endlssorrow 1 Report post Posted October 31, 2010 Dear All, Can I check is it more or less the payment to the ID firm/contractor is about the same. I am refer to the pattern they using. Like 10% downpayment first. Then 50% for the material first then start work another 30% and then once completed another 10%. It works something similar above? If so, it will be scary to owner right, in case the company closed down and your money is gone. Can those done their renovation share with us how your payment is made? Thanks in advance. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
wudimax 0 Report post Posted October 31, 2010 it varies, normally downpayment(10%), midddle 2 times, and last is around 5% Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Wonderneo2002 0 Report post Posted October 31, 2010 (edited) For wat i know 1 of them is 10% follow by commencement of work 40% than carpentry work 40% than last 10% the company is good and reliable. Send me a msg or email me Wonderneo200@hotmail.com if u are intrested Edited October 31, 2010 by Wonderneo2002 Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
lify 0 Report post Posted November 1, 2010 My terms were: 10% on commencement of works 40% on tiling 40% on start of carpentry 10% on completion and handover But I re-negotiated and I paid 10% on commencement of works, 40% on tiling (they have to buy tiles so cannot nego), then I split the carpentry payments - 20% on start of carpentry and 20% after carpentry and remaining 10% on completion. Dear All, Can I check is it more or less the payment to the ID firm/contractor is about the same. I am refer to the pattern they using. Like 10% downpayment first. Then 50% for the material first then start work another 30% and then once completed another 10%. It works something similar above? If so, it will be scary to owner right, in case the company closed down and your money is gone. Can those done their renovation share with us how your payment is made? Thanks in advance. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
therat 18 Report post Posted November 1, 2010 my husband come out his own payment term every week pay 1k. His reason 1. weekly 1k - not that heart pain 2. the main reason - then can see the contractor every week , so that can "talk" to him. If not.. cannot find ppl. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
neubie 2 Report post Posted November 1, 2010 my husband come out his own payment term every week pay 1k. His reason 1. weekly 1k - not that heart pain 2. the main reason - then can see the contractor every week , so that can "talk" to him. If not.. cannot find ppl. if the ID/con can accept this weekly payment then is ok, but it takes a lot of time/effort tracking how many 1k has been released wor... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
therat 18 Report post Posted November 1, 2010 if the ID/con can accept this weekly payment then is ok, but it takes a lot of time/effort tracking how many 1k has been released wor... Got receipt and XLS file. Tracking is not an issue. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
froggy 0 Report post Posted November 1, 2010 my husband come out his own payment term every week pay 1k. His reason 1. weekly 1k - not that heart pain 2. the main reason - then can see the contractor every week , so that can "talk" to him. If not.. cannot find ppl. good idea, but may not work if taking housing loan bc most banks limit no of cheques right? Unless you don't mind paying extra $10 or so per cheque? Another problem - towards the end of reno, say last week, not holding back much final payment, kinda "dangerous" if cannot find people to rectify? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
therat 18 Report post Posted November 1, 2010 good idea, but may not work if taking housing loan bc most banks limit no of cheques right? Unless you don't mind paying extra $10 or so per cheque? Another problem - towards the end of reno, say last week, not holding back much final payment, kinda "dangerous" if cannot find people to rectify? We're not taking loan. Our reno cost only $12k +/- My husband plan until just nice. Towards to the end of reno, we on hold the extra payment $1k+ (extra from the 1st quotation) and $1k (last installment payment from the 1st quotation) We hand on him once we finishing check and correction done. That are some small things his worker forget to do and we didn't know until we use the item. But that is small things, we can do ourselves. There alot of closing eye from our side. 1. Solid top is not the colour we say but ok la.. the one he install still look nice and matching to the kitchen cabinet. Close eye 2. Wardrobe install in the kids room instead of masterbed room. Wah liao.. In the end, we ask for discount for the 2nd wardrobe for the masterbed room. Close eye 3. Cooker hob install not correct. Hob vendor come and check and adjust for me. But in the whole, he quite ok except his rubber timing. Cannot stand. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
froggy 0 Report post Posted November 1, 2010 We're not taking loan. Our reno cost only $12k +/- My husband plan until just nice. Towards to the end of reno, we on hold the extra payment $1k+ (extra from the 1st quotation) and $1k (last installment payment from the 1st quotation) We hand on him once we finishing check and correction done. That are some small things his worker forget to do and we didn't know until we use the item. But that is small things, we can do ourselves. There alot of closing eye from our side. 1. Solid top is not the colour we say but ok la.. the one he install still look nice and matching to the kitchen cabinet. Close eye 2. Wardrobe install in the kids room instead of masterbed room. Wah liao.. In the end, we ask for discount for the 2nd wardrobe for the masterbed room. Close eye 3. Cooker hob install not correct. Hob vendor come and check and adjust for me. But in the whole, he quite ok except his rubber timing. Cannot stand. wah, that's alot of eyes to close. #1 - still ok, since the colour still looks nice and matches #2 - u are good - this one also can close eye! Before confirm, we negotiate payment scheme so as to hold last 15%, and he is ok to that. As reno progresses, he sort of earn our trust, so in the end, we paid full when he handed over, though there are still works not done (and I am not even talking about rectification). Even then he still did all the outstanding without us pushing him. But now that all the works are considered done, it became so difficult to activate him to send his guys over for little things. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
therat 18 Report post Posted November 1, 2010 wah, that's alot of eyes to close. #1 - still ok, since the colour still looks nice and matches #2 - u are good - this one also can close eye! Before confirm, we negotiate payment scheme so as to hold last 15%, and he is ok to that. As reno progresses, he sort of earn our trust, so in the end, we paid full when he handed over, though there are still works not done (and I am not even talking about rectification). Even then he still did all the outstanding without us pushing him. But now that all the works are considered done, it became so difficult to activate him to send his guys over for little things. My husband say.. install liao.. how? hack it down mah. What's done is done. 1 wardrobe, the uncle charge us $1.2k. He say give us discount on the 2nd one since he give the wrong instruction to his worker to install in the wrong room. At first say $100 off. I say AH! We only plan to buy cheapo wardrobe for my kid. Then increase to $200 off. Then my husband arrive. say .. Uncle arr..... why install the wrong room. Headache lor. Uncle say.. give you discount. Then my husband keep on repeating uncle arr.. uncle arr.. why wrong room.. why arr why arr.. I think uncle cannot stand my husband long-winded. In the end , he increase to $300 off. So.. $900 for a wardrobe.. 25% off. Then my husband start another song.. uncle.. this room hor.. don't install wrongly liao hor.. uncle.. this room hor.. don't install wrongly liao hor.. uncle.. this room hor.. don't install wrongly liao hor.. uncle.. this room hor.. don't install wrongly liao hor.. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
froggy 0 Report post Posted November 1, 2010 My husband say.. install liao.. how? hack it down mah. What's done is done. 1 wardrobe, the uncle charge us $1.2k. He say give us discount on the 2nd one since he give the wrong instruction to his worker to install in the wrong room. At first say $100 off. I say AH! We only plan to buy cheapo wardrobe for my kid. Then increase to $200 off. Then my husband arrive. say .. Uncle arr..... why install the wrong room. Headache lor. Uncle say.. give you discount. Then my husband keep on repeating uncle arr.. uncle arr.. why wrong room.. why arr why arr.. I think uncle cannot stand my husband long-winded. In the end , he increase to $300 off. So.. $900 for a wardrobe.. 25% off. Then my husband start another song.. uncle.. this room hor.. don't install wrongly liao hor.. uncle.. this room hor.. don't install wrongly liao hor.. uncle.. this room hor.. don't install wrongly liao hor.. uncle.. this room hor.. don't install wrongly liao hor.. ha ha .. u should join yr hubby in the singing .. maybe can get 50% off leh! jokes aside, therat, does yr carpenter do small scope of work? I need to do something at the dish rack cabinet, and am looking for someone who d not mind doing mini scale job Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
therat 18 Report post Posted November 1, 2010 ha ha .. u should join yr hubby in the singing .. maybe can get 50% off leh! jokes aside, therat, does yr carpenter do small scope of work? I need to do something at the dish rack cabinet, and am looking for someone who d not mind doing mini scale job I don't know. But I think he don't reject job. I PM you his contact. You check with him. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
froggy 0 Report post Posted November 1, 2010 I don't know. But I think he don't reject job. I PM you his contact. You check with him. ok ok, thanks. his workmanship ok right? so small area cannot be blur and install wrong place lah hor? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
therat 18 Report post Posted November 1, 2010 ok ok, thanks. his workmanship ok right? so small area cannot be blur and install wrong place lah hor? Workmanship.. so so Depend which carpenter master he sending down. So far .. I saw 2.. 1 is china young guy. Another one is uncle btw, This uncle is old school type hor.. so.. tell him what is your design black and white if u had sth in mind. He install wrong place b'coz he got confused. That kid room use to have a wardrobe which we had hack away. He thought this new wardrobe is to replace the old one. He seldom take down note. Use his brain to remember things. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites