csingeu 0 Report post Posted June 6, 2011 the color scheme for your rooms looks comforting.Nice shades indeed.The kitchen cabinets really has woody feel.For sure, after 10yrs, wont 过时.Nice tone, i like!its matt feel hor.too bad my hub prefer glossy laminates. else i will go for urs. overall your reno coming up nice and great!hmm.. though abit not energy-saving la. 2x26w = 52.. but think that light wont switch on so often hor.I'm surprised track light for kitchen looks good. as in, the lights looks sufficient.Yes, the light from led can make the place so different when diffused against the wall/items. Thanks!my whole place, mostly white, and neutrals and woody... til it's kind of boring... but i like i like my home to be a relaxing and restful place; so nothing visually "stimulating" or bright (except some of the lights)/loud... though my wife will attempt to "ruin the serenity" by adding dashes of colours every where, by accessorizing... the kitchen cabinets... the laminates are textured... i feel it might get dirty easily and hard to clean... unlike glossy or even matt ones, which can easily be wiped clean (?)there's still the white solid surface countertop and the frost glass backsplash... and soon it will look like those cookie-cutter kind... (which i'm totally ok with... )yah... might want to "downgrade" the staircase light to 2x13W kind... but will wait til the CF tubes give way...i want to up the no. of LED track lights though... but think my wife will kill me... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
csingeu 0 Report post Posted June 6, 2011 Your contractor can rise the floor just underneath the counter same level as the living area, you might want to check with him I'm still considering... but likely won't do it la...it kind of spoils the look... i should have made the adjustment upfront before or even during tiling... SIGH... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
csingeu 0 Report post Posted June 6, 2011 To all those who like my bathrooms... the credit goes to RimBlock, marshmallow and my wife...ever since my wife and I visited RimBlock's EM during the CNY period, and saw the toronto tiles he used for his MBR bathroom, my wife was in love with it... (though i prefer the niagara series better - but i think it's harder to clean too) and also after visiting marshmallow's place and seeing her slightly darker theme toilet (i think it's some beige/dark grey/light grey colour combination), my wife was into dark themed toilets too... (though i have my initial reservations, regarding dark theme making spaces even smaller)...now, i should have gotten warm white lights for the bathroom... it might just complete the look... now with cool white... something is just not very right... hmmm...but at least, she can see her make-up properly, when she's at the vanity counter... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
csingeu 0 Report post Posted June 6, 2011 Updates! (Day 64 - 6 Jun 2011)not much of an update today... just came back from the place... seems like no work was done today. anyway, some pics on the main door and balcony door, after they are stained on Saturday (which i forgot to take a pic of)Main doornothing fantastic; but looks gd enough...Balcony doori wonder if the previous colour - more cherry or is it natural - looks better or this? this is like.. ermmm... wenge? or dark walnut?oh well...somehow, being "darker" makes it look more "sturdy"... i think it's a false impression... bleahz... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
potatoes 0 Report post Posted June 7, 2011 (edited) Hi csingeu, just want to say that your Reno is quite well done. I do want to do my toilets like what u did to yours, but pocket not deep enough leh.... So will probably just do simple folding door. I also love your built-in wardrobes! Nice lightning effect for your staircase too.I quite like your folding door at the the balcony, except would prefer it white instead.While yours is ending, mine is starting..... Have not decided on the contractor yet. Edited June 7, 2011 by potatoes Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
csingeu 0 Report post Posted June 7, 2011 (edited) Hi csingeu, just want to say that your Reno is quite well done. I do want to do my toilets like what u did to yours, but pocket not deep enough leh.... So will probably just do simple folding door. I also love your built-in wardrobes! Nice lightning effect for your staircase too.I quite like your folding door at the the balcony, except would prefer it white instead.While yours is ending, mine is starting..... Have not decided on the contractor yet.Hey potatoes, thanks!there's still a lot of minor defects to settle with... and yeah... some i have already closed 1 eye on...it's too tiring (and sometimes, even depressing) to harp on the "mistakes"...yes... a set of bi-fold doors is probaby ard $180... a tempered glass swing door would be ard $450 or so.. almost 3 times as $$$, but it's something my wife and I really want to have... and divided by the no. of years, and so... it didn't feel that bad... you should check out Soichiro's built-in wardrobe... it looks similar too... but it has a nice sliding mirror, which can be concealed... it's not like those (i.e. one of the sliding doors is full mirror - cos FS-pantang ppl might think it's bad...), his is quite "innovative", i thought.Actually, i think the staircase wall light is too bright at night (it's like 2x26W), and very energy-consuming... given a 2nd chance, i would do something more subtle... or maybe more track lights! LOL... but anyway, the staircase area supposed to be my "prosperous" area... so advice was to keep it bright bright... like i've shared with you, top-hung-only doors, seems a little filmsy (though aesthetically nicer without the bottom track)... for safety/security reason, i would think having a bottom c- or u- channel track would keep it more sturdy... we did consider the white power coated kind... but my wife prefers the wooden kind... (which i'm sure it will be a maintenance hassle next time), esp so when the wooden door is exposed to the abuse of the weather elements...I wish you gd luck in finding a responsible and efficient contractor/ID and a smooth renovation journey ahead... Edited June 7, 2011 by csingeu Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
