matrix0405

Front Door Faces Full Length Window

Is it true that if your front door open up to face the full length windows (w/o balcony) across the living room, the qi cannot be trapped within the house and this is not good? If you have your sofa in the path, u will kena cheong by the qi? Other than building structures in between to block and retain the qi, is there some other software (putting mirror, pen, fu, bell etc) method that has similar effect as building a structure?

This is a very common layout for relatively new flats in residential areas such as Sengkang & Punggol.

Of course you shouldn't be putting ur sofa in the middle of that "road" becox it'll not be comfortable for anybody sitting in between these 2 exits. The person sitting there will likely be busy looking at both the main door & the windows, shaking his/her head from right to left/ left to right while seated there. Very tiring to be in a state of confusion: don't know whether want to look left or right??

It's akin to building your house in the middle of a real road - will be very stressful & bad for health; not sure when those people staying the middle of the road is going to be "hit".

Thus far, the only recourse which I know of, as recommended by tan khoon yong (wayonnet) is to build a solid partition without any gaps / holes in between and have it placed in between the 2 exits (i.e. ur main door & the windows directly facing the main door). We've got relatives who had flats with such layouts & they got TKY to audit & that was what he recommended.

In the past, there are shops that sell those wooden partitions with glass panels encased at the top half of the structure. The glass panel will normally have some decoration on it e.g. fishes swimming in lily pond, lotus, etc. U can still get them from some of the rosewood furniture shops.

However, make sure that there is no gap in between the wooden partition & the glass panel. Otherwise, it won't work. The rationale here is to "completely block" the $$ from leaking out.

P/S: I think it's best to get the recommendation installed becox 1 malay friend of ours suffered financial woes & eventually, had no choice but to get a rosewood partition (with glass panel) custom ordered to be placed at that location. According to him, it worked wonders.

Edited by edenstrauss

would like to add this other cheaper alternative, which I'm not sure if it'll work.

It's to get a billy bookcase from IKEA to be placed at that location. It's solid although it comes with shelves, not sure about the impact of shelves facing the main door.

I know for sure that u wouldn't want ur bed to be facing shelves which are exposed without doors hiding them...

now since the threadstarter ask this question, i will give u a good answer.

Let's recap :

" your front door open up to face the full length windows (w/o balcony) across the living room, the qi cannot be trapped within the house and this is not good?"

ok my house is like that. Open door, face full-length windows. And the fsm : Mr Chang told me to partition half-way the living room so that Qi won't escape right through the windows ...

And then i re-consult my good old geomancer and he told me that is HALF-truth. I ask him should i erect a partition.

He ask me "From external, the Qi from outside your main DOOR does not come through this door, so what is there to block ?"It depends on circumstances.

I've not blocked it for years, and i don't have any financial drain.

would like to add this other cheaper alternative, which I'm not sure if it'll work.

It's to get a billy bookcase from IKEA to be placed at that location. It's solid although it comes with shelves, not sure about the impact of shelves facing the main door.

I know for sure that u wouldn't want ur bed to be facing shelves which are exposed without doors hiding them...

Some good stuff you have written. You mentioned the structure must have no gap, does it mean need to cover from floor all the way to the ceiling? If need to reach ceiling w/ no gap, then structure need to be custom made liao.

Hi, I'm sure if Lilian Too opens the door, both her hands will be busy swinging as if "receiving flying knives" from xxxxx? to avoid being injured. :dribble:

Some good stuff you have written. You mentioned the structure must have no gap, does it mean need to cover from floor all the way to the ceiling? If need to reach ceiling w/ no gap, then structure need to be custom made liao.

No need to go up all the way to the ceiling.

What I meant by the gaps is "lobang" within the partition. Some of those wooden partition with the glass panels have a gap b/w the glass & the wooden parts. U have to see those partitions then u will know what I meant. The Qi will escape through those gaps & run out of the windows.

Nowadays, I don't see furniture shops in the heartland areas selling these partitions any more.

Edited by edenstrauss

Is it true that if your front door open up to face the full length windows (w/o balcony) across the living room, the qi cannot be trapped within the house and this is not good? If you have your sofa in the path, u will kena cheong by the qi? Other than building structures in between to block and retain the qi, is there some other software (putting mirror, pen, fu, bell etc) method that has similar effect as building a structure?

格局正,采光佳,通风好 - are 3 cores for good house. For external envirnoment, apply rule of left dragon, right tiger, back tortise, front vermillion bird - sure correct.

Kalimantan is correct. Present's houses already small enought, still want to retain what qi? Go to prison cell where sure can collect & retain qi till par par.

Lilian Too will suggest to close curtain to retain qi, Master Chang likes to put partitions to divert qi, some prefers to put plants to cover "blade" and to "stir" the qi.

There are good qi and bad qi, how to identify? What if kena retain the bad qi and "divert" away the good qi? So, 通风好 still better, let what comes and what goes. Qi is too "玄“ . Don't even know how it comes, who knows how to retain? Can one 捕风(catch the wind) and 追影 (chase shadow)? I saw some in Buangkok's mental health institution did that when I was visiting my late uncle.

Qi retention philosophy is based upon man standing in open ground of mountain top with wind blowing non-stop. How can he prevent from failing ill? - by building enclosure with some openings, letting winds flow through the "whole" enclosure. The key here is "whole" enclosure - kekiang fsms assume that by retaining some qi will, in turn, expand this "some" to whole enclosure ! Wait, what if no wind/qi blowing from external? What to retain? - Stuffy to death! Like the one in prison.

Remember and apply the 3 cores and 4 animals principles (4 animal a bit cheem, has to read up yourself) when comes to residential selection issue.

Ok?

Hi, I'm sure if Lilian Too opens the door, both her hands will be busy swinging as if "receiving flying knives" from xxxxx? to avoid being injured. :dribble:

Yeah, makes sense lor...

According to my dad, he claimed that those shelves which are exposed without any doors covering them, are like blades that will "sha" (kill) people. The way he puts it, makes us all laugh until we were rolling on the floor.

:rofl:

From enginering pt of view, qi is gas, so need to be air-tight (no gap) thus efficient lah, otherwise got "losses" = waste material = waste money. :good:

Hi bepgof,

what is 格局正 ?

the part you've mentioned about staying in a prison to retain Qi really makes me... :rofl:

Hi bepgof,

what is 格局正 ?

the part you've mentioned about staying in a prison to retain Qi really makes me... :rofl:

格局正 = Lilian Too can write one whole bk just on this topic, bepgof tries to summarise

- Sit on right plot of land. Hospital -no no, Cemetary - no no (Flemingo Valley), T-junction -no no (The Serennia), Historical dead ppl bury ground (Bishan)- no no

, dead water road-no no, in front of temple-no no.......So many no no le.

- Right shapes of land/building/unit.

- Right geographical directional opening of door/windows enabling sunlight & qi.

- Right "neighbours".

- Riight 4 animals with taller height of dragon than tiger.

- Right water road.

.......So many Right le

Anyone care to add in some?

Long kang? Drain? :unsure:

In ancient fengshui, rivers = water, carry good qi. If houses built "within" the strench of river is good, if "outside" the stretch is no good.

In moderm fengshui,

Roads lah , expressways lah = water road

Long kangs = for transporting wastes = stagnant water with foul smell, carry bad qi = bad water (worst than tiolet's "sha" in term of magnitude)

In ancient fengshui, rivers = water, carry good qi. If houses built "within" the strench of river is good, if "outside" the stretch is no good.

In moderm fengshui,

Roads lah , expressways lah = water road

Long kangs = for transporting wastes = stagnant water with foul smell, carry bad qi = bad water (worst than tiolet's "sha" in term of magnitude)

Thanks for explaining to me about 格局正; the T-junction makes me feel really uncomfortable. When I was scouting for a matrimonial flat, we came across an older bedok flat, can't recall which avenue. The facing of the flat (living room's windows) is looking down directly on a T junction: when I look out of the windows, I felt like I was being "stabbed" by a loooong arrow or knife coming towards me. And the owners look... eeerh... wierd lor, they got all kinds of stuff on their altar table. The flat also look kind of Yin-dark.

Drains: I heard about it being associated with bad finances so it's supposed to be no good in terms of financial wealth...

Got questions for you :

a) Do u mean to say that expressways, roads are good as in generating good Qi?

But those flats next to express way suffers from noise pollution that my neighbours staying there said even with windows closed also cannot really sleep... Very windy when I went down to view that room but the noise is terrible! The agents complained about having difficulties selling off those flats at a good price.

b) The expressway can be viewed on the left hand side from my dining hall & spare bedroom - does that mean that the Qi will only benefit those staying along expressway?

Here, have 1 cup of champagne :yamseng:

Edited by edenstrauss