donal5

Our First Home At Yishun (5i)

Ah? Can buy downlight (plc) w/o balast one meh? Thought normally ppl sell n buy whole package one (Philip light bulb, balast & the lighting cover /glass).

I went down to both lighting.com and a-lighting. I looked for 2 x 18w (cool white) philip bulb, balast and clear glass cover. Lighting.com quoted me $27 each. A-lighting gave me $22. The decision was an easy one. =)

Yea... I went to lightnings.com.sg and see the philips down light socket, there is no ballast one, directly screw the light bulb. No need ballast. This is more exp, about $38 for 6" 2 bulb one.

Dunno reliable or not...

Yea... I went to lightnings.com.sg and see the philips down light socket, there is no ballast one, directly screw the light bulb. No need ballast. This is more exp, about $38 for 6" 2 bulb one.

Dunno reliable or not...

Any update in your Reno? Thanks

Hi All, just collected my keys yesterday.

Here are the photos before reno.

Floorplan:

my_fp.gif

Balcony:

CIMG3746.jpg

Living Room:

CIMG3747.jpg

CIMG3749.jpg

Living room, from dining area:

CIMG3764.jpg

Bedroom 3:

CIMG3759.jpg

I found out a lot of thing I never thought off. Good thing is more lesson learned, bad thing is more money may need to go out... :(

Hopefully solutions come along the way...

hey TS gratz on ur new home!

i lived in yishun btw, 5I oso but oni 122 sqm. do u happen to stay at Ave 6 tat area?

im moving on to closing deal wif my contractor tis coming weekend, either Id Note(Henry) or Room4ideas(willie) for us.

Hihi, yeah mine is near chong fu.

wah c u guys forking out big amounts to do reno kinda envy.

Our hse is move-in condition so im oni spending abt $7k(hopefully) on touching ups, change of toilet accessories, painting and a custom mini WIW which my wife insisted haha.

We are quite young so cant afford to do everything tat we had wanted..guess nx time bah :)

Anyway hope everyting goes smoothly for ur reno! Enjoy!

hahaha... ur house is sooooooo identical to my house in the layout!!! if only reno can be copied and pasted like in the computer ah... anyway, i am still in office now... will talk to u tonight.. or u can share your questions here so that other bros and siss can share their views too!

i also saw a few of this kind of layout at hougang. must be all abt the same time built? 1986-88?

@kotaaro, nice that you dont need to do too much. My house is last done 20 years back, so no choice, have to do all. It's ok, take it at your own pace. No need to force yourself. Best wishes to you and your wife. Feel free to ask any questions, RT forumers are quite friendly and helpful. :)

@steelze, nice seeing you put your baby's photo. Hope to have a kid soon, i bet it is one of the most wonderful journey. Indeed our houses are 98% same layout. Will bug you a bit tonite :)

I found out a lot of thing I never thought off. Good thing is more lesson learned, bad thing is more money may need to go out... :(

Hopefully solutions come along the way...

Hi Donal,

Am just wondering, what were the things you mentioned learning? It might be helpful for me to check those things with the place I am getting too. :)

P.S. The place I am getting is also of the same layout as yours.

P.P.S. Your house as it is before reno, looks to be in a far better state than the place I am getting. I really am fearing the bomb that my BASIC reno itself might amount to.

Hi Errandz, welcome to RT and congratulations on getting a house.

There are a few things I learned, some cost money some dont :)

I will try to list all the things I can remember so far, but since my reno has not started, I am sure there will be more.

- using rain shower, need to use tank heater instead of instant heater, as the pressure coming out of tank heater will be more powerful.

cost: need to install hot pipes

- I initially thought of reusing the aircons as they are only 1 year old, but need to redo aircon piping. Guess what, redo piping only cost 1k plus for system 3, where the system 3 aircon cost only 3k for inverter and 2k plus for non inverter. So decided to change aircon.

- If you look at my floorplan, I intend to have an aircon in the study room as I am combining master bedroom and bedroom3. But the water piping for aircon in the study room needs to go to the balcony drainage (closest one). Initially thinking of after the pipe coming into the balcony, can bury the pipe, but contractor dont want to do for me. Still thinking of solution...

- Initially thinking of having kitchen door (frosted glass panel), but drop it cause to save up as we dont cook that often. Can save $700!!!

- Initially never think of changing bathroom window, but during the handover, the tenants told me the glass can fall down as the holder is made of plastic and after years in the sun, crocked alrdy... extra money spent...

- there are lines in my house, if you look at my earlier post. My contractor will help me cover up, but since I am not going to plaster the wall, over the years there will be crack lines along the line. Plastering cost a lot of money... and building feature wall to cover it up also cost money...

I will post some more as I think of... Only for me, I try to avoid built-ins if possible, as hacking is painful and costly.

Hello all RT Forumers, just want to wish you and your family a healthy, wealthy and happy new year. Best wishes for all of you in this Rabbit Year.

My reno will start after CNY, will update when time comes.

Huat Ah... :D