I have used the same the Black and white tiles for my common toilet, the effect is not bad and quite nice. Do add some mosaic tile to it. It is worth it with a little extra..... :D

nope i think the mosaic tile will make your toilet look very public toilet feel instead of hotel feel

Edited by rayfox

Significant Day

God is never too early, never too late. From the day that my landlord told me that i have to move out, God has led me to purchase my first home, despite hdb having all kinds of ruling for singles.

The timing was arranged in a way that my completion date also coincided with my church moving date. My leader will go with me to pray over the house when i get the keys and thereafter, we will be going to our new church hall to pray over the church too. All in the same day! :good:

Words cannot describe how i feel as I find that God really works in ways we cannot understand. Just as what the bible says, build MY house and I will build yours. I can't wait to see how my house will turn out to be since God hands is in control of it. It will be more than what i can think or imagine! :sport-smiley-004:

nope i think the mosaic tile will put your toilet look very public toilet feel instead of hotel feel

i guess depends on how you put in the mosiac. But i will not be putting it as i find it too hard to clean....

Significant Day

God is never too early, never too late. From the day that my landlord told me that i have to move out, God has led me to purchase my first home, despite hdb having all kinds of ruling for singles.

The timing was arranged in a way that my completion date also coincided with my church moving date. My leader will go with me to pray over the house when i get the keys and thereafter, we will be going to our new church hall to pray over the church too. All in the same day! :good:

Words cannot describe how i feel as I find that God really works in ways we cannot understand. Just as what the bible says, build MY house and I will build yours. I can't wait to see how my house will turn out to be since God hands is in control of it. It will be more than what i can think or imagine! :sport-smiley-004:

yea~ PTL! :dancingqueen:

nope i think the mosaic tile will put your toilet look very public toilet feel instead of hotel feel

hv u seen the pics of some of the t-bloggers here?

Edited by manutd1972

I am in a dilemma... Not sure to do island or not. Who can give me better idea?

I won't comment on the aethetics of an island as that is purely in the eye of the beholder, I'll instead offer an opinion on the practicalities of this fixture.

The purpose of an island is generally to provide additional work and/or dining surface in a kitchen. Since islands are often centrally located in the kitchen, they reduce the distance in the "work triangle" of hob/fridge/sink making food preparation more efficient.

My view is that these only make sense if you have a large kitchen where the "triangle" is large and thus requiring a lot of movement, you are really short of work surface, have a regular meal preparation lifestyle or if you intend to eat meals in the kitchen (often not a practical proposition in a tropical climate in a generally non-airconditioned room).

A nice compromise is to buy or custom make a moveable island/trolley to provide an extra work surface where/when you need it which can also act as a transport surface for prepared food, storage for things like often used cutlery/crockery etc. or even as a serving surface for drinks etc. when you have guests.

Hope this helps your thinking along. :)

I won't comment on the aethetics of an island as that is purely in the eye of the beholder, I'll instead offer an opinion on the practicalities of this fixture.

The purpose of an island is generally to provide additional work and/or dining surface in a kitchen. Since islands are often centrally located in the kitchen, they reduce the distance in the "work triangle" of hob/fridge/sink making food preparation more efficient.

My view is that these only make sense if you have a large kitchen where the "triangle" is large and thus requiring a lot of movement, you are really short of work surface, have a regular meal preparation lifestyle or if you intend to eat meals in the kitchen (often not a practical proposition in a tropical climate in a generally non-airconditioned room).

A nice compromise is to buy or custom make a moveable island/trolley to provide an extra work surface where/when you need it which can also act as a transport surface for prepared food, storage for things like often used cutlery/crockery etc. or even as a serving surface for drinks etc. when you have guests.

