steelze

Sims Drive 5i

3 weeks after moving in.. hmmm, still having problems with the same leaking hot water inlet to shower mixer in common bathroom. ID asked me to call his sub-con, Lucky Koon directly to complain.

cracks lines along the joining part between erected walls (hollow blocks) and original hdb walls are getting out of controls. Almost all joining parts have crack lines that run from ceiling top to flooring. quite disgusted. area affected: study room, kitchen wall and storeroom...

called my ID during CNY. he said very normal. even after work patched up with paint /cement, crack lines will still appear. WTH?

anyone have this problems?

3 weeks after moving in.. hmmm, still having problems with the same leaking hot water inlet to shower mixer in common bathroom. ID asked me to call his sub-con, Lucky Koon directly to complain.

cracks lines along the joining part between erected walls (hollow blocks) and original hdb walls are getting out of controls. Almost all joining parts have crack lines that run from ceiling top to flooring. quite disgusted. area affected: study room, kitchen wall and storeroom...

called my ID during CNY. he said very normal. even after work patched up with paint /cement, crack lines will still appear. WTH?

aiyoh... poor thing. Why the leaking problem still haven't resolved? not due to water heater, right? piping issue?

yes this is very common... i was freak out at first, then checked with my other friends and everyone told me is very common... dun worry hahahaha

then called my contractor. he said call him again when the cracks get bigger cos it will get bigger... patch now no use hahahaha :lol:

my contractor actually warned me before hand but i forgot... my fren's ID also told her to be prepared for this.

Edited by marshmallow

aiyoh... poor thing. Why the leaking problem still haven't resolved? not due to water heater, right? piping issue?

dunno leh.. maybe my water pressure from the CHAMPS Storage Heater too powerful... it's the metal piping connecting to the mixer is leaking, so plumber cannot push blame to my mixer or storage heater.. kekeke. heng..

they didn't tighten properly? are you using stainless steel or copper pipes?

yea, i am using stainless steel piping... got difference ah?

joining methods for stainless steel and copper are different if i remember correctly, but that's for joining between 2 pipes, not sure if joining to mixer is same or not.

anyway, for stainless steel piping, 2 pipes are joined by a fitting, and if they didn't join properly, water will leak from joint area. they are supposed to test that there is no leakage in the system before handing over to you.

i heard that's why some contractors charge higher for stainless steel piping becos they have to be more careful and also becos of the testing needed.

joining methods for stainless steel and copper are different if i remember correctly, but that's for joining between 2 pipes, not sure if joining to mixer is same or not.

anyway, for stainless steel piping, 2 pipes are joined by a fitting, and if they didn't join properly, water will leak from joint area. they are supposed to test that there is no leakage in the system before handing over to you.

i heard that's why some contractors charge higher for stainless steel piping becos they have to be more careful and also becos of the testing needed.

every time after the repair, he did show us that is no leaking. problem is that the leaking will only slowly surface after 1 week. arghhh... my reno warranty is 5 years... probably every month call them down to tighten this leaking pipe lor. so, today visit is the 2 out of 60 trips. jia you plumber!

aiyoh... i think your plumber also no time to keep on going loh...so after few trips, he will make sure its ok.:)

[Post-Reno work]

Last sat, painter came to re-painted those cracked lines all over the house. It looks good now. =)

Met up with carpenter to add 2 more items: 3ft wide and full height shoes cabinent @ $540 ($180 /ft), and a head board for my bed ($300)...

after shopping for shoes cabinets for the past few weeks, i realised most half height cabinets are already $350+ to $400. Might as well do full height with my carpenter only $500+. Somemore laminate can blend with my existing living room TV console and Feature Wall.

as for head board, i admitted that i am a lazy fellow to do DIY. easy way out is to pay for one.

whole house still looks plain and boring. decided to put up some decors. bought 3 wall stickers from G-Market online to decorate my walls ($6.5o each). havent seen the quality yet. also hanged up my big big wedding potrait at dining area.. haha.. now eating dinner will see my own face grinning back at me..

:paint: happy lah? everything looks perfect now :)

ya, some of the things, its cheaper to custom made than buy off the shelves... pricing wise, not going to be a lot of different.

show more pic leh.

[Post-Reno work]

Last sat, painter came to re-painted those cracked lines all over the house. It looks good now. =)

Met up with carpenter to add 2 more items: 3ft wide and full height shoes cabinent @ $540 ($180 /ft), and a head board for my bed ($300)...

after shopping for shoes cabinets for the past few weeks, i realised most half height cabinets are already $350+ to $400. Might as well do full height with my carpenter only $500+. Somemore laminate can blend with my existing living room TV console and Feature Wall.

as for head board, i admitted that i am a lazy fellow to do DIY. easy way out is to pay for one.

whole house still looks plain and boring. decided to put up some decors. bought 3 wall stickers from G-Market online to decorate my walls ($6.5o each). havent seen the quality yet. also hanged up my big big wedding potrait at dining area.. haha.. now eating dinner will see my own face grinning back at me..

i have already moved in for 7 months and my wedding portrait is still sitting in its packing box....... :bangwall:

[Post-Reno work]

if i had a cute son, i would also rather play with him than DIY things.. :)

i had fine crack lines, painted over it. But came back soon.

then i put putty and paint. has been like 2 months or so and crack did not appear.. (touch wood)

yes stickers are fun to play with! what kind of wall stickers u got..? g-market good...?

Head board - carpenter said wooden legs can be removed after 3 days once the glue has hardened...

IMG_3163.jpg

IMG_3167.jpg

Without shoes cabinet.. one last look at the beam...

IMG_3161.jpg

carpenter on his finishing touch on the shoes cabinet...

IMG_3171.jpg

complimentary from generous ah hui, the carpenter..

IMG_3181.jpg