kalimantan 6 Report post Posted November 26, 2010 (edited) "PLACE" is refering to those locations residing in Lim chu Kang or Kong Meng Sua or Mandai. Can someone provide an actual name ? I think u guys understand what i mean. Ok met an old friend in seminar (non fs), his parents passed on long ago. Then he told me some of the experiences of buying a "place". 1. Buying a place needs "fa shi" advice. One of the reocmmendation is the "place" should not be "eye-level". But slightly ABOVE the eldest son head for ease/ 2. It is good to buy a "place" for parents to improve parents life or descendants life. AFter the "place" is coverd with red packet, the fa shi will say "i WON'T see you soon" - meaning long life lah. Should i buy ? definitly can TOP it after another 40-50 years by paying todays's price . BTW they calculate by per square inch not per square feet hor. Please share what u have learnt. Edited November 26, 2010 by kalimantan Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
edenstrauss 3 Report post Posted November 26, 2010 (edited) I think u r referring to the columbarium. The "place" where the urn had been placed in is known as a niche. When my paternal grandfather passed away in the mid of year, his niche (Madai) was below eye level because those at the eye level are taken up, except for those eye-leveled ones which were available but sitting below the beams. My maternal granny booked hers along side with my maternal grandfather & his 1st wife many decades ago. It is coincidental that during the last qing ming festival that she had seen (last year), her children were shocked to see the "seal" for her niche had peeled off! Nobody breathe a word about it to her but it was odd that she knew her time was near during December last year. Normally after a hairdo & buying new clothes for CNY this year, she will look herself in the mirror & smile. However, she looked very sad for the first time, and kept telling my mother no need to waste $$ buying new clothes becox she knew that her time was near. And she said that the hairdo she did at the orchard salon was her last & also a preparation for her new journey to the next world - my mother & her sisters were very very sad after hearing her say this And true enough, my maternal granny collapsed on the eve of CNY just before reunion dinner this year and passed away on the 2nd day of the CNY in the wee hours of the morning. Upon cremation, there were many beautiful "she li zi" 舍利 among the ashes. It was comforting for us to know that she has probabbly joined the world of buddhas. Edited November 26, 2010 by edenstrauss Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
kalimantan 6 Report post Posted November 27, 2010 The "red" seal - can just dropped off easily ? Or some people sabo it ? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Ivy1981 11 Report post Posted November 27, 2010 The "red" seal - can just dropped off easily ? Or some people sabo it ? If its for a 'place'.....better book cos limited .....if its for feng shui.....those place on top......descendents also suffering. Actual use for feng shui must use land.....good land Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
edenstrauss 3 Report post Posted November 27, 2010 (edited) Hi kalimantan, my maternal granny's niche was booked along with my maternal grandfather's was booked along with his first wife when she died in 1942. I don't think they use a piece of red paper to cover the niche but there is a type of material or was it a gadget to seal the opening, hence, an indication that the niche had already been booked. Nobody sabo-ed in peeling off that seal for her niche becox their niches are at the highest level. Have to get stairs to climb up leh... And those r resting places for deceased so cannot imagine who will be crazy enough to sabo - can get "punished" or provoke spirits to sabo them back. If u could afford buying a "place" on land, designated for ground burial, the minimum starts from $40,000 and should be somewhere at the back of media corp's office, at farrer park where u see all tombstones. Those are good plot of lands for fengshui burial purposes by the rich. Some are as costly as $150,000. I didn't really think that this is necessary for ordinary folks. Even one of the ex-president wee kim wee chose to have his ashes placed at mandai columbarium among his citizens, bringing himself down to the level of where people's hearts was. What a humble & kindly man he was during his surviving years! But if u feel more at ease to have booked a good fengshui spot, the just go ahead. Edited November 27, 2010 by edenstrauss Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
kalimantan 6 Report post Posted November 28, 2010 i don't think govt allows land to be used for burial anymore. ? To confirm : for "niche", no need to see fengshui right ? Of course for land, must see fengshui. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
edenstrauss 3 Report post Posted November 28, 2010 (edited) Hi kalimantan, I'm not sure abt whether fengshui expertise is required for booking of niches. U've got to ask for the advice of the dajie "big sister" of the geomency section for master Chang's threads on RT forum. Edited November 28, 2010 by edenstrauss Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
kalimantan 6 Report post Posted November 29, 2010 who is the "big sister" in the forum ? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
edenstrauss 3 Report post Posted November 30, 2010 Ivy lor... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites