montek1234

Toilet Seat Under A Beam

hi everyone,

I have a bit of a problem with my bathroom. The toilet seat is directly under a beam. I have read many times that sitting under a beam is not good for health. But in this case I cannot even construct a false ceiling. Can somebody suggest a solution??

hi everyone,

I have a bit of a problem with my bathroom. The toilet seat is directly under a beam. I have read many times that sitting under a beam is not good for health. But in this case I cannot even construct a false ceiling. Can somebody suggest a solution??

Method 1: Wear a safety helmet while on the seat. :good:

from my view, i think it is ok because for toilet, u will not be sitting there for long, but the most important is your bed should not be under a beam as u spend 1/3 of your time sleeping and it will affect your health if u have a beam above u.

Yes if a person sleep under the beam, it's like getting chopped into 2 parts. There was a period of time when I slept under a beam, not realising that it had such an adverse effect until I had flu almost every week. The a friend who visited us scolded me for being a FS idiot. I shifted my bed & recovered gradually!

How about a beam above the back of the sofa?

My sofa seems to be there for show since we're always out of the flat. :D

The newer generation flats seemed to have beams here & there :(

Saw a friend's 5-yr old toa payoh flat, it had so many pillars & beams that we were in the state of confusion when inside her home. And half of the entrance of her master bedroom was hidden by a pillar: a very odd design. Cannot bring down the pillar otherwise the entire block of flats will collapse.

Old flats don't seem to have that many beams...

Edited by edenstrauss

Method 1: Wear a safety helmet while on the seat. :good:

U must be kidding when u suggested that! :notti:

R u sure it'll warrant the use of a safety helmet?

So what are methods 2, 3, etc?

My girlfriend was another extremist: she also has a beam running above the toilet bowl so she & her hubby uses the other toilet. That one with the beam is out of bounds!

Edited by edenstrauss

U must be kidding when u suggested that! :notti:

R u sure it'll warrant the use of a safety helmet?

So what are methods 2, 3, etc?

My girlfriend was another extremist: she also has a beam running above the toilet bowl so she & her hubby uses the other toilet. That one with the beam is out of bounds!

Method 2: On seat, close both eye. :good:

Yes if a person sleep under the beam, it's like getting chopped into 2 parts. There was a period of time when I slept under a beam, not realising that it had such an adverse effect until I had flu almost every week. The a friend who visited us scolded me for being a FS idiot. I shifted my bed & recovered gradually!

How about a beam above the back of the sofa?

My sofa seems to be there for show since we're always out of the flat. :D

The newer generation flats seemed to have beams here & there :(

Saw a friend's 5-yr old toa payoh flat, it had so many pillars & beams that we were in the state of confusion when inside her home. And half of the entrance of her master bedroom was hidden by a pillar: a very odd design. Cannot bring down the pillar otherwise the entire block of flats will collapse.

Old flats don't seem to have that many beams...

Old flats got more beams lah, designers more kiasu & kiasi. Beam on head: headace. Beam at back: backace lor.

Fan blowing toward feets while sleeping on bed is much much worsen then having beam on top "chopping body into pieces" or ceiling dropping down smashing body becoming "juice". Now I understand why Tarzan was so super fit and happy, simply he slept under open sky! :bleah:

Old flats got more beams lah, designers more kiasu & kiasi. Beam on head: headace. Beam at back: backace lor.

Fan blowing toward feets while sleeping on bed is much much worsen then having beam on top "chopping body into pieces" or ceiling dropping down smashing body becoming "juice". Now I understand why Tarzan was so super fit and happy, simply he slept under open sky! :bleah:

My hubby is sleeping with the fan 30 cm from his feet - which means that the wind from the fan will reach his feet then the other parts of his body. Did u mean to say that this is bad for health? What will happen?

hi everyone,

Method 3: While on seat, imagine you are sitting on top of the beam below you (downstair neighbour's), this will make you feel very much better thus "business" be processed smoother. :deal:

How come nowadays all the newer flats & buildings have so many beams all over the place?

For suicide by hanging on the neck like in Chinese ancient, period dramas?? :jawdrop:

My Pasir Ris 5 room flat has ... (counted) 5 beams!

Edited by edenstrauss

How come nowadays all the newer flats & buildings have so many beams all over the place?

For suicide by hanging on the neck like in Chinese ancient, period dramas?? :jawdrop:

My Pasir Ris 5 room flat has ... (counted) 5 beams!

My jaw drop! All building got beams & pillars, no such thing as "more" in past & "less" now, all factored in. Only cosmetic issue. "hidden" beams do not mean the beams no longer there, same for pillars.

For visual pleasance and mental peace as to "unsighted" and immovable objects within house, either

- Cover them up with something more pleasant to naked eyes. If can't do anything to the objects,

- Close your eye, or

- Let imagination run wild.

Or sell away. No more and no less.

buildings built in the few years after the collapse of new world hotel (1986) will have bigger bulkier beams as the architects get more kiasu at the point of time. until recently then they started reducing the size of beams probably with technology advancements. also, nowadays pple are more concern about cosmetics of the place and so beams are strategically placed to make them less of a sore eye (eg. bay windows)