kalimantan 6 Report post Posted October 28, 2010 i hope the above phase is not about idiotic people which the heaven protects them indirectly without going them going thru hunger and work. i raised this topic because someone happen to say "i gong gong jia ti kong" - i lucky in someway. so the phrase means fortune or what ? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
edenstrauss 3 Report post Posted October 28, 2010 (edited) errrh... sorry to say this hor, yes that's what this hokkien phrase means. I don't think it is anything bad. My hubby was labelled as the "gong-gong" in this hokkien phrase also - and if you look at it from the positive point of view, it is good. People who has extremely complicated minds tend to see things in a more complicated manner, and created more problems for themselves. So they would normally, not see themselves as being favoured by "Ti-Gong" (Jade Emperor up in Heaven) becox they might end up unlucky or see themselves as such after creating problems (for themselves & maybe, for others too). And from my own personal observation, the "gong-gong" people are generally (& usually) free from worries & depression becox of their simplicity. And becox of this simplicity nature of theirs, they usually have many "Gui-ren" (patrons who will lend them a hand when in need or required to succeed in whatever that they do). The verdict is: Think complicated, complicate things. My lecturer used to tell us that many "clever" people analyse & analyse until they become "paralysed" (up there in their minds). So say a Big Thank You to that person who called u a "gong-gong" Edited October 28, 2010 by edenstrauss Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
muffin 2 Report post Posted October 28, 2010 it just mean - the dumbest also has its day Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
edenstrauss 3 Report post Posted October 28, 2010 It's better to be "gong-gong" than to be called a smart aleck! (aka alec) Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
bk888 2 Report post Posted October 28, 2010 A little girl ran frantically to her mother. She told her mother that Ah Gong [阿公] had injured himself. "How did it happen?" the mother asked. The little girl replied with 11 "gong". "Gong gong gong, gong gong gong gong, gong gong gong gong." Can you make out what she's saying? Clue 1: Grandpa was hit by a flying can. Clue 2: Try reading it in hokkien. BTW, this has nothing to do with the topic of the thread. Try deciphering it for the fun of it. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
CoffeeMan 0 Report post Posted October 29, 2010 (edited) A little girl ran frantically to her mother. She told her mother that Ah Gong [阿公] had injured himself. "How did it happen?" the mother asked. The little girl replied with 11 "gong". "Gong gong gong, gong gong gong gong, gong gong gong gong." Can you make out what she's saying? Clue 1: Grandpa was hit by a flying can. Clue 2: Try reading it in hokkien. BTW, this has nothing to do with the topic of the thread. Try deciphering it for the fun of it. Let me give it a try. 1st version : "Gong gong gong (Blur 阿公), gong gong gong gong (Blur 阿公 hit by the can), gong gong gong gong (Blur 阿公 had a great fall)." 2nd version : "Gong gong gong (阿公 hit by the can), gong gong gong gong (阿公 blur blur), gong gong gong gong (Blur 阿公 had a great fall)." Edited October 29, 2010 by CoffeeMan Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
therat 18 Report post Posted October 29, 2010 It show hockkien also like Hanyupinyin, has 4 different tone.. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
wolflet 1 Report post Posted October 29, 2010 A little girl ran frantically to her mother. She told her mother that Ah Gong [阿公] had injured himself. "How did it happen?" the mother asked. The little girl replied with 11 "gong". "Gong gong gong, gong gong gong gong, gong gong gong gong." Can you make out what she's saying? Clue 1: Grandpa was hit by a flying can. Clue 2: Try reading it in hokkien. BTW, this has nothing to do with the topic of the thread. Try deciphering it for the fun of it. i think it means. grandpa says, can hit grandpa, grandpa giddy Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
bepgof 20 Report post Posted October 29, 2010 (edited) i hope the above phase is not about idiotic people which the heaven protects them indirectly without going them going thru hunger and work. i raised this topic because someone happen to say "i gong gong jia ti kong" - i lucky in someway. so the phrase means fortune or what ? You throw out only the head but no body, nowonder BK888's gong gong gong gong (grandpa hits can) until gong gong gong gong (granpa giddy). Now everybody becomes gong gong: Head: I gong gong jia ti kong, Body: ti kong tei gong lan Ti Kong = Provider of bread Gong gong = idiotic Gong lan = idiotic ppl Provider of bread gives bread to idiotic ppl like me, Provider loves idiotic ppls. Still gong gong? Edited October 29, 2010 by bepgof Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
bk888 2 Report post Posted October 30, 2010 i think it means. grandpa says, can hit grandpa, grandpa giddy Bingo! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
bk888 2 Report post Posted October 30, 2010 You throw out only the head but no body, nowonder BK888's gong gong gong gong (grandpa hits can) until gong gong gong gong (granpa giddy). Now everybody becomes gong gong: Head: I gong gong jia ti kong, Body: ti kong tei gong lan Ti Kong = Provider of bread Gong gong = idiotic Gong lan = idiotic ppl Provider of bread gives bread to idiotic ppl like me, Provider loves idiotic ppls. Still gong gong? gong gong jia ti kong = 笨笨吃天公 is the same as 傻人有傻福 = blur ppl have all the luck. Think Forrest Gump. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
edenstrauss 3 Report post Posted October 30, 2010 correct lor... in fact it's good to be "gong gong" becox they will be happier folks Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
muffin 2 Report post Posted October 30, 2010 It's better to be "gong-gong" than to be called a smart aleck! (aka alec) yes agreed, there is a saying "Smart is enough, don act smart" Translate this in hokkien. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
8huat8 0 Report post Posted November 4, 2010 aiyo....the phrase is TI KONG TIA GONG KIA LA......wat gong gong jia ti kong....so power ar...eat ti kong...thread starter gifs wrong phrase...u all sing 2gether.....;p Share this post Link to post Share on other sites