csingeu 0 Report post Posted June 7, 2011 Updates! (Day 65 - 7 Jun 2011)took PM leave today to oversee the aircon fancoil installation (from Imperial Distributors), and the indoor laundry hanging system (which the installer flew my kite), and the electrician from lightings.com.sg... and potatoes and family popped by for a visit...Aircon compressor installationone of the installers standing precariously on the steel bracket, receiving the compressor from the other installers from the 2nd level MBR...Aircon fancoil unit for common room 3in my opinion, this is the best installation among the 3 rooms... coz there's no trunking! (as the trunking is from the other room...)Aircon fancoil unit for common room 2this installation for this room was not too bad too, as the trunking is pretty concealed (in the recessed area)...but due to the trunking, the door cannot close properly and it was only resolved by getting my contractor to add a small support for the door stopper...oh well... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
csingeu 0 Report post Posted June 7, 2011 Updates! (Day 65 - 7 Jun 2011)Aircon fancoil unit for MBRThis is the most headache one... as after the installation was done, i was having 2nd thoughts abt the placement... it is placed directly above the door frame, and the small space was just suitable for the fancoil unit. however, i felt the cool air was not directed to the sleeping area (where the bed will be placed), nor the study table (where we'll be spending some time on, while using the computers)...The original placement of the old fancoil unit was on this wall...in fact, in terms of placement, it would be the best ideal, as the cool air will blow across the room towards the sleeping area... and there won't be a need for extra ugly trunking to the area above the toilet door and the room door...however, we intend to wall-mount our tv there and have a study table too... so we dun think it's a gd idea to have a fancoil unit above it... (aircon above tv? big no-no...)a 2nd after-thought....i felt that the panasonic aircon was a little louder than my current quite old carrier... and the cooling power at (25 deg C) doesn't seem very impressive.... i was having a 12k BTU unit in my MBR... though the room is slightly bigger, the unit was bigger too... so i attributed it to the placement of the aircon, which resulted in inefficient cooling to the sleeping areas...i'm not sure if this is because of the inverter technology or something else...anyway, i think, for whoever is reading this, it's best to locate the aircon at a position that the cool air can reach the area it's meant to cool directly, to achieve immediate cooling results and also to save energy... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Soichiro 0 Report post Posted June 7, 2011 (edited) The original placement of the old fancoil unit was on this wall...in fact, in terms of placement, it would be the best ideal, as the cool air will blow across the room towards the sleeping area... and there won't be a need for extra ugly trunking to the area above the toilet door and the room door...however, we intend to wall-mount our tv there and have a study table too... so we dun think it's a gd idea to have a fancoil unit above it... (aircon above tv? big no-no...)a 2nd after-thought....i felt that the panasonic aircon was a little louder than my current quite old carrier... and the cooling power at (25 deg C) doesn't seem very impressive.... i was having a 12k BTU unit in my MBR... though the room is slightly bigger, the unit was bigger too... so i attributed it to the placement of the aircon, which resulted in inefficient cooling to the sleeping areas...i'm not sure if this is because of the inverter technology or something else...anyway, i think, for whoever is reading this, it's best to locate the aircon at a position that the cool air can reach the area it's meant to cool directly, to achieve immediate cooling results and also to save energy...Don't worry too much about it bro. Remember that you should try to avoid placing stuff under your fan coil also. If it ever leaks, your computers, TV and what not will kena from the fancoil above if u place there, right? In any case, 25 deg C is barely cool. If your fancoil is not directed to where u are, can just set to lower temp? Edited June 7, 2011 by Soichiro Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
csingeu 0 Report post Posted June 7, 2011 Updates! (Day 65 - 7 Jun 2011)Kitchenmost of the drawers and cabinets are done, except the one obvious missing one (which the carpenter hasn't install the track runner)...i've gotten 5 sets of blum system for the drawers... but all the cabinets, my contractor provided me with non-brand soft-closing hinges... i have tested them... it's working ok... might close a little slower... i feel...let's check out the top drawer on the left...Cutlery trayi was surprised that either my contractor or the carpenter has provided me with a fitting cutlery tray (+1 pt to him)...oh yes... the oven is "installed"... more like put in place, but not connected electrically yet...Condiment rackpretty happy with the end result; but the carpenter did warn me not to overload it...there were 2 ways of installing the door...1. to install the door directly to the rack (like what i have done)2. to install door hinges and the rack is not attached to the door...method 1 looks better and is more convenient...method 2 is gd in the sense, the door will not "sag" over time easily due to wear and (the load-bearing rack)...oh well..a close-up... likely to reduce 1 rack, to just have 2 racks instead... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
csingeu 0 Report post Posted June 7, 2011 Updates! (Day 65 - 7 Jun 2011)Downlights for foyer areathe guy from lightings.com.sg came to show me how it's done... but it only reinforces the fact that that particular downlight internal design is SUCKY... i feel such things should be idiot-proof; you shouldn't need an electrician, technician or to read a user manual to change a light bulb...btw 2x13W cool white is d.a.m.n bright...so all readers be forewarned; buy at lightings.com.sg at your own risk... for west-siders, just get from Chelsea lightings (near Chinese Gardens MRT)... if not, get from Chan Huat Lightings... btw, I'm referring to normal lights; if you are looking for design replicas or so... look elsewhere... with the warm white entrance light in the background...maybe i should have swapped their position...oh well...Downlights for the walkwayactually... all my cool white downlights seem to be making a "light corridor" from the main entrance to the balcony doors... Lightings seen from dining areathe following lights were switched on1. warm white cove lighting in dining area2. cool white downlight at foyer area3. cool white downlights at walkway outside kitchen4. warm white LED track lights at breakfast counterwhat a mish-mash of different lightings... (in terms of light temperature)...i think i'll probably just on the cools or the warms... but seldom both together... it's an overkill... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
csingeu 0 Report post Posted June 7, 2011 (edited) Updates! (Day 65 - 7 Jun 2011)Downlights at the tv consolesomehow, i felt this is a bad choice... i intially wanted the downlights at the tv console area, so that if i need to work on the gadgets (wii, xbox, amp, blu-ray player, etc) it would be easy to see the stuffs properly (all the cables, sockets, etc)...but i seriously doubt i'll be using them often...i should have either:1. extend the cove lighting to the whole area (which i think it will be fantastic)2. have the downlights at the sofa area instead, as the cool white or daylight would be gd, if i want to read books or newspaper while at the sofa... (but oh well, i still have my Arco lamp replica... )cool white downlights with warm white cove lightings...a look at the whole place (from the balcony) with all the lights one (except the ceiling lights at the kitchen...it actually look brighter in real life... Edited June 7, 2011 by csingeu Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
footprint 0 Report post Posted June 8, 2011 hihi! overall i feel the lightings is ok.. (though i would change all to warm light, more cozy then again, cool white makes the place looks spacious and white, esp on ur hse, definitely magnify alot!)as for the aircon, guess as its located "hidden", will takes a while to cool the room i guess.but place there is the best place, as i feel aircon shouldn't direct blow at bed. though its cooling but bad on health.Mine also panasonic invertor and my temp is fixed at 25degree too. the first night feel its noisy, takes a while to get used and soon wont realized anything! your kitchen looking good! as for the kerb, got to watch out abit, other than that, i'm waiting for photos of the solid surface to be up!think will be lovely de! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
RimBlock 0 Report post Posted June 8, 2011 To all those who like my bathrooms... the credit goes to RimBlock, marshmallow and my wife...ever since my wife and I visited RimBlock's EM during the CNY period, and saw the toronto tiles he used for his MBR bathroom, my wife was in love with it... (though i prefer the niagara series better - but i think it's harder to clean too) Haha, all is fair in love and war....You got your projector and she got her tiles .RB Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
666 0 Report post Posted June 8, 2011 Hi CS..Ur MBR layout is same as mine, see pic below, ignore the fugly trunking..I made the installer redo the trunking in MBR FOC..The new trunking will run on top of the window, along the upper beam, aircon unit will be shifted bit to rite.What im disturbed is the trunking part to the MBR toilet, installer say is too thick to drill through the beam so ran across the door which will make my MBR toilet entrance 4 inch shorter.I spoke to the installer boss, my own contractor, they oso say cannot, too thick..im so tempted to see my neighbour unit to see how they lay the aircon trunking but after seeing your pic, ur wall on top of mbr toilet door seems thinner. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites