csingeu

Our Lil Paradise

means the walls is like having small small peebles stucked to it to have the effect of big rock

this is the first time i heard of this... wonder how it looks like~ maybe you can show me some photos next time :)

Not necessary to do imo. Easy $$ for them.

If walls are not so obviously uneven, then no worries. Many things can be covered up nicely with paintings.

2.4K can buy good a/c or something else.

for old flats like csingeu's, the walls are very CMI.... painting alone really can't do much. sigh talking about HDB workmanship 20+ years ago :bangwall:

this is the first time i heard of this... wonder how it looks like~ maybe you can show me some photos next time :)

for old flats like csingeu's, the walls are very CMI.... painting alone really can't do much. sigh talking about HDB workmanship 20+ years ago :bangwall:

yup, my flat also considered old.... since 1987 so after looking, my ID recommended me to do plastering loh.... :(

will take lots of pic when i get my keys. :)

That's true. Some IDs also asked me to consider whether want to plaster or not, coz going to cost a lot. And usually they know it's > 20 yrs old... they would recommend plastering lor... Unless it's a "young" flat la... if not, no matter how you paint, also look CMI one...

OR if you are going for the raw industrial look... then maybe can leave it alone la.

If i intending to use my wall as my projector screen, then i'll definitely need it even (but most likely going to get projector screen la...)...

yup, my flat also considered old.... since 1987 so after looking, my ID recommended me to do plastering loh.... :(

Mine sama-sama la... think 1985 or 1986... I'm getting my keys next Monday! 5 more days!

Next Mon is a busy day; 2nd appt at HDB Hub in the afternoon, then at night, going to meet FSM on the "bazi" for the customary/wedding dinner in 2012...

WTB suggested to go to the unit on 1 Feb (maybe i'll take 1 more day leave)... to look-see and take pics...

I'm still thinking whether to bring and roll the "ong-lai" in or not... LOL... WTB rolled her eyes... :P

hahaha looking forward to your pics :)

my flat is one year older than yours.. and the wall is those type that you can clearly see the pattern for the bricks one.... :bangwall:

only if previous owner did plastering... then can save cost hahaha :P

hahaha looking forward to your pics :)

my flat is one year older than yours.. and the wall is those type that you can clearly see the pattern for the bricks one.... :bangwall:

only if previous owner did plastering... then can save cost hahaha :P

ya ya!

think >10-15 yrs ago, my parents did renovation to the living room... they only plastered the living room walls, coz they wanted to spray-paint it.

7 yrs ago, after my NS, i decided to paint my own room... (but with all the furniture still ard).

Took me 3 days...

First day - shifting the furniture ard, and cleaning the walls and windows, and putty-fill some of the cracked areas.

Second day - painted 2 white base coats and leave to dry

Third day - painted 2 coats of colour paint

nearly died... quite shagged out... and the walls still have that brick pattern... and with the crude uneven "paint stripes" (or is it "artistic" cement stroke?).

think quite difficult to do plastering without the proper tools too. And I think they use some electric grinder to grind smooth the wall after plastering too...

if don't do plastering, no matter how you paint also can see the "ugliness"... if already going to spend on beautifying the house, don't skim on plastering... I feel... if not, later 美中不足, you'll feel even more sian... esp after the painting works are done... :P

Edited by csingeu

ya ya!

think >10-15 yrs ago, my parents did renovation to the living room... they only plastered the living room walls, coz they wanted to spray-paint it.

7 yrs ago, after my NS, i decided to paint my own room... (but with all the furniture still ard).

Took me 3 days...

First day - shifting the furniture ard, and cleaning the walls and windows, and putty-fill some of the cracked areas.

nearly died... quite shagged out... and the walls still have that brick pattern... and with the crude uneven "paint stripes" (or is it "artistic" cement stroke?).

think quite difficult to do plastering without the proper tools too. And I think they use some electric grinder to grind smooth the wall after plastering too...

if don't do plastering, no matter how you paint also can see the "ugliness"... if already going to spend on beautifying the house, don't skim on plastering... I feel... if not, later 美中不足, you'll feel even more sian... esp after the painting works are done... :P

wah you put in so much effort in the paint work... when i painted my hall room, only one coat of white paint, one coat of colour paint nia.... and that took me 2 days :lol:

"artistic" cement stroke? LOL... :rofl:

ya ya!

Took me 3 days...

i also tried to paint a 3 room flat once at this place i rented. the landlord not willing to do it so i asked a few friends and we try to do it together. took us the whole day...... and we didn't paint base.... we just immediately paint over it. already so so tired..... and can see the "ugliness" you mentioned.

so i guess plastering is something cannot save on. :paint:

you want Motion Sensor LED Security Light?

another loh bang for you from ebay

many sellers around.. just look out for best deal ..happy shopping :)

ebay.jpg

BRAND NEW Sierra Electric JB5293 Motion Sensor Entry Light

VERY FAST 2-3 BUSINESS DAY SHIPPING UPS/FEDEX

PRODUCT FEATURES:

No wires or installation needed!

Puts light exactly where you need it

7 bright energy-saving LED lights

Detects movement as you walk by and stays on for 30 seconds past the last movement detected

Use it at your front door, porch, closet, hallway, basement, attic?anywhere

Wah... really ebay queen! got so many lobang...

how ebay works ah? auction? or wat?

The security light seems useful to put at my mini-foyer area... but it runs on battery ah? hmmm...

