neubie

Revamp Of A 40yo 3rm Pigeonhole...

Trunking near the gaspipe will be boxed up....so that kitchen lightswitch and heater switch trunking is not visible...

IMG_1096.jpg

Trunking at bathroom and WC... idea is to keep trunkings as concealed as far possible...

IMG_1098.jpg

Worth mentioning they even redo all the SCV and telephone wiring till the outside!!! Quality of the coaxial cables they provide is decent stuff, quite rigid, not the flimsy/soft easy-to-bend type... good stuff

IMG_1091.jpg

can intro ur electrician? im looking for another quote (hopefully a better price)

TIA

can intro ur electrician? im looking for another quote (hopefully a better price)

TIA

Paisay I dun have my electrician contact as my main con settled everything for me. :/

ok. i scare if i extend the pole too hard, it will dent into my top false ceiling permanently. dangerous. will hear from ur view after u scan thru the manual. kekeke.. thanks!

Here's the description of the stolmen...

Stolmen.jpg

Instruction guide

IMG_0001-1.jpg

IMG_0002.jpg

The actual accessory, less the screws/washers/nuts...

IMG_1607.jpg

take note the V-strips are designed to just hold the pole in place; it is not any load-bearing structure, only the base is.

Nice device, you can be a contractor easily........ :D

i second that, you are so pro, u got all these little gadgets the contractors use. u can be a contractor yrself now. hahahah ... there isnt a single thing that requires nailing or hammering done by me except for fixing up the stand fans and my cable box and telephone. T T

No lah, still very far from the seasoned contactors… that's y my name is neubie :D

An update to the remedial actions taken to secure the aluminum poles.

For the end/mounting fittings, small pieces of semicircular plastic sleeving is used to line between the pole and the clamp to have a better grip while preventing scratches. Referring to the below photo, the left normal sleeve is used when the fitting is clamped on the main pole which is thicker. The center ribbed sleeve is used on the extension pole which is thinner.

Supplied sleeving

IMG_1593.jpg

As the wobbling noise occurs at the joint between the thicker & thinner pipes (see below), what was done is to secure the clamp on this joint here, such that half of the center-ribbed sleeve is for clamping the thinner pole while half of the normal sleeve is clamping on the thicker pole. Using a penknife, cut across the length of the sleeves and use that then clamping onto the joint.

Main/Extension pole joint

98af2a72.jpg

Modified sleeving

IMG_1594.jpg

Modified sleeving lined to the clamp

IMG_1595.jpg

End result, no more wobbling noises.... :D

Tore down the entire stolmen to relocate the pole system, found another place which causes the vibrating noise… it's the darned piece of 3mm rear chipboard that's inserted at the end of the drawer cabinet. That huge thin piece will start resonating once the drawers are closed or I slightly bump on the drawer…

Solution was to use silicon seal around the perimeter gaps such that they no longer vibrate freely, and that really solved the problem…

Conclusion

When installing stolmen systems, the following items are recommended for a sturdy and silent experience

1. Clamp on the joint parts

2. Apply silicone caulking around the edges of the rear 3mm chipboard

3. Upgrade with better runner tracks (optional, if funds allow)

Edited by neubie

A blinding story...

While everything is (almost) done, I figured i needed some draperies for the rooms.... Curtains are nice and add a cosy touch to the interior, but if I wanted blackout types they would be costly and high maintenance... hence settled for some low-maintenance blinds. Ease of cleaning is important here.

For MBR and CR, blackout blinds will be installed while perforated ones are for living room and utility room.

Thru fren's recommendation, I gotten their roller blind supplier to quote and install blinds at all my rooms today.... incidentally my fren's 5rm reno just costed 20k for polishing marble floor, painting, full height wardrobe with TV console in all 3 bedrooms, kitchen cabinet doors, glass showcase, ceiling works, feature wall for TV console with integrated Ubiq powertracks.... see liao so green with jealousy....

Anyway, back to topic, the supplier has a huge commercial project portfolio locally and within the AP region. Major hotels & serviced apartments like:

* Grand Hyatt

* Westin Stamford

* Regent Hotel

* Mandarin Hotel

* Merchant Court Hotel

* Ascott Executive Service Apartment

* Beaufort Hotel, Sentosa

* Raffles Hotel

* Goodwood Park Hotel

* Inter-Continental Hotel

So mine is just a small drop in the ocean, but they still entertain me, kudos to them.... :bow:

Edited by neubie

Contractor was punctual & arrived on 10am. One man show.

