january 0 Report post Posted November 15, 2010 Hello fengshui buffs In my current kitchen, the position of the stove (火, fire element) is directly opposite the sink (水, water element). I was told that this position is not ideal as it causes 水火相冲。 The only way to rectify it is to move the sink away. However, I am also planning to install a dishwasher under the space where the sink originally was. Since the water is not exposed, I wonder if this will also cause 水火相冲? Any advice would be appreciated. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
edenstrauss 3 Report post Posted November 15, 2010 Before you make any rectifications, it's recommended that u consult a professional geomencer. The reason being that different owners react to such layouts differently due to their bazi and/ or combination of bazi. Not every owner will be affected by such so called "non ideal" layouts. I have a friend who bought a resale matrimonial flat with a kitchen of a layout similar to those of yours. She was told the same thing and the Geomencer got her to revamp her kitchen, laying claims that if she doesn't her marriage will be jeopardised. However, her marriage broke up eventually even after the major reno for her kitchen. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
muffin 2 Report post Posted November 15, 2010 but sometimes HDB layout is quite difficult or even cannot alter to suit to FS, so do not worry too much Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
january 0 Report post Posted November 15, 2010 Thanks for sharing the story edenstrauss. I'm sorry about your friend. Whatever that jeopardising force was, I guess it was so strong that even reno works couldn't fully appease it. I'm generally a 福人住福地 type of person, but once in a while my superstitions get the better of me... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
edenstrauss 3 Report post Posted November 16, 2010 wow u're so lucky! But there are some things that we have to be superstitious about. Better to be safe than sorry. Thanks for sharing the story edenstrauss. I'm sorry about your friend. Whatever that jeopardising force was, I guess it was so strong that even reno works couldn't fully appease it. I'm generally a 福人住福地 type of person, but once in a while my superstitions get the better of me... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Ivy1981 11 Report post Posted November 17, 2010 Hello fengshui buffs In my current kitchen, the position of the stove (火, fire element) is directly opposite the sink (水, water element). I was told that this position is not ideal as it causes 水火相冲。 The only way to rectify it is to move the sink away. However, I am also planning to install a dishwasher under the space where the sink originally was. Since the water is not exposed, I wonder if this will also cause 水火相冲? Any advice would be appreciated. Heard from some forummers reno usually fridge also avoid stove. Guess dishwasher also baa! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
january 0 Report post Posted November 17, 2010 So I went to do some measurements... and guess what, I won't be able to fit any appliances under the countertop cuz it's too shallow. I can't build a new worktop because anything deeper it would block the doorway. Plus, few thousand dollars to redo the cabinets to get an extra 5cm? Does not make sense at all. Sigh, I know homes are getting smaller now but *at least* give us standard sized kitchen cabinets so it's easier for us to get appliances... Those people who design flats, they probably don't do any housework yeah. [/grumble] On the bright side, since this "space & time saving" solution doesn't work anymore, we save money by not hacking the kitchen cabinets Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
mae29 2 Report post Posted November 18, 2010 You can email your floor plan & let me see if I can help. For your info, I have learnt Feng Shui, BaZi and ZiWei Dou Shu for couple of years. I just started my T-blog today, as I wanted to show the before & after reno for my Feng Shui house, Altho I have FS knowledge, we sometimes ended up taking another master's advice (FS is like Onions with many layers and depending on which perspective you look at ). My home is a good example. Never thought of renovating my kitchen to give way to SE sector, which is by rule of thumb, considered as a missing sector of my house, and apparently, is the Sheng Qi sector of my home. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
edenstrauss 3 Report post Posted November 18, 2010 Hi january, like what muffin has mentioned in his previous entry, HDBs (and some condos) r too small to do any alterations. I think u better put aside that $$ for better use. I've seen people with so called lousy FS arrangements but it doesn't seem to affect them that much as it would have on me. My fridge is facing my stove - directly opposite. When I cook, it's so convenient & second-nature now (like we have to go toilet after eating...), for me to turn around and walk a few paces to grab things from the kitchen - very convenient. That taiwanese FSM whom we engaged laughed & said that it's no issue. If u want me to spend that sort of big $$ on reno & alterations, I rather camp along the roadside lor So I went to do some measurements... and guess what, I won't be able to fit any appliances under the countertop cuz it's too shallow. I can't build a new worktop because anything deeper it would block the doorway. Plus, few thousand dollars to redo the cabinets to get an extra 5cm? Does not make sense at all. Sigh, I know homes are getting smaller now but *at least* give us standard sized kitchen cabinets so it's easier for us to get appliances... Those people who design flats, they probably don't do any housework yeah. [/grumble] On the bright side, since this "space & time saving" solution doesn't work anymore, we save money by not hacking the kitchen cabinets Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
january 0 Report post Posted November 18, 2010 I heard that fridge facing stove is okay. Glad that it worked out for you! I think u better put aside that $$ for better use. I've seen people with so called lousy FS arrangements but it doesn't seem to affect them that much as it would have on me. Sometimes things like FS, it's like a self-fulfilling prophecy. It's up to you to believe whether something like this will affect your life. However, once you know... it's kinda hard to stop thinking about it. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
mae29 2 Report post Posted November 18, 2010 I heard that fridge facing stove is okay. Glad that it worked out for you! Sometimes things like FS, it's like a self-fulfilling prophecy. It's up to you to believe whether something like this will affect your life. However, once you know... it's kinda hard to stop thinking about it. There is a saying "if it ain't broken, don't fix it". Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
bepgof 20 Report post Posted November 18, 2010 (edited) Pardon me , as my english is not up to par for expressing deeper thoughts, thus using chinese. 善易者不言卜。 - 金、木、水、火、土 是五种“动能”。和卦一样,是种“传统符号”,不要看得太严重。 - 所谓“金”并不是黄金,“水”亦并不是和杯中喝的水一样,千万不要看成了五行就是五种物质。 - 金,凡是坚固、凝固的都是金。 - 木,代表了树木,代表了草,代表了生命中生的功能和根源。 - 水,代表了流动性,周流不息的作用。 - 火,代表了热能。 - 土,代表了地球的本身。 综卦就是告诉我们世界上的事物,都有正反两个力量:有生,有克。 木生火,火生土,土生金,金生水,水生木。 木克土,土克水,水克火,火克金,金克木。 "恩生于害” = 生人者也克人: - 父亲打儿子,儿子挨打很痛,这是“害”,但目的在把孩子教育成人,这就是“恩生于害”。 - 送人一斗米是恩人,送人一担米是仇人。帮朋友的忙,正在他困难中救济一下,他永远感激,但帮助太多了,他永不满足。 - 青年人谈恋爱知道,爱得愈深,恨得也愈深。 Utilise the 5 elements in a "balanced" state: Use fire to cook but don't get "burnt", swim in water but don't get "drown". Irregardless whether they are face-to-face, side-by-side, up-and-down: simply you are in control ! Hello fengshui buffs In my current kitchen, the position of the stove (火, fire element) is directly opposite the sink (水, water element). I was told that this position is not ideal as it causes 水火相冲。 The only way to rectify it is to move the sink away. However, I am also planning to install a dishwasher under the space where the sink originally was. Since the water is not exposed, I wonder if this will also cause 水火相冲? Any advice would be appreciated. Edited November 18, 2010 by bepgof Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
laiwh 0 Report post Posted December 20, 2010 Hi, I have a kitchen that is pathetically small, with the toilet entrance "strategically" placed by HDB to be opposite the stove area. Understand that in FS terms, it is not good to have the stove facing the toilet entrance. But what if we use those induction kind of stove? As it's only using induction theory to heat up the space in the containing vessel, no fire (火) is literally present, unless heat produced is also counted as 火. As I have very limited free-play at the kitchen due to the space constraint, the only alternative I have is to swap the stove with the kitchen sink area. It'll be very messy with the sink in the middle. Water can get splashed to both sides, and the extra work of extending the water pipes, electrical extensions and gas pipes therefore introducing more chances of potential problem in the long run. Need some kind advise with the FS experts here. Thanks Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
bepgof 20 Report post Posted December 20, 2010 (edited) Wu xing stresses result of when 2 or more elements "interacted" together, not side by side, parallel or opposite. To put it plain: When water being splashed onto fire, fire goes off = result. When they are next to each or opposite, nothing wrong. TCM stresses this. In fact, best to have water source near to fire source... firemen know why. Ancient ppl's tiolet usage & today ppls tiolet usage already so different... why bother abt stove, tiolet, sink? Convenience is more important. Edited December 20, 2010 by bepgof Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
kalimantan 6 Report post Posted December 21, 2010 as long as the "setup" is convenient for you, that is the best fs. Let me explain from another perspective. I like to keep my wallets in my study room cupboard because my study room have computers and i surf net, make electronic payments using cards from my wallet. Also each time after work i go home, i put my briefcase in the study room. My wife kept her wallet in master room cupboard , because that is her frequent place of keeping her private jewelleries. Now we have a maid and my wife told me to always put my wallet at the master room cupboard to prevent un-necessary inducments for maid to steal. At first i try to "move" wallet from study room to master room, but it really inconvenice me. And worst, during sleeping time, my wife would ask me "did u move wallet froms study room to master room". Wah lah a, i very piss off liao. I shouted at her and told her that "don't implement your method" onto me. I like to leave my wallet at the place the convenience me ! If she isn't happy, she get off from bed and move my stuffs. The story is make things convenience for you and it will work. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites