csingeu 0 Report post Posted January 30, 2011 (edited) Quick updates! Accident 1 - Mum injured eye while cooking braised pork Mum was preparing braised pork on Fri. And while cooking, she went to do the laundry... and before she knew it, there was a burning smell from the kitchen. When she went to open the lid to check, the boiling oil splattered on her eyes, face and shirt. She was sent to A&E and after 2 days of rinsing her eyes with eye solution, her eyes are getting better now. Hopefully, there's no permanent damage to her eyes. her face was scalded too, but that's not the main critical part. It looks a little like what I get when i have severe sunburn. Lessons learnt: 1. Don't do other things while cooking. Most house-hold accidents happen this way, I suppose. 2. Don't open the lid of anything that seems dangerous (boiling soup, oil, etc) and place your face near it. Sounds like common sense, but sometimes, we do forget. Always turn off the flame/electricity and wait for it to cool off before opening, else the boiling oil or steam might get into your face. Accident 2 - Car got hit by cab while I was driving it I was driving to Jurong Pt with WTB, and decided to go home, coz of the traffic and parking (super long queue). When I was at the road, nearer to the park area, msian-registered car was trying to switch lanes, as a bus was blocking its lane, and it was cutting into my lane, so i slowed down to allow it to come out. I've already slowed down to a stop, and he was not getting out. And before I knew it, I was hit by something from behind. A cab bumped into my rear. First time I got into a car accident. Lucky for me, no one is injured. And technically it's not my fault too. I suppose the cab driver was tail-gating me or was talking to a passenger or so. Anyway, the right rear lights are faulty now; the bumper needs repair, and the boot lock is damaged. sigh. dad's upset. as he intends to drive to M'sia for CNY on Wed, and it prob won't be in time for full repairs. Lessons learnt: 1. Even if you don't drive recklessly, it won't guarantee that you won't get into an accident. Accidents can happen to anyone, anywhere, anytime. I'm not superstitious or wat. But somehow, a whole year of "no bad" luck, it seems like something bad must happen to equalize it before the new year. And it really sux to damage the car before CNY... coz the workshops will be closed and the repairs won't be done in time, and that's when you prob need the car to do visiting and a lot of other stuffs. Edited January 30, 2011 by csingeu Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
csingeu 0 Report post Posted January 30, 2011 (edited) More quick updates 1. Group Buy: Arco Floor Lamp Collected my Arco Lamp ytd, somewhere at a warehouse at simei area (Jurong to Simei... **** far lor!). According to Jonas, I'm one of the first to collect the white marble base Arco Lamp. Collecting earlier has its advantages of being able to pick from a bigger range of white marble bases. Trust me, it all look different. WTB wanted an all-white one. Looks more sleek, but she noticed a long "scratch"; she feared that it might actually be an internal crack. I'm not too sure, if it's part of the natural design of the marble or it's really a "scratch" due to the whole shipping/transportation process. Anyway, we chose another piece which we were happier with; with nicer "prints". Jonas was very helpful to guide us with the installation process, and tips on how to fix it up effortlessly. really appreciate it. and he also helped to get his worker to load the very heavy (freaking 70kg) marble base into the car boot and provided some cupboard paper for protection. He's prob stunned that I'm getting the lamp even before I've gotten my place, coz I'm going to then shift the *freaking* heavy lamp to the new place. but that would be in another 2-3 months, i guess. And thanks ejzoen for organizing the group buy. This replica lamp doesn't look or feel like some cheap imitation, like what some other forummers have seen being sold locally, but with a round flat marble base and tubular armm, etc... this is like the real McCoy... and best of all, WTB likes it. 2. Final inspection before handover appt tomorrow! Went by the resale unit at 5pm today to meet up with my agent and the seller to do the final inspection. it has been almost 2-3 months, since I last saw the unit. seriously, i can't remember how it look like, except for the floor plan. I even wrongly recalled that it was on the right side of the lift lobby, instead of the left. The unit has been cleared of its furniture; sort of regretted not taking pics of it, before that. it would have served as a gd reference on how the place would have been transformed after my renovation. Good for the seller. they have managed to get their keys to their new place earlier than expected (they initially expect to get it after CNY) and have since shifted and moved in. Now that, i'm looking at the place, stripped of furniture. it really wasn't as large as i imagined an EM to be, esp on paper. In fact these few weeks, when I was reading thru the t-blogs of fellow homemakers, I kind of feel that an EA is actually much bigger in terms of usable space and would actually allow up to 4 or even 5 bedrooms. oh well, it's already a done deal. but no regrets la. First level I was looking at the floor tiles at the first level. They really have to go. The tiles look seriously mis-aligned due to the tilers aligning the first piece with the main door, and it sort of made all the walls look slanted (maybe they are also slanted). Didn't notice this earlier, as the edges were covered by furniture. There's also a few mismatched tiles, which they have prob replaced it some time ago... Balcony The balcony (5m x 1.7m) also didn't look as big as what i've imagined. And I prob shouldn't squeeze too much things into it. gd thing - there's already a tap installed there. We wanted to build a corner basin and maybe a tap for a water hose, so that next time, it will be easier to wash the balcony, since it's open-air. Living Room i was thinking 5m was long... but not exactly too... and getting a projector up, would be possible (since RimBlock has done it too), but I'm just wondering abt the effect; whether the space would look cramped. MBR WTB also commented that the MBR didn't look that big and she's having 2nd thoughts about squeezing so much things (the study table, etc) into it, and definitely a challenge to do up the MBR with the shower screen, vanity top and WC... need to look into creative use of space. and the toilet ventilation window is really SMALL... think if i put a ventilator fan, it would take up the whole space. Bedroom 3 Bedroom 3 - initially I thought the Opennet terminal pt was at the utility rm at lvl 1, but apparently, the seller has it in Bedroom 3 instead. definitely, it will have some impact on my space planning. hmmm... Wash Area the wash area at the kitchen is pathetically small too. And yes, i saw all the huge ugly waste pipes and they are taking up a lot of precious space. it would be a challenge to squeeze in a WC, a corner basin and still have a shower area (with partial shower screen). Entrance & foyer As for the gates and door, we've having 2nd thoughts on whether to shift both the gate and door to the outer part of the recess area. Went down the lvl 6, where I saw the renovation-in-progress earlier on. Apparently, it's prob already done up now. The gate and door look gd on the outside. There's 2 pairs of slippers outside too. I suppose the owner has moved in. They've used mirror-like windows, hence, we can't see in from outside the corridor. Think it's a gd idea to keep off prying eyes (like US!! lol...). There are still some unused tiles lying along the corridor though. We was very eager to take some pics, however, the seller, his wife and their son were still there, doing final clearance of stuffs. Didn't want to impose further. Anyway, after tomorrow 4pm, we'll become the official new owners and have all the time we want to slowly take all the pics (and discover more "horrors")... LOL... The sellers were quite nice to leave the place in a pretty neat condition. They even bother to clean up the place and wash the toilets, which was not really necessary, as we were prob going to hack those anyway. I'm still thinking: 1. whether want to roll "ong-lai" or not - did anyone do it when they first get their keys and open the main door? or other "rituals"? 2. whether want to get a portable table and a steamboat set and go over for a quick CNY dinner. can prob bring my 27" LCD TV monitor over to watch TV. LOL.. WTB thinks i'm crazy... Edited January 30, 2011 by csingeu Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
marshmallow 0 Report post Posted January 31, 2011 I have no idea... but somehow, I'm seeing a $600-700 in my mind... i have either heard it from my friend, or saw it on some online catalogue, or in my dreams. i think i've seen it in a showroom before and it costs higher than that amount...... Very sorry to hear about what happened to your mom , hope she is recovering well and can celebrate CNY happily another lesson learnt for kitchen safety..... btw congrats to your 2nd appointment~ you'll be official owner of your own home today~! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
May_dream1 14 Report post Posted January 31, 2011 Hi Congrats!!! Finally can get your keys... Sorry to hear abt your mum and car. Bad things happens but will be followed by good things. Enjoy your new house and CNY!! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Soichiro 0 Report post Posted January 31, 2011 Congrats on getting your keys!! Can take pics of the place liao. hehe. Sorry about the accidents man, I just got into one myself on Saturday and just brought it to the workshop just now. Luckily they can rush to fix it up and replace the bumper by end of today. Try calling around, some can do repairs quite quickly but many workshops are busy due to the many accidents from the rain. Many already closed shop for new year tho. >.< Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
hafiizh 0 Report post Posted January 31, 2011 its ok cs, perhaps better for the not-so-good things to happen now - tahan a few days then the new year brings new (better) luck for you! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
zer061zer0 0 Report post Posted January 31, 2011 I wanted to roll ong lai immediately after heading back to the house after we got the keys at second apptmt.. But hubby said "roll le, later contractor hack the floors and hack all your cai away", so we decided not too... Contractor said can throw rice and salt le, so we did that, and then MIL said should only do that after contractor hack away existing cupboard.. So we went back again the day after completion to throw rice and salt again.. At the fruit store while buying fruits, store keeper said "eh, buy new house le must roll ong lai" so we bought two and rolled it before the second throwing of rice and salt.. And now my MIL says should have only rolled it upon hand over or on the day we shift in.. Aiyah, everyone has their own rules, so as long as you are happy can le! (after all, I doubt any one will be like us, throw salt and rice twice, and will also roll ong lai twice. lol) Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
csingeu 0 Report post Posted January 31, 2011 i think i've seen it in a showroom before and it costs higher than that amount...... Very sorry to hear about what happened to your mom , hope she is recovering well and can celebrate CNY happily another lesson learnt for kitchen safety..... btw congrats to your 2nd appointment~ you'll be official owner of your own home today~! Hi Congrats!!! Finally can get your keys... Sorry to hear abt your mum and car. Bad things happens but will be followed by good things. Enjoy your new house and CNY!! Congrats on getting your keys!! Can take pics of the place liao. hehe. Sorry about the accidents man, I just got into one myself on Saturday and just brought it to the workshop just now. Luckily they can rush to fix it up and replace the bumper by end of today. Try calling around, some can do repairs quite quickly but many workshops are busy due to the many accidents from the rain. Many already closed shop for new year tho. >.< its ok cs, perhaps better for the not-so-good things to happen now - tahan a few days then the new year brings new (better) luck for you! marshmallow, May_dream1, Soichiro, hafiizh: thanks for your concern and well wishes! And i really hope 2011 after CNY will be better for me and everyone too! I wanted to roll ong lai immediately after heading back to the house after we got the keys at second apptmt.. But hubby said "roll le, later contractor hack the floors and hack all your cai away", so we decided not too... Contractor said can throw rice and salt le, so we did that, and then MIL said should only do that after contractor hack away existing cupboard.. So we went back again the day after completion to throw rice and salt again.. At the fruit store while buying fruits, store keeper said "eh, buy new house le must roll ong lai" so we bought two and rolled it before the second throwing of rice and salt.. And now my MIL says should have only rolled it upon hand over or on the day we shift in.. Aiyah, everyone has their own rules, so as long as you are happy can le! (after all, I doubt any one will be like us, throw salt and rice twice, and will also roll ong lai twice. lol) LOL! in the end, after we got our keys at HDB Hub during the 2nd appt, we took a cab down to the resale unit, and started snapping away! didn't throw any rice or salt, didn't roll "ong-lai" also. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
May_dream1 14 Report post Posted January 31, 2011 LOL! in the end, after we got our keys at HDB Hub during the 2nd appt, we took a cab down to the resale unit, and started snapping away! didn't throw any rice or salt, didn't roll "ong-lai" also. so where are the pics?? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
csingeu 0 Report post Posted January 31, 2011 so where are the pics?? Arranging them in powerpt slides and adding captions, so that it's easier to visualize and less words to read (coz someone commented that long entries very difficult to read; pictorials are better.) LOL... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
reglxt 0 Report post Posted January 31, 2011 (edited) yoyoyo..ya waiting for ur pics for days wheres ur pics??? by demand from me and may dream from aka boonkeng gang Edited January 31, 2011 by reglxt Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
May_dream1 14 Report post Posted January 31, 2011 ya waiting for ur pics for days wheres ur pics??? got to be patient. He wants to put them nicely in powerpoint..... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
reglxt 0 Report post Posted January 31, 2011 got to be patient. He wants to put them nicely in powerpoint..... oic..for so long pics.. OMG... dont keep us waiting too long heeeee.. very excited Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
csingeu 0 Report post Posted January 31, 2011 yoyoyo..ya waiting for ur pics for days wheres ur pics??? by demand from me and may dream from aka boonkeng gang got to be patient. He wants to put them nicely in powerpoint..... oic..for so long pics.. OMG... dont keep us waiting too long heeeee.. very excited LOL... go sleep first la... tomorrow morning, it will be ready. I'm only done with main entrance, utility room, dining area, kitchen... still got... 1. wash area 2. staircase 3. living room 4. balcony 5. MBR 6. Bedroom 2 7. Bedroom 3 8. MBR bathroom 9. Common bathroom Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
reglxt 0 Report post Posted January 31, 2011 LOL... go sleep first la... tomorrow morning, it will be ready. I'm only done with main entrance, utility room, dining area, kitchen... still got... 1. wash area 2. staircase 3. living room 4. balcony 5. MBR 6. Bedroom 2 7. Bedroom 3 8. MBR bathroom 9. Common bathroom dont need to do until like montage lidat we all too excited liao ..cant wait too long okie i go slp liao.. my dark eye circles getting from bad to worse lol goodnight every one Share this post Link to post Share on other sites