csingeu

Our Lil Paradise

My fire-rated solid wood with veneer main door (double leaf door) is $1,300, side door (single leaf like yours) is $900.

As I didn't take the lever lock, they give a discount of $50.

I would suggest you take those items out & anytime you want them back, you can consider as Variation Orders.

hello csingeu.

9 pages and your reno finally starts.

I hope you have a smooth journey.

If your contractor ever needs a bollocking, I'd be happy to help.

all the best!

bro, IMM got this shop at the 3rd floor warehouse area that is a direct supplier doors (opposite of Woei-Lee where i got my retractable clothes hanger). their catalogue same as the one my contractor showed me :P

according to Woei-Lee's boss, many contractors got their doors from them. you can drop by to take a look if you happen to be around IMM :)

btw, from feedback by some forumers - SBH has more selection but less designer-type tiles. Hafary selection might be slightly smaller but more nicer tiles. for your info :)

My non fire rated main door is $700 and veneer door is $300.

My fire-rated solid wood with veneer main door (double leaf door) is $1,300, side door (single leaf like yours) is $900.

As I didn't take the lever lock, they give a discount of $50.

Just wondering if our fire insurance will cover our losses if we did not use fire rated main door ? *touch wood*

i know that not all main door need to be fire rated. depends on how near you are to the lift, that's what i know from talking to few IDs.

iirc, corridor units no need fire rated doors, those near the lift and staircase need....

but HDB rule says if you require one, you must have... i for one won't want to challenge "ah gong"'s rule.......... :P

congrats on your reno date!!! how long are you expecting your reno to last?

Happy shopping! May you have a smooth renovation too! cheers!

issit necessary to engage a FSM to audit the house b4 reno?

iirc, corridor units no need fire rated doors, those near the lift and staircase need....

but HDB rule says if you require one, you must have... i for one won't want to challenge "ah gong"'s rule.......... :P

Ya, not all need so mine is not loh.... hehehehe....

"ah gong" says cannot hack but i will apply until can hack... hahahaha....

congrats on your reno date!!! how long are you expecting your reno to last?

Happy shopping! May you have a smooth renovation too! cheers!

issit necessary to engage a FSM to audit the house b4 reno?

Hey joyousonline!

I'm expecting it to be at least 8 weeks, and no more than 10 weeks.

I'm not too sure, but so far, most of the IDs/contractors said that major works like mine, would take ard 8 weeks... anything less than 8 weeks is quite tight... not too sure where are the bottlenecks, but i think some areas (maybe waterproofing, tiling, plastering, painting) may need time to "settle" after the works are done, before moving on to the next phase...

and also, according to my contractor, he will provide me with the draft perspective for my kitchen cabinets and MBR wardrobes... but actual measurements will need to be retake, after the tiling and stuff are done, as there are some box-up to be done, some hacking of kitchen entrance, etc...

for FS, actually... depends on whether you believe in FS or not... my wife doesn't really believe; I would like to know more, but take it with a pinch of salt... so I did seek some FS advice from one of the forummers (mae29), and if possible, and not too major/drastic changes, I tried to accomodate lor...

BUT, what i've failed to do, is to consult on a suitable date to start renovation. My mum was like asking me, since I'm already seeking FS advice, why not get an auspicious date to start renovation?

but i think it will be hard to convince my wife to "delay" the renovation... oh well...

Hey joyousonline!

I'm expecting it to be at least 8 weeks, and no more than 10 weeks.

I'm not too sure, but so far, most of the IDs/contractors said that major works like mine, would take ard 8 weeks... anything less than 8 weeks is quite tight... not too sure where are the bottlenecks, but i think some areas (maybe waterproofing, tiling, plastering, painting) may need time to "settle" after the works are done, before moving on to the next phase...

and also, according to my contractor, he will provide me with the draft perspective for my kitchen cabinets and MBR wardrobes... but actual measurements will need to be retake, after the tiling and stuff are done, as there are some box-up to be done, some hacking of kitchen entrance, etc...

for FS, actually... depends on whether you believe in FS or not... my wife doesn't really believe; I would like to know more, but take it with a pinch of salt... so I did seek some FS advice from one of the forummers (mae29), and if possible, and not too major/drastic changes, I tried to accomodate lor...

BUT, what i've failed to do, is to consult on a suitable date to start renovation. My mum was like asking me, since I'm already seeking FS advice, why not get an auspicious date to start renovation?

but i think it will be hard to convince my wife to "delay" the renovation... oh well...

oh yah need to buffer some extra time for rectifications...yours is considered major operation! wow 3D drawings??? cool! oh ya they need to go to the place to take actual measurements. carpentry is usually the last item.

i dun mind seeking FS..but scared hv absurd requests like tilting the main door etc....hmm will discuss with partner if necessary to go for this. all these hv to b done b4 starting reno right?

oh i think she is super excited to start the renovation. up to you. i've heard some pple gng into the new house after getting keys also hv to get 'auspicious' timing.

Ya, not all need so mine is not loh.... hehehehe....

"ah gong" says cannot hack but i will apply until can hack... hahahaha....

if you apply and they approve, means "Ah Gong" allows liao, not an issue :P

oh yah need to buffer some extra time for rectifications...yours is considered major operation! wow 3D drawings??? cool! oh ya they need to go to the place to take actual measurements. carpentry is usually the last item.

i dun mind seeking FS..but scared hv absurd requests like tilting the main door etc....hmm will discuss with partner if necessary to go for this. all these hv to b done b4 starting reno right?

oh i think she is super excited to start the renovation. up to you. i've heard some pple gng into the new house after getting keys also hv to get 'auspicious' timing.

hahahaha sometimes there are things that you can't think too much~ if for everything needs to find a date, you can't do a lot of things within schedule liao~ :)

if you don't know a day is good or bad, you won't be worried about it~ ;)

OOps.... :o Ah Gong say better do... don't play play...

Meaning I'll better change to a fire rated door cos I believe lift upgrading will make our unit close to the life

OOps.... :o Ah Gong say better do... don't play play...

Meaning I'll better change to a fire rated door cos I believe lift upgrading will make our unit close to the life

hmmmm lift upgrading makes your unit close to lift? hmmm your unit is door to door one? if door to door one, sure need fire-rated door.

another way is, keep existing main door, just change lock set....