I also think it's okie to install wall fan... just like a normal standing fan at a fixed position, rite? :P but for ventilation fan, it can only be installed at the window, and the window contractor has to submit the application to HDB for approval.

not sure leh~ according to Yumiko, the fan works. probably also depends on the power of the ventilation fan... both Yumiko's and sleek's bathrooms seem pretty "enclosed" becos of the WIW. but of course, sleek's one will be a large "enclosure" thanks to the record-breaking WIW~ :lol:

Ya, that's what I think. Sleek's might be too big for proper enclosure. So it might be totally useless. But she can install since it's not costing much. Hehe.... If doesn't work then buy dehumidifier.

maybe i should install a wall fan at the WIW side too, after all it is going to be enclosed and pretty stuffy.... haiyah must ask ID how. if not, i will ask my boys to stand there and fan my WIW!!!! :sport-smiley-004:

Haha... The lizard really smart. Knows where to hide... Put a trap then you will be able to catch it??

what if it dies at the trap... then cannot train him to perform stunts rite? :lol:

yes, apparently, lizards are like dogs. once they find a "good" place to do their business, they will always want to do it there.

at my previous house, also always got lizard poo at the same spot. somemore can form a mini straight line....directly on the floor under my kitchen sink.

but i also realised one thing. after a while, whether i scrape off the stains or not, the poo stopped appearing. i dun rmb killing the lizard or "chasing" it away wif insecticide or what-not. the poo just stopped appearing mysteriously.

i clean the poo stain daily leh.... (it's on my granite worktop for goodness sake! :() even use cleaner etc and it still comes back! i dunno how the lizard did it~ :bow:

insecticide cannot chase lizards away cos they are not insects....... :rolleyes:

The feral cats, of course, bring in all the maimed roaches and lizards and tenderly places them on my yoga mat or bed for "Proud Mommy"~

hahahaha they wanna "present" their catch to the Proud Mommy? :lol:

maybe i should install a wall fan at the WIW side too, after all it is going to be enclosed and pretty stuffy.... haiyah must ask ID how. if not, i will ask my boys to stand there and fan my WIW!!!! :sport-smiley-004:

wahahaha sounds like some ancient Chiness empress~ :sport-smiley-004: you'll have a very breezy WIW!

Hi May...Your house nicely renovated...n you have smooth reno process...

I'd like to get the same contractor ...appreciate if u can pm me the contractor contact no...

what if it dies at the trap... then cannot train him to perform stunts rite? :lol:

i clean the poo stain daily leh.... (it's on my granite worktop for goodness sake! :() even use cleaner etc and it still comes back! i dunno how the lizard did it~ :bow:

dont use those traps that can kill it. Use those that catches it and yet let it lives? Hehe.....

Hmmm.... Too smart for us human. Dont know how they manage to find that special spot everyday. Haha....

A few lizards at home are good sis, they eat insects.... :sport-smiley-004:

But their "sai" are everywhere. You can help to toilet trained them? Hehe.... You are Sir Poo. :)

Shall I bring Bondi over? :P Maxey recently alerted us to a rat in my parents' house. Was so proud of him, heart was bursting with pride. I'm glad he doesn't attack it either. Just follows the trail and tells us where it is. Jorja (a rescue Schnauzer) catches geckos, my late rescue Shih-Tzu would alert us to termites. Great to have a team of exterminators lol! The feral cats, of course, bring in all the maimed roaches and lizards and tenderly places them on my yoga mat or bed for "Proud Mommy"~

- Ely

U really have a team of exterminators!

But ur cats... Places the maimed roaches on ur bed? "Nice"! :P

U really have a team of exterminators!

But ur cats... Places the maimed roaches on ur bed? "Nice"! :P

Um, yeah, I was sooo touched by their gesture. Was only disappointed they didn't come wrapped in a bow. The female even practices extra tender loving by leaving it wiggling and alive on my pillow so Mommy can really be proud. Usually, cats "present" their kills to those they love as a form of respect, like how cats in the wild have an eating hierarchy.

Bondi and Maxey are a little more "obedient" because they tune in to my crazy shrieks and freak out themselves so they won't dare to bite intrusive pests but would use their paws effectively enough, at least I don't have to go around looking for spare legs and wings UGGGHHH. Gross.

- Ely

Um, yeah, I was sooo touched by their gesture. Was only disappointed they didn't come wrapped in a bow. The female even practices extra tender loving by leaving it wiggling and alive on my pillow so Mommy can really be proud. Usually, cats "present" their kills to those they love as a form of respect, like how cats in the wild have an eating hierarchy.

Bondi and Maxey are a little more "obedient" because they tune in to my crazy shrieks and freak out themselves so they won't dare to bite intrusive pests but would use their paws effectively enough, at least I don't have to go around looking for spare legs and wings UGGGHHH. Gross.

- Ely

that's disgusting! enough of all the xiao qiangs and xiao bai. :o

Can we talking about something nicer? hehehehe....

AFTER MOVING IN FOR 1 MONTH

Time really flies... i have been living here for a month (exactly). I still feel amazed when i walk in my MBR, the space and comfort it gives me.

After waiting for 1 month, finally, i have my TV up. Will take photo of it later on... the guy is still trying to fix it. i know its not easy so i guess they will take about more than an hour to fix both the TV and the sound bar.

The mirrors that i have been waiting also been installed. its just right opposite of my island so now my island look like 20ft instead of 10ft. hahahaha... :sport-smiley-004: With mirror in the living room really makes a lot of different. I saw some flats that with mirror, it makes the place smaller, not bigger. How it works, i have no idea. :sport-smiley-018:

MY CONTRACTOR : ANDREW

A few of you been asking, who is my contractor. So today i will give you an assessment of him. Why i delayed until now to give out his name? For all type of services, i believe in before sales service and after sale service. I guess a month into moving in, would be good enough to say about their after sales service.

Why i choose Andrew?

1) I was on a budget and i know all those that i want to do not going to be cheap. Having a long WIW, special door, special swivel tv feature wall and an island is not going to be cheap. When i speak to 9 contractors/ID, i roughly know the price and it was slightly above my budget. So no choice but to choose as cheap as possible.

His pricing is not the cheapest (2nd cheapest) but its good enough for me. :good:

2) The chemistry - i understand what he says and he understands what i wanted. so its easy for me to tell him my ideas and my wants to make it into the dream home i wanted. I think this is very important so that what you have in your mind will become a reality. Or else a lot of misunderstanding will come and have a lot of bad feelings between yourself and your contractor/ID. :curse:

3) He was recommended by a friend. I always believe in recommendation because as friends, we want good things for our friends too. So i am very careful about who i recommend as well, whether for reno or for any other things that we face on daily basis. If its recommended, then i know he will try his best to do things to the best he can as he won't want to spoilt his relationship with the "recommender". For eg, now that he has done my reno, he will not be able to answer to me if he did not do his best for those i recommended. 8|

Renovation assessment

As i was in a tight timing to move in, from the time i collect the keys to i move in, only have 39 days, including saturdays and sundays. So if i take away these 2 days, there are only 29 days. So, a few of the preparation have to be done before renovation begins.

Tiles selection : 3 times

Laminate selection : 4 times

Lightings : 1 time

Cabinet, wardrobe and door design : 3 times

I would say that he was quite patient with me. I considered myself quite fussy but now that i am in renotalk for a while, i realised i am not very fussy actually. hahahaha... there are worse people than me.

I would say, Andrew is:

1) Patient

2) Prioritise well (so if you are as urgent case as me, then i believe he will make it happen for you)

3) A bit long winded so you must be patient to listen to him as well

4) Trustworthy - but this is a 2-way thing. If you trust him, he will deliver but if you always suspect and question him, how he will be able to do his job well?

5) Never give nonsense excuses. Actually, so far, never really gave me any excuses.

6) Eye for perfection. Like i said, i though i was fussy but he is fussier than me. Things i never realised, he will see it and try to get it done in a better way for me.

7) Even after a month of moving in, i just need to call him or his project coordinator, i get things done. The grout line for my toilet flooring seem like loosen and have gaps, so today got it done (with 2 days notice).

8) Sometimes busy and difficult to get him, but if you willing to keep on calling or leave sms, he will call you back. But 80% of the time, i manage to get him so totally not a problem for me.

I am so glad my reno was so smooth. Although tiring but at least i never face anything not able to be rectified or corrected. Most importantly, no delay at all although some touch up were done during this whole month.

Anything for me to complain? NONE!!!

So after finished this reno, i gained a friend. And through renotalk, i gained many many friends. Its a short journey but one that gained me a lot of experiences and friends. :good::D

U actually move in for a mth Le? That's fast!!

Time really flies.

Yes, I'm quite impressed by ur contractor. :)

Such tight schedule n urs not exactly easy to complete renovation but he made it in time. :)

Plus the after-service to touch up n such, can see he does follow up de. *thumbs up*

U actually move in for a mth Le? That's fast!!

Time really flies.

Yes, I'm quite impressed by ur contractor. :)

Such tight schedule n urs not exactly easy to complete renovation but he made it in time. :)

Plus the after-service to touch up n such, can see he does follow up de. *thumbs up*

Ya, I also cannot believe that I have moved in for a month. Seem like a short while only. Haha.... You also feel like living in your own home for short while, right?

Ya, my Reno that have so many things also can be done on time. Really not easy... Haha.... So I am happy. :)

Isn't it great to know that you have completed your Reno? Thanks for recommending Andrew..... It would soon be my turn to go through this Reno journey.... I hope I can be like u.... Smooth sailing.....

Hope you will have smooth one too. :) have you chosen who you will be using? I saw the other post on csingeu that you also wanted his contractor? How many have you been to? Try to get abt 5 to have rough gauge.