csingeu 0 Report post Posted January 19, 2011 Congrats on your EM! I am renovating my 5M (mansionette, almost exactly the same layout as yours, but slightly smaller) right now, at almost the same price same age as yours too. lol. But mine is near Paya Lebar MRT. Hi! Thanks! How's your renovation going? Got pics? Who did you engage? how much ah? btw, what's a 5M? Near to Paya Lebar MRT is gd... it's more accessible and it's closer to town and it's one of the regional centres, which URA is trying to develop, and conveniently linked to the Circle line. Noted that you wanted to do collapsible doors for your balcony. Thats what I wanted initially, but it was too windy and given the size of the doors, found that it is dangerous to have collapsible ones, fingers can get caught if the doors get slammed by the wind. Also, you need heavy duty doors (I got quotes of $4K-$5K for 4.4m width) so that it won't make noises with strong winds. Assuming your unit is windy at level 10 la. Noted your advice. Wanted the collapsible doors, as it will really give a very unblocked view of the balcony and beyond, and bring the breeze in. I wasn't aware of the "door slamming by wind" issue, but one of the IDs informed that some kind of U-bracket/track or so can be installed at top and bottom to stabilize the doors and make it easy to open/close. But he did mention, if the wind is too strong, the doors will still shake/vibrate and can be noisy. so I guess your advice on using the heavy duty doors to reduce noises with strong winds make sense. So in the end, you got sliding doors? What kind? Was there a toilet in your wash area before? Given that you are only the 2nd owner, quite a low chance to have a toilet there. To construct a WC, you need to go inside and ensure there is enough leg space for the WC and sink. Usually, that area has thick waste pipes also and not in floor plan. You need to take that in consideration when planning the space. I had a big headache for mine, and changed the door location at the last minute to make things work. Haven't gone thru your thread fully yet, but I think we'll have a lot in common. Will look out here again. We "chatted" before in another topic on "converting wash area to WC". The topic was quite informative. Yes. What's shown is only my tentative plan. Honestly, I did not have a gd look at the unit. I was sold by the location (near MRT, near parents, near amenities), the level (10... mid-high la.. ) and the relatively low COV (compared to some of the other units i've seen earlier). So I didn't not really take note of a lot of things (until after I've signed OTP, and started reading renotalk). I didn't go back to request to take pics too, coz don't want to impose on sellers (and anyway, 2nd appt in 12 days' time...) But i guess a lot of things (like the thick waste pipes you mentioned, and maybe some unhackable beams) will ultimately affect my space planning. Anyway, i'm also intending to change the door location of the wash area. Gd luck for your renovation too! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Soichiro 0 Report post Posted January 19, 2011 Thanks! How's your renovation going? Got pics? Who did you engage? how much ah? btw, what's a 5M? Near to Paya Lebar MRT is gd... it's more accessible and it's closer to town and it's one of the regional centres, which URA is trying to develop, and conveniently linked to the Circle line. I engaged a contractor coz I just wanted something simple but didn't have time to manage everything myself. Didn't go talking to alot alot of IDs/contractors, just get recommendations from others, and talk to 2 of them. Ultimately, reliability is most impt. Both I talked to had some mistakes in their quotes after I questioned some items in detail, but overall still ok with my contractor la. Give and take, I can accept minor goof ups so long as it can be rectified. I did my kitchen with another company, so total damage not confirmed yet. Likely to be around $47k with just 1 gigantic custom wardrobe for carpentry. Pictures have la.. PM u some later. WTB doesn't like putting the pics in public. U did a lot of research hor.. haha. Don't tire yourself out man. Wanted the collapsible doors, as it will really give a very unblocked view of the balcony and beyond, and bring the breeze in. I wasn't aware of the "door slamming by wind" issue, but one of the IDs informed that some kind of U-bracket/track or so can be installed at top and bottom to stabilize the doors and make it easy to open/close. But he did mention, if the wind is too strong, the doors will still shake/vibrate and can be noisy. so I guess your advice on using the heavy duty doors to reduce noises with strong winds make sense. So in the end, you got sliding doors? What kind? I had the same thoughts, maximum wind and view. But consider this... it is going to be quite big and needs to fold into your balcony area, so you can't put anything where it is supposed to fold into too. The U-track helps stability somewhat, but definitely not as firm as a normal sliding door. My unit had existing sliding doors, so I kept them and saved $4k from it. We "chatted" before in another topic on "converting wash area to WC". The topic was quite informative. Yes. What's shown is only my tentative plan. Honestly, I did not have a gd look at the unit. I was sold by the location (near MRT, near parents, near amenities), the level (10... mid-high la.. ) and the relatively low COV (compared to some of the other units i've seen earlier). So I didn't not really take note of a lot of things (until after I've signed OTP, and started reading renotalk). I didn't go back to request to take pics too, coz don't want to impose on sellers (and anyway, 2nd appt in 12 days' time...) But i guess a lot of things (like the thick waste pipes you mentioned, and maybe some unhackable beams) will ultimately affect my space planning. Anyway, i'm also intending to change the door location of the wash area. Now that u mention it.. I remember u!! haha. Bring your potential ID/contractor to the site to talk and finalize your items. They may spot things that u may have missed out, or may have some good suggestions too. I did not have a good look at my unit too, from OTP to 2nd appointment was a good 7 months due to delays here and there. By then I already forgot what it was like inside! Bring measuring tape whenever u go to your house. U'll find that u will always need it. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Soichiro 0 Report post Posted January 19, 2011 btw, 5M = 5 room mansionette. Smaller than EM and government see me as a 5-room owner when giving out weird stuff before election Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
csingeu 0 Report post Posted January 19, 2011 btw, 5M = 5 room mansionette. Smaller than EM and government see me as a 5-room owner when giving out weird stuff before election Actually, I see your floor plan. Not too much smaller also. Maybe instead of utility/study room, you got a smaller storeroom, and 2nd level layout also slightly different. d-a-m-n... I'm going to miss out on all the concessions... maybe i'll change my address to the new place after the elections? will it help getting more "goodies"? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Soichiro 0 Report post Posted January 19, 2011 Mine is 139sqm, yours 151sqm. 12sqm not too small a difference wor, I only paid $1k less than u Think u can afford to wait to change address, reno will take around 2 months if u overhaul everything, unless all the subcons schedule swee swee fit nicely. By then election liao lo? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
May_dream1 14 Report post Posted January 19, 2011 Mine is 139sqm, yours 151sqm. 12sqm not too small a difference wor, I only paid $1k less than u Think u can afford to wait to change address, reno will take around 2 months if u overhaul everything, unless all the subcons schedule swee swee fit nicely. By then election liao lo? I heard election will be in May. Souchiro, how big is your wardrobe? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Soichiro 0 Report post Posted January 19, 2011 Souchiro, how big is your wardrobe? Haven't confirm yet. Initially quoted for 12 feet but it leaves 2+ feet of empty space, thinking of just filling up all the way. Full height sliding door wardrobe. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
marshmallow 0 Report post Posted January 20, 2011 btw, 5M = 5 room mansionette. Smaller than EM and government see me as a 5-room owner when giving out weird stuff before election wah, never hear about this 5M before... thanks for the info.. we learn new things everyday I heard election will be in May. Souchiro, how big is your wardrobe? May, don't think anyone can beat your 17ft........... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
May_dream1 14 Report post Posted January 20, 2011 wah, never hear about this 5M before... thanks for the info.. we learn new things everyday May, don't think anyone can beat your 17ft........... Marsh, there will be. Hehe.... Cos mine is only 4-room. Lots of others have em, 5m, ea... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
csingeu 0 Report post Posted January 20, 2011 Marsh, there will be. Hehe.... Cos mine is only 4-room. Lots of others have em, 5m, ea... eh... my EM, the MBR only going to have 2.8m (~9ft) for 2 of us! LOL... not too sure whether it's enough... but like what WTB says... more storage space breeds hoarding mentality... so don't need too big... but must have sufficient... maybe will also make us think twice abt buying too much clothes... anyway, in the first place, we are both not heavy shoppers... at least i don't think i am... esp in the fashion sense... LOL Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
May_dream1 14 Report post Posted January 20, 2011 (edited) eh... my EM, the MBR only going to have 2.8m (~9ft) for 2 of us! LOL... not too sure whether it's enough... but like what WTB says... more storage space breeds hoarding mentality... so don't need too big... but must have sufficient... maybe will also make us think twice abt buying too much clothes... anyway, in the first place, we are both not heavy shoppers... at least i don't think i am... esp in the fashion sense... LOL Haha.... You have to make full use of your rooms as you have in laws and kids (in the future). I dont have so I can use that space for big wardrobe loh Edited January 20, 2011 by May_dream1 Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
csingeu 0 Report post Posted January 20, 2011 nope... my instructor is female, so it can't be you after finally seeing you in person, i kinda understand why pple call you the looking guy... LOL I guess it's probably jean, wendy? ...?? not quite in touch with who's teaching.. coz not teaching for some time le... but thinking of going back to teach after i finish my master course... jean has been asking me abt it... hopefully by then, I'm still in condition to teach and "wanted"... yeah... I got "sleepy" eyes... PLUS... i was out for the whole day leh... really tired at the end of the day, when meeting you... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
csingeu 0 Report post Posted January 20, 2011 (edited) Quick updates: Quite a few things happened over the last weekend... Group buys: 1. Group Buy For Leifheit 3-in-1 Wall Roll Holder From Hogarmas Bought 2 sets (1 for my new place, 1 for my sis, who's moving to her new unit later half of this yr). Actually not too sure why I got it too, but since got people organizing group buy + got people want to buy + got 50% discount = must be reasonably gd and useful and worth it la... My sis was like telling me "I also don't know whether I got kitchen wall available to mount it or not... " LOL... ok la... maybe later she will appreciate it... I hope... Told one of my colleagues abt it; she said I'm very "uncle"... bleahz... 2. Group Buy: Arco Floor Lamp, Fantastic floor lamp designed by Achille Castiglioni for Flos in 1962 Missed the first group buy earlier on, as I just joined renotalk and was skeptical abt such group buys (i'm paranoid that it could be a scam... or inferior goods passing off as cheaper but quality stuffs). But after reading some of the reviews from buyers of the first group buy; it seemed quite ok... (maybe it's all just clones by the organiser... ok i'm being paranoid here...) Did some research online... http://www.apartmenttherapy.com/ny/lightin...tiglioni-005041 http://www.ylighting.com/arco.html Seems like a genuine piece can cost between USD$1.7K to $2.7K... being able to own a replica designer lamp at SGD$400+ seems like a gd deal. most imptly, WTB also likes it... first saw it at a friend (an expat in the banking industry)'s apartment. thought it looks gd... and quite an eye-catching and yet functional item... Housewarming visits: 1. dexufto's We Live Love Laugh, one blessed resale 3i@ TPY Read my review here (http://www.renotalk.com/forum/index.php?s=...st&p=604427) 2. Salsa friend's place @ ******** (censored for privacy reasons; no pics too) Landed home somewhere near ECP... indeed very spacious.... now that I'm into renovation research... when i'm visiting people's homes... I tend to look at the lightings... and the kitchen layout, materials used, appliances... and toilet accessories + placement of lightings... her place very cool... got recessed speaker thru the whole place... thru centralized sound system... 2 kitchens (1 dry indoor kitchen island with induction cooker stove and they got the eubiq electric strip too... i'll consider this for my kitchen too... dexufto has it too; another "wet" outdoor kitchen, with teppanyaki hot plate kitchen island and gas stove at the side) spa/dip pool! and with very cool outdoor wicker loveseat beside it, under the pergola... looks like this, but without the cover... seen it on some forummer's t-blog too... thinking of getting this for my open-air balcony... but unsheltered and subjected to rain and sun.... a bit heartpain ah? ... and no maid to help me clean and take care also... *better think twice...* plus balcony also not super big la... BUT i'm inspired to get wicker and fabric sofa... actually... i've a pic of it in my earlier posts (from Reiki's t-blog)... thought it gives a very resorty feel... She has an entertainment room too! think 65" LED (or is it plasma or lcd) TV... with Wii and PS3!!! and 7.1 (or is it 5.1) speaker system... really shiok for playing console games and watching movie... but somehow whenever we were over for rockband party... the speaker volume was kept low, so can't really feel the ommmhhh of the speakers... If i were to get a projector with 100" screen... i'm sure to beat this... and it's like my dream too!!! home cinema!!! LOL... one of my JC friends who's living in a landed property has a projector at his living room too... very shiok to play games (esp console games like wii rockband, xbox COD4/5) for house parties!!! or even just movie marathons!! BUT WTB thinks it's a waste of money... (esp when we are quite cash-strapped now...) must be realistic... but but... hmmm... my dream leh... ---------------------------------------------------------------------- Read RimBlock's t-blog that he has gotten a projector (Epson home cinema projector?) and projector screen at ard $3K+ ... I'm thinking i'll need like maybe $5K to get my projector + screen + 5.1 HTS... it's quite unlikely WTB will agree to it... hmmm... oh well... let's see how la... need to relook at my budget again... Edited January 20, 2011 by csingeu Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
marshmallow 0 Report post Posted January 21, 2011 my MBR is also very small... i only have 1.6m (5.5 ft) of wardrobe for two of us although i initially wanted at least 2m i used to have 1.1m by myself! no thanks to HDB for building the MBR smaller than what was stated in floorplan!!! yup last time our instructor was Jean eh... my EM, the MBR only going to have 2.8m (~9ft) for 2 of us! LOL... not too sure whether it's enough... but like what WTB says... more storage space breeds hoarding mentality... so don't need too big... but must have sufficient... maybe will also make us think twice abt buying too much clothes... anyway, in the first place, we are both not heavy shoppers... at least i don't think i am... esp in the fashion sense... LOL I guess it's probably jean, wendy? ...?? not quite in touch with who's teaching.. coz not teaching for some time le... but thinking of going back to teach after i finish my master course... jean has been asking me abt it... hopefully by then, I'm still in condition to teach and "wanted"... yeah... I got "sleepy" eyes... PLUS... i was out for the whole day leh... really tired at the end of the day, when meeting you... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites