I just met my ID and we talked till now. So tired....

Decided on tiles to save money. :(

i intro u to sth even cheaper than tiles. aluminium composite panel. super cheap. 1 panel of 8ft by 4ft costs between $46 - about $100+, depending on which version u select. They hv normal (3mm thick), intermediate (4mm), and fire-rated (5mm).

for kitchen backsplash usage, even though there is cooking flame and heat involved, the normal (3mm thick) panel is good enough.

pros:

1) super cheap when compared to tiles, glass backsplash or stainless steel backsplash.

2) depending on the colour u choose, can look exactly like stainless steel backsplash, or normal acrylic panel.

3) easy to replace in future when u hv more budget to get glass or real stainless steel backsplash.

cons:

1) easily scratched when struck wif a hard object.

2) solid colours (making it look like acrylic panel) may look cheap upon closer inspection.

bt looking at the price...about $46 for 8ft by 4ft, it can really be a stop-gap measure for the time being. u can cut holes in it for ur sockets (per cut cost $1) and you can also combine multiple panels together if u nd a bigger piece. though when u combine, there will be a joint line between the separate panels.

PM me if u wanna knw whr to get it.

its homogeneous tiles, won't spoilt the flooring lah. i am not having laminate.

laminate can help save costs also. instead of hacking existing floor tile and re-laying new tiles, laminate flooring simply overlays the existing floor tiles. i used laminates for my MBR and just for 1 bedroom alone, it helped me saved close to $300.

i don't want my whole room having "wood" feel.... that is why i am using tiles.

will think abt the kitchen..... like what you said.

hahahah.. his hubby worse than me liao like that... at least i 1ft. kkakaka..

see lah.. nowadays women so dominating in the house. so scary... tt's why i put efforts in renovating the study room as well. becuase it may be my frequent sleeping room when my wife chases me out of the master room if she angry with me... hahaha.. contigency plan!

hahaaah... thats why i have the whole 15ft for myself.

what happened? but 15ft still super duper big leh... my wife and i squeezing everything into our 7th wardrobe nia. she told me that she will take 6 ft, and i take 1 ft. :unsure:

hahaha that sounds like me and hubby:

Wardrobe = 5.3 ft

Me = 2.6 ft + 1.3 ft (half height)

Hubby = 1.3 ft + 1.3 ft (half height)

he effectively has ~0.5 ft more than you :lol:

i intro u to sth even cheaper than tiles. aluminium composite panel. super cheap. 1 panel of 8ft by 4ft costs between $46 - about $100+, depending on which version u select. They hv normal (3mm thick), intermediate (4mm), and fire-rated (5mm).

for kitchen backsplash usage, even though there is cooking flame and heat involved, the normal (3mm thick) panel is good enough.

pros:

1) super cheap when compared to tiles, glass backsplash or stainless steel backsplash.

2) depending on the colour u choose, can look exactly like stainless steel backsplash, or normal acrylic panel.

3) easy to replace in future when u hv more budget to get glass or real stainless steel backsplash.

cons:

1) easily scratched when struck wif a hard object.

2) solid colours (making it look like acrylic panel) may look cheap upon closer inspection.

bt looking at the price...about $46 for 8ft by 4ft, it can really be a stop-gap measure for the time being. u can cut holes in it for ur sockets (per cut cost $1) and you can also combine multiple panels together if u nd a bigger piece. though when u combine, there will be a joint line between the separate panels.

PM me if u wanna knw whr to get it.

i can't remember exactly but i think Ikea has something like this too.... aluminum composite panel...

i was thinking: maybe I can buy one piece from Ikea and cover the wall tiles should the tiles became dirty some years down the road....

hahaha that sounds like me and hubby:

Wardrobe = 5.3 ft

Me = 2.6 ft + 1.3 ft (half height)

Hubby = 1.3 ft + 1.3 ft (half height)

he effectively has ~0.5 ft more than you :lol:

no need to fight lah... just share share loh.

Now is share share... but must have one dedicated compartment for him cos he is very messy~ better to contain the messiness in his area than to let it spread to my side of the wardrobe... 8|

that is one of the reason men get married... to have a wife to help to clean up after them. :P

LOL...

you are making the generalization that the wife is tidier than the husband...

BUT that can be exceptions... :P

LOL...

like what you said, "exceptions". meaning, 90% of women are tidier than men!!! hahaahha....

LOL...

yeaaaa, csingeu. u girls will be surprised how tidy some men can be.. ahheemmpp.. like those who blog here.. ahempppp.. :rolleyes:

especially spending a fortune of our saving on the house, some men can be very paranoid and anal when things r untidy and not used in their intended purposes. haha.. i always give my wife the :jawdrop: look when she drag out the dining chair from the table...

yeaaaa, csingeu. u girls will be surprised how tidy some men can be.. ahheemmpp.. like those who blog here.. ahempppp.. :rolleyes:

especially spending a fortune of our saving on the house, some men can be very paranoid and anal when things r untidy and not used in their intended purposes. haha.. i always give my wife the :jawdrop: look when she drag out the dining chair from the table...

zz yah yah... let's not get into the men vs women debate. hahahahaha..... :notti:

Unexpected purchase

I was never looking to buy sofa or any furniture as i will be using my existing furniture for the moment until i have enough money to buy them. But the other day, went with a friend i know from here to look around. Then my eyes saw this little red chair that i immediately like. So bought this one and only my favourite coloured chair.

redchair.jpg

any comments??