mae29

Extreme Makeover @ Pandan Gardens

....and our unique 2-pin friendly socket...

grq4_d4c_uc4it.jpg

The electrician is coming this morning to dismantle all the 2-pin multi-facet wall sockets as they are not approved for PE inspection. I understand that none of these multi-facet sockets are approved for domestic use in Singapore. The PE inspector told us that he could keep 'one-eye' close if there is one or 2 pieces of these sockets installed, but not for the whole unit like ours. So, we postponed the PE Inspection till after CNY.

We will re-install few of them back only after PE approval for the whole house electrical installation.

The electrician is coming this morning to dismantle all the 2-pin multi-facet wall sockets as they are not approved for PE inspection. I understand that none of these multi-facet sockets are approved for domestic use in Singapore. The PE inspector told us that he could keep 'one-eye' close if there is one or 2 pieces of these sockets installed, but not for the whole unit like ours. So, we postponed the PE Inspection till after CNY.

We will re-install few of them back only after PE approval for the whole house electrical installation.

Thank you very much for posting this information! You have saved us making a very time consuming mistake as we had intended also using this approach.

We supposed to get PE endorsement on 29-Jan-2011, but the LEW came to inspect prior to PE inspection and stop the inspection process after finding out these non-approved sockets used throughout our house. Another issue is the gas meter which is now relocated inside our service balcony which needs to be covered up. I went back home earlier but forget to check what the electrician did.

Here are the photos taken on 29-Jan-2011:

The PE Inspector from Singapore Power:

grq4_9e9_uc4it.jpg

Our electrician and his partner LEW:

grq4_dd7_uc4it.jpg

The gas meter was originally installed just outside the back entrance, now relocated inside the house since our renovation.

grq4_ce4_uc4it.jpg

According to the electrician, he will re-apply for PE to come for inspection on next Tuesday afternoon. Thereafter, the electrician will re-install few of the multi-facet sockets as we find them useful for some of our children equipment. Then, he will also install the remote control switch for the downlights in MBR for me.

The Extreme Makeover Series - Before & After photographs:

The Kitchen:

Before:

h9iv_569_uc4it.jpg

jx3q_84a_uc4it.jpg

....the 3D drawings..

oyud_0d0_uc4it.jpg

oyud_8c7_uc4it.jpg

Edited by mae29

The Extreme Makeover Series - Before & After photographs:

The Kitchen - continued

oajs_1e8_uc4it.jpg

r93c_8c3_uc4it.jpg

grq4_980_uc4it.jpg

The arrangement of utensils based on Fire Produce Earth and Earth produces Metal, per Growth cycle of 5 elements.

grq4_992_uc4it.jpg

The Red colour plate on top of the fridge was bought from Master Chang last year.

Edited by mae29

Valentine's Day is not just for Lovers. It is also for Friends who love each other and care better than Lovers.

Wishing all my friends here "Happy Valentine's Day". :)

thanks... i am celebrating valentine's day in office. :(

Sadly, ME too! I am making up for the time-off I took this morning to go home, open door for the electrician to change the non-approved electric sockets, and thereafter went to attend my son's Company grand opening ceremony. A few hours of absence from office and it creates a huge piles of paper works!

By the way, read from your t-blog that, like me, you are also alone handling your renovation. I believe with all the supporters in thsi forum, we can make it! I have made it to achieve this beautiful home today and my children are happy with our Home Extreme Makeover!

Of course, I have my ID who is backing me up during the whole renovation process.

I am sure you can achieve the same too! Jia You!

....and our unique 2-pin friendly socket...

grq4_d4c_uc4it.jpg

the reason why it's not approved for local use is the absence of safety shutters covering the Live/Neutral/Earth contacts. PSB is very strict on these receptacles... even those seemingly legit clipsal switches without the PSB/Spring stickers will be classified as non-approved for local use. also, if u inspect the internal mechanics of the multi-way plug, the brass/copper contacts are too soft and flexible; repeated insertion/removal of different plugs loosens them and will cause arcing which is dangerous.

Edited by neubie

Sadly, ME too! I am making up for the time-off I took this morning to go home, open door for the electrician to change the non-approved electric sockets, and thereafter went to attend my son's Company grand opening ceremony. A few hours of absence from office and it creates a huge piles of paper works!

By the way, read from your t-blog that, like me, you are also alone handling your renovation. I believe with all the supporters in thsi forum, we can make it! I have made it to achieve this beautiful home today and my children are happy with our Home Extreme Makeover!

Of course, I have my ID who is backing me up during the whole renovation process.

I am sure you can achieve the same too! Jia You!

thanks thanks.... a lot to think abt but i am enjoying myself. :) At least you have sons to help you.... i am alone so have to depend on everything on renotalk as well as my ID.

Huh? My sons? My eldest son was busy preparing for his rally in Bangkok where he was there for one whole week of management meetings (financial marketing industries), second son was busy preparing for his exams (naval architecture) and youngest son was busy with his new found love - music & guitars. None of them helped me at all...except to unpack their own barang barang after we moved in.

The only person whom I relied upon is my hardworking ID....and renotalk friends here.

the reason why it's not approved for local use is the absence of safety shutters covering the Live/Neutral/Earth contacts. PSB is very strict on these receptacles... even those seemingly legit clipsal switches without the PSB/Spring stickers will be classified as non-approved for local use. also, if u inspect the internal mechanics of the multi-way plug, the brass/copper contacts are too soft and flexible; repeated insertion/removal of different plugs loosens them and will cause arcing which is dangerous.

Hi, neubie

You have good technical knowledge on these receptacles. I asked the electrician to source these 2-pins friendly sockets but he ended up buying this kind of multi-facet sockets from 'Choo Jiang' where he frequents, and he did not know that these are not approved for local usage.

I understand from my friend that there is one brand called "NCE" with 2-pins socket tested by PSB, although not approved for local distribution.

Hi, neubie

You have good technical knowledge on these receptacles. I asked the electrician to source these 2-pins friendly sockets but he ended up buying this kind of multi-facet sockets from 'Choo Jiang' where he frequents, and he did not know that these are not approved for local usage.

I understand from my friend that there is one brand called "NCE" with 2-pins socket tested by PSB, although not approved for local distribution.

just sharing my thoughts.....but u shd be able to get your electrician make good the proper receptacles & inconveniences caused... electrical things better dun play play.... tink CJ oso does exports of such items, and they shd advise consumers if the items are type-approved for local use....

Huh? My sons? My eldest son was busy preparing for his rally in Bangkok where he was there for one whole week of management meetings (financial marketing industries), second son was busy preparing for his exams (naval architecture) and youngest son was busy with his new found love - music & guitars. None of them helped me at all...except to unpack their own barang barang after we moved in.

The only person whom I relied upon is my hardworking ID....and renotalk friends here.

Then I can be your daughter to help u lah. Haha....

How I wish I have a daughter like you!~ May be I am not qualified yet if you look at my photo (PM you later). Going out with my sons makes me feel so awkard because people thought I am dating young man!