Hope this helps your thinking along. :)

Thanks, rmgthatsme. my kitchen is not that big, don't think any hdb flats are. that is why for the island, its more for the illusion of space. which i am not sure it can be achieved. will let the id draw the 3D for me to have a feel.

haha idea of big is quite subjective... i found HDB kitchen super huge... maybe becos i came from a place where kitchens are typically the size of a normal HDB toilet~ :P

okie back to the topic :) your kitchen is quite squarish so i think it's still okie to fit an island, but probably a longish and not very big one... then the next question will be if the island is small, is it still functional enough to have one?

do you have any proposed layout plan? sorry if you have already posted and i missed it... :P

haha idea of big is quite subjective... i found HDB kitchen super huge... maybe becos i came from a place where kitchens are typically the size of a normal HDB toilet~ :P

okie back to the topic :) your kitchen is quite squarish so i think it's still okie to fit an island, but probably a longish and not very big one... then the next question will be if the island is small, is it still functional enough to have one?

do you have any proposed layout plan? sorry if you have already posted and i missed it... :P

This is my first try on the floorplanner so not sure whether i did it correctly or not. but that is about what i want to do for my flat.

1stplan.jpg

This is my first try on the floorplanner so not sure whether i did it correctly or not. but that is about what i want to do for my flat.

1stplan.jpg

Just a quick note:

1. Is your floorplan calibrated to scale with floorplan and are your items to scale?

2. You might want to check the minimal walking clearance for your toilets (referring to the narrow space between the washbasin and the shower screen?) - might be a little tight

3. as mentioned by many forummers, all the ugly waste pipes, beams, etc are not reflected in the floorplan; so it might look ok on paper, but not feasible on actual ground.

I believe you've brought some ID/contractor down to look-see liao... and maybe you have also taken some pics, so you should know better ah. :P

Just a quick note:

1. Is your floorplan calibrated to scale with floorplan and are your items to scale?

2. You might want to check the minimal walking clearance for your toilets (referring to the narrow space between the washbasin and the shower screen?) - might be a little tight

3. as mentioned by many forummers, all the ugly waste pipes, beams, etc are not reflected in the floorplan; so it might look ok on paper, but not feasible on actual ground.

I believe you've brought some ID/contractor down to look-see liao... and maybe you have also taken some pics, so you should know better ah. :P

1) yes the floorplan is to scale and the items are more or less. Will relook again.

2) the clearance can be adjusted but what I am worried abt is the island for the kitchen.

3) the best thing abt this flat, no pipes in master toilet. Only the one for toilet bowl which not affecting anything. As for the beams, already flushed in with the rest of items.

1stplan.jpg

oh like that... then i actually quite like your idea leh, seems like the island will be dining + entertaining area for your guests.... maybe can have a mini bar counter there too... nice le~ :wub:

what's your reservation on the island, then?

but one thing about hacking kitchen wall like this is, i was told, that the permit may take longer for approval because this will need to go to the Fire Safety Department for assessment before granting approval... :unsure:

if csingeu didn't point out, i won't notice.... seems like the scale looks a bit weird hor? or the proportion in the drawing is correct so we should just ignore the numbers?

oh like that... then i actually quite like your idea leh, seems like the island will be dining + entertaining area for your guests.... maybe can have a mini bar counter there too... nice le~ :wub:

but one thing about hacking kitchen wall like this is, i was told, that the permit may take longer for approval because this will need to go to the Fire Safety Department for assessment before granting approval... :unsure:

if csingeu didn't point out, i won't notice.... seems like the scale looks a bit weird hor? or the proportion in the drawing is correct so we should just ignore the numbers?

Pls ignore the numbers cos I don't know how to remove them. And when I was drawing, it was showing the right meters but after that, it's all over the place. The numbers doesn't correspond to the right items.

My reservation? Come in main door see kitchen. A bit not nice...

i also like that idea. dual/triple use of the island - food preparation, dining, entertaining area...

i actually wanted to hack my utility room, and extend my kitchen so that the dining area is seamlessly connected with the kitchen. And I don't need a very big dining area also.

Then my existing dining area can be converted to a study area, with glass partition...

BUT... BUT... BUT... all these very $$$, so scraped the idea. :P

Maybe the floor plan and the items are to scale, BUT one might not be able to visualize and appreciate the scale of things on paper... (may look ok to pass thru, but actually very very tight...)

typical walking width: 60cm (min), 80-90 (recommended) - my agar-ation...