All blinds custom-cut, wrapped and delivered....

IMG_1609.jpg

Tools used is a GBH 2-23 REA Professional hammer drill with integrated dust-extraction for dust-free drilling... good stuff here... :good:

IMG_1610.jpg

Installed within the pelmet...

IMG_1611.jpg

Apparently the guy has been in this biz for long time liao, their projects are mainly commercial installations (see previous post) and not so much on residential requests, but the price is too good to resist, with so many portfolio, their material quality and workmanship can't be too bad....

Chatted with the installer, he said that blackout curtains are a real b!tch to maintain; they had to be sent for drycleaning. DIY cleaning is not possible, since, (1) they are far too heavy & (2) even the WM can take it, it will destroy the material from the tumbling and wringing action....

Roman blinds he mentioned jepoon brand track mechanism is better in terms of reliability....i asked him for motorised installation of roller blinds, he said it's possible to retrofit mine for a few hundred bucks..... :dribble: see next time if funds allow will contact them again.... haaaa

Within 45mins all blinds fixed up and contractor left...

Edited by neubie

Now you see it....

IMG_3680-1.jpg

Now you don't :D

IMG_3678-1.jpg

The light transmittance of the perforated material used is 3%, ie to say, 97% of outdoor lighting is rejected.... the denser the perforations, the less light can pass thru, available in 3%, 5%, 10% flavors....

Below shows the before/after overall illumination of lifting/drawing down the perforated blinds on the living rooms. Camera settings are set to manual to override any exposure compensation.

Blinds lifted...

IMG_3671.jpg

Blinds lowered...

IMG_3672.jpg

Edited by neubie

100% blackout blinds are installed in the bedrooms, but due to gaps in the blind and wall, there will be some residual stray light, but wth, that's ok.... :rolleyes:

IMG_3669.jpg

CR

IMG_3670.jpg

:idea: given the blackout blinds, next time can ceiling-mount one projector and convert the CR into home cinema.... :D :D :D :D

Cleaning is very straightforward for blinds, just use damp cloth rinsed with diluted mama lemon and wipe clean.... blinds can be taken out easily oso(they are secured by metal clips bolted onto the ceiling....

Now can really sleep in complete darkness liao.... :rolleyes: :rolleyes: :rolleyes:

hi neubie,

can u PM me the quotations (if possible the breakdown as well) and the contractor u engaged to?

Quote is here. Contractor as in my signature. :)

Hi neubie,

how much you spent for your stolmen, and is it just one column you got?

Thanks..

the photo u see below is

IMG_1585.jpg

2 x poles + 1 (110cm by 50cm) shelf + 1 110cm clothes rail + 1 x 110cm by 50cm by 45cm drawer + 2 x fittings

= 2 x 59 + 1 x 39 + 1 x 9 + 1 x 159 + 2 x 10

= $345

I bought extra 2 poles and 3 110cm shelves and 4 hooks (not shown) at 108+117+4+25 = $254 to make a corner L-shaped shelf so grand total is $600 (aftermarket Blum runner tracks not included).

Based on the pricelist from their catalog...

Stolmenparts.png

Edited by neubie

Contractor was punctual & arrived on 10am. One man show.

All blinds custom-cut, wrapped and delivered....

IMG_1609.jpg

Tools used is a GBH 2-23 REA Professional hammer drill with integrated dust-extraction for dust-free drilling... good stuff here... :good:

IMG_1610.jpg

Installed within the pelmet...

IMG_1611.jpg

Apparently the guy has been in this biz for long time liao, their projects are mainly commercial installations (see previous post) and not so much on residential requests, but the price is too good to resist, with so many portfolio, their material quality and workmanship can't be too bad....

Chatted with the installer, he said that blackout curtains are a real b!tch to maintain; they had to be sent for drycleaning. DIY cleaning is not possible, since, (1) they are far too heavy & (2) even the WM can take it, it will destroy the material from the tumbling and wringing action....

Roman blinds he mentioned jepoon brand track mechanism is better in terms of reliability....i asked him for motorised installation of roller blinds, he said it's possible to retrofit mine for a few hundred bucks..... :dribble: see next time if funds allow will contact them again.... haaaa

Within 45mins all blinds fixed up and contractor left...

Oh man, motorised installation, like those in the hotel. You didnt mention, I have totally forgotten about those things. I have always wanted something like that also, but too bad my curtains are done and my $$$ dried. Got to wait for a while. So what you going to install or buy next?