my fren shared a solution wif me recently.

she got pandan leaves and folded them into clumps like those you sometimes see in some taxis, den tie them up, and hang them in the rubbish chute. the roaches will avoid your chute. replace the pandan leaves as and when required.

That's a good idea. But how to hang them??

i'm already using a flat rubbish chute but still doesn't stop them from coming in, esp after chute fogging, despite all the necessary measures taken (seal chute with masking tapes, closed windows, etc) :bangwall:

i think they're not coming in from the chute during fogging if u hv oredi used masking tape to seal up the chute. i suspect they're coming in from the gulley traps.

Our area seem to have a lot of roaches. I rmb the last time they did estate fogging, i saw tons of dead roaches all around the ground floor and lift lobby at my block and carpark too. and some still not totally dead yet. even after a couple of days, still can see them lying on the floor, or struggling half-dead. super gross.

anyway, now wat i did was i taped up my kitchen's gulley trap since i dun need it. i dun splash my floors wif water when i mop. if u dun hv access to ur gully traps, den the nx best thing u can do, i feel, is use those "Combat" roach poison. put a couple of them as close to the gulley trap as possible. at the start, u may see a few more roaches coming to ur plc cos the poison will actually attract them. but eventually after a couple of weeks, ur plc shld be free of roaches oredi.

i'm very reluctant to use insecticide as i'm not sure hw harmful it is to my doggie. i dun wanna poison my boy-boy.

also, sometimes these pests may come and go. like in my case, there was a period of time when a lot of ants kept coming to this particular corner of my kitchen floor, next to the rubbish chute. And guess wat they do there. They go there to commit suicide! :jawdrop:

No joke. They really do. Every morning i wake, when i go there, i'll see a pool of dead ants at that corner, even after i've cleaned it the nite before. thankfully my boy-boy dun eat pests.

but now, all of a sudden, they've stopped go. Thank God they did :dancingqueen: . i can't stand the sight of it.

That's a good idea. But how to hang them??

use those suction hooks or 3M hooks and paste the hooks on the wall just above the chute, or on the chute frame itself. den hang the strings over these hooks and leave the pandan leaves in the chute.

so wat ppl will see frm ur kitchen is a couple of hooks with strings leading frm the hooks into the chute. if u use hooks that are small enough, ppl may not even notice the hooks.

may.... when you have an open house don't forget to invite me!! wanna drool at your llllllllllloooooooooooonnnnnnnnnnnngggggggggggggggg wardrobe!

i think they're not coming in from the chute during fogging if u hv oredi used masking tape to seal up the chute. i suspect they're coming in from the gulley traps.

Our area seem to have a lot of roaches. I rmb the last time they did estate fogging, i saw tons of dead roaches all around the ground floor and lift lobby at my block and carpark too. and some still not totally dead yet. even after a couple of days, still can see them lying on the floor, or struggling half-dead. super gross.

anyway, now wat i did was i taped up my kitchen's gulley trap since i dun need it. i dun splash my floors wif water when i mop. if u dun hv access to ur gully traps, den the nx best thing u can do, i feel, is use those "Combat" roach poison. put a couple of them as close to the gulley trap as possible. at the start, u may see a few more roaches coming to ur plc cos the poison will actually attract them. but eventually after a couple of weeks, ur plc shld be free of roaches oredi.

i'm very reluctant to use insecticide as i'm not sure hw harmful it is to my doggie. i dun wanna poison my boy-boy.

also, sometimes these pests may come and go. like in my case, there was a period of time when a lot of ants kept coming to this particular corner of my kitchen floor, next to the rubbish chute. And guess wat they do there. They go there to commit suicide! :jawdrop:

No joke. They really do. Every morning i wake, when i go there, i'll see a pool of dead ants at that corner, even after i've cleaned it the nite before. thankfully my boy-boy dun eat pests.

but now, all of a sudden, they've stopped go. Thank God they did :dancingqueen: . i can't stand the sight of it.

bro finally see you again! :) thanks for the detail explanation~ yea i saw those struggling half-dead ones... gross x 10 :bleah:

hmmm actually what is gulley trap? i never flood the floor with water when i clean the kitchen. not a common practice to do this in HK... maybe kitchens too small that's why :P

i had a lot of "experience" with roaches since young... SG got a lot of ants while HK got a lot of roaches~! :wacko: i used take a "hands-off" approach - they dun disturb me, i dun disturb them :P my mom used to use those sticky roaches traps, which we affectionately called the "cockroaches hotel" in HK :lol:

but now come to think that the roaches came from dunno where - rubbish chute? drainage pipes? then better make sure they dun come in cos super unhygienic la!

i witnessed a lot of ants committing suicides in the various places i have stayed. i dunno why they like to do that :jawdrop: have seen them matching into hot kettle and die! :jawdrop:

another thing is lizard.... dunno why the "residence" lizard at my home always poo at the same spot every morning.... maybe it's toilet-trained? :lol:

Yup, that's my concern too. That's why I still have glass door and bought a dehumidifier as well. Really absorb lots of water within hours!excl.gif

You better think of ways to prevent moisture.

yes mam! prolly no sexy doorless bathroom then? unsure.gif

wow no walls and door! sis you're GOOD~ :bow:

moisture can be a real concern like what May mentioned. guess i'd share what i saw in fellow forumer Yumiko's place~ :)

you can see her floor plan here. she has a L-shape wardrobe covering the length of the MBR bathroom. the wardrobe is very close to the bathroom so moisture is surely an issue.

what she did was - she installed a ventilation fan in the bathroom. the result was surprising pleasant and the bathroom can be dried very fast. she doesn't have a dehumidifier at the wardrobe. so far the wardrobe has been good (but it's other parts of her house that had mold problem~ :bangwall:)

the downside is - the bathroom only has one window, so with the ventilation fan, she can't open the window. but if sleek's bathroom is like mine, there should be 2 window panes, so 1 can be closed for installation of ventilation fan and the other can be kept opened~ ;)

so sis you may wanna consider this idea~ :) dehumidifier can be bought anytime, but it's better to install ventilation fan during reno if one wants to~ :)

Oh yeah...the ventilation fan really helps. I like to take hot shower, even when the weather is HOT. When I switch on the fan, the vanity mirror doesnt turn foggy. No issue for the next person to go in straight after hot shower too.

marsh, is ur moldy cabinet resolved with borax?

Thanks for your advices!

i was planning on installing a wall fan for the WC area actually, so that we wont be so hot when doing our big biz... hahaha i always blow my standing floor fan towards bathroom in my current home. Wonder if that will be good enough to dry the bathroom then? Is that even allowed in HDB bathrooms?

Thanks for your advices!

i was planning on installing a wall fan for the WC area actually, so that we wont be so hot when doing our big biz... hahaha i always blow my standing floor fan towards bathroom in my current home. Wonder if that will be good enough to dry the bathroom then? Is that even allowed in HDB bathrooms?

I don't see any reason why not. Installing wall fan is just like buying a standing fan. Won't make much different to electrical loading.

But for extractor fans in toilets, for it to work, it must be in enclosed area. But if open to WIW, it's not enclosed area. Not sure it's powerful enough to extract for toilet cum WIW that are so big.

Maybe those that use this fan can tell u more. My friend told me hers doesn't work unless she close the door to toilet. My bro also told me the same thing.....

I don't see any reason why not. Installing wall fan is just like buying a standing fan. Won't make much different to electrical loading.

But for extractor fans in toilets, for it to work, it must be in enclosed area. But if open to WIW, it's not enclosed area. Not sure it's powerful enough to extract for toilet cum WIW that are so big.

Maybe those that use this fan can tell u more. My friend told me hers doesn't work unless she close the door to toilet. My bro also told me the same thing.....

I also think it's okie to install wall fan... just like a normal standing fan at a fixed position, rite? :P but for ventilation fan, it can only be installed at the window, and the window contractor has to submit the application to HDB for approval.

not sure leh~ according to Yumiko, the fan works. probably also depends on the power of the ventilation fan... both Yumiko's and sleek's bathrooms seem pretty "enclosed" becos of the WIW. but of course, sleek's one will be a large "enclosure" thanks to the record-breaking WIW~ :lol:

Toilet trained lizard? Hahaha.... Can you teach it to jump and dance as well? Then can go on tv to earn some money. :)

that's a good idea. i need to recupulate some funds after reno :lol:

but the thing is, till now i still haven't met the lizard yet. i'm just greeted by its poo daily but never see it......... :bangwall:

I also think it's okie to install wall fan... just like a normal standing fan at a fixed position, rite? :P but for ventilation fan, it can only be installed at the window, and the window contractor has to submit the application to HDB for approval.

not sure leh~ according to Yumiko, the fan works. probably also depends on the power of the ventilation fan... both Yumiko's and sleek's bathrooms seem pretty "enclosed" becos of the WIW. but of course, sleek's one will be a large "enclosure" thanks to the record-breaking WIW~ :lol:

Ya, that's what I think. Sleek's might be too big for proper enclosure. So it might be totally useless. But she can install since it's not costing much. Hehe.... If doesn't work then buy dehumidifier.

but the thing is, till now i still haven't met the lizard yet. i'm just greeted by its poo daily but never see it......... :bangwall:

Haha... The lizard really smart. Knows where to hide... Put a trap then you will be able to catch it??

Bro manutd1972, long time didn't see you online. Thanks for visiting my blog.... :)

been very busy with course classes, then exam, then now work.

do so much work, still no income.... :bangwall:....in fact, now still very busy. foresee will be tied up for a long long while so i'll be very irregular here. :(

Edited by manutd1972

another thing is lizard.... dunno why the "residence" lizard at my home always poo at the same spot every morning.... maybe it's toilet-trained? :lol:

yes, apparently, lizards are like dogs. once they find a "good" place to do their business, they will always want to do it there.

at my previous house, also always got lizard poo at the same spot. somemore can form a mini straight line....directly on the floor under my kitchen sink.

but i also realised one thing. after a while, whether i scrape off the stains or not, the poo stopped appearing. i dun rmb killing the lizard or "chasing" it away wif insecticide or what-not. the poo just stopped appearing mysteriously.

Shall I bring Bondi over? :P Maxey recently alerted us to a rat in my parents' house. Was so proud of him, heart was bursting with pride. I'm glad he doesn't attack it either. Just follows the trail and tells us where it is. Jorja (a rescue Schnauzer) catches geckos, my late rescue Shih-Tzu would alert us to termites. Great to have a team of exterminators lol! The feral cats, of course, bring in all the maimed roaches and lizards and tenderly places them on my yoga mat or bed for "Proud Mommy"~

- Ely