spotturi 0 Report post Posted September 28, 2010 (edited) We have a 5I HDB, resale flat. Want to overlay the existing vitrified tiles with parquet flooring. But since our PR will be up for renewal next year, and in case it doesn't get renewed, we might have to sell the flat. So would the investment of around 3- 4K be worth it? Can anybody suggest if parquet flooring improves the chances of a flat being sold faster or does it effect the valuation? Edited September 28, 2010 by spotturi Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
therat 18 Report post Posted September 28, 2010 no different. Unless your floor is marble Not everyone like parquet floor, at least not for me.. I don't like parquet. Very hard to maintain especially if you have young kids Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Christopher 0 Report post Posted September 29, 2010 (edited) parquet looks more cosy.. valuation for marble flooring will be better if big full slab marble type hehehee Edited September 29, 2010 by Christopher Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
gettome 0 Report post Posted September 29, 2010 Parquet is just so passe but my grandpa may go for it though! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
marshmallow 0 Report post Posted September 30, 2010 We have a 5I HDB, resale flat. Want to overlay the existing vitrified tiles with parquet flooring. But since our PR will be up for renewal next year, and in case it doesn't get renewed, we might have to sell the flat. So would the investment of around 3- 4K be worth it? Can anybody suggest if parquet flooring improves the chances of a flat being sold faster or does it effect the valuation? i guess it also depends on the condition of your existing tiles as well? if it's in really bad condition now, then re-doing the floor will at least make the house much nicer, and ultimately helps in the valuation of your place? like what other says, it's a matter of taste... i'd love to have parquet floor but there are also pple dun like parquet if you find doing the whole house with parquet is expensive, maybe you can choose to do on only part of the house? e.g. in MBR only. btw, talking about PR renewal, so long as you are gainfully employed, and able to show that you have been contributing to CPF and paying tax continuously, should be able to extend... all the best~ Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
gimz63251073 0 Report post Posted September 30, 2010 the valuation of your flat would be largely dependent on external factors like economy, amenities, etc. the effect of flooring on the valuation the house is largely insignificant. Renovation is largely a sunk cost, not an investment. The parquet floor or marble floor or whatever floor, all go down in value as time goes by. just do the flooring you like..every kind of flooring also have their pros and cons... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
spotturi 0 Report post Posted September 30, 2010 thnk u all for the valuable advice.. since i have great condition tiles right now.. i think i will skip doing parquet.. and dear marshmallow.. thnk u for the well wishes for our PR renewal.. hope it all works out well.. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
therat 18 Report post Posted September 30, 2010 thnk u for the well wishes for our PR renewal.. hope it all works out well.. U foresee you will have problem of renewing your PR or you had seen/heard cases of not-renewing? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
spotturi 0 Report post Posted September 30, 2010 We bought a flat here and our daughter is also going to the local school. the chances are that they may ask us to take citizenship. which depending on circumstances may not be possible. in that case ppl are saying that they may not grant the PR renewal. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
marshmallow 0 Report post Posted September 30, 2010 We bought a flat here and our daughter is also going to the local school. the chances are that they may ask us to take citizenship. which depending on circumstances may not be possible. in that case ppl are saying that they may not grant the PR renewal. should be okie ba... so long as you are continuously contributing to society (i.e. gainfully employed and paying tax). i know pple who are PR for more than 20 yrs, while there are also PRs that have their citizenship application rejected and remain as PR... the cases i know with PR extension rejected are when they dun stay/work in SG long enough... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
therat 18 Report post Posted September 30, 2010 should be okie ba... so long as you are continuously contributing to society (i.e. gainfully employed and paying tax). i know pple who are PR for more than 20 yrs, while there are also PRs that have their citizenship application rejected and remain as PR... the cases i know with PR extension rejected are when they dun stay/work in SG long enough... that was last time. Now , seem like abit different. The filtering level shift. Don't know it is due to the election coming(temp shifted) or permanent shift I heard had some case PR only renew 1 yr. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
therat 18 Report post Posted September 30, 2010 We bought a flat here and our daughter is also going to the local school. the chances are that they may ask us to take citizenship. which depending on circumstances may not be possible. in that case ppl are saying that they may not grant the PR renewal. ur dau is PR or holding student pass or other pass? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
spotturi 0 Report post Posted October 1, 2010 ya.. now there is this talk about encouraging to take citizenship etc.. so the status of PRs is very unsure.. @therat, my daughter is also PR.. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites