When my ID had selected the tiles, you know what I did? I took the sample tile, wipe it clean & use my mouth to test it, not taste it! Why? Because when you bite the tile, and if your tongue has that 'tinge' feel, it means that the tile is easily prone to absorb stains!

That sales person & my ID :rolleyes:

wah Linda... your "tile-testing" process even more hardcore sia, but "test results" more instant la... no need to wait 1 day or 1 week for stains to appear... :P

but i don't think i'll do that la... the stupid toronto antarchite tiles from Hafary... when they brought out the sample tile from the store, it was all covered with white stuff... and even after washing (and in chemicals, i think)... some bits of white stuff still remains...

I don't think i'll be putting any other parts of myself near it... except my fingers and hands la... :P

wah Linda... your "tile-testing" process even more hardcore sia, but "test results" more instant la... no need to wait 1 day or 1 week for stains to appear... :P

but i don't think i'll do that la... the stupid toronto antarchite tiles from Hafary... when they brought out the sample tile from the store, it was all covered with white stuff... and even after washing (and in chemicals, i think)... some bits of white stuff still remains...

I don't think i'll be putting any other parts of myself near it... except my fingers and hands la... :P

that is a good way to test too.... but its just testing for stains?

but like csingeu, i would rather not use my mouth to test anything non edible. even edible stuff, i also won't put anything inside my mouth if it doesn't look good enough. hehehehehe.....

RENOVATION DAY 11

After the eventful day on friday, renovation day 10, i went to look at my flat on Saturday. The new tiles suppose to arrive. When i reached my flat around noon, the tiles are not there yet. The tiler told me that the shop called to say on will deliver on Monday. I wonder whether it will delay my handover day.... :dunno:

But i am glad that the tiler continue the work and finish up both toilet plus kitchen. Previously the tiles have not been filled with grout, but now it looks so smooth, so white and so pretty.

here is my kitchen wall tiles:

kitchenwalltiles.jpg

I have been thinking long and hard on how to make my toilet looks big and yet have enough space to put all the shampoos, conditioners, body soap, facial wash etc. My usual bottles in the toilet is about 20 of them. But after the below has been done, i think its still not enough..... headache..... but i don't want to put simple human caddy. Should i ask the tiler to do another shelf?

MTseater.jpg

Shelf is on the right.... the one in the middle is a seater. For "thinking" people like me that uses shower time to think about many things in life or at work. :sport-smiley-018:

I thought of doing a seater for my shower area too... think it's useful to sit down and soak feet or scrub/"exfoliate" dry skin from the soles... :P

but bathroom really too small, think do liao, no where to stand... :P

BUT GUESS WHAT?? The tiles was delivered today and its uneven!!! So the tiler told my contractor then he called me to go down to have a look urgently. Went to see and really, the tiles are uneven... some are U-shaped and some are n-shaped. hhmmm.... was not really angry but stressed out. So quickly went to SBH again to choose another tile.

This time, i only managed to do step 1... sob sob..... hopefully it will be ok!!!

they let you pour water on the tiles in the shop mah? :o well don't worry too much, think 99% of us never do any of the 8 steps and nothing goes wrong! no stress okie~ :)

When my ID had selected the tiles, you know what I did? I took the sample tile, wipe it clean & use my mouth to test it, not taste it! Why? Because when you bite the tile, and if your tongue has that 'tinge' feel, it means that the tile is easily prone to absorb stains!

That sales person & my ID :rolleyes:

wah! :o i think i'll get stomach ache by doing that. hubby has weak stomach too LOL

I have been thinking long and hard on how to make my toilet looks big and yet have enough space to put all the shampoos, conditioners, body soap, facial wash etc. My usual bottles in the toilet is about 20 of them. But after the below has been done, i think its still not enough..... headache..... but i don't want to put simple human caddy. Should i ask the tiler to do another shelf?

maybe should use less bottles? :lol: or those less frequently used ones, put into the vanity cabinet instead of on the shelf... else they collect dust over time also, might as well keep them in cabinet and take out only when need to use~ :)

I thought of doing a seater for my shower area too... think it's useful to sit down and soak feet or scrub/"exfoliate" dry skin from the soles... :P

just get a small plastic stool then... like how the Japaneses bathe hahaha :P

RENOVATION DAY 11

Interesting to have a seater to think!

Sounds good indeed. :)

20 bottles? er.. one pax use only right? :P

guess u can put some at ur seater as from picture, your seater looks spacious enough. :)

yours is EM leh... how can the bathroom be smaller than mine?? :unsure:

you can try to make one loh.... its nice to see too... hehehe....

they let you pour water on the tiles in the shop mah? :o well don't worry too much, think 99% of us never do any of the 8 steps and nothing goes wrong! no stress okie~ :)

maybe should use less bottles? :lol: or those less frequently used ones, put into the vanity cabinet instead of on the shelf... else they collect dust over time also, might as well keep them in cabinet and take out only when need to use~ :)

Interesting to have a seater to think!

Sounds good indeed. :)

20 bottles? er.. one pax use only right? :P

guess u can put some at ur seater as from picture, your seater looks spacious enough. :)

marshy, SBH have a water dispenser machine so pretend to drink water then pour it on the tiles.... hehehehehe..... then the other day, i pour in front of the salesgirl then try to walk on the tile with my bare feet with water, she also never say anything. heheheh....

hhhmm.... i have 2-3 bottles of shampoos for different use with different smell so depending on mood, i will use different shampoos. Same goes for my conditioners and body soap and facial wash. i can't do without any of them. and also, i don't have a vanity counter as i don't like to have wood in toilet.... i have no other space to put my stuff once its open.... so all have to be on the seater or shelf.

footprint, yes, some will put on the seater... no choice... too many bottles already. :)

that is a good way to test too.... but its just testing for stains?

That is the quickest method to test for stains....if the tile 'tasted' and your tongue felt like 'biting', this type of tile will absorb water easily, so the stains! The fastest way of testing for stains.

You can also pour water on tile and see how fast the water dissipated....if the tile dried up so fast, then you know this kind of tile is prone to stain adhesion...the tile can 'eat' anything left on it.

That is the quickest method to test for stains....if the tile 'tasted' and your tongue felt like 'biting', this type of tile will absorb water easily, so the stains! The fastest way of testing for stains.

You can also pour water on tile and see how fast the water dissipated....if the tile dried up so fast, then you know this kind of tile is prone to stain adhesion...the tile can 'eat' anything left on it.

yup, i did pour water on it but to test whether the tile is slippery or not. just to make sure that when i mop the floor, its not easy to fall down... worried that when my mum come over, she will mop my floor then accident might happen. that is my main concern. so my tiles are not those shiny type....

RENOVATION DAY 12 : SURPRISED

I should say that today is considered day 12 even though renovation started 2 weeks ago. i am counting by the working day....

I went to check on the flat, thinking of checking the new tiles that i chosen on friday. But to my surprised, i saw another group of people, not the tiler that have been doing my flat for the last few days.

This group of people are installing the windows!! So, my windows are up..... for my kitchen, MBR toilet and my MBR. I didn't change the whole house, only certain windows as the rest are still in very good condition. Especially the one facing the corridor. Its amazing the sturdy materials that HDB used to make windows 20+ years ago. Even those white powder coated or aluminium nowadays cannot be compared with it. So, i decided not to change those along the corridors...... hope i won't regret it.....

pics will be up later tonight....

yup, i did pour water on it but to test whether the tile is slippery or not. just to make sure that when i mop the floor, its not easy to fall down... worried that when my mum come over, she will mop my floor then accident might happen. that is my main concern. so my tiles are not those shiny type....

even not shiny type, also can be slippery... i already slipped on my rough MBR toilet floor tiles at least 3 times~ (you've seen how rough the tiles are... rite?) :(

best advice from me is: wear slippers~ :)

OMG May Dream, you're exactly like me!!

I, too, have like 20 bottles of stuff in the bathroom because um, well, there's anti-residual shampoo, volumising shampoo, anti-frizz shampoo, shampoo for curled hair, shampoo for colour-treated hair, shampoo for dry hair, all the different conditioners that go with the above shampoos, hair treatments, body scrubs, face scrub, make up remover, facial cleanser, clay body cleanser, normal body cleanser, whitening toothpaste, whitening polish toothpaste, whitening + mouthwash toothpaste...oh gawd.

Decided to streamline the whole thing because I hate the sight of ugly bottles (already need to purchase many plastic bottles to house the different products), so I swap my hair products around (keep the straightening stuff when my hair is permed etc). And I built a recess to hold all the stuff - so anything that doesn't fit will have to go into the cabinet.

I also wanted a seat, because it's so much more convenient to exfloliate legs, feet, or just sit there to wait for the mask to work while enjoying the makeshift "sauna" effect. :lol: (That is why I need 50l heater!!).

@ Csingeu

If space is of concern to you, how about getting a fold-down?

WS-01-03-web.gif

Bahroom-Seat.jpg

Shower-Seat-149831.jpg

shower_seat_bathroom_chair_shower_room_c

I see them on allibaba, and they come in different finishes.

-Ely

I, too, have like 20 bottles of stuff in the bathroom because um, well, there's anti-residual shampoo, volumising shampoo, anti-frizz shampoo, shampoo for curled hair, shampoo for colour-treated hair, shampoo for dry hair, all the different conditioners that go with the above shampoos, hair treatments, body scrubs, face scrub, make up remover, facial cleanser, clay body cleanser, normal body cleanser, whitening toothpaste, whitening polish toothpaste, whitening + mouthwash toothpaste...oh gawd.

Decided to streamline the whole thing because I hate the sight of ugly bottles (already need to purchase many plastic bottles to house the different products), so I swap my hair products around (keep the straightening stuff when my hair is permed etc). And I built a recess to hold all the stuff - so anything that doesn't fit will have to go into the cabinet.

I also wanted a seat, because it's so much more convenient to exfloliate legs, feet, or just sit there to wait for the mask to work while enjoying the makeshift "sauna" effect. :lol: (That is why I need 50l heater!!).

LOL my hubby will scream if i have so many bottles~ :lol: anyway, good to streamline cos it's difficult to manage so many bottles, it also means more things to clean (can't stand the sight of those bottles that got dirty by sitting around for too long hahaha)~ now have to restrict myself to 2 types of shampoo only :P things that i use only once a week, gotta dry the bottles/containers and keep them away in drawers in bedroom.

i practice my balancing when exfoliating legs... Pilate helps hahahaha~ :lol:

as for mask... i have to get out of the bathroom totally cos really can't afford to waste that 20~30 mins sitting/relaxing (sometimes that 20 mins is enough for me to prepare a soup~ :P)

we do have quite a few things in common... hahahaha.... i don't have so many shampoos though... abt 3 types, those for daily use, once a week use x2, then conditioner x2, facial wash x2, facial scrub x1, make up remover x2, body cleanser x2, mouth wash, toothpaste, shaving cream, after shaving cream, hair mask, hand soap, body scrub, body salt..... exactly 20 bottles!! hahahah.... and the thing is, i use them at least once a week... some i use daily.... morning i use different body cleanser, and at night i use different... the same for facial wash too. so to limit them to less bottles, doesn't seem possble. :(

that is why i ask the tiler to make the seat for me.... so that i can sit down to enjoy my rain shower + putting mask + exfoliate my feet.....

so the seater is a good idea? :good: