laiwh

Home@coral Spring

Some techie discussions here. I'll try to be as layman as possible..hehe

I'm looking for a media player that's able to connect and play directly from PPS server (and other Video On Demand (VOD) servers if available). Apart from that, it should be able to play all the major movie formats (eg. avi, divX, mov, mpg, mkv, vob) and the mainstream movie audio decoders (DTS, Doby Digital, etc). Display output must be 1080p so that I can utilise the HD function of the TV and AV receiver, and of course availablility of HDMI connection on the media player box.

Did some research on the Net for HD media players that are able to connect to PPS server so that CO can watch her movies and HK dramas without having to connect a lappy to the TV.

I have narrowed my scope to the China brands at Sim Lim Sq because the mainstream brands (eg. AC Ryan, Astone, Western Digital, Seagate etc) mostly act as NAS, which is readily available on my current external hdd. Some do connect to VOD servers but is only very common ones like youtube. If you are an online movie buff, you'll know how limited and outdated these sites are.

Found this China brand (GEIC) at Sim Lim that is able to connect to PPS, KuGou, and some other Chinese servers that has these online movies and TV dramas. This box doesn't have it's own storage device, but has 2 USB connections that you can use to connect external storage or even SD cards for you to play downloaded movies from. I tried Googling for GEIC's website, but I'm surprised there isn't any website available under this name.

Here are some snap shots of the box. If anyone has any better alternatives, please let me know... :sport-smiley-003:

GIEC_GK-HD110_1.jpgGIEC_GK-HD110_3.jpg

GIEC_GK-HD110_2.jpg

Edited by laiwh

Some techie discussions here. I'll try to be as layman as possible..hehe

I'm looking for a media player that's able to connect and play directly from PPS server (and other Video On Demand (VOD) servers if available). Apart from that, it should be able to play all the major movie formats (eg. avi, divX, mov, mpg, mkv, vob) and the mainstream movie audio decoders (DTS, Doby Digital, etc). Display output must be 1080p so that I can utilise the HD function of the TV and AV receiver, and of course availablility of HDMI connection on the media player box.

Did some research on the Net for HD media players that are able to connect to PPS server so that CO can watch her movies and HK dramas without having to connect a lappy to the TV.

I have narrowed my scope to the China brands at Sim Lim Sq because the mainstream brands (eg. AC Ryan, Astone, Western Digital, Seagate etc) mostly act as NAS, which is readily available on my current external hdd. Some do connect to VOD servers but is only very common ones like youtube. If you are an online movie buff, you'll know how limited and outdated these sites are.

Found this China brand (GEIC) at Sim Lim that is able to connect to PPS, KuGou, and some other Chinese servers that has these online movies and TV dramas. This box doesn't have it's own storage device, but has 2 USB connections that you can use to connect external storage or even SD cards for you to play downloaded movies from. I tried Googling for GEIC's website, but I'm surprised there isn't any website available under this name.

Here are some snap shots of the box. If anyone has any better alternatives, please let me know... :sport-smiley-003:

GIEC_GK-HD110_1.jpgGIEC_GK-HD110_3.jpg

GIEC_GK-HD110_2.jpg

How much does it cost?

laiwh: forgot to ask..will the white laminates oxidise n become yerrow as time goes by?

bearlyn: I intend to paint all walls white leh..only maybe 2-3 of it will be wallpaper or colour..coz white makes the house looks bigger n cooler..

Hey Bluerosie, don't think laminates will oxidise. Experts please correct me if I'm wrong. But white colour will tend to become yellow over time. My ID has cautioned me about this, but as long as we clean up the surface when water gets splashed or it gets wet or oily, it will not become yellow so fast. I was thinking, even if it becomes yellowish, it'll become something like biege colour. So still looks alright to us

We have decided to replace our existing living room ceramic tiles with homogeneous ones. Why? Cos homogeneous tiles are much easier to maintain and clean (for lazy people like me lah :P ). So if wan to do, might as well do it once and for all. Cost for the homogeneous tiles is about 3 grands. Oh, by the way, I have updated the quotation on the first page with all the additional item that will be done. The final damage for the reno is almost $19k now, after including all the additional item.

I was quite free this morning and did a compilation of all the exhibition in Expo from Feb to Apr that is related to furniture, reno etc. Bad news is that after the Gain City fair this weekend, there won't be anymore electronics fair or IT fair. Same for Suntec.

expo.jpg

Edited by laiwh

Went to the furniture fair today. We bought the bedframe and mattress. The bedframe is slightly different from the earlier one that we aimed. This one has storage on the side and headrest area -- good for me because I can chuck things in when I'm lazy to get up from the bed...hehe

We bought the mattress seperately because we had already been aiming this particular model all along.

This is the bedframe. Took this off from the website.

bedframe.jpg

This is the 3D pic taken from the company's website

bedframe_3d.jpg

Mattress - Sealy Genevieve

sealy.jpg

Edited by laiwh

Finally, HDB has sent the confirmed date for key collection. Date of collection is on 21 Feb. Appt time is 4pm. We plan to apply half day, collect the keys and proceed to the house to perform open door ritual.

Btw, we booked our sofa this afternoon. It's the same sofa we saw at IMM showroom. We love this sofa because of the high backrest. This time round we went to the factory outlet at Sungei Kadut. Managed to shave off another $300 from what was offered to us previously. Here's the picture of the sofa again. We chose 2 different tones for the fabric design (1 design for backrest, 1 design for the rest of the sofa) so that the sofa will not look so plain.

sofa.jpg

Edited by laiwh

got it at $1980. The one in the pic is 3m in length which is too big for our living room. I had to custom-make it to be 2.5m for my tiny living room.

Nice. so the sofa above u got it from Sungei Kadut, IFC?

2.5m is $1980? i guess 3m will be more ex then?

no leh...3m is also the same price. Apparently, they claim that there will be extra charges for customization, be it lengthen or shorten the length. But it's quite easy to make them waive that extra charges cos I'm quite sure they have already included these extra charges in the initial cost. Anyway those blood suckers are so thirsty for your biz...hehe

laiwh: nice sofa!!! we looking for smilar 1 but hubby wans those that can bend 3 ways up down kind..zzzz...cost abt $1899. ur bed putting it at the corner to make more space for wardrobe?