Warrior88 0 Report post Posted November 4, 2010 Any Chinese author or series to recommend for my boys to read. I go bookshop, see stars. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
bepgof 20 Report post Posted November 5, 2010 (edited) Any Chinese author or series to recommend for my boys to read. I go bookshop, see stars. 古龙 粱羽生 Ah hia, if read for pleasure, go library and borrow can liao. - Workbook, must buy. - Those "reference books", must buy. I'm not kidding, reading "ancient sword fighting story book" like those by 古龙, 粱羽生.... improve chinese literacy very fast, same time understand some history. I could remember phrases like these: - 高手一出手就知有没有。 - 怪事年年有,今年特别多。 Edited November 5, 2010 by bepgof Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
froggy 0 Report post Posted November 5, 2010 古龙 粱羽生 Ah hia, if read for pleasure, go library and borrow can liao. - Workbook, must buy. - Those "reference books", must buy. I'm not kidding, reading "ancient sword fighting story book" like those by 古龙, 粱羽生.... improve chinese literacy very fast, same time understand some history. I could remember phrases like these: - 高手一出手就知有没有。 - 怪事年年有,今年特别多。 can ask where are these jin yong and gu long books found in the library? i looked round and round, don't seem to be able to find?? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
therat 18 Report post Posted November 5, 2010 Cannot be. Sure can find. Go to Chinese, under 武侠小 (I can't remember the last hanyupinyin) Read jin yong 1st. Reason, alot of cartoon, HK drama, Taiwan drama has it. Can use it to raise the interest of the kids Gu Long .. like Shakespeare. Super detail and long winded. I remember my 1st and last Gu Long story. Story start a male standing at the village entre, waiting for flight. 1 chap finish, wah liao.. still standing at the entre. The whole chap describe that flower la, how the leave fall lah, how the wind blow lah. Next morning, 1st thing. return that story book. 粱羽生 .. alot of characters. And also read until half way then it say .. Refer this book for the history of this and that person relationship. sometime very 'angry' one. Their relationship and family line can go up to 3 generations. I even did a draft of the relationship. Or else. don't know what the hack are they talking. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
froggy 0 Report post Posted November 6, 2010 Cannot be. Sure can find. Go to Chinese, under 武侠小 (I can't remember the last hanyupinyin) Read jin yong 1st. Reason, alot of cartoon, HK drama, Taiwan drama has it. Can use it to raise the interest of the kids Gu Long .. like Shakespeare. Super detail and long winded. I remember my 1st and last Gu Long story. Story start a male standing at the village entre, waiting for flight. 1 chap finish, wah liao.. still standing at the entre. The whole chap describe that flower la, how the leave fall lah, how the wind blow lah. Next morning, 1st thing. return that story book. 粱羽生 .. alot of characters. And also read until half way then it say .. Refer this book for the history of this and that person relationship. sometime very 'angry' one. Their relationship and family line can go up to 3 generations. I even did a draft of the relationship. Or else. don't know what the hack are they talking. these books are wordy wordy novels or comics? yr description of gu long so funny - like those super lo so taiwan series, like the now-showing "ai" - omg Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
therat 18 Report post Posted November 7, 2010 these books are wordy wordy novels or comics? yr description of gu long so funny - like those super lo so taiwan series, like the now-showing "ai" - omg YinYong has alot of versions 1. wordy novels , using traditional Chinese. Read from line up to down, 2. wordy novels, using simply Chinese. Read from line left to right . 3. Got comics type. Library has. 4. HK drama. Alot of version。 5. Taiwan drama 6. China drama Yin Yong is the most story that make into drama series. Singapore version also has.. by Fan Wen fang. But that series is terrible + horrible. Especial the hair style of Fan Wen Fang. Look so familiar. Until my sis point out... street fighter that girl lor. But better than the 粱羽生 story that Singapore TCS make. That 粱羽生 drama is terrible + horrible + incredible. I only watch 5 min. I off the TV and go and play my computer games. Totally cannot watch. Will damage your eye Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
froggy 0 Report post Posted November 7, 2010 YinYong has alot of versions 1. wordy novels , using traditional Chinese. Read from line up to down, 2. wordy novels, using simply Chinese. Read from line left to right . 3. Got comics type. Library has. 4. HK drama. Alot of version。 5. Taiwan drama 6. China drama Yin Yong is the most story that make into drama series. Singapore version also has.. by Fan Wen fang. But that series is terrible + horrible. Especial the hair style of Fan Wen Fang. Look so familiar. Until my sis point out... street fighter that girl lor. But better than the 粱羽生 story that Singapore TCS make. That 粱羽生 drama is terrible + horrible + incredible. I only watch 5 min. I off the TV and go and play my computer games. Totally cannot watch. Will damage your eye wah, I very long never watch series already. But I do remember watching alot of jin yong and gu long hongkong series when I was schooling, sometimes even sneaking out from the room and watching from a corner bc forbidden by parents esp if tests/exam period. ha! now those newer high tech ones I really don't enjoy, somehow ... maybe age already?? anyway will try to find these in the library. thanks! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
bepgof 20 Report post Posted November 16, 2010 (edited) wah, I very long never watch series already. But I do remember watching alot of jin yong and gu long hongkong series when I was schooling, sometimes even sneaking out from the room and watching from a corner bc forbidden by parents esp if tests/exam period. ha! now those newer high tech ones I really don't enjoy, somehow ... maybe age already?? anyway will try to find these in the library. thanks! Watching TV series where got fun. Must read the books, you'll forget the time to go tiolet, meal, bed..... Edited November 16, 2010 by bepgof Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
frostyapple 0 Report post Posted September 10, 2011 (edited) Any Chinese author or series to recommend for my boys to read. I go bookshop, see stars.If your boys are in primary school, check out my blog :http://tamarindvillage.blogspot.com/2011/08/progressing-from-picture-books-to-long.htmlOur local bookshops have a very poor collection of Chinese books. It is best to borrow from the library.I read 金庸 when I was in Secondary school. However, I think that the standard of Chinese is lower now, many secondary school students may not be able to read and understand 金庸 novels. Edited September 10, 2011 by frostyapple Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
dean 5 Report post Posted March 2, 2012 i read korean book. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites