pixie 0 Report post Posted December 26, 2010 Anyone using an induction hob? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
everton 0 Report post Posted December 26, 2010 Anyone using an induction hob? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
pixie 0 Report post Posted December 27, 2010 Yes How do u go about choosing it? Pros and Cons of brands? Cant seem to find enough documents on induction hobs to make an intelligent buy =( Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
neubie 2 Report post Posted December 27, 2010 How do u go about choosing it? Pros and Cons of brands? Cant seem to find enough documents on induction hobs to make an intelligent buy =( keep in mind the unit price of electricity vs gas when u considering electric/gas hob.... induction cookers typically guzzle a significant portion of the power which is comparable to aircon and heater.... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
mkl22 0 Report post Posted December 27, 2010 keep in mind the unit price of electricity vs gas when u considering electric/gas hob.... induction cookers typically guzzle a significant portion of the power which is comparable to aircon and heater.... yup and not only power, you are also limited by the type of pots and pans you can use. must be ferrous. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
gimz63251073 0 Report post Posted December 27, 2010 we had considered the induction hob before. Cons from reviews we gathered: - reviews are that its not as easy to control the power as compared to gas (need much practise and trial and error) - the heat does not "cover" the wok if you do frying, so hob is more suitable for "ang moh" cooking. - cooks faster but more expensive than gas - induction cookers are costly and HDB has limitations on the power supply Pros: Easier to wash and looks very sleek. Said to be less smelly We ended up using a gas cooker after weighing our options, really depends on your lifestyle. We used the portable induction cooker for steamboat and realise that it is indeed not easy to control the temperature...but for steamboat its still manageable. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
marshmallow 0 Report post Posted December 27, 2010 How do u go about choosing it? Pros and Cons of brands? Cant seem to find enough documents on induction hobs to make an intelligent buy =( i used the portable induction hob for cooking... for temperature control, with some practice, you will be able to get it... not so difficult Pros: Very easy to cleanSafe - does not get burn by fire/no heating sensation on hands when cookingheat up much faster than gas cookerif you are using portable ones like me, anything wrong/spoil, just throw away and buy new one. fuss free, trouble free, and cheap. Cons: Need to use pot suitable for induction hob only - end up having separate utensils for induction hob and microwave etc...Electrical tariff is more expensive - can really feel it if you do a lot of Chinese cooking esp. if you like to boil soup Above are just my personal experience. Do read all the threads on induction hob/gas hob in RT before deciding... and decide which type suits your cooking pattern more Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
everton 0 Report post Posted December 27, 2010 i used the portable induction hob for cooking... for temperature control, with some practice, you will be able to get it... not so difficult Pros: Very easy to cleanSafe - does not get burn by fire/no heating sensation on hands when cookingheat up much faster than gas cookerif you are using portable ones like me, anything wrong/spoil, just throw away and buy new one. fuss free, trouble free, and cheap. Cons: Need to use pot suitable for induction hob only - end up having separate utensils for induction hob and microwave etc...Electrical tariff is more expensive - can really feel it if you do a lot of Chinese cooking esp. if you like to boil soup Above are just my personal experience. Do read all the threads on induction hob/gas hob in RT before deciding... and decide which type suits your cooking pattern more If you do a lot of heavy asian style cooking and deep frying then you may be better off with your traditional open flame hob. As for induction pots and frying pans etc. that's really not an issue. Once you've bought them they'll last you close to a lifetime i presume. If you're in doubt you can get a combination of an induction and traditional open flame hob. I'm using teka. used it for my previous home tool and it has served me well. i have a bias towards German kitchen appliances and I found Teka to be among the more affordable German brands Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
watchthewaves 0 Report post Posted December 28, 2010 Yes, electricity tariff is more expensive, but induction cooking is supposed to be more efficient -- less loss of heat to the air. So you use less energy to cook. The faster cooking and/or lower power used should be able to offset the more expensive electricity tariff when compared with the gas tariff. So my question to those who say induction cooking is more expensive -- if your statement comes from comparing your electricity usage with your gas usage when you changed over, what was the difference? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
marshmallow 0 Report post Posted December 29, 2010 If you do a lot of heavy asian style cooking and deep frying then you may be better off with your traditional open flame hob. As for induction pots and frying pans etc. that's really not an issue. Once you've bought them they'll last you close to a lifetime i presume. If you're in doubt you can get a combination of an induction and traditional open flame hob. I'm using teka. used it for my previous home tool and it has served me well. i have a bias towards German kitchen appliances and I found Teka to be among the more affordable German brands actually for induction hob/utensil, the heat transfer is really fast and the whole wok will be uniformly heated up within seconds (surely faster than gas). i do asian style cooking 95% of the time and dun notice big difference. can't comment on deep frying though cos i dun do any Yes, electricity tariff is more expensive, but induction cooking is supposed to be more efficient -- less loss of heat to the air. So you use less energy to cook. The faster cooking and/or lower power used should be able to offset the more expensive electricity tariff when compared with the gas tariff. So my question to those who say induction cooking is more expensive -- if your statement comes from comparing your electricity usage with your gas usage when you changed over, what was the difference? back when i was staying with my sister, we used gas hob. Monthly bill around $55-60. we cook 3 meals a day, 7 days a week. boil soup occasionally like once to twice a week. now i m staying with my husband, we use induction hob. Monthly bill around $62-70. We cook only 1 meal a day, 3-4 days a week. boil soup once a week. all other things like water usage and electricity usage pattern are similar. flat type also same (4-room). though induction hob is more efficient, it doesn't make significant time saving when say for e.g., when you stir fry veggie. you take around 2-3 mins whether you are using gas or induction. but, when it comes to boil soup, it's not something like you can say induction heat up faster so can only use half the time as required compared to using gas hob. you still need the time to get the "essence" out of the soup. 0.5 hour of induction hob cooking definitely costs more than that for gas hob. well, having said all these, i still have no regret in switching to induction... still prefer to pros that come with induction cooking Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
marshmallow 0 Report post Posted December 29, 2010 Yes, electricity tariff is more expensive, but induction cooking is supposed to be more efficient -- less loss of heat to the air. So you use less energy to cook. The faster cooking and/or lower power used should be able to offset the more expensive electricity tariff when compared with the gas tariff. So my question to those who say induction cooking is more expensive -- if your statement comes from comparing your electricity usage with your gas usage when you changed over, what was the difference? some numbers for your reference, if you are interested... Electrical consumption in 12-hour period (7pm to 7am): when i cook: 8-9kWh when i don't cook: ~4kWh that translates to electricity cost of $0.93~$1.17 for cooking a dinner . Current tariff: Electricity: $0.2334 per kWh Gas: $0.1799 per kWh Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
neubie 2 Report post Posted December 29, 2010 (edited) Higher electricity costs for the start of 2011 THE average cost of electricity is expected to increase by 3.3 per cent from Jan 1 to Mar 31 2011. For example, families in four-room HDB flats will on average pay about $3.15 more a month on electricity charges. The electricity tariff for households will increase by $0.0076 to $0.241 per kWh. The tariff revisions are due to a rise in fuel oil prices to $99.45 per barrel. The following is the breakdown of the electricity tariff into its four components: 1) Energy Cost (paid to the generation companies): Increase by 0.76 cents per kWh to 18.9 cents per kWh. This component is adjusted quarterly to reflect changes in the fuel and non-fuel cost of power generation. 2) Network Cost (paid to SP PowerAssets): Unchanged at 4.92 cents per kWh. This fee is reviewed every year and has been reduced by 10 per cent since Oct 2008. 3) Market Support Services Fee (paid to SP Services): Unchanged at 0.22 cents per kWh. This fee is reviewed every year and has been reduced by 21 per cent since July 2009. 4) Market Administration and Power System Operation Fee (paid to Energy Market Company and Power System Operator): Unchanged at 0.06 cents per kWh. This fee is reviewed every year to recover the costs of operating the electricity wholesale market and power system. Edited December 29, 2010 by neubie Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
marshmallow 0 Report post Posted December 30, 2010 bro you are fast hand fast leg... was about to post this in my own t-blog~ Our electrical tariff is really ex... HK's tariff is only ~SGD $0.135 / kWh... almost half of SG's http://www.straitstimes.com/BreakingNews/S...ory_618859.html Higher electricity costs for the start of 2011 THE average cost of electricity is expected to increase by 3.3 per cent from Jan 1 to Mar 31 2011. For example, families in four-room HDB flats will on average pay about $3.15 more a month on electricity charges. The electricity tariff for households will increase by $0.0076 to $0.241 per kWh. The tariff revisions are due to a rise in fuel oil prices to $99.45 per barrel. The following is the breakdown of the electricity tariff into its four components: 1) Energy Cost (paid to the generation companies): Increase by 0.76 cents per kWh to 18.9 cents per kWh. This component is adjusted quarterly to reflect changes in the fuel and non-fuel cost of power generation. 2) Network Cost (paid to SP PowerAssets): Unchanged at 4.92 cents per kWh. This fee is reviewed every year and has been reduced by 10 per cent since Oct 2008. 3) Market Support Services Fee (paid to SP Services): Unchanged at 0.22 cents per kWh. This fee is reviewed every year and has been reduced by 21 per cent since July 2009. 4) Market Administration and Power System Operation Fee (paid to Energy Market Company and Power System Operator): Unchanged at 0.06 cents per kWh. This fee is reviewed every year to recover the costs of operating the electricity wholesale market and power system. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
neubie 2 Report post Posted December 30, 2010 Lolx… ask why temasek holding sold off all the power stations to foreigners… Share this post Link to post Share on other sites