csingeu 0 Report post Posted April 21, 2011 They took that long? That time I called HDB, the officer called me back within a few hours and arranged to do a site check the next day. But he also said they need to see water dripping or yellow stains in order to convince the neighbour upstairs.... wat to do? suan lor... should have stopped the worker from plastering the ceiling the other day, when i was doing my ad-hoc checks... now, too late... i just wondering if those droplets of yellow liquid... could it be from the drying of the wet cement in my bathroom flooring, when they are doing the waterproofing and cement screed? coz the ceiling of my staircase area also have yellow spots... but i only noticed them, after the worker was plastering the walls and ceilings of the staircase area... hmmm... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
mae29 2 Report post Posted April 21, 2011 (edited) Bro csingeu I thought your first paper is today? Relax and wish you all the best! Talking about the yellowish or brownish stains, my downstair neighbour also has the same stains on the kitchen ceiling. My contractor is coming this Saturday to fix it. wat to do? suan lor... should have stopped the worker from plastering the ceiling the other day, when i was doing my ad-hoc checks... now, too late... i just wondering if those droplets of yellow liquid... could it be from the drying of the wet cement in my bathroom flooring, when they are doing the waterproofing and cement screed? coz the ceiling of my staircase area also have yellow spots... but i only noticed them, after the worker was plastering the walls and ceilings of the staircase area... hmmm... Edited April 21, 2011 by mae29 Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
marshmallow 0 Report post Posted April 21, 2011 wat to do? suan lor... should have stopped the worker from plastering the ceiling the other day, when i was doing my ad-hoc checks... now, too late... i just wondering if those droplets of yellow liquid... could it be from the drying of the wet cement in my bathroom flooring, when they are doing the waterproofing and cement screed? coz the ceiling of my staircase area also have yellow spots... but i only noticed them, after the worker was plastering the walls and ceilings of the staircase area... hmmm... but they have the photos rite? would it be good enough for them to judge? so i supposed this is the kind of "HDB will check on you" thing that your contractor always "warns" you about? but frankly it will be good to discover now than later... see if HDB can use the photo and do anything about the leakage~ Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
csingeu 0 Report post Posted April 21, 2011 Yellow stains found at MBR bathroom ceiling: Close-up of the yellow spots: They are obviously water droplets of yellow liquid... and the area ard it was also moist when I spotted them... if it's due to the drying of the cement screed/waterproofing membrane, i would have expected the whole ceiling to be moist and stuff... and also my common bathroom ceiling and the washarea downstairs... The spots found on the ceiling of the staircase area... seemed to have dried up... according to friends and some contractors, sometimes, the water will seep sideways and spread to other parts of the house... coz i really cannot imagine the water leaking at their living room area... coz my MBR bathroom... on top of it, the area would likely be the entrance of their wash area in the kitchen... hmmm... don't know what to make out of it... I do hope it's just due to the drying of wet cement and plaster... but i seriously doubt so... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
AderKong 0 Report post Posted April 21, 2011 D-a-m-n stupid one... HDB officer just called me and informed that they will be going over to my unit to investigate on the water leaking issues from my MBR bathroom ceiling... the problem is... the worker has already plastered over the ceiling and all the yellow-stained wet spots... HDB officer said... anyyway, they got the pics I've sent them earlier on... they will just assess onsite lor... and if they are satisfied enough, they will go upstairs to request the upstair neighbours to do a water test... anyway, with the ceiling plastered up... i don't think we'll see much "water damage" so soon... but i got a feeling it will still leak in the future... just dun know when... it's like a timebomb OH WELL... Err...can plaster ceiling meh? I read on HDB reno guidelines & regulations that ceilings cannot be plastered woh... My new house is on the top floor thus also very worried about leakage (from water tank) as it's a 33-year-old flat le and previous owner is the first generation owner who has not done any reno/upgrade since they shifted in in 1978, and I did see yellow spots/stains on the ceiling (like yours) during the viewing But csingeu, don't worry lah, since HDB said they will investigate and do a water test on your neighbour upstairs, at least if there is really leakage from the unit above you, they are liable to ensure they rectify the water leakage issue so you dont have to worry about future possible leaking Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
RimBlock 0 Report post Posted April 21, 2011 wat to do? suan lor... should have stopped the worker from plastering the ceiling the other day, when i was doing my ad-hoc checks... now, too late... i just wondering if those droplets of yellow liquid... could it be from the drying of the wet cement in my bathroom flooring, when they are doing the waterproofing and cement screed? coz the ceiling of my staircase area also have yellow spots... but i only noticed them, after the worker was plastering the walls and ceilings of the staircase area... hmmm... The plastering should be dry before painting so the staining is usually from leaking water. As water will always find the easiest route, a leak in one place may come out somewhere completely different if you have a crack somewhere. I think a crack would be unlikely. Best check is to paint and see if it comes back. If so have HDB come and check. For you, if they are happy to proceed with just the photos and a site inspection then just see where it goes. At worst they will do nothing and if it comes back then call them in again. Note, if it is leaking upstairs then the repair work to the other owners bathroom / kitchen is shared between HDB, the owner and yourself. We had a suspected leak in our old place and it worked out to be around 2k-3k or so for out portion. HDB heavily subsidises for Citizens (we are classed as such due to my wife). Hopefully the plaster was just not let to dry properly and it will not come back for you. Best of luck. RB Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
marshmallow 0 Report post Posted April 21, 2011 according to friends and some contractors, sometimes, the water will seep sideways and spread to other parts of the house... coz i really cannot imagine the water leaking at their living room area... coz my MBR bathroom... on top of it, the area would likely be the entrance of their wash area in the kitchen... hmmm... don't know what to make out of it... I do hope it's just due to the drying of wet cement and plaster... but i seriously doubt so... wah the stains are BAD... my bathrooms got spalling ceiling when we bought the house but definitely didn't have stains as bad as these~ and the yellow liquid looks wet.... really hope HDB can do something about it! btw i went to Yumiko's house last weekend. she had a ventilation fan in her bathroom and according to her it's very effective. i think your bathroom likely is (and will be) quite moist, maybe you can consider a ventilation fan. but downside is cannot open the window la... Err...can plaster ceiling meh? I read on HDB reno guidelines & regulations that ceilings cannot be plastered woh... this is also my question for the longest time. this rule is one of the first few sentences in the HDB guideline but i see EVERYBODY is doing this especially for patching up bathroom ceilings (seems like the only solution for spalling ceiling). i dunno if the guideline is only meant for e.g. living room but not applicable for wet area... can anyone advise~ Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Kobelala 8 Report post Posted April 21, 2011 hmmm... don't know what to make out of it... I do hope it's just due to the drying of wet cement and plaster... but i seriously doubt so... Bro, I am not sure if this is helpful but you can ask your ID whether using a process called Injection Water proofing can help.. .. http://injectionwaterproofing.co.za/ nonetheless, hope you're able to find a good solution Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
RimBlock 0 Report post Posted April 21, 2011 wah the stains are BAD... my bathrooms got spalling ceiling when we bought the house but definitely didn't have stains as bad as these~ and the yellow liquid looks wet.... really hope HDB can do something about it! btw i went to Yumiko's house last weekend. she had a ventilation fan in her bathroom and according to her it's very effective. i think your bathroom likely is (and will be) quite moist, maybe you can consider a ventilation fan. but downside is cannot open the window la... this is also my question for the longest time. this rule is one of the first few sentences in the HDB guideline but i see EVERYBODY is doing this especially for patching up bathroom ceilings (seems like the only solution for spalling ceiling). i dunno if the guideline is only meant for e.g. living room but not applicable for wet area... can anyone advise~ Our old place was fully replastered inc ceilings and was HDB approved before sale. Our current place has replastered ceilings. No one even asked or mentioned so I think you would be safe. RB Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
RimBlock 0 Report post Posted April 21, 2011 Bro, I am not sure if this is helpful but you can ask your ID whether using a process called Injection Water proofing can help.. .. http://injectionwaterproofing.co.za/ nonetheless, hope you're able to find a good solution HDB did the same sort of thing to my top floor unit due to ceiling leak and constant rain so they could not repair the roof at that time. Seemed to work fine although one risk is that it will just migrate the water away to somewhere else. RB Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Kobelala 8 Report post Posted April 21, 2011 HDB did the same sort of thing to my top floor unit due to ceiling leak and constant rain so they could not repair the roof at that time. Seemed to work fine although one risk is that it will just migrate the water away to somewhere else. RB RB, which means Csingeu can actually ask HDB to do it ? See if this process is able to solve his water seeppage problem ? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
RimBlock 0 Report post Posted April 25, 2011 <!--quoteo(post=630674:date=Apr 21 2011, 12:41 PM:name=RimBlock)--><div class='quotetop'>QUOTE (RimBlock @ Apr 21 2011, 12:41 PM) <a href="index.php?act=findpost&pid=630674"><{POST_SNAPBACK}></a></div><div class='quotemain'><!--quotec-->HDB did the same sort of thing to my top floor unit due to ceiling leak and constant rain so they could not repair the roof at that time.Seemed to work fine although one risk is that it will just migrate the water away to somewhere else.RB<!--QuoteEnd--></div><!--QuoteEEnd-->RB, which means Csingeu can actually ask HDB to do it ? See if this process is able to solve his water seeppage problem ?Maybe but mine was a leak from outside which could not be fixed due to the weather so this was their fallback action until they could fix the roof.Problem is that it can just migrate the leak to somewhere else.RB Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
csingeu 0 Report post Posted April 25, 2011 (edited) in the midst of exam preparation for my 2nd last paper tmr... though losing steam (it's the final semester... FINALLY... and i just need a pass (C or D; but hopefully at least a B la.. ) in all my paper to graduate)...been on almost 2-week exam/personal leave...so i've been cycling over to my new place everyday (at least twice daily...) to check on progress, receive some goods (WCs, basins, etc), take photos and talk to contractor and tilers...it's really abt 5-min cycle away... a quick update on the work in progress:Tiling works:Living Room (incl Dining Room)- 85% (missing the main entrance part; as the main entrance is only finally hacked and the new door frame is put up today)Utility Room - 0% (coz it's beside the main entrance... zzz)Kitchen - 100%Wash Area - 100%MBR Bathroom - 100%Common Bathroom - 100%Balcony - 100%i think by tmr, tiling works would be 100% completed... BUT i'm having my papers tmr afternoon!!... cannot go down to put the $1 coins (for fengshui purposes)Plastering work:Living Room (incl Dining Room) - 85% (bits and pieces not done yet, as previously it was blocked by building materials)Utility Room - 100%Balcony - 100%Staircase Area - 100%MBR - 100%Common Rm 1 - 100%Common Rm 2 - 100%Windows100% for Living Room, Dining Room, Kitchen, MBR, Common Rm 1 & 2, MBR Bathroom & Common Bathroom (grilles to be up later...)Electrical25%?markings for power pts & lighting pts done... but work not started & lights not bought yet (AHHH!!!)Plumbing50%?markings for installation pts done...3 sets of WCs & basins bought... but still pending a lot of missing items...1. 1 x Rain Shower set (likely to buy from ebay)2. 1 x normal shower set (to get from Royal Fanco)3. 3 x bidet sprays (to get from Royal Fanco)4. 3 x basin taps (to get from Royal Fanco)5. 1 x kitchen sink pull-out spray-tap (likely to buy from ebay)6. 3 x toilet accessories (eg. toilet roll holder, corner shelves, towel racks, mirrors...) *faint* Carpentry for kitchenthis is going to be a major headache... our kitchen actually not very big... and coz we're doing a semi-open concept... and one side of the wall is half-hacked, and the remaining portion, only has a giant chimney hood without and other wall cabinet... plus the fact that we are using LPG cylinder for cooking... and stupid (and super low) overhanging sewage pipes... there's really not much storage space... will update this another time...and also like what bro Kobelala & Soichiro said, laundry hanging is quite a headache... wife not very keen on hanging laundry outside the kitchen windows... and space for indoor air-drying also tricky... may have to resort to use balcony (which I'm not very keen... )will try to upload all the work-in-progress pics after my last paper this thu... likely over the weekend...need to check out some smart solution for kitchen cabinet storage... Edited April 25, 2011 by csingeu Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Kobelala 8 Report post Posted April 25, 2011 Nice Progress Bro, do take pics to show us after your exams Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
May_dream1 14 Report post Posted April 25, 2011 Study well and u will get at least a B I am sure. Then you can concentrate on reno Liao. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites