edenstrauss 3 Report post Posted November 19, 2010 Hi folks, my MBR (master bedrm) & my common bedroom is amalgamated when we first bought it from the owners 10 yrs ago. However, we would like to reinstate both rooms. Would anybody be able to recommend a reliable & experienced contractor who could put the wall back for us (and recreate the door location for the common room)? Many thanks in advance! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
neubie 2 Report post Posted November 19, 2010 Hi folks, my MBR (master bedrm) & my common bedroom is amalgamated when we first bought it from the owners 10 yrs ago. However, we would like to reinstate both rooms. Would anybody be able to recommend a reliable & experienced contractor who could put the wall back for us (and recreate the door location for the common room)? Many thanks in advance! is it really a must to reinstate back the separating wall? why not be a little more creative and create glass door with curtains and still does the job? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
edenstrauss 3 Report post Posted November 19, 2010 Hi neubie, if I'm intending to rent out rooms or the entire HDB flat, your suggestion wouldn't work at all. Thanks for your creative input anyway is it really a must to reinstate back the separating wall? why not be a little more creative and create glass door with curtains and still does the job? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
neubie 2 Report post Posted November 20, 2010 Hi neubie, if I'm intending to rent out rooms or the entire HDB flat, your suggestion wouldn't work at all. Thanks for your creative input anyway Oic, had u mention earlier, I wouldn't have suggested. So I guess u will have to hire someone to lay hollow wall blocks to reinstate the partition wall liao… Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
edenstrauss 3 Report post Posted November 20, 2010 Do u know of any reno contractors who had good workmanship? A couple of contractors that we spoke to told me that the floor tiles would be damaged when they reinstate door. And some even said that there will be cracks on those walls that r put up. My sister inlaw saw 2 flats who had their walls reinstated. The workmanship was quite bad according to her. Any lobang? Oic, had u mention earlier, I wouldn't have suggested. So I guess u will have to hire someone to lay hollow wall blocks to reinstate the partition wall liao… Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
neubie 2 Report post Posted November 20, 2010 Do u know of any reno contractors who had good workmanship? A couple of contractors that we spoke to told me that the floor tiles would be damaged when they reinstate door. And some even said that there will be cracks on those walls that r put up. My sister inlaw saw 2 flats who had their walls reinstated. The workmanship was quite bad according to her. Any lobang? you can try my contractor as per signature below. no harm asking him for a quote. generally, new walls built using hollow block may exhibit hairline cracks along the edges, what the contractor can minimize this is using low-shrinkage cement so that hairline cracks are reduced. tiles wise, if the contractor is careful to cut the tiles using rotary cutter, should be able to reinstate w/o problem. of cos standby a few spare tiles just in case. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites