kalimantan 6 Report post Posted November 7, 2010 I raised this topic because every year, there are animal horoscope that says "this animal fan tai sui", etc. Let's assume animal x fan tai sui. Questions 1. does this mean the person goes to temple and pray and, fan tai sui issue is eradicate ? You know those 2nd floor makeshift store opposite bugis kwan yin temple, there are so many processes, is it a true or myth thing ? 2. If not eradicate, is there a way to COMPLETELY eradicate ? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
edenstrauss 3 Report post Posted November 7, 2010 There are people who pray to Tai Sui every year whether they "fan" or not. My parents had been praying to Tai Sui every single year for safety & good health. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
muffin 2 Report post Posted November 7, 2010 hi, fan tai sui is just a matter whether you believe or not, just like those ang mo, if you tell them they fan tai sui, they also don't care and life still goes on for them. For chinese, we practice it as we have a saying, "To be safe then to be sorry" Since we knew about it, we should practice. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
kalimantan 6 Report post Posted November 8, 2010 so i guess it is a matter "move on, don't let these myths bother u" ? then in future, i will tell that in the temple, and ask 'tai sui, stop bothering me in future' ? hahahaha Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
edenstrauss 3 Report post Posted November 8, 2010 hello there, cannot anyhow say... the deity might get angry and don't know how that will impact on you later on... Must treat all the deities & gods from all religions with great respect. so i guess it is a matter "move on, don't let these myths bother u" ? then in future, i will tell that in the temple, and ask 'tai sui, stop bothering me in future' ? hahahaha Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
anthonylim27 0 Report post Posted November 8, 2010 so i guess it is a matter "move on, don't let these myths bother u" ? then in future, i will tell that in the temple, and ask 'tai sui, stop bothering me in future' ? hahahaha ya lor . cannot anyhow say. now only can slap yourself then can help already.quick quick Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
edenstrauss 3 Report post Posted November 8, 2010 (edited) Hi kalimantan, I would suggest that the next round when u pray to tai sui, it's highly recommended that u apologise to him & tell him not to get angry & forgive u. Don't play play becox this is for ur own good. Such matters related to Taoist deities are not to be trifled with so it's best to get mistakes rectified as soon as possible. Edited November 8, 2010 by edenstrauss Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
kalimantan 6 Report post Posted November 9, 2010 is there a deity god called the "tai sui yeh" ? I visit temple twice a month, and always pray to the "tai sui yeh" ..even though i don't offend in the animal year. I guess i would continue doing that since it has been my practice .... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Ivy1981 11 Report post Posted November 10, 2010 As I understand, Tai Sui can be offended even if you don't belong to the animal sign Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
edenstrauss 3 Report post Posted November 10, 2010 (edited) Based on my own limited frame work of understanding, Taoist deities are different from Buddhas. In Buddhism, the belief is that if they do anything bad to the buddhas e.g. badmouthing (of buddhas & other orthodox religions) or throwing statues away, the buddhas do not believe in "punishing" the offenders. There is a strong belief that bad karma will catch up on them. In Taoism, if the offender commits the offence out of purpose e.g. talk nonsense about the deities, make fun of the deities, challenge the deities, etc, it might just bring about bad consequences, either after some time or almost immediate. So it's best to treat everything and everybody with great respect. Better to be safe than sorry. Edited November 10, 2010 by edenstrauss Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
bepgof 20 Report post Posted November 10, 2010 (edited) Hand itchy, now in Osaka, manaed to loan a laptop from hotel, kb layout slightly better. I thought we've discussed his topic before? About the TS = jupita and the 60 generals? Many may not know the origin of legend but all fsms should know and those temple keepers may not know too. Mao ZD defeated KMT's founder, accounding to a writeup I read it was because Mao knew FS and knew when to strike out when the Jupita was in opposite site of KMT leader. Jupita takes 12 years to a make one cycle around the sun. This means that at each of the 12 years, when the sun at centre, there are 12 possibilities that the earth is right opposite the jupita. But exactly what/how bring bad luck to the earth (not only particular animal) by Jupita, I've been searching and no logical answer found yet. I would say, at this pt of time, the 'ts diety' is just a legend. Imagine , if thunder lah, rain lah... could be 'god', what else could they not be? Do you believe the San Niang & Yuen Lao? It is always interesting to read the chinese star constellation. Taoism also practises star observation. Must admit, I've try to read and understand for so many year, knew only a bit, found difficult, need a good teacher. I raised this topic because every year, there are animal horoscope that says "this animal fan tai sui", etc. Let's assume animal x fan tai sui. Questions 1. does this mean the person goes to temple and pray and, fan tai sui issue is eradicate ? You know those 2nd floor makeshift store opposite bugis kwan yin temple, there are so many processes, is it a true or myth thing ? 2. If not eradicate, is there a way to COMPLETELY eradicate ? Edited November 10, 2010 by bepgof Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
edenstrauss 3 Report post Posted November 10, 2010 Hi bepgof, If ur command in chinese is already so good & u can't even understand the constellation stuff, then people like me will be seeing stars when I try to read such materials. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Kinryu69 0 Report post Posted November 11, 2010 I raised this topic because every year, there are animal horoscope that says "this animal fan tai sui", etc. Let's assume animal x fan tai sui. Questions 1. does this mean the person goes to temple and pray and, fan tai sui issue is eradicate ? You know those 2nd floor makeshift store opposite bugis kwan yin temple, there are so many processes, is it a true or myth thing ? 2. If not eradicate, is there a way to COMPLETELY eradicate ? "Got pray got blessing, no pray no blessings" Hokkien phrase. but dont go the 2nd floor type near kwan im temple coz they very $ minded and ask u must add this and that coz they hv a whole list of inauspicious stars to scare u with. better go to any good old taoist temple. Regards Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
bepgof 20 Report post Posted December 4, 2010 (edited) Folks, just for info, hereby attached some info (actually it is part of Chinese's calendar system), with regard to names of the 60 generals of Tai Sui. Next cny will be 辛卯年= rabbit, which is also on the 28th of the 60 sexagenary cycle. General 范寧 will be "in charged". When yr fsm says you "fan" ( 沖,值,刑)Tai Sui next cny, ask him "Which" general will be in charged, ok? . http://img585.imageshack.us/img585/6537/192420432.jpg http://img835.imageshack.us/img835/3673/sexagenaryc1.jpg http://img152.imageshack.us/img152/315/sexagenaryc2.jpg http://img843.imageshack.us/img843/6421/taisui.jpg Edited December 4, 2010 by bepgof Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
tangerinez 0 Report post Posted December 5, 2010 there is a temple off paya lebar road that holds annual "pray to tai sui" ceremony. the temple "enshrines the mother of the 60 Taisui (Star Gods) known as “Dou Mu Yuan Jun” and the 60 Tai Sui (Protectors of the Sixty Year Cycle)" (quoted from the temple's website). i'm sure this is not the only temple that has all the taisuis, but this is the only one i know. Lorong Koo Chye Sheng Hong Temple http://www.shtemple.org.sg/cheng%20huang%2...0yang%20eng.htm PS: i'm not advertising for this temple. it's just that i'm recently visiting renotalk again because will be purchasing a home soon and is reading through the threads to collect ideas. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites