csingeu 0 Report post Posted January 10, 2011 i think can la... you don't look so fat mah~ quite a number of forumers used the LACK shelf as seats. i guess you can do it without legs~ Eh... looks can be deceiving... I'm weighing at least 72kg and I'm only ard 169cm. My BMI? 25.2. I'm just overweight. i initially wanted to use a LACK or EXPEDIT for shoe rack + seat too, but dropped the idea cos i felt it can't hold many shoes..... Was just think of using it as a bench when putting on socks and shoes. not likely to put shoes (esp when it's not enclosed) in the cubes. Will post a few proposed layout for the shoe cabinet and bench later. it's good and practical to have the store room... keep the junks out of sight Yeah. Storeroom is impt, but WTB thinks too much storage no gd... it may breed "hoarding' mentality. I saw some of the other forummers' EM renov. Very nice. They convert the utility/study into a proper study room, with glass wall... looks gd as a computer/study/cosy room. but no money. so yeah... :| i think ventilation fan is not allowed for HDB? i think reglxt is staying in HDB flat also, right? She also installed ventilation fans in her bathrooms. http://www.kdk.com.sg/homeventilation/faq.html 17) I am living in HDB. Is there any way that I can still mount up the ventilation fan directly onto the glass window? Yes. You may change the window grills and submit a proposal to HDB for approval that includes the ventilation fan to be mounted on the window itself. Only in such scenario, HDB can allow ventilation to be mounted directly on the glass window pane. Another link for info: http://www.singaporehandyman.com/Fan/ventf...indow_mount.htm i'm impressed by the number of posts and the amount of research done by csingeu... some more part-time studying... win liao LOL i did the same... always camping at Jurong East Library~ and hor, there were pple that just tore out the pages they wanted and left the magazines back in the rack. really terrible! it's better to space out the big events nia... i moved into my new home just 5 days before wedding. almost died~ so tiring!! LOL... i'm just curious for more knowledge and don't want to go in blind when meeting or discussing with IDs. Esp the lighting bible I've gotten. It's really very useful. Last time, I used to wonder why need to do cove lighting and downlights? why warm or cold lights? etc... now I learn something about layering of lights for lighting scheme... when to use what kind of lights... and also most ideal way for mirror lighting. Anyway, we might end up getting a contractor, so we better work out some of the design ideas ourselves. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
csingeu 0 Report post Posted January 10, 2011 Tell your WTB to cover it with a nice table runner, or table cloth! Tada problem solved But she does have a point, and sometimes the leaves of the table can be heavy, so do note when you take them out that 1) the leaves that hide the extension may be hard to move (especially if over time they warp) and 2) the hidden leaves will probably take both of you to set up. PS the chairs are nice! Yeah! We are thinking of getting some home decor stuffs from Bangkok (incl the table runners and maybe some paintings) later part of Feb. Friend did inform that the extensible table might be a little difficult to "transform" I love the chairs too. best thing is that there's other covers to change when we are sick of it. Haha! You should talk to my husband's weighing scale; I stepped on it once and the number display kept scrambling (it's one of those liquid-crystal display types). I looked at pinkhubby and said, "I think your weighing scale hates me." And yeah, LACK cannot hold many shoes... about 8 pairs in total? Unless you kitbash it and add a divider running through each cubbyhole, in which case it will take a max of 16 pairs... Intend to have a separate shoe cabinet (maybe from V-hive) with proper doors to keep the shoes and heels away from sight and tuck the shoe cabinet, maybe in the utility rm... haven't quite agreed with the layout for these 2 pieces of items. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
marshmallow 0 Report post Posted January 11, 2011 Eh... looks can be deceiving... I'm weighing at least 72kg and I'm only ard 169cm. My BMI? 25.2. I'm just overweight. Was just think of using it as a bench when putting on socks and shoes. not likely to put shoes (esp when it's not enclosed) in the cubes. Will post a few proposed layout for the shoe cabinet and bench later. Yeah. Storeroom is impt, but WTB thinks too much storage no gd... it may breed "hoarding' mentality. I saw some of the other forummers' EM renov. Very nice. They convert the utility/study into a proper study room, with glass wall... looks gd as a computer/study/cosy room. but no money. so yeah... :| i think reglxt is staying in HDB flat also, right? She also installed ventilation fans in her bathrooms. http://www.kdk.com.sg/homeventilation/faq.html 17) I am living in HDB. Is there any way that I can still mount up the ventilation fan directly onto the glass window? Yes. You may change the window grills and submit a proposal to HDB for approval that includes the ventilation fan to be mounted on the window itself. Only in such scenario, HDB can allow ventilation to be mounted directly on the glass window pane. Another link for info: http://www.singaporehandyman.com/Fan/ventf...indow_mount.htm LOL... i'm just curious for more knowledge and don't want to go in blind when meeting or discussing with IDs. Esp the lighting bible I've gotten. It's really very useful. Last time, I used to wonder why need to do cove lighting and downlights? why warm or cold lights? etc... now I learn something about layering of lights for lighting scheme... when to use what kind of lights... and also most ideal way for mirror lighting. Anyway, we might end up getting a contractor, so we better work out some of the design ideas ourselves. heh when baby comes, you'll appreciate the storeroom... my frens who don't have storeroom (their previous owners hacked the storerooms) all regreted not rebuilding it cos now they have no where to put all the baby stuff~ on the ventilation fan, i think (can't remember clearly) the rule in relation to ventilation fan is the one that says things cannot pertrude out of the wall facade or something like that... so only a certain type of ventilation fan can be used. also, need to buffer enough time for HDB approval cos it might take quite long. you need to check with your window contractor on details. anyway, just to share my discussion with window contractor: usually, toilet windows are already not so big. in order to put in the ventilation fan, you have to seal up part of the window, which effectively reduces your windows opening. for a small ventilation fan, diameter is already ~150mm (6-in), plus the clearance on both sides of the fan and the window frame, you will lose quite a bit of window opening. small fan suction is so-so only, in this case, you might be better off without the fan - just open the windows fully and blow with standing fan my $0.02... for your consideration Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
csingeu 0 Report post Posted January 11, 2011 heh when baby comes, you'll appreciate the storeroom... my frens who don't have storeroom (their previous owners hacked the storerooms) all regreted not rebuilding it cos now they have no where to put all the baby stuff~ Only 2 of us (me and WTB) staying at EM... and currently 1 common room is acting as the guest-room/extra study/work area and the other room will be totally empty. but be used as baby room lor. But I agree it's very useful to have a sizeable storeroom to put some big items. Both me and WTB intend to get bicycles, so next time, we can cycle to chinese gardens which is nearby, or to my parents' place or nearby eating places. The bicycles can be put in the storeroom. Plus i think it's gd to have a small ladder at home; in case need to change light tubes/bulbs. on the ventilation fan, i think (can't remember clearly) the rule in relation to ventilation fan is the one that says things cannot pertrude out of the wall facade or something like that... so only a certain type of ventilation fan can be used. also, need to buffer enough time for HDB approval cos it might take quite long. you need to check with your window contractor on details. anyway, just to share my discussion with window contractor: usually, toilet windows are already not so big. in order to put in the ventilation fan, you have to seal up part of the window, which effectively reduces your windows opening. for a small ventilation fan, diameter is already ~150mm (6-in), plus the clearance on both sides of the fan and the window frame, you will lose quite a bit of window opening. small fan suction is so-so only, in this case, you might be better off without the fan - just open the windows fully and blow with standing fan my $0.02... for your consideration I read from other posts, like what you've mentioned, need to seal up part of the window. likely to decrease natural lighting and ventilation. I think need to go see the bathrooms again. can't remember size of the bathroom windows. but yeah, don't think it's big. Maybe i'll check with reglxt how's her bathroom ventilation fan doing... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
May_dream1 14 Report post Posted January 11, 2011 I went to see my friend's place that reno done early last year. The ventilation fan doesn't help much at all. So I think I will rather get a dehumidifier to be used in WIW. That is my main worry. Ladder is a must for all type of things. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
csingeu 0 Report post Posted January 11, 2011 I went to see my friend's place that reno done early last year. The ventilation fan doesn't help much at all. So I think I will rather get a dehumidifier to be used in WIW. That is my main worry. Ladder is a must for all type of things. OK! striking off "bathroom ventilation fan" as one of the "nice-to-have" things on my wishlist... so usually, people do the louver windows (with wire-mesh) for the bathroom or top-hung windows? I heard from one of the IDs, the top-hung bathroom windows need to use a certain type which has some film in the centre to prevent it from shattering if kana hit by something. true or not ah? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
cleong 1 Report post Posted January 11, 2011 I have installed a pair of KDK 15WUD for my upstairs bathrooms, each is installed in the middle of a top hung window. It was quite cheap to buy from Malaysia, so I bought two to go along with the V60WK fan. Its actually quite effective in drawing out air from the bathroom, because you can feel the air rushing in from around the gaps of the closed door. There was a recent occasion where the contractor had to come back to do some grinding and it was very dusty, and the fan helped to suck out a lot of the flying dust. You'd have to turn it on long and often enough to obtain the advertised benefits in drying, but KDK claim $2.30 per month even if you turn it on continuously. I don't find that the fan cuts down on the light coming through the window though. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
marshmallow 0 Report post Posted January 12, 2011 OK! striking off "bathroom ventilation fan" as one of the "nice-to-have" things on my wishlist... so usually, people do the louver windows (with wire-mesh) for the bathroom or top-hung windows? I heard from one of the IDs, the top-hung bathroom windows need to use a certain type which has some film in the centre to prevent it from shattering if kana hit by something. true or not ah? i changed the original lourve windows to top hung windows. the glass of the top hung windows must be the wire-mesh type Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
csingeu 0 Report post Posted January 12, 2011 I have installed a pair of KDK 15WUD for my upstairs bathrooms, each is installed in the middle of a top hung window. It was quite cheap to buy from Malaysia, so I bought two to go along with the V60WK fan. Its actually quite effective in drawing out air from the bathroom, because you can feel the air rushing in from around the gaps of the closed door. There was a recent occasion where the contractor had to come back to do some grinding and it was very dusty, and the fan helped to suck out a lot of the flying dust. You'd have to turn it on long and often enough to obtain the advertised benefits in drying, but KDK claim $2.30 per month even if you turn it on continuously. I don't find that the fan cuts down on the light coming through the window though. Seems like it's mixed reviews on the effectiveness of bathroom ventilation fan. I would think it's useful la. but have to depend on the "power' of the ventilation fan too and how long it's being turned on, after a shower, etc. Yes. I also read from the website that I've posted abt KDK ventilation fan that the power usage can be quite low (as they have claimed) for continuous usage. Anyone has real-life experience or can verify this fact? Agreed. Depending on how the fan is mounted; might not block too much la. Coz usually it will be mounted on an acrylic panel or so, but the panel likely to be fixed in position. If the fan is mounted (like what I saw in my school toilet) on plywood or so, then likely will block out the natural light. i changed the original lourve windows to top hung windows. the glass of the top hung windows must be the wire-mesh type One of the IDs informed me, top hung windows must be wire-mesh type (safety + HDB ruling), but he said if don't want to use wire-mesh, there's another choice, which is to use the kind of glass panel with a "sticky" film in the middle of it. so in the event that something smashes on the window pane, the "sticky" film will "stick" the pieces together, and it will not shattered into bits. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
csingeu 0 Report post Posted January 12, 2011 Oh! I've received SMS notification from HDB regarding my 2nd appt on 31 Jan, 3.30pm. I think some of the forummers here are also going for their 2nd appt on the same day, same time. 19 more days! excited! headache thing is ... haven't confirmed ID... should I up my budget or lower/remove some of my requirements? sigh. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
May_dream1 14 Report post Posted January 12, 2011 Congrats!! Just 19 days more can collect keys!! My 1st appt only next week. How come u get SMS from hdb? So good leh.... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
reglxt 0 Report post Posted January 12, 2011 (edited) Oh! I've received SMS notification from HDB regarding my 2nd appt on 31 Jan, 3.30pm. I think some of the forummers here are also going for their 2nd appt on the same day, same time. 19 more days! excited! headache thing is ... haven't confirmed ID... should I up my budget or lower/remove some of my requirements? sigh. woah you broadcast to us your hp number ah hehehe congrats hor btw Edited January 12, 2011 by reglxt Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
May_dream1 14 Report post Posted January 12, 2011 woah you broadcast to us your hp number ah hehehe congrats hor btw Reglxt, That 9117xxxx is hdb number, not his number. Hehe..... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
reglxt 0 Report post Posted January 12, 2011 Reglxt, That 9117xxxx is hdb number, not his number. Hehe..... oh ya hor .. eyes blurry i sotong.. too late liao better go slp Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
csingeu 0 Report post Posted January 12, 2011 Congrats!! Just 19 days more can collect keys!! My 1st appt only next week. How come u get SMS from hdb? So good leh.... Hey! Thanks! Oh! You can go to HDB website, think there's somewhere you can subscribe for it. And also you can go to MyECitizen and subscribe to their email and sms alerts. Very useful and convenient + it's free! Can get updates & info from HDB, CPF, IRAS, etc... but you'll need to apply for SingPass first and it's free too!! and quite fast. just sign up online and 1-2 days later they will mail you your password. woah you broadcast to us your hp number ah hehehe congrats hor btw thanks thanks... mixed feelings abt it... happy & excited coz going to get the keys soon... at the same time, stressed also... coz haven't confirmed ID/contractor... and yah, I won't broadcast my hp number "publicly" la... so ermmm... the rest of the details... are ok... since it's already in my signature... unless someone wants to bump into me at HDB Hub la... which I don't think got anyone so eng to go down there for fun... hehehe... Reglxt, That 9117xxxx is hdb number, not his number. Hehe..... maybe i should add the number to my contact and name it "HDB Alerts" Share this post Link to post Share on other sites