lose weight... 2. GREVBÄCK bench with shoe storage 79x38x46 cm antique effect $99 Materials: Moisture resistant particleboard, Foil ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------- The GREVBÄCK bench with shoe storage seems like a gd choice, at $99 (it's relatively more affordable), and the color and finish fit my theme better. And at 79cm wide, it's wide enough to squeeze 2 small butts. But I'll prob look at other furniture shops too. haven't really started sourcing for furniture WTB likes Scanteak stuff. Some friends recommended getting those package from Cellini (which includes bed frame, sofa, coffee table, etc). Anyone using the Ikea GREVBÄCK bench with shoe storage?? That looks nice too! PS good luck with the furniture hunting... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
marshmallow 0 Report post Posted January 7, 2011 my initial 2 area are near lakeside mrt and hougang mrt. wah your two initial choices cover 2 ends of Singapore LOL yeah... I'm from 2lf... I think I'm more remembered as the -faced guy... hahaha btw was about to say... you look so happy in your profile pics Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
May_dream1 14 Report post Posted January 7, 2011 wah your two initial choices cover 2 ends of Singapore marshmallow, no choice leh. only these 2 areas can find something meeting my budget that are as near to town as possible. anywhere nearer will be too ex and and anywhere further will be too ulu. hehehehe... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
csingeu 0 Report post Posted January 7, 2011 hahaha btw was about to say... you look so happy in your profile pics LOL. that's taken while I was holidaying at Bali. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
cleong 1 Report post Posted January 7, 2011 Congratulations on getting your EM, you have the same layout as me, and I see you're planning the apartment largely like how I completed mine. One thing people had suggested to us was to hack bedroom 2 & 3 to create one large master bedroom with a walk-in wardrobe, with the common bathroom becoming the new MBR's ensuite bathroom. The reason is that if you placed a King size bed into the current MBR, it becomes very cramped. What you would end up getting would be two bedrooms upstairs each with their own ensuite bathroom. My current layout is the same as yours because I have the same considerations as you - wanting to put up parents in our place in the future, futureproofing for kids, etc. I find that my MBR is a bit squeezy because after putting in the bed, and TV console, there's no place for my wife's vanity desk. My theme for my apartment is pretty much no theme - I just wanted the feeling of spaciousness and modern simple furnishings. As long as the furniture matched/didn't clash with each other we were OK with it. Just take note that you will have less space to work with than the floor plan suggests, particularly for the toilets, due to the common pipes. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
csingeu 0 Report post Posted January 7, 2011 (edited) Congratulations on getting your EM, you have the same layout as me, and I see you're planning the apartment largely like how I completed mine. Thanks for visiting my t-blog! Do you have a t-blog? How did your renovation go? One thing people had suggested to us was to hack bedroom 2 & 3 to create one large master bedroom with a walk-in wardrobe, with the common bathroom becoming the new MBR's ensuite bathroom. The reason is that if you placed a King size bed into the current MBR, it becomes very cramped. What you would end up getting would be two bedrooms upstairs each with their own ensuite bathroom. Yeah! I got similar advice from some IDs too. Coz I think I roughly mentioned it's for 2 newly-weds. No offence (to the IDs, but sometimes I think their design not very practical or family friendly). i think most of the IDs are planning their design based on your current lifestyle, and either they think you will do major renovation to build back the wall to partition a room out; or they think u'll want to move to another place (even bigger) when you have children (in maybe 5 yrs' time), or maybe they think we're yuppies and dun intend to have any kids. Both me & WTB agreed that a WIW is a waste of space and not very functional, unless you switch on aircon 24/7 (like some of the ppl who lives in a condo unit) and it's really away from moisture. One of my friends told me, her greatest regret is to build a WIW. look nice, but waste space, plus clothes get dusty and mouldy. Anyway, the view from bedroom 1 & 2 not very nice. It's facing the access balcony and there's a block at the other side... (though it's separated by an open-air carpark). View from MBR is better; pretty unblocked (plus we are on the 10th floor), and there's a slight "window", which is unblocked by the Lakeshore condo, that gives me a glimpse of the Jurong lake. LOL. I was thinking of extending the entrance to the common bathroom, so that i can convert it into a 2nd MBR with ensuite bathroom; maybe can be for parents next time. But think it's very "unfriendly" to whoever will be staying in bedroom 3 (which is likely the kids, next time). And more hacking = more money... My current layout is the same as yours because I have the same considerations as you - wanting to put up parents in our place in the future, futureproofing for kids, etc. I find that my MBR is a bit squeezy because after putting in the bed, and TV console, there's no place for my wife's vanity desk. I must say the WC at the first level (which is currently just a wash area w/o WC), will be very squeezy, but it will be really useful to have a WC downstairs. As for the shower area, i think it's a gd to have; in case, you need to wash something, there's no need to go up to the 2nd floor. For the MBR, i think it will be quite squeezy with a king-sized bed and also with a study table, but WTB wants a king-sized bed. so bed is likely to be flushed to the side near the windows, and hopefully we can still squeeze out a 80cm walk space between the bed and the wardrobe, and wardrobe likely to sliding doors, instead of casement doors. For the study table behind, I was hoping for a table - 2m(L), 0.8m(W), 0.75m(H). the 80cm depth will be easy to work on the laptop with an attached LCD monitor. I currently have a 27" LCD TV monitor which is connected to my working laptop. The extra screen space makes me more productivity at multi-tasking. LOL... and for playing games... WTB thinks 60cm depth is gd enough, as she's concerned abt the walking space behind the chairs, for whoever is going to be sitting at the side nearer to the window. As I mentioned earlier, bedroom 2 supposed to be guestroom, bedroom 3 supposed to be games/entertainment/study room. But since no money, and I guess both of us will prob be in the MBR most of the time (sleeping, watching tv, using the laptops), we can prob save on electricity (no need to switch on aircon and lightings for 2 rooms). LOL. And if need to entertain friends, just use the living room lor. Building a separate entertainment room is really a luxury item. For the bathrooms, like you've mentioned, I've seen pics whereby the pipes are everywhere and can be ugly and taking up previous space. As i didn't really take note of these pipes when I signed the OTP, i'll prob need to go down and take pics and go thru the details with my contractor (whoever the person is... haven't confirmed any yet) My theme for my apartment is pretty much no theme - I just wanted the feeling of spaciousness and modern simple furnishings. As long as the furniture matched/didn't clash with each other we were OK with it. Just take note that you will have less space to work with than the floor plan suggests, particularly for the toilets, due to the common pipes. Yeah. agreed with you that theme or no theme, no big deal, impt is that whoever is living in it is comfortable with it. Feeling of spaciousness is impt too, and hopefully we dun clutter the space with "nice to have, but hardly used) stuffs. Edited January 7, 2011 by csingeu Share this post Link to post Share on other sites