csingeu

Our Lil Paradise

how abt weekdays? maybe this sun? :P

interested to see how ppl, esp EM owners, do up their staircase, the upper floor toilets (esp the storage heater, if any; where to put), kitchen layout, and the storeroom/study/utility room. and also the balcony.

Weekend is where the last minute comes in. LOL. Usually go out with wife then when we settle some stuff then will drop by the house for a quick check. We only see our house once a week la.. unless there are things that I really need to attend to.

Actually hor...

- staircase: i didn't do anything, just going to sand/varnish the wooden banister, repaint the iron

- no storage heater, all instant. u can see the pics of the toilets in what i sent u

- kitchen layout is a U shape, can see in the floorplan design

- storeroom will have L-shape shelves, just buy from shop or ikea. but havent buy yet!

- balcony will leave it empty, we like the space. maybe when got mood then bring chair and small table to relax and have wine. lol

The shops that I ordered stuff from screwed up more. Sometimes they found they don't have the particular model or colour in stock.. then anyhow replace it without telling me. I only found out after they were installed... each time very pek chek!

I had one light... they say cannot find it based on invoice.. then anyhow change to a random one. I had to go down again to point out the model. Contractor helped me dismantle, exchange and reinstall.. then I realize they got the wrong bulbs also -.-""

Kitchen hood.. also.. they found that they can't get the colour that I ordered.. so just suka suka deliver a different colour without telling me. I also found out only after installation..! So now it's mismatched with the cabinets.. might change again.

So best if u can be there whenever they install lights, kitchen, sink, toilet bowl, etc. Check every single piece delivered! Coz your contractor/ID did not choose the items with u... they can't verify if it is exactly the one u ordered.

sorry dont be angry hor but then no 3d like abit risky right? i think its better for you to do up a 3d show your contractor in case any mis-comm or hiccups

just my 2cts okie dokie.. my contractor provided me with basic normal 3d drawing

so far, i used pics (i've found online, mostly from renotalk) to show him, what i want lor...

but haven't really gone in the details of the cabinet design...

merely discussing the layout and placement of the stove, fridge, sink, etc (for the kitchen), and where to hack, and where got top/bottom cabinets...

would definitely prefer 3D la... but i reckon the uncle can give computer-generated 3D designs... think his best efforts would be to draw the "3D" perspectives lor...

he said... will give me drawings (if your 3D means this la) for the kitchen and the MBR lor... (coz i'm only doing carpentry work for this area)... no custom-built tv console or feature wall...

anyway, for the kitchen,

at first, I wanted to do something like this (this is what i showed the contractor initially).

kitchen%201.jpg

kitchen%202.jpg

kitchen%204.jpg

but the colour scheme, would be more wood and off-white kind... (similar to my resort theme).

something like this:

kitchen%205.jpg

or this:

kitchen%206.jpg

but because, after i seeked Linda (mae29) for some FS advice.

She highlighted some issues, with the placement of my stove.

Some basic FS guidelines for placement of stove:

1. Stove should not face toilet entrance

2. Stove should not face kitchen entrance

3. Stove should not be under toilet or waste pipes

4. Stove should not face sink

etc...

so i went back to change my kitchen layout from:

preferred%20floorplan%201.jpg

to this:

preferred%20floorplan%204.jpg

in the previous layout, the stove was underneath the level 2 toilet and sort of in-line with the kitchen entrance. so not very gd la.

the new layout, i've shifted the stove to be position against the other wall, so it's clear of the entrance and also the toilet above.

my dad commented that the utility room near the entrance was "dark" (very "yin")... like no natural lighting and ventilation. and also the "foyer" area seems cramped. like banging into a wall, when you open the main door.

I think Linda agreed too.

initially, i thought the wall was gd... it offers some privacy... plus, i can put a pretty painting there. but now that they mention, it does look cramped (esp after viewing some of my neighbours' units. there was breeze along the corridor, but the wind seldom gets into the house (due to wind tunnel effect -> the layout of the blocks ard mine), and when wind does get it, it's usually thru the main door, but seldom gets to the living room (coz blocked by the wall)...

HENCE, i decided to hack the wall into half-height. so that it can provide better ventilation & natural lighting from the main entrance, dining rm, to the kitchen area, and also from the kitchen area to the foyer area. hopefully can create the 明堂 (bright hall) effect.

I've also changed the layout of the MBR, so that i can sleep facing my "more favourable" side. anyway, this is the more logical layout (which my wife also prefers, so that she can decorate the piece of wall where the headboard will be resting). I think it's for the better too, so that I won't enter my MBR and get blocked by my study table.

the new kitchen layout would look more similar to thisinstead:

living%20room%204.jpg

referring to the kitchen breakfast counter... and the half-height wall

and these:

kitchen%207.jpg

kitchen%209.jpg

kitchen%208.jpg

Would you be doing alot of cooking? The stove is just beside where your hacked half wall is. If you cook a lot, might need to cover it somehow with glass (but then no wind bonus) so the other areas won't get too oily.

Yes, a drawing that clearly shows the size/location of each door/drawer with dimensions is necessary to avoid misunderstandings. Well, even with 3D drawings, the carpenter can screw up. hehe. Mine gave 3D drawings and still installed it differently initially, but at least they would change it because it is different.

Long time didnt hear from u, csingeu. Sorry didn't contact you to visit marshmallow place. I wanted to get your number but in end I didn't go her house. Was too busy....next time ok??

yes. actually, wanted to visit her place the last time, when I was "delivering" the kitchen holders to her... but coz quite late liao... 10+pm, plus my wife, parents were in the car... so didn't go up lor... (anyway, i also didn't ask beforehand la...)

then paiseh to self-invite (though i still do it sometimes, i.e. to visit RimBlock's place...), so since u visiting, maybe i can tag along too... :P

hahaha yea we just met downstairs ;) actually i wanna ask if you wanna come up, but quite late liao, should be time for you to go home :P

this Sat the Ikea folks are coming to install stuff, you two can help me clean up hahahahahaha :lol:

Yes... more or less settled on the contractor le. now waiting for his revised quotes (due to my new kitchen design).

The price (sensitive to reveal now) a bit on the high side... near to some of the IDs' quotes also... but i must say... it's the most complete quotation of items i need to do for the restoration works... though wife a bit upset that i'm spending quite a bit on the $$$ wall slate tiles for the balcony....

Linda saw the condition of my place, and said that i could challenge her extreme makeover le... LOL...

will be taking the windows/grilles items out of the quote and get Alex (recommended by other forummers) to do... got an initial quote based on my floorplan le... meeting him this thu at my new place, for site measurements, and detailed quotation...

wife also "pressurizing" me to start the renov soon... so that we can focus on the next BIG thing... the wedding dinner and bridal services package... more $$$ to "bleed".... :(

complete quotation is good. my fren showed me 2 quotations of similiar price for his reno, he thought ID A is more ex than ID B, but i pointed out all the items that ID B is missing, only then he realised ID A is a much better deal~

have you booked wedding dinner package? that is the RDS (rate determinating step) :P

no 3D leh... me using contractor... uncle said... want 3D, can... he draws "3D" perspectives for me to see lor... LOL!

If i gd and free, maybe I'll use google sketchup to "translate" his perspectives into 3D for you all lor...

i reckon i got the time la...

anyway, how did you all decide the insides (aka drawers, etc) for your wardrobe and kitchen cabinets ah?

you advise your ID/contractor how you want it? or just tell them how you would like to use the kitchen/wardrobe and they design for u?

i feel like just taking some off-the-shelf designs.... don't know what to look out for too... maybe need to go ikea and look at their wardrobe system and kitchen cabinets more... :(

sorry dont be angry hor but then no 3d like abit risky right? i think its better for you to do up a 3d show your contractor in case any mis-comm or hiccups

just my 2cts okie dokie.. my contractor provided me with basic normal 3d drawing

ikea is a good place to get idea for wardrobe and kitchen cabinet. remember to bring along your cam :)

for me, how to decide the storage compartment is from actual usage experience. anything i complain about in my previous home, i will want it in my new home~ :P

it's okie la... there are many pple here using contractors who don't have 3D (myself and supersimon included). All turn out to be okie mah~ i don't find it risky at all, though it would be good if you are someone that is good in visualising things without any help~ i did some Google Sketchup myself... Google Sketchup is good... very useful! free and user friendly also :)

if uncle gives you 3D perspective, you can photocopy/scan and colour it yourself... hahaha :lol:

hahaha yea we just met downstairs ;) actually i wanna ask if you wanna come up, but quite late liao, should be time for you to go home :P

this Sat the Ikea folks are coming to install stuff, you two can help me clean up hahahahahaha :lol:

Hehe... I will leave that to csingeu to help you. This sat I will be away... Next weekend lah. :)

The shops that I ordered stuff from screwed up more. Sometimes they found they don't have the particular model or colour in stock.. then anyhow replace it without telling me. I only found out after they were installed... each time very pek chek!

I had one light... they say cannot find it based on invoice.. then anyhow change to a random one. I had to go down again to point out the model. Contractor helped me dismantle, exchange and reinstall.. then I realize they got the wrong bulbs also -.-""

Kitchen hood.. also.. they found that they can't get the colour that I ordered.. so just suka suka deliver a different colour without telling me. I also found out only after installation..! So now it's mismatched with the cabinets.. might change again.

So best if u can be there whenever they install lights, kitchen, sink, toilet bowl, etc. Check every single piece delivered! Coz your contractor/ID did not choose the items with u... they can't verify if it is exactly the one u ordered.

wah the shops are really jialat! 8| if they don't have the model, at least they should inform you rite~!

we checked all items right after delivery, so if anything is wrong or if there is any defect, can find out immediately and get it changed.

wah the shops are really jialat! 8| if they don't have the model, at least they should inform you rite~!

we checked all items right after delivery, so if anything is wrong or if there is any defect, can find out immediately and get it changed.

For the lights, its different model. For the hood, its different colour. In any case, ya.. they should call the owner for such changes, contractor sometimes won't know mah. For me, my contractor helped me to arrange delivery or collect on my behalf, thats why I didn't really see the items before installation. Sometimes he just collect and get it installed immediately.

Screwups are expected.. haha. most importantly, it must be resolvable without extra cost or problems.

I dropped my carpenter for wardrobe already. The person in charge really jialat.. take measurements 3 times, all 3 times different. Do 3D image, but install already still wrong. Quotation price anyhow change without change in description. @.@ okok paiseh, csingeu's tblog I shouldn't use this to rant too much. keke. But hope he doesn't kena too much of what I had.

hey bro, i think your new layout has improved a lot from the previous one! :good:

Kitchen: in the previous layout, i found the place where the sinks come out look really weird, now this has been solved.

That half-height wall: at first i also thought that wall will be good. now that you mentioned it, i think what mae and your dad advised is very true.

hacking a wall sometimes does make drastic improvement to the entire house. i also hacked the wall of the common room. results: the house has become much brighter and VERY windy (sometimes, too windy :P). making that wall half height makes the kitchen kinda "open concept"... nice! :wub:

MBR: this new layout is better. the old layout will make the room look crowded and appear smaller.

Would you be doing alot of cooking? The stove is just beside where your hacked half wall is. If you cook a lot, might need to cover it somehow with glass (but then no wind bonus) so the other areas won't get too oily.

hmmmm i guess is still okie cos there is still a full height wall blocking right in front of the stove. and i guess the wind will most likely come in from the half height wall side, so wind will be blowing the "oil" towards inside of the kitchen.

maybe it will help to shift the stove *slightly* more inside towards the corner and install a good hood~ :)

cool....for the half height wall...i think if it's me, i will not leave it blank..most prob will install glass there..can see through and not compromise on the lighting and stop the fumes from entering the living area...

been to showflat in austville..they had something like tat..so quite like the idea.

cool....for the half height wall...i think if it's me, i will not leave it blank..most prob will install glass there..can see through and not compromise on the lighting and stop the fumes from entering the living area...

been to showflat in austville..they had something like tat..so quite like the idea.

hmmmm but one of the reasons to hack the wall is to let the wind comes in, rite? so if put glass.... defeat the purpose liao~ :unsure:

Sliding glass window! But dunno look nice or not...