May_dream1 14 Report post Posted February 2, 2011 My sis also asked me to get EM cos its bigger and bedrooms are separate from living/dining. but thinking abt the cleaning also want to faint... hahahaha.... but i am different lah... only 1 person staying.... hehehee.... so 4 room is enough for myself. i thought you have more or less confirmed who you will be using. if you are not in a rush to move in, then i guess you can slowly take your time to choose. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
csingeu 0 Report post Posted February 2, 2011 You posted on IKEA furniture before? I must have missed it. Your reno's not started and your t-blog already 6 pages hahaha. Built-in kitchen and wardrobe just get from IKEA also loh, because the materials used by the local contractors really CMI... I'm not kidding. Your staircase... should box up the area under to use as storage. And if you want it to be nice, definitely go for glass! Get the laminated type though. Actually i don't think the railings are ugly loh. Then again I only have a tiny picture for reference. To save money I'll paint the railings... maybe black or grey. Spend the money on the messy stuff like the walls, toilets, kitchen, and you probably want to add more electrical sockets. Most importantly get a responsible contractor... don't be like me. Contractor still hasn't given me the keys back. The link to my post abt IKEA furniture is at http://www.renotalk.com/forum/index.php?s=...st&p=602757 LOL... yeah... 6 pages - cos I'm "documenting" my research and thoughts abt this renovation process (first time doing renov... quite headache) Built-in kitchen and wardrobe from IKEA - got friends got the wardrobe set from Ikea, but I thought they come in standard sizes like 2m, 1.8m, 1.5m, etc... got customized sizes? like maybe 2.5-2.8m? as for kitchen, don't know any friends gotten IKEA kitchen cabinets and worktop. Yes. Will be box-ing up the area under the staircase. Can use to store spare folding chairs, vacuum cleaner and what's not. glass staircase is sibei chio and bloody $$$ too. AND might not be very child-friendly, and a lot of fingerprints to clean(?). I also scared if people (incl myself) careless, and when bringing things up and down, hit the glass, later will crack or wat... initially thinking of painting the railing matt black and change the hand rails (i initially thought it was wooden) part to new one. electrical works cost is likely to be on the higher ends of $3K-4K, since i'll likely to do rewiring of whole unit, add new electrical pts, lighting pts and also LAN points. hope your renovation "official" handover will come soon and no more defects to rectify after that. How much do you expect the total damage to be? Wah, dunno if they can complete in 8-weeks or not? For the amt of work to be done, i think smelly-smelly 65K-75K. BUT i'm hoping for 50K + 5K (contingency) w/o aircon/lightings/sanitary wares/electrical appliances Think smelly-smelly 2 months la. Don't want to rush too early too; later KNS job done, move in also sian. My sis also asked me to get EM cos its bigger and bedrooms are separate from living/dining. but thinking abt the cleaning also want to faint... hahahaha.... but i am different lah... only 1 person staying.... hehehee.... so 4 room is enough for myself. i thought you have more or less confirmed who you will be using. if you are not in a rush to move in, then i guess you can slowly take your time to choose. actually if can get corner EA unit, also super gd lor. 140+sqm at 1 level. you will really have super duper big MBR (since you going to hack at least 1 bedroom to combine) and you can have 1 entire room as WIW, and also huge living room with dining area (with your super long kitchen island counter). and no need to have 2 levels to separate bedrooms and dining/living, since it's so big, your bedroom can be "well-isolated" inside. (provided you get corner unit, or non-corridor unit). Think one of the new forum members has a t-blog on his resale EA unit at Tah Ching Road area. looks **** big lor. yes... cleaning for such big areas will be tough, esp when we don't have maid/helper. BUT treat it as exercise when doing household chores lor. anyway, bedroom 2 & 3 will most likely to be empty most of the time, so can do minimal cleaning la, I hope. And 3 toilets also... *faint* WTB and me want to move in asap la, coz technically we'll be married by end-Feb (ROM). So we want to move into our own place lor. BUT finding a responsible contractor at an affordable price, cannot be rushed la. I might still seek my uncle's opinions & quotes to do up the place. hopefully it's <$55K (+ electricial) Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
May_dream1 14 Report post Posted February 2, 2011 cannot afford lah.... even my 4 room flat already so ex, i cannot imagine if i get EA or EM leh..... look at 5 room flats was still ok even though stretching a bit... hehehehe.... if do reno for my flat to what i like and dream of, then i will stay there as long as possible. don't want to think of bigger place already loh..... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Soichiro 0 Report post Posted February 2, 2011 Bro, u can estimate 10 weeks for the works to be safe unless you are going to hound your contractor to squeeze all the schedules back to back, which I don't think is recommended. But if everything is squeezed together 5 weeks is possible also. Your unit has very nice open views, should be very windy? I updated my reno pics, u can check the link I sent you last time! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
csingeu 0 Report post Posted February 2, 2011 (edited) cannot afford lah.... even my 4 room flat already so ex, i cannot imagine if i get EA or EM leh..... look at 5 room flats was still ok even though stretching a bit... hehehehe.... if do reno for my flat to what i like and dream of, then i will stay there as long as possible. don't want to think of bigger place already loh..... Your area near town mah... that's why $$$ mah... BUT everyone's happy with what they get can liao... Happy Chinese New Year and Huat Ah to all and their families Bro, u can estimate 10 weeks for the works to be safe unless you are going to hound your contractor to squeeze all the schedules back to back, which I don't think is recommended. But if everything is squeezed together 5 weeks is possible also. Your unit has very nice open views, should be very windy? I updated my reno pics, u can check the link I sent you last time! I'm thinking of hopefully starting ard March, hopefully can end ard May la... a gd 8-10 weeks... hopefully they will be able to do a gd job la. *cross fingers*... and yes... haven't confirm renovator... getting more stressed liao... The views are ok (mai hiam buey pai la, ai hiam simi dou kana sai... LOL!) - translation for non-hokkien speaking friends - "don't be fussy, it's ok; if want to be picky, anything also like s-h-i-t." The dining area windows along the corridor is facing another EM block also ard 16 floors high; but luckily it's separated by 1 open-air carpark, so not very near la... and got pockets of "unblocked" views at the sides... The balcony is facing towards Jurong Lake. It's sort of blocked by Lakeshore Condo, but it's separated by 1 primary school, so not very near also. luckily, i'm 10th floor. If 6th or below, the balcony will face the classrooms. I think if do sliding windows for dining area, and collapsible doors for balcony, think will have gd air flow, i hope. if at 14th or 16th floor and at the corner (which is unblocked by the other block behind), then sure very windy. Soichiro, your renovation seems to be progressing well. so far any "major" problem areas or defects, specific to EM rehaul, to share with me or to look out for? Just wondering if you have done FSM audit. Personally, I feel the bold colours (red, yellow, blue) are too strong for my own liking, because I feel bedrooms are more restful and relaxing place (which are typically darker tones - mocha, grey or lighter tones - peachy, lilac etc.); such bold colours a bit overwhelming for me. I'm sure you have your own reasons for choosing those colours. If you don't mind sharing, i just want to know how you come up with the colour scheme. Do you have a specific concept or you just like those colours? I suppose you didn't do plastering for your place. The rationale was to cut down on renovation costs? is the renovation cost still $42K? or has gone up more? Somehow, I think if want to do a decent basic job, would prob need ard $55-$65k (excl aircon, lightings, sanitary wares, electrical appliances, furniture). Think if add in the rest of the items, smelly smelly ~$85K+? Edited February 2, 2011 by csingeu Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
May_dream1 14 Report post Posted February 2, 2011 Happy Chinese new year!! Hope that your renovation will go on smoothly and can live inside there happily. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Soichiro 0 Report post Posted February 2, 2011 Yo~ We have some ideas with the bold colours, but will see how it turns out eventually when we put everything in. We chose not to plaster, didn't feel the need to and don't mind the rough walls. In fact, wifey likes them! The reno cost was $39k excluding carpentry. Replaced literally everything I could see except balcony doors. From your plans, I think you are looking at more things than me so 60k is a good estimate. But now its just theory. Get some contractors or IDs down to your place, discuss, and get quotes from them. Ask them to state the measured area for each item too. Some dodo things I faced... not specific to EM la.. 1) Quotes One ID really rounded up some items. I found the windows to be exorbitantly priced. In the end, I asked for the PSF and measured the areas myself and it turned out to be 40% cheaper. Another contractor quoted classic doors to be very high also... on questioning, he said its a mistake and it was for solid nyatoh doors. So!! Make sure you have at least 2 quotations to compare. A bit of difference, ok la. But if the difference is too much, there is usually a reason. You should find out if that's the case. If you have to pay more, at least know what you're paying for. 2) Wash Area toilet Had a lot of ding dong, as contractor said cannot do, I insist can do, asked HDB officer and he said need drawings. Checked with contractor and he gave a high quote, saying that the drawings cost alot too. I went to check with HDB branch office again, then they said permissible item, need to apply only. So in the end I worked out the toilet layout and arranged to box up the ugly pipes. You can see the pics for ref. The WC is a P-Trap, not the usual S-Trap for the WCs upstairs. Note that you have to pay $3 more per month for having that new toilet. Must declare! 3) Downlights You might want to group the lights to different switches. Remember to let your electrician know beforehand. 4) Sanitary installations Use masking tape to mark the exact positions of where you want each item installed. Unless you are going to be there when they install la. 5) Air con trunking I had several changes to the trunking plan, because old mansionette la... beams all over the place and the pipes can't poke thru. Remember that the further your compressor is from fancoil, that fancoil will typically have lower power than the stated BTU. You can put compressor above balcony, or along corridor. I chose corridor coz I don't want a compressor above my head when I'm at my balcony. Ok thats all for now, if I remember anything else I'll just disturb u here Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
csingeu 0 Report post Posted February 8, 2011 We have some ideas with the bold colours, but will see how it turns out eventually when we put everything in. We chose not to plaster, didn't feel the need to and don't mind the rough walls. In fact, wifey likes them! Will be looking forward to your finished product! The reno cost was $39k excluding carpentry. Replaced literally everything I could see except balcony doors. From your plans, I think you are looking at more things than me so 60k is a good estimate. But now its just theory. Get some contractors or IDs down to your place, discuss, and get quotes from them. Ask them to state the measured area for each item too. So your quote does not include the kitchen cabinets? Your balcony doors look very new! Did you change your windows too? I see you do not have window grilles too. Look gd. But do you intend to install them next time when you have children? Yes. I suspect it might be in the range of $60K, but i'm still crossing my fingers for $50K quote. 5) Air con trunking I had several changes to the trunking plan, because old mansionette la... beams all over the place and the pipes can't poke thru. Remember that the further your compressor is from fancoil, that fancoil will typically have lower power than the stated BTU. You can put compressor above balcony, or along corridor. I chose corridor coz I don't want a compressor above my head when I'm at my balcony. I don't get what you mean by putting the compressor along the corridor. So far, I don't see any of my new neighbours doing it. Do you have a pic of it? And thanks for your advice. Will keep in mind. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Soichiro 0 Report post Posted February 8, 2011 Will be looking forward to your finished product! So your quote does not include the kitchen cabinets? Your balcony doors look very new! Did you change your windows too? I see you do not have window grilles too. Look gd. But do you intend to install them next time when you have children? Yes. I suspect it might be in the range of $60K, but i'm still crossing my fingers for $50K quote. I don't get what you mean by putting the compressor along the corridor. So far, I don't see any of my new neighbours doing it. Do you have a pic of it? And thanks for your advice. Will keep in mind. Yeah kitchen stuff was separate. The balcony doors were of good condition, the locks and rollers can be changed also if the glass is looking good. U can check with your contractor for advice. Windows were all changed, really koyak ones. hehe. Grills will be up later. Don't just look at the total sum when you receive the quote hor. Some like to exclude electrical wiring (say approx 3k) or anything that might add on later. Some even exclude cost of tiles (but few, coz they can usually earn from buying the tiles for u). Compressor at level 2 of your corridor. Most of my neighbours did it, and I did not like having the compressor at the balcony so chose to have it outside corridor. No pictures tho Try to survey neighbours from other levels, see if any of them did it. It will put your aircon installer at ease also if others already did it. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
csingeu 0 Report post Posted February 8, 2011 Quick Updates! Quite busy with other stuffs these few days... but will be back to ID/contractor hunting this weekend. 1. Suitable dates for chinese customary wedding & dinner from FSM We initially already have thoughts of having our customary wedding abt 1 yr after our ROM (ie. 2012 1st Q), so that we can take a break after the renovation, have some time for me to slim down (for the wedding photos!) and also to save up for the wedding. However, thru conversations with other friends, we realized that parents might be particular abt finding an auspicious date for the chinese wedding. So, my WTB scanned thru sgbride forums for contacts of some recommended/popular FSM. And the results? 2012 is generally inauspicious for people of the "Dog" sign, according to FSM (who shall not be named) Not even a single day? Yeah. Apparently so. It's either we do it before CNY 2012 (which is like 20 Jan 2012) or after CNY 2013 (which WTB is totally not keen on). Mum doesn't believe that not a single day in 2012 is possible; she believes there's bound to be something we can do to counter it. Dad told me "why you into FS? Can be a bit more modern thinking or not?" WTB's Mum says, "You all decide." Colleague says, "Don't find so 'powerful' FSM la. Just find any 'gd' dates can le". Technically, we'll be legally married by end-Feb 2011, so I feel (and the FSM also agrees) that the impact not so "critical" to us. He also added that ultimately, it's up to the parents. If they are ok, anything goes. And so we decided to heck-care the 2012 thing, and just go ahead with our original plans. No pt rushing before CNY 2012 and drive ourselves crazy, coz in the end, it won't be a happy wedding... at least that's what I personally feel. Just do it at a comfortable pace for both of us. And we sort of shortlisted the hotel we want and now to decide on the actual date. Once booked, WTB and me can both focus on the renovation together. 2. Visit to RimBlock's place during CNY! Like most ang-moh expats I've known (not many though), he's a very friendly and nice guy who is very willing to share his experience. And we (WTB & me) had a gd time listening to his stories and also viewing his place, esp his projector setup (WTB is "convinced" after seeing the real thing in action; she previously thinks that it has lousy image quality like those in her office; but RimBlock's one is home cinema projector kind... which is really shiok!) I've already posted an entry at his t-blog. You can read it here: http://www.renotalk.com/forum/index.php?s=...st&p=609658 3. Box (my mum's dog) visits my new place! Ytd, I was driving my dad's car home after my night class and decided to pop by my new place to have a feel of how the place is like at night (coz the past few times we've been there; it's always after lunch - very hot afternoon sun). The neighbourhood is quite quiet and also not much residents (coz it's half that of a normal block! ) and they also enjoy their own privacy. I went in, looking at an empty place, switched on the living rm lights, and switched off after 30 sec, and I left. I think i'm a little too "timid" to go up alone, esp in its current bare state. Tonight, I decided to go up again after my class when my parents came to pick me up from school, together with Box. I was reading some of the posts on the forum, on what to do when selecting a resale unit or when opening the door for the first time, and some people recommended bringing a toddler or a dog up. If the toddler is happy and feels ok up there, it's prob ok. If not, can bring a dog up too. Somehow, I feel my dog can sense some "things" too... maybe they are just more sensitive. AND lucky for me, Box seems to be comfortable with the place. His tail was up all the time and he was not like rushing to leave the place. He practically sniffed all the corners and checked out all the rooms, and was having fun running up and down the staircase. It sort of puts me at ease, at least "subconsciously". LOL. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
May_dream1 14 Report post Posted February 8, 2011 When on the projector tv, does all lights have to be off?? How much does it cost? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
csingeu 0 Report post Posted February 8, 2011 When on the projector tv, does all lights have to be off?? How much does it cost? Can watch in the afternoon. But of coz, gd to put down your curtains to make it more "conducive" for watching la. There's different modes (in the projector) for viewing. One of them is "living room"; i suppose it will detect the ambient light conditions, and adjust the "power" of the projector to produce a brighter image, etc But according to RimBlock, it will use more power and hence shorten the lifespan of the light bulb, which is rated at 2000-3000 hrs. if 3000 hours, 1 day use abt 3 hrs on average (assuming after work), can last maybe 1000 days (~2.7 yrs). Each light bulb costs a few hundred dollars though. But as RimBlock puts it, if you use it to watch enough movies at home, you would have saved enough to buy the next light bulb, when the current one blows. and also it's a freaking 100" (diagonal) wide screen. totally shiok for watching blu-ray movies, and of coz playing my wii games and maybe xbox360+kinect (praying for my colleagues to get it as my house-warming gift... LOL) RimBlock has also put the price in one of his post: http://www.renotalk.com/forum/index.php?s=...st&p=602791 He mentioned that it's $2300 for the projector, but he spent abt $3400 for the projector, a 100" pull-down screen and high quality HDMI cables (supposedly cost $600) Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
May_dream1 14 Report post Posted February 8, 2011 Everything $3400? that's cheaper than a good 55inch tv leh... And can get 100 inch of viewing pleasure. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
csingeu 0 Report post Posted February 8, 2011 Everything $3400? that's cheaper than a good 55inch tv leh... And can get 100 inch of viewing pleasure. Yah.. that's for home cinema projector. Not the most high-end, but pretty decent. If using lau-pok office-type of projector. think less than $1K can get liao. But of coz the quality also CMI la... and maybe the lumens rating also not very high. RimBlock also said, if you are bring some mid-range LED tv for 42-46" ... it can cost up to $2-3K also. But of coz, there's the maintenance issue la. as mentioned, the light bulb can only last for 2000-3000 hours, and also depends on how heavy is your usage. So I'll prob really just use it for movie watching and house party. Normal tv watching of news, drama serials, can just use a cheaper 42"-46" LCD or plasma TV... hopefully $1K-$1.5K or less. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
May_dream1 14 Report post Posted February 8, 2011 I don't watch movies as much as dramas.... And I use my tv as pc monitor. If it's on projector, wonder how.... Especially when I look at excel. Haha.... I think will stick to my 60 inch tv. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites