mae29

Extreme Makeover @ Pandan Gardens

Still few Ks away from my budget... :(

Drexter, wld u be able to cut a few items so as the amt can be customised to your budget? Although I have not engaged or met Mae Jie's ID before, I just feel that it's kind of waste if you are able to connect with him but to give it up due to budget. And the bonus is...the ID has so much initiatives and good points! Just sharing my views... Sorry for being kaypoh...

I had already cut and left with the basic items... even forgo my HTS cum Study room (Leave it till future) :( What initiatives did he made, please share with us

Hi, Bro Drexter

Talking about budget, I myself thought my reno will be around $40k, when I saw my Neighbour spent about $36k for their basic reno. Results quite nice.

Months later, their laminate flooring started to give way, bubbling.

At the same period, I decided to renovate our 30 year old flat. Look around reno talk for ideas & reading blogs. Decided to call few recommended ones, and some unknowns including IDs and contractors. In total, I called 9 firms, 6 of them in the beginning, and 3 of them a month later when all quotations exceeded my budget.

I made a spreadsheet & do comparison of all quotations line by line items, just like how we evaluate tender summary. Then, discover the cheapest 2 quotations came from one ID & another Contractor. Decided to talk to these 2 lowest offer & negotiate for revision. The contractor even asked me to write down my offer & he will accept it!! As for that lowest ID, he does not show keen interest & never follow up. In the end, I dropped both of them like hot potatoes when I found that the prices of dome items by contractor is higher than IDs! Worst still, I just discovered the tiles quoted to me is upto $2.20. Can you imagine how much I need to top up for my current homo tiles @$3:60 per sf.

Then, at that moment, Donny still called me & want to discuss my quotation, even though he knew that I was 99.9% going to award to lowest offerer.

My son also told me to look for ID since our reno exceeds $50k, so we can get coordinated design & colours. For me, I know it will also save me the trouble & headaches as my reno is extreme.

True enough, there were problems along the way & contractors will call ID to solve, not me. Take the leakage on my downstairs Neighbour for example, I don't even knew about the problem & ID also never disclose to me. I only found out when I bumped into my ID during my daily site inspection when he arranged to meet the HDB officer & Neighbour.

When each activities is completed, he will take the initiatives to inspect personally. Even a simple piece of small tile to cover the floor trap, he also lifted it up to inspect & he detected the missing collar which HDB forgotten to install 30 years ago!!

When his 3D drawings are ready, he took the initiatives to check with my sons, especially the youngest son when he knows of his stubborness.

Then, when all contractors 'siu kang' days before CNY, he had to call his Neighbour to come to repaint my rooms when all of them decline to help.

All I could say is my ID always takes the first step to face problem & solved them without bothering me.

Most people will face headache when selecting tiles & laminates. For me, all these is like a breeze to me, as I was sitting aside while ID squads up & down shortlisting the tiles for my approval. The same goes for laminates & I had so many revisions made to my MBR.

Just last nite, he texted me near mid night to ask if the Project Manager followed up the plaster wall, even though it was my project which gave him problems & leading to his resignation.

The most valuable lessons I gained is his loyalty & he takes responsibilty as though he is renovating his home, giving me good quality material. Those friends who visited my house can vouch - especially the quality of material for our pole system wardrobes!!

When reno is near completion, I still haven't buy broom, mops, pails, brush, etc. All these were bought by him & he even lend his hands to help clean the place, knowing I am fussy, but just too busy! Even the trap for cockroaches the subject topic discussed these days, were bought by him.

I had already cut and left with the basic items... even forgo my HTS cum Study room (Leave it till future) :( What initiatives did he made, please share with us

Wah.. err so everytime u have to check FS and change things?

Yes, I cure the negative stars yearly! Ofcourse, I will activate the good ones. :)

Hello, Sister BunBun

Yup, my friends here also commented cannot catch up the thread already as it is moving very fast. :lol:

Like I mentioned in several post, there is some form of 'energy' which will somehow influence you to move house at certain time of the luck cycle. If you are entering into your good luck cycle (Heaven Luck), but the house does not support you (Earth Luck), you will move house (Man luck). ;)

ya moving so fast...but interesting though...wow does that mean it will also lead you to the right house???

Hi Mae ,

just finished viewing your posting :rolleyes: . Can I have the ID(Donny)'s contact too? how much u pay for FSM? can Pm me the FsM contact no or location?

Will be getting my new house's key in a few months time. Hoping my reno will be as nice as yours.

can send me to my email meilinch@live.com.sg

thanks million :bow:

here

Hi, Sis Ely

This is unique. Where did you buy it? Online ?

Heya Mae,

Yep, got it from eBay - shipping was quick and reliable. The full range of shower drain designs are here.

- Ely

Think Mae jie covered most of the points why she is so pleased with her ID... The incident that touched me most was the leftover wallpaper.. He actually noticed some leftover wallpaper stuck in the cupboard during hse warming and offered to get his guys to paste it up! Actually, it may sound trival to most lah.. but I think to engage someone with the personal touch really make a lot of difference.. For me, I'm into interpersonal thingy; Chemistry and relationship... But these are my views only hor.. U best know what you want. Keep searching... Maybe u can buy another one who is good and can do all the stuff within your budget... Have a smooth reno journey... :yamseng:

Hi Mae Jiejie

Next time move house (if intending to do so), I will ask you for your FS view. keke

Hello, Sister BunBun

Yup, my friends here also commented cannot catch up the thread already as it is moving very fast. :lol:

Like I mentioned in several post, there is some form of 'energy' which will somehow influence you to move house at certain time of the luck cycle. If you are entering into your good luck cycle (Heaven Luck), but the house does not support you (Earth Luck), you will move house (Man luck). ;)

Drexter

I think that you need to go through the itemized list and you can discuss with the ID on what is the best alternative that can be done as a solution before you can agree on the works to be done.

Compromise is the word here. Donny compromised with Mae over things knowing that he will be losing out in alot of things. But at the end of the day, it works out for both parties. So if you have a budget to stick to, I think you do what is the most important things you need to get done as you will be using them MOST often for the next 5 years or so, the rest you can build up slowly.

Hello sis & bro

The article featuring Me & my kitchen is published in Sunday Times today, page 40, Invest, My Space titled "Double access to home like no other".

The reporter had chosen the caption because of the unique 2 doors to our house.

Met my Neighbour and they curiously asked if I'm a Hainanese as my surname is rare.

Then, there is another Neighbour "wow" at my work designation. Most of the time when we met, we didn't talk about our occupation, just that they know I work nearby and I walk to work.

I have been busy & unwell...will reply to my post here later.

Wooooo, Sis Mae, saw your post and quickly flip to the Sunday Times page.

Hmmm...was a little disappointed tho that it was such a short write-up and pic of only kitchen area.

Muz be the weather and not enuff rest, that's why unwell, Sis Mae, do take care and rest more k.

Edited by jupiter

Hello sis & bro

The article featuring Me & my kitchen is published in Sunday Times today, page 40, Invest, My Space titled "Double access to home like no other".

The reporter had chosen the caption because of the unique 2 doors to our house.

Met my Neighbour and they curiously asked if I'm a Hainanese as my surname is rare.

Then, there is another Neighbour "wow" at my work designation. Most of the time when we met, we didn't talk about our occupation, just that they know I work nearby and I walk to work.

I have been busy & unwell...will reply to my post here later.

Wish you speedy recovery....