Leey0032 0 Report post Posted September 14, 2010 Hi all, We are supposed to have the first appointment on 21st sept... everything is ready, already recieve the letter from hdb, applied leave and blah blah blah but today, we recieved a call from our agent, the owner requested to change the first appointment date because his wife gave birth today We are unwilling, and i check at the hdb website, it says that first appointment date cannot be changed. so why did my agent still ask me? HDB website mentioned that if the seller / buyer did not turn up for the first appointment, the transaction will be cancelled... den will the owner compensate us? This is so irritating, we are so looking fwd to the house.... what should i do? can the first appointment date be change? should i insist on the original date? (can i?) thanks in advance! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Banned 1 Report post Posted September 14, 2010 Hi all, We are supposed to have the first appointment on 21st sept... everything is ready, already recieve the letter from hdb, applied leave and blah blah blah but today, we recieved a call from our agent, the owner requested to change the first appointment date because his wife gave birth today We are unwilling, and i check at the hdb website, it says that first appointment date cannot be changed. so why did my agent still ask me? HDB website mentioned that if the seller / buyer did not turn up for the first appointment, the transaction will be cancelled... den will the owner compensate us? This is so irritating, we are so looking fwd to the house.... what should i do? can the first appointment date be change? should i insist on the original date? (can i?) thanks in advance! the date can still be change if both party agree.. maybe u can talk with the seller to agree on the 2nd appointment date which i feel is the more important date (fastest is 6 week from 1st appt).. but its still up to u la.. maybe the wife really do have difficulty in attending the 1st appt? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Leey0032 0 Report post Posted September 14, 2010 the date can still be change if both party agree.. maybe u can talk with the seller to agree on the 2nd appointment date which i feel is the more important date (fastest is 6 week from 1st appt).. but its still up to u la.. maybe the wife really do have difficulty in attending the 1st appt? Ya, that was what we are thinking also, maybe the wife really cant make it...den if we fix a confirm date for second appointment, need to draft out something for them to sign and agree? if not later they suddenly have some reason den say cannot move out den how? For example, now the earlier first appointment is on 13 oct (acc to my agent), den by right the second appt date is fixed on the first appointment, what if now they agree to move out on second week of nov, but on the first appt they say they cant move out on the seocnd week of nov. Since the first agreed/promised date is not said in the presence of hdb officer, i will have nothing to back up if they have some reasons again? so do i need to get them to write down and sign? i feel safer with black and white... sigh If delay, then my bf have to continue paying the rent at his current place... so expensive... and the renovation and everything will delay... argh Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
bepgof 20 Report post Posted September 14, 2010 (edited) Hi all, We are supposed to have the first appointment on 21st sept... everything is ready, already recieve the letter from hdb, applied leave and blah blah blah but today, we recieved a call from our agent, the owner requested to change the first appointment date because his wife gave birth today We are unwilling, and i check at the hdb website, it says that first appointment date cannot be changed. so why did my agent still ask me? HDB website mentioned that if the seller / buyer did not turn up for the first appointment, the transaction will be cancelled... den will the owner compensate us? This is so irritating, we are so looking fwd to the house.... what should i do? can the first appointment date be change? should i insist on the original date? (can i?) thanks in advance! Life is like that, close one eye things will turn better, most of the times. Should send yr seller a present for having new born baby le. After move in, look back, you'll understand what I siad/wrote is correct. Edited September 14, 2010 by bepgof Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Banned 1 Report post Posted September 14, 2010 Ya, that was what we are thinking also, maybe the wife really cant make it...den if we fix a confirm date for second appointment, need to draft out something for them to sign and agree? if not later they suddenly have some reason den say cannot move out den how? For example, now the earlier first appointment is on 13 oct (acc to my agent), den by right the second appt date is fixed on the first appointment, what if now they agree to move out on second week of nov, but on the first appt they say they cant move out on the seocnd week of nov. Since the first agreed/promised date is not said in the presence of hdb officer, i will have nothing to back up if they have some reasons again? so do i need to get them to write down and sign? i feel safer with black and white... sigh If delay, then my bf have to continue paying the rent at his current place... so expensive... and the renovation and everything will delay... argh ya.. u can try to get ur agent to try draft out some contract for them to sign.. mine also had some problems and i got my agent to draft something out.. but u have to take note la, all this HDB can do nothing if the owner play punk with u.. its still based on mutual trust.. anyway if the seller not bad, give and take lor.. hope everything fine for u ah! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
manutd1972 1 Report post Posted September 14, 2010 Life is like that, close one eye things will turn better, most of the times. Should send yr seller a present for having new born baby le. After move in, look back, you'll understand what I siad/wrote is correct. i agree. give and take a bit. moreover, it's not like they're seeking a change due to some frivolous excuse. rather, it's the birth of a baby. i'm guessing u've not had the chance to experience the joys of motherhood yet? imagine all the restrictions and inconveniences after having just given birth. in effect, what you're asking is for the wife to go down to HDB for the 1st appt date just 7-8 days after giving birth. How would u feel if it was you who had just given birth instead? How would your bf/hubby feel? in your case, there is still a possibility that the completion of sale will not be delayed. and even if there was a delay, it's not as if both or either of you would not have a roof over your head. imagine those who have already sold their flats, had the completion date of sale confirmed, and then have the sellers of their next flat delay the purchase. Now they have to move out of their current place 8 weeks after their 1st appt date, say on 1st Nov, but the 1st appt date of their new purchase is delayed by the sellers to 30 Sep. They can only move into their new place on 30 Nov at the earliest. Now where are they going to stay for the month of Nov? Rent a place? For only 1 month? Landlords tend not to be willing to rent out for such super short tenures. just sharing some thoughts to offer some perspectives... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Leey0032 0 Report post Posted September 15, 2010 i agree. give and take a bit. moreover, it's not like they're seeking a change due to some frivolous excuse. rather, it's the birth of a baby. i'm guessing u've not had the chance to experience the joys of motherhood yet? imagine all the restrictions and inconveniences after having just given birth. in effect, what you're asking is for the wife to go down to HDB for the 1st appt date just 7-8 days after giving birth. How would u feel if it was you who had just given birth instead? How would your bf/hubby feel? in your case, there is still a possibility that the completion of sale will not be delayed. and even if there was a delay, it's not as if both or either of you would not have a roof over your head. imagine those who have already sold their flats, had the completion date of sale confirmed, and then have the sellers of their next flat delay the purchase. Now they have to move out of their current place 8 weeks after their 1st appt date, say on 1st Nov, but the 1st appt date of their new purchase is delayed by the sellers to 30 Sep. They can only move into their new place on 30 Nov at the earliest. Now where are they going to stay for the month of Nov? Rent a place? For only 1 month? Landlords tend not to be willing to rent out for such super short tenures. just sharing some thoughts to offer some perspectives... Okay.. thank you all for your output.. really appreaciate it.. =) Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
marshmallow 0 Report post Posted September 15, 2010 Just F.Y.I., even if you and seller write in to appeal for an earlier 2nd appointment date, the earliest HDB can give is still around 6 weeks after 1st appointment. Earliest one i heard of is 5+ weeks. In my case, HDB die die say earliest is 6 weeks due to high volume of transaction and CPF side need time for paper work etc etc... Maybe can talk to your seller and see when can they move out... At least there might be a chance to start reno earlier even though 2nd appointment date can't be brought forward~ Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Leey0032 0 Report post Posted September 15, 2010 Just F.Y.I., even if you and seller write in to appeal for an earlier 2nd appointment date, the earliest HDB can give is still around 6 weeks after 1st appointment. Earliest one i heard of is 5+ weeks. In my case, HDB die die say earliest is 6 weeks due to high volume of transaction and CPF side need time for paper work etc etc... Maybe can talk to your seller and see when can they move out... At least there might be a chance to start reno earlier even though 2nd appointment date can't be brought forward~ Thanks for the info! i din noe that, i was hoping that after changing the first appt date, the seller will agree on a earlier second appt date... sigh.... need to rearrange very again... auspicious date need to rearrange.. already told landlord move out date.. hope can change.... sigh.. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Banned 1 Report post Posted September 15, 2010 Thanks for the info! i din noe that, i was hoping that after changing the first appt date, the seller will agree on a earlier second appt date... sigh.... need to rearrange very again... auspicious date need to rearrange.. already told landlord move out date.. hope can change.... sigh.. You can try to ask if you can shift in even b4 the 2nd appt ma.. If they are agreeable den everything will be okay liao ma.. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
marshmallow 0 Report post Posted September 15, 2010 You can try to ask if you can shift in even b4 the 2nd appt ma.. If they are agreeable den everything will be okay liao ma.. that's what i was trying to say... since we can't change HDB, we try to make adjustments on our ends but that's provided if the sellers can shift out earlier la. besides, also depends on seller's character.. if they are those like to "chu pattern" kind, then it's probably safer to stick with HDB's date than any other form of written agreement... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Banned 1 Report post Posted September 15, 2010 that's what i was trying to say... since we can't change HDB, we try to make adjustments on our ends but that's provided if the sellers can shift out earlier la. besides, also depends on seller's character.. if they are those like to "chu pattern" kind, then it's probably safer to stick with HDB's date than any other form of written agreement... yeah~ Like mine lor.. Pattern more den badminton! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
tweety3334 0 Report post Posted September 15, 2010 Can they appoint POA? Too expensive? My seller also come out pattern. Just had my appt yesterday. On first appt, my seller suddenly say don't want to sign cos they want to delay the date. HDB officer inform he will not intervene and asked us go outside to discuss and then tell him our decision. After much pursuasion, seller finally agreed to sign and stick to original agreed date. I think then they have to find a place to stay temporarily. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Leey0032 0 Report post Posted September 15, 2010 yeah~ Like mine lor.. Pattern more den badminton! for mine, i think the owner also will chu pattern one leh.. that time after we agreed on the sale, preparing to give cheque den they suddenly say wan to consider! den we so pissed off, i got my parents and sisters to came down specially to view the house, den we sat at the void deck unable to move on, cos the owner suddenly say wan to consider... den we went home, den after a few hours, the suddenly say okay, den my agent came over my house to collect the cheque... like tt considered chu pattern anot? haha they are not those frenly type, that time we go their house, they totally treat us like invisible, even when my mumy tried to talk to her, she oso bo chap one... give one word reply... haiyo.. how, i feel very confuse leh.. a part of me want to be nice and believe she really cant make it for the first appointment, a part of me very worried she will keep delaying..... i just read at the forum under resale/sale of flats a lot of scary stories about owners running away .. now i'm so worried... and it always start with the owner trying to delay the first appointment... oh my god, i'm so paranoid. my bf say we sld go to their house and spy.. but i oso donno how to spy like... haha Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Banned 1 Report post Posted September 15, 2010 for mine, i think the owner also will chu pattern one leh.. that time after we agreed on the sale, preparing to give cheque den they suddenly say wan to consider! den we so pissed off, i got my parents and sisters to came down specially to view the house, den we sat at the void deck unable to move on, cos the owner suddenly say wan to consider... den we went home, den after a few hours, the suddenly say okay, den my agent came over my house to collect the cheque... like tt considered chu pattern anot? haha they are not those frenly type, that time we go their house, they totally treat us like invisible, even when my mumy tried to talk to her, she oso bo chap one... give one word reply... haiyo.. how, i feel very confuse leh.. a part of me want to be nice and believe she really cant make it for the first appointment, a part of me very worried she will keep delaying..... i just read at the forum under resale/sale of flats a lot of scary stories about owners running away .. now i'm so worried... and it always start with the owner trying to delay the first appointment... oh my god, i'm so paranoid. my bf say we sld go to their house and spy.. but i oso donno how to spy like... haha haha.. seems like ur seller also "badminton" player.. but dun worry la.. everything will work out fine one.. I also survive mine.. (although still not really over yet ) . I also went over to spy take a look a few times even though the house is already mine.. haha.. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites