mae29

Extreme Makeover @ Pandan Gardens

An evening filled up with frustration! :angry:

All thanks to that gf of my eldest son!

She came over to cook soup for my son. Well, of so many ex-gf, this lady is nice & kind of like the Jane next door who can cook! I know it is inevitable the soup will overflow if you left the soup to boil unattended.

She had cleaned up the mess but she is not aware that the soup has already seeped through the hob & dripped underneath the drawer.

I have spotted this issue earlier - that is the hob is sitting on the cut-out solid surface top and the edges are not sealed. ID explained to me that without the silicon seal, it looks nicer & most people left it unsealed. But if I want it sealed up, he will arrange it, so any liquid overflow will not seep through the edge of hob.

So, when the carpenter came weeks ago, I forgot to ask him to seal the hob.

For today's mess, it took me 30 mins to clean up the pots & pans underneath, lift up the hob to clean & dry it.

I'm a clean freak & can't help but scolded my son & his gf for making the kitchen in a mess! I asked her NOT to cook anymore!!!

she just trying to be nice lah.... don't scold her lah. later she will think you are a very difficult mother in law. hehehehe.... she still young, don't really know how to make sure the soup won't overflow. ask her to be careful in the future loh...hehehe....

Hi, Ely1

You can plot your chart, with DOB & time here:

http://www.masteryacademy.com/bio2/profile/registerBPS.asp

You can also PM me & I can send you a brief analysis.

With an "Analyser" profile, there are pros & cons ...because at it's extreme, it is Procastinating!

Take the Philips soundbar & an iPad which I'm supposed to get in late January. Then, I thought of waiting for IT show & buy at the show where there are promotions. What happened now? I'm still contemplating if I should buy a soundbar for TV console, or to get an entertainment system & place it in my room. I am also contemplating if I should get an iPad, or a notebook (after I get rid of the old notebook & desktop while moving out last Nov), comparing my preference against usage.

Now, I have moved in for 2 months & Im still thinking of what to buy!! Of course I do have weakness for new clothes and they are impulse buys & are still with tags intact, sitting in my wardrobe!!

I really admire those forumers like yourself who made it an effort to buy all stuffs while renovation is still in progress.

You have really bought a lot of things ready, right?

Hi Mae,

Lol, all this talk about "diplomat" and "analyzer", I wonder what I am!! What do you need to get a profile, this is very interesting indeed (only if you're free of course).

We didn't have time either - engaged an ID a few days before the handover and work commmenced before any design started - simply stated what we needed to hack, then we were sent on the gruelling task of selecting tiles without a design in mind - We simply picked what we liked, and hope that they all go together.

I like that the ID manages the project on schedule - that really is a huge load off us, so I'm definitely no super lady! I have no idea how this home is going to turn out, but hopefully, it will be a place my husband and I love, and can grow in. As long as we surround ourselves with the things, and people (and pets) we love, I feel we should do okay :)

I actually compiled a 37-page Inspiration Board, and let me tell you - NOTHING is like it at all! So much for research! Humph.

I'm sure your thorough thinking will pay off. Beats my impulsive buys :P

-Ely

Ya lor....nasty MIL... :o She didn't know that the soup will overflow & seep through the unsealed hob into the bottom drawer.

A flaw in the characteristic of a Ting Fire person, quick tempered!

Oh...I will text you the info you asked me....and congrats on getting the approval from ah gong to hack the 2 walls.

she just trying to be nice lah.... don't scold her lah. later she will think you are a very difficult mother in law. hehehehe.... she still young, don't really know how to make sure the soup won't overflow. ask her to be careful in the future loh...hehehe....

Ya lor....nasty MIL... :o She didn't know that the soup will overflow & seep through the unsealed hob into the bottom drawer.

A flaw in the characteristic of a Ting Fire person, quick tempered!

Oh...I will text you the info you asked me....and congrats on getting the approval from ah gong to hack the 2 walls.

hahaha.... thanks.. i am happy. finally can feel excited about my reno cos my bedroom is the most important part in my house.

will be waiting for your sms....

Er, ya, dun be angry with the gf.

She is really nice to make soup for your son wor.

though can understand at that instance, sure pissed, esp so many things to clean up.

Rem to ask your ID to silicon the hob ba.

then she can cook more nice food for you and your family to eat. :P

An evening filled up with frustration! :angry:

All thanks to that gf of my eldest son!

She came over to cook soup for my son. Well, of so many ex-gf, this lady is nice & kind of like the Jane next door who can cook! I know it is inevitable the soup will overflow if you left the soup to boil unattended.

She had cleaned up the mess but she is not aware that the soup has already seeped through the hob & dripped underneath the drawer.

I have spotted this issue earlier - that is the hob is sitting on the cut-out solid surface top and the edges are not sealed. ID explained to me that without the silicon seal, it looks nicer & most people left it unsealed. But if I want it sealed up, he will arrange it, so any liquid overflow will not seep through the edge of hob.

So, when the carpenter came weeks ago, I forgot to ask him to seal the hob.

For today's mess, it took me 30 mins to clean up the pots & pans underneath, lift up the hob to clean & dry it.

I'm a clean freak & can't help but scolded my son & his gf for making the kitchen in a mess! I asked her NOT to cook anymore!!!

hahahaha dun be angry la~ maybe you should ask her to clean every single pots and cabinets together with you, then she will make sure the soup won't over-boil next time :lol:

With an "Analyser" profile, there are pros & cons ...because at it's extreme, it is Procastinating!

Take the Philips soundbar & an iPad which I'm supposed to get in late January. Then, I thought of waiting for IT show & buy at the show where there are promotions. What happened now? I'm still contemplating if I should buy a soundbar for TV console, or to get an entertainment system & place it in my room. I am also contemplating if I should get an iPad, or a notebook (after I get rid of the old notebook & desktop while moving out last Nov), comparing my preference against usage.

Now, I have moved in for 2 months & Im still thinking of what to buy!! Of course I do have weakness for new clothes and they are impulse buys & are still with tags intact, sitting in my wardrobe!!

That sounds like me hahaha... and that's how i managed to use my old PC for 8 years until it really died (and so finally got the Macbook i was thinking about for the past 5 yrs :P)

and remember my wedding portrait that is still sitting in the study room? hahahahaha :lol:

Ur son's gf not bad liao lar, still bother to cook for your son. At least next time if really become wife, ur son will have home cooked meals at home :P

Think after ur scolding, she will be more careful in future liao :P

To add the support for the son's gf .. she's not bad already, want to go kitchen n try to cook.

Imagine so many Singaporean girls nowadays are allergic to kitchen, don't even want to try.

Only when she tries then she can improve mah.

That sounds like me hahaha... and that's how i managed to use my old PC for 8 years until it really died (and so finally got the Macbook i was thinking about for the past 5 yrs :P)

and remember my wedding portrait that is still sitting in the study room? hahahahaha :lol:

LOL...so when are going to hang up your wedding portrait? After I get the soundbar & iPad? :lol:

hahahaha dun be angry la~ maybe you should ask her to clean every single pots and cabinets together with you, then she will make sure the soup won't over-boil next time :lol:

Ur son's gf not bad liao lar, still bother to cook for your son. At least next time if really become wife, ur son will have home cooked meals at home :P

Think after ur scolding, she will be more careful in future liao :P

Ya lor, lousy MIL....didn't communicate with her. But I would still prefer that she comes and helps to clean up my place, especially my son's bedroom but don't cook like a storm! ;)

Now come to think of it, I feel bad for scolding her and 'bing bing bang bang' the pots & pans aiming to throw my anger at her last evening. It was her first time using the neat kitchen and this is due to her ignorance, not negligent as she had cleaned up the surface area & washed the pots. My son had sms to inform me that his gf is taking dinner and has cooked the soup for us. So, I packed some cooked veg & meat from foodcourt except for plain rice which I will cook for them. If I didn't take out the rice cooker from the drawer, I would not have spotted the soup stains underneath the hob.

Er, ya, dun be angry with the gf.

She is really nice to make soup for your son wor.

though can understand at that instance, sure pissed, esp so many things to clean up.

Rem to ask your ID to silicon the hob ba.

then she can cook more nice food for you and your family to eat. :P

My ID called me this morning and told me that he will ask the solid surface contractor to come & seal the hob for me. He said the contractor will explain to me the pro & con, as the silicon will heat up & becomes toxic, and there is heat transmission which will cause the glass hob to crack!

That's why they did not encourage to seal up the glass hobs. But if I insisted, then I cannot blame them when the glass hobs cracked while cooking in the future, and I have to sign an indemnity form when the solid surface contractor comes to visit me.

I did check with my friend who knows Darren of PlushLiving during my renovation, and he confirmed the same logic too...nobody ever seal up the glass hobs.

Has anyone came across this problem? Did you seal up the edges of your glass hob?

grq5_305_uc4it.jpg

To add the support for the son's gf .. she's not bad already, want to go kitchen n try to cook.

Imagine so many Singaporean girls nowadays are allergic to kitchen, don't even want to try.

Only when she tries then she can improve mah.

To add on your statement, Singaporean women like me are also allergic to kitchen la!

Looks like I should encourage and guide her instead, so that she can improve and cook for the family. :)

Edited by mae29

My ID called me this morning and told me that he will ask the solid surface contractor to come & seal the hob for me. He said the contractor will explain to me the pro & con, as the silicon will heat up & becomes toxic, and there is heat transmission which will cause the glass hob to crack!

That's why they did not encourage to seal up the glass hobs. But if I insisted, then I cannot blame them when the glass hobs cracked while cooking in the future, and I have to sign an indemnity form when the solid surface contractor comes to visit me.

I did check with my friend who knows Darren of PlushLiving during my renovation, and he confirmed the same logic too...nobody ever seal up the glass hobs.

Has anyone came across this problem? Did you seal up the edges of your glass hob?

grq5_305_uc4it.jpg

hi mae, i came across this situation 2 days after moving in. when i was cleaning the hob after our first cooking, i realised how come my hob can shift one! i realised it was not glued to the solid top. Could it be that the carpenter so blur and forget to silicon it? i called my id and checked.

likewise, he gave me the same rational about silicon melting and stuff. but i told him not practical leh... oil will seep in and damage my stuff underneath... so, he arranged the carpenter down to sealed up with silicon...

till now, i never regret the decision. seal or dun seal doesn't make the whole hob on solid top ugly leh.. it's more of a practical reason. my previous rented place at kovan melody and my mother-in-law kitchen at country grandeur all using silicon to seal the hob to the solid top. it's a norm conventional practise i guess.

LOL...so when are going to hang up your wedding portrait? After I get the soundbar & iPad? :lol:

maybe... very likely... wahahahaha :lol:

i read from somewhere in RT that you can seal, but not fully tight seal so as to give some allowance for thermal expansion of the glass. maybe you can check with the contractor on the details ;)

my previous place was stainless steel gas hob so surely they will seal.