samantha.lkh

Little Snail Shell @ Bedok

this is how the hall & kitchen look like after tiling & plastering....

viewafterplastertile.jpg

very nice and clean look. i also like lots of white in the house! makes it look spacious :)

no tempered glass to divide the living area and the kitchen? Not afraid that cooking might make your living area oily?

Hi, great change for your house!

Care to share how much is your plastering? Is it done by your contractor?

Does it include touch up by the plasterer after rewiring done?

because at that point of time still not decide to put on curtain or roller blind. it is only recently decide to put up curtain for better sound barrier effecrt. minor reno for toilet. only re-locate heater and shift basin from kitchen to e toilet. forget abt the mirror thingy. lessons learn - put up everything need to be drilled before contractor pull out their man power. :bangwall: really big headache now, normal drill kit from DIY shop can not drill RC beam & tile wall.

Hi Sam,

It seems like your renovation is about to be completed.

Is your contractor able to help you with your mirror>

Else are you able to change your drill to those hammer-drills? Those are capable of mansory walls.

All the best

because at that point of time still not decide to put on curtain or roller blind. it is only recently decide to put up curtain for better sound barrier effecrt. minor reno for toilet. only re-locate heater and shift basin from kitchen to e toilet. forget abt the mirror thingy. lessons learn - put up everything need to be drilled before contractor pull out their man power. :bangwall: really big headache now, normal drill kit from DIY shop can not drill RC beam & tile wall.

nice & simple layout :D your aircon is in living area to cool both the kitchen and living room at the same time?

take note of drilling on RC beam. if can avoid best avoided. if cannot make sure u drill not more than 1" deep.... you'll need an impact drill to do this, if u need it, can t-loan u :rolleyes: on return, buy me kopi.... haaaa

no tempered glass to divide the living area and the kitchen? Not afraid that cooking might make your living area oily?

Light cooking, so far so good. if u notice, no hood installed as well. may be in the future will put up full ht glass if ve e budget.

Hi, great change for your house!

Care to share how much is your plastering? Is it done by your contractor?

Does it include touch up by the plasterer after rewiring done?

yeap by my contractor. cant remember exact but is around $1,400.

no lah, touch up, filling the gap not included.

Hi Sam,

It seems like your renovation is about to be completed.

Is your contractor able to help you with your mirror>

Else are you able to change your drill to those hammer-drills? Those are capable of mansory walls.

All the best

err.. full paymemt made already. dun think can get e contractor back just to drill hoels for me.

i manage to get my door installer to drill the curtain rack but happily forget about the mirror! :bangwall:

nice & simple layout :D your aircon is in living area to cool both the kitchen and living room at the same time?

take note of drilling on RC beam. if can avoid best avoided. if cannot make sure u drill not more than 1" deep.... you'll need an impact drill to do this, if u need it, can t-loan u :rolleyes: on return, buy me kopi.... haaaa

thanks! yes, e air-con is to chill both living & e kitchen. Mit 24,000 BTU chill pretty fast with help of fan for 1st few minutes. can not avoid beam le, all windows r directly below beam. yesterday get e door installer help me drill e curtain rak but totally forgot abt the mirror. headache, even i ve the proper drill, i dun dare to drill on tile wall, sure cause a lot of chip. :(

acherly no harm trying to get ur contractor/ID to help u, for all u know, he'll get someone pop over and help u as part of his value-added services....

There is also no divider in my kitchen :) guess nowadays people seldom cook

And ohh.. my plastering costs over $2k (plus sealer). Electrician will definitely help to do some touch up after rewiring, but the effect will not as good as the plastering contractor since they are not specialised in doing plastering in the first place.

As my contractor refuses to get his plasterer to do any touch up (just in case there is defects after rewiring is done), this reflects very badly on his service.

Hi Samantha, how much did you spend on the reno, whos the contractor u engaged with? thanks

slightly less than $21K include hacking, tiling, plaster, window, kitchen cabinet, tv console, re-wiring & 3 system Mits air-con but exclude painting, doors, all sanitary wares and furniture purchase. toilets r up-graded, so didnt do much reno except re-route the pipe for heater & wash basin re-location. wiring & cabinet contractor r engaged separately.

1.5cm big gap between wiring casing & the ceiling ... that i have to insert cupboard in between the gap before putty otherwise 1 whole pack of putty also not enough to fill the gap.

URL=http://img707.imageshack.us/i/casingrepairbefore.jpg/]casingrepairbefore.jpg

dada.. after painting, it is hardly noticeable from ground..

casingrepairafter.th.jpg

Edited by samantha.lkh