hermione

My Reno @ Bendemeer

by the way, no more citygas heater for me! the pipes will have to run all across my service area and frankly i just find that unacceptable. will stick to either a tank or instant heater. found this instant heater that is similar to citygas (minus all the pipes!) concept. http://www.bennington.com.sg. anyone tried this? It's able to heat up both toilets too with just one equipment and just requires a power point and it can be installed in the toilet (unlike citygas which must be installed in the yard).

Edited by hermione

by the way, no more citygas heater for me! the pipes will have to run all across my service area and frankly i just find that unacceptable. will stick to either a tank or instant heater. found this instant heater that is similar to citygas (minus all the pipes!) concept. http://www.bennington.com.sg. anyone tried this? It's able to heat up both toilets too with just one equipment and just requires a power point and it can be installed in the toilet (unlike citygas which must be installed in the yard).

This looks like a normal water heater to me leh.. :D

For me, it will be either storage heater (higher water pressure) if you are using rain shower.

As the water pressure from instant heater/citygas heater will be not strong enough to support both toilets.

Or simply install instant water heaters at both toilets.

Just my two cents worth... ;)

seem like a good idea leh... able to heat install 1 for both toilet. then save space but only one can be used at 1 time lah.

Will you be trying, hermione?

not sure if i'll be trying yet, but quite tempted due to its compact size and flexibility... porkypig, no this type of instant heater is multipoint, which means it can heat up both toilets (showers and taps) at the same time :)

i did a bit more research and seems like besides bennington got other popular brands too, rega and primelifestyle. those seem to look even better, hehe...

not sure if i'll be trying yet, but quite tempted due to its compact size and flexibility... porkypig, no this type of instant heater is multipoint, which means it can heat up both toilets (showers and taps) at the same time :)

i did a bit more research and seems like besides bennington got other popular brands too, rega and primelifestyle. those seem to look even better, hehe...

personal experience to share on these "multipoint heater".....had it installed for my in-law's place to supply 2 shower head at 2 bathrooms (not even connecting to taps). After the installation, the initial few times using it was decent with hot water coming to the shower head as expected depending on the distance the hot water need to travel. Then the heater unit started to leak badly to the point we had to switch off the mains to stop the leak....called the installer down to rectify and it was good for a few days before the leaking starts again. :bangwall:

Got the installer to come down again to fix it...this time only my in-law was around....it got fixed alright...but now the flow of the hotwater is pathetic....when i turn my mixer all the way to the hot water side, it only trickles...when i turn the mixer to cold water side, it gush......so essentially I only have 2 choices:

1) warm water but it trickles

2) full shower effect but it is cold

I suspect that it is due to the installer restricting the flow and pressure to the heater to solve the problem of the leakage as I deduce that the heater cannot handle the pressure and flow of the unit's water pressure. It's the inherent design limitation i guess. That's why we are living with this mistake......swearing off this sort of heaters perpetually. :(

Just get a storage heater if u have concealed piping or individual instant heater at each shower head if you have exposed pipings.

So beware!

Yeps I got it at Hafary. Hehe... Went back there a few times until the staff can recognise me.

Here are more images of the tiles in my house!

45.jpg

- guest toilet

48.jpg

- master toilet wall close up

46.jpg

- master bedroom

47.jpg

- kitchen floor tiles in service area done (there was a ramp down, so got to level it up to the kitchen floor's height)

My ID is Kass Design. But actually I'm engaging them for contracting work only. Design and decisions are my own, they did not propose anything and only did drawings of the kitchen for me where there is going to be carpentry. Quite happy that they are very respectful of what I want and yet happy to advise if I ask for opinions. So far so good!

hey! looks great! I'm trying out with grey tiles for my place as well. Just to check with you, you are installing your TV at ur bomb shelter wall. Is there a TV point on that wall? Or else how will the TV go onto that wall?

The TV point will be pulled over from the another TV point, wires in trunking I will try to hide as much as possible... :)

No hacking allowed on bomb shelter wall, so everything is in trunking. I'm also not going to wall mount my tv.

oh btw i love the grey and black tiles in my bedrooms... hope u'll love it too!

Edited by hermione

personal experience to share on these "multipoint heater".....had it installed for my in-law's place to supply 2 shower head at 2 bathrooms (not even connecting to taps). After the installation, the initial few times using it was decent with hot water coming to the shower head as expected depending on the distance the hot water need to travel. Then the heater unit started to leak badly to the point we had to switch off the mains to stop the leak....called the installer down to rectify and it was good for a few days before the leaking starts again. :bangwall:

Got the installer to come down again to fix it...this time only my in-law was around....it got fixed alright...but now the flow of the hotwater is pathetic....when i turn my mixer all the way to the hot water side, it only trickles...when i turn the mixer to cold water side, it gush......so essentially I only have 2 choices:

1) warm water but it trickles

2) full shower effect but it is cold

I suspect that it is due to the installer restricting the flow and pressure to the heater to solve the problem of the leakage as I deduce that the heater cannot handle the pressure and flow of the unit's water pressure. It's the inherent design limitation i guess. That's why we are living with this mistake......swearing off this sort of heaters perpetually. :(

Just get a storage heater if u have concealed piping or individual instant heater at each shower head if you have exposed pipings.

So beware!

wow sounds so scary... maybe the technology still young... ok, maybe i'll just consider a storage tank instead... thanks so much for sharing!

so back to square 1. whether to install instant or storage. hahaahha..... :unsure:

Yeah. more like the question of "Want to have rain shower or not"... LOL...

seems like if want to have rain shower, definitely need to install storage heater (due to the water pressure issue - that's what i've gathered so far).

BUT... mine is old resale unit. No service yard to put the storage tank. put in MBR or common toilet will make the already not so big place, look even more cramped.

one of the IDs suggested installing it underneath the vanity counter and hidden by the cabinet doors.

BUT... that will effectively make that space useless to store bathroom accessories, cleaning stuffs (like spare toilet rolls, etc).

headache... :bangwall:

seems like if want to have rain shower, definitely need to install storage heater (due to the water pressure issue - that's what i've gathered so far).

BUT... mine is old resale unit. No service yard to put the storage tank. put in MBR or common toilet will make the already not so big place, look even more cramped.

one of the IDs suggested installing it underneath the vanity counter and hidden by the cabinet doors.

BUT... that will effectively make that space useless to store bathroom accessories, cleaning stuffs (like spare toilet rolls, etc).

yes, i have the same problem as you. mine also old resale unit that's why i didn't want storage heater in the first place. and worse still, i do not want vanity counter too. so where can i put it? i have no idea.... :bangwall::bangwall:

but imagine, having rain shower when you want too.... hhhmmm...... :bath:

just to clarify, the 2 showerheads are just normal handheld shower heads..... not even rain shower lor... :unsure:

ya... back to square one... too headache... i can research all day and still its the same conclusion, both sides also pros and cons. some people say its ok, some people say nope. i think i'll leave it up to my husband to decide lah. either way i'll try to hide it. should not be too bad. my friend concealed her storage tank in a cabinet in the kitchen, i think its nice... those of you with resale should do that. i think if it's really obviously exposed then will be v ugly... actually funny hor, how come these foreign manufacturers dun design nicer heaters... something that maybe looks like a cabinet or something futuristic and cool... maybe those europeans dun mind... after all their houses can be 100-200 years old... ours is only max 40 yrs old...

i'm not having rainshower... dunno how to appreciate rain shower... hahaha... but i know everyone loves it. i like my shower at an angle tho :)

just to clarify, the 2 showerheads are just normal handheld shower heads..... not even rain shower lor... :unsure:

i think one reason why storage tanks are always installed high has to do with water pressure? from low area pump to shower head might not be realistic? why not design a full height vanity that can allow u to store a compact tank above? might look sleeker... :)

i stay in blk 38A. Jia Lat my renov not start yet and it has been dili dali for 2 months doing nothing. Now waiting for ID for quotation and worse due to CNY, most likely can only start work later.

One question do you overlay all wall and floor tiles for your master and common bathroom. I don't like oroginal master bathroom green colour. It looks ugly. If i'm not wrong, we can't hack the wall and floor tile in master and common bathroom?