Hey csingeu,

If you are not intending to have kids anytime soon, you may wish to remove some of the window grilles from your quotation. Also, if the current main door and other room doors are still good and it fits your theme, you may want to retain them, asking the contractor to paint over them, which is what my contractor did as well (in fact, it was his suggestion)

Yup, mine too. Best to ask when they come for an actual site visit.

Actually some of my friends do without the grilles for now too, as they not having kids in the next 1-2 yrs.

BUT i rather get them done up now... as my unit is a corridor (actually most EMs are corridor units, i guess, unless it's a corner unit or a walk-up kind)... so the dining area windows definitely need window grilles... and i'm prob looking at wrought iron kind...

as for bedroom 2 and 3, which are just above the dining area, also along the side of the access balcony, I'll install aluminium window grilles lor...

but no grilles for kitchen (don't know will regret or not), MBR...

as for doors... have to check lor... i suspect it's chui one... as for door frames... i initially also no intention to change... coz i didn't really check la... but i think i most likely will change too... the original hdb iron door frame... is ... ermmm... esp after 26 yrs...

:dunno:

wah you put in so much effort in the paint work... when i painted my hall room, only one coat of white paint, one coat of colour paint nia.... and that took me 2 days :lol:

"artistic" cement stroke? LOL... :rofl:

yeah... i did some research.. and went to buy the paint and tools... and it was after my NS and b4 my uni enrolment, I was feeling a little free and thought of doing up the room a bit, so that I have a comfortable room to stay in and study (after 2.5 of **** in my camp... bunker beds, filmsy mattress and cement screed floor... LOL...)... i didn't go BMT @ Tekong (some says it's better than chalet... LOL...)... but spent 2.5 yrs in hendon camp...

i also tried to paint a 3 room flat once at this place i rented. the landlord not willing to do it so i asked a few friends and we try to do it together. took us the whole day...... and we didn't paint base.... we just immediately paint over it. already so so tired..... and can see the "ugliness" you mentioned.

so i guess plastering is something cannot save on. :paint:

Yah... more ppl can do things faster... some yrs ago, i went to help out at a friend's place to do some painting too, after she's gotten her resale unit.

back-breaking man... after that, NO MORE DIY PAINTING... :P

plastering ah... like i said... depends lor... if you going for the raw industrial look... then can dun bother to plaster smooth la... and no need to hide all the pipes and wires... and also no need to tile floor and wall... just use cement screed with a touch of "artistic stroke"... can look great too... :notti:

no lah, i am not into industrila look. i want resort feel so will be modern resort. alwayts go beach resort so only like those kind of feel... :P

Actually some of my friends do without the grilles for now too, as they not having kids in the next 1-2 yrs.

BUT i rather get them done up now... as my unit is a corridor (actually most EMs are corridor units, i guess, unless it's a corner unit or a walk-up kind)... so the dining area windows definitely need window grilles... and i'm prob looking at wrought iron kind...

as for bedroom 2 and 3, which are just above the dining area, also along the side of the access balcony, I'll install aluminium window grilles lor...

but no grilles for kitchen (don't know will regret or not), MBR...

as for doors... have to check lor... i suspect it's chui one... as for door frames... i initially also no intention to change... coz i didn't really check la... but i think i most likely will change too... the original hdb iron door frame... is ... ermmm... esp after 26 yrs...

:dunno:

same here... though i don't plan to have kids very soon, i still did all the window grilles now, cos i can't imagine all the dust and trouble if i were to do it in future, with all my furniture and stuff already moved in :wacko:

i kept all my 26 yrs old door frame... those metal one :P

btw, i have seen those LED sensor lights in shops before, about the same price or cheaper than the ebay one... Philips also got one but more ex i think.

Edited by marshmallow

haha yea lor, just leave all the bricks patterns behind, then can anyhow draw something to make it look like street graffiti... sounds quite cool also~ :P

same here... though i don't plan to have kids very soon, i still did all the window grilles now, cos i can't imagine all the dust and trouble if i were to do it in future, with all my furniture and stuff already moved in :wacko:

btw, i have seen those LED sensor lights in shops before, about the same price or cheaper than the ebay one... Philips also got one but more ex i think.

got door frame that are made of metal?? i never seen before leh....hehehehe...

i am not going to do grille for my master bedroom, just living that faces the corridor. that one is no choice lah.

no lah, i am not into industrila look. i want resort feel so will be modern resort. alwayts go beach resort so only like those kind of feel... :P

eh! i also into modern resort theme. can share design ideas ah? hehehe

yah... the dust and mess... and also the fact that i'll be installing maybe curtains and roller blinds then... and maybe need to redo them... if i'm going to include the window grilles later... (not too sure abt this... but likely, in some cases...)

if this sun, i check the door frame, ok... then will just paint over lor... BUT i still think they are fugly la... :P

think after the arco lamp... i'm not buying anymore "cool" stuffs... until i confirm the renovator... think WTB not going to be very happy if i keep buying my "toys"... :P ...

haha yea lor, just leave all the bricks patterns behind, then can anyhow draw something to make it look like street graffiti... sounds quite cool also~ :P

Those who really wants to save money on renovation can consider the raw industrial look... :P

got door frame that are made of metal?? i never seen before leh....hehehehe...

i am not going to do grille for my master bedroom, just living that faces the corridor. that one is no choice lah.

Aiyoh... maybe tmr or wat, i take pic of my current door frame for you to see la... anyway, i hope my door frames at the new place are "chui" one... then i got very gd reasons to replace them... (really think it's ugly